DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 11/26/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-20, 22-24, 52 and 104 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 52 and 104 being independent. Claims 1, 52 and 104 have been amended. Claims 3, 5, 21, 25-51, 53-103 and 105-141 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102(a)(2) using the Deenoo reference have been fully considered and are partially persuasive (*see NOTE below). Therefore, the rejection of these claims has been withdrawn. However, the new citations of Wei do teach the limitations that were not taught by Deenoo, upon further consideration, as explained in the new ground of rejection below.
Note: The Applicant’s argument included that Deenoo does not disclose multiple conditions being met for the handover trigger condition. These arguments were persuasive. However, since claims 19, 20, 23 and 24 all included limitations that were not limited to the multiple conditions being met for the handover trigger condition, the Deenoo reference still teaches these limitations, as explained in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 22, 52 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0239763), hereafter Wei.
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches
a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for triggering conditional handover, the method comprising:
receiving information from a network node, the information indicating one or more trigger conditions for triggering a conditional handover to a target cell
([0050] The source node may configure one or more conditions to be met to perform a conditional handover to the target node 506 and include the one or more conditions in the RRC reconfiguration message 514 to be transmitted to the UE);
determining a set of the one or more trigger conditions for which each trigger condition in the set must be met in order to trigger the conditional handover, the set comprising a first trigger condition and at least one other trigger condition
([0050] The UE 502 then determines, on a basis of the one or more conditions included in the RRC reconfiguration message, whether the conditions have been met
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition);
determining whether the first trigger condition and the at least one other trigger condition have been met
([0050] The UE 502 then determines, on a basis of the one or more conditions included in the RRC reconfiguration message, whether the conditions have been met
[0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition); and
triggering the conditional handover based at least in part on determining
that each trigger condition in the set has been met
([0113] The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold).
Regarding claim 2, Wei teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise at least one of:
one or more location-based, one or more time/timer-based, and one or more signal strength/quality-based trigger conditions
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition).
Regarding claim 4, Wei teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein one or more location-based and one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions are configured for the UE if one or more signal strength/quality-based trigger conditions are not configured for the UE
([0010] The method comprises selecting, by control circuitry in the source communications node, to handover the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at a future time on a basis of a predicted location of the communications device at the future time; transmitting, by transmitter circuitry in combination with the control circuitry in the source communications node, a pre-configuration message to the communications device including a configuration for the handover of the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at the future time).
Regarding claim 6, Wei teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein one or more location-based and one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions are configured together
([0010] The method comprises selecting, by control circuitry in the source communications node, to handover the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at a future time on a basis of a predicted location of the communications device at the future time; transmitting, by transmitter circuitry in combination with the control circuitry in the source communications node, a pre-configuration message to the communications device including a configuration for the handover of the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at the future time).
Regarding claim 7, Wei teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein one or more signal strength/quality-based trigger conditions are configured with one of:
one or more location-based
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition. The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold)
and
one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein the UE is configured to determine if it supports one or more location-based trigger conditions and if the one or more location-based trigger conditions can be configured with at least one of:
one or more time/timer-based
([0010] The method comprises selecting, by control circuitry in the source communications node, to handover the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at a future time on a basis of a predicted location of the communications device at the future time; transmitting, by transmitter circuitry in combination with the control circuitry in the source communications node, a pre-configuration message to the communications device including a configuration for the handover of the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at the future time) and
one or more signal strength/quality-based trigger conditions
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition. The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold).
Regarding claim 9, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein the UE is configured to determine if it supports one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions and if the one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions can be configured with at least one of:
one or more location-based trigger conditions
([0010] The method comprises selecting, by control circuitry in the source communications node, to handover the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at a future time on a basis of a predicted location of the communications device at the future time; transmitting, by transmitter circuitry in combination with the control circuitry in the source communications node, a pre-configuration message to the communications device including a configuration for the handover of the communications device from the source communications node to the target communications node at the future time) and
one or more signal strength/quality-based trigger conditions.
Regarding claim 10, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein one or more location-based and/or one or more time/timer-based trigger conditions have to always be configured with one or more signal strength/quality-based
trigger conditions
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition. The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold).
Regarding claim 11, Wei teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein one or more location-based trigger conditions includes a serving cell reference location and/or a target cell reference location received by the UE in at least one of:
measurement configuration,
trigger condition configuration
([0133] The target node may be considered available by the source node if the target node is within a pre-defined distance of the one or more communications devices
[0134] In step S1460, the source communications node transmits, to the one or more communications devices a trigger instructing the one or more communications devices to handover from the source communications node to the target communications node. For example, the source node may transmit the trigger in response to determining that the target node is available),
Radio Resource Control (RRC) dedicated configuration,
system information, or
Ephemeris information.
Regarding claim 12, Wei teaches the method of claim 11,
wherein the one or more location-based trigger condition is configured to trigger if a distance to the serving cell reference location is longer than a distance to the target reference cell location
([0133] In step S1440, the source communications node determines that the target communications node is available to act to receive signals from or to transmit signals to the one or more communications devices (such as UEs). In other words, the source node may determine that the target node is available for accepting the one or more communications devices to be handed over from the source node to the target node. For example, the target node may be considered available by the source node if the target node is within a pre-defined distance of the one or more communications devices
(Although not stated explicitly, because the target node is within a pre-defined distance of the UE and considered to be available for handover by the source node, this implicitly suggests the UE is further away from the source node)).
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches the method of claim 11,
wherein the one or more location-based trigger condition is configured to trigger based on a combination of distance to the serving cell reference location and distance to the target cell reference location
([0133] In step S1440, the source communications node determines that the target communications node is available to act to receive signals from or to transmit signals to the one or more communications devices (such as UEs). In other words, the source node may determine that the target node is available for accepting the one or more communications devices to be handed over from the source node to the target node. For example, the target node may be considered available by the source node if the target node is within a pre-defined distance of the one or more communications devices
(Although not stated explicitly, because the target node is within a pre-defined distance of the UE and considered to be available for handover by the source node, this implicitly suggests the UE is further away from the source node and in turn that the handover is based on both a distance to the source node and the target node)).
Regarding claim 14, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein the one or more trigger conditions are UE specific
(Handover Trigger
[0091] The source node may set a physical layer signal as a trigger for the handover as will be explained below
Physical Layer Signal
[0092] In some embodiments, Downlink Control Information (DCI) may be transmitted from the source node to one or more UEs. If the DCI is addressed to a specific UE, it may include a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) for identifying the UE. gNBs may allocate Group-RNTI in addition to C-RNTI for a UE with RRC signalling. C-RNTI is a unique identifier for a UE in a cell. The DCI may include an instruction for the one or more UEs receiving the DCI to perform handover
[0093] UEs instructed to perform handover may then perform the handover based on the pre-configuration received previously. The execution of the handover is triggered by a Layer 1 (L1) physical layer signalling).
Regarding claim 15, Wei teaches the method of claim 14
wherein the one or more trigger conditions are defined by specification or RRC parameters
(Handover Trigger
[0091] The source node may set a physical layer signal as a trigger for the handover as will be explained below
[0093] Pre-configuration to be transmitted by RRC signalling by predicting which target node a UE may handover to at a future point. The execution of the handover is triggered by a Layer 1 (L1) physical layer signalling).
Regarding claim 17, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein the UE simultaneously evaluates all of the one or more trigger conditions for one or more possible target cells configured for the UE, and a conditional handover to a target cell is triggered only if all of the one or more trigger conditions for that target cell are fulfilled
([0056] For example, the condition in event A3 is met if the UE performing the measurements determines that values obtained from measurements of one or more component carriers of a neighbouring cell are a pre-determined amount better than one or more component carriers of a serving cell UE. For example, the measurements of the one or more component carriers may include one or more of a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ). The condition outlined in event A3 is regarded as being met in this case if one or more of the RSSI, RSRP or RSRQ of one or more component carriers of the neighbouring cell are a pre-determined amount higher than one or more component carriers of the serving cell).
Regarding claim 18, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein a subset of all possible one or more trigger conditions are configured for all possible target cells
([0081] One or more UEs may attempt to receive a special service. In such embodiments, the target handover node is any communications node which is configured to provide the special service. For example, a user of a UE may be scheduled to attend a theatre for a musical. The musical may have an associated online special service which may indicate an identity of the performers, songs to be played, timings of performances or the like. When the user is at the theatre for the musical, the service will only be accessible via nodes with a coverage area including the theatre. One of the nodes with a coverage area including the theatre may therefore be selected to be the target node
(When the condition is met that the target node is within the coverage area of the theater (condition of being within coverage area of theater and in turn only a subset of a larger coverage area meets condition), only those targets within that coverage area are configured)).
Regarding claim 22, Wei teaches the method of claim 1
wherein the UE evaluates all or a subset of the one or more trigger conditions for all of one or more possible target cells and if multiple of the one or more trigger conditions is fulfilled by one of the one or more possible target cells then the conditional handover is triggered for that target cell
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition. The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold)
Regarding claim 52, Wei teaches
a method performed by a base station for triggering conditional handover in a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
transmitting information to a UE, the information indicating a set of one or more trigger conditions for which each trigger condition in the set must be met in order to trigger the conditional handover
([0050] The source node may configure one or more conditions to be met to perform a conditional handover to the target node 506 and include the one or more conditions in the RRC reconfiguration message 514 to be transmitted to the UE),
the set comprising a first trigger condition and at least one other trigger condition
([0050] The UE 502 then determines, on a basis of the one or more conditions included in the RRC reconfiguration message, whether the conditions have been met
([0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover.
In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition); and
participating in a handover of the UE to a base station after the UE has determined that each condition in the set has been met
([0113] The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold).
Regarding claim 104, Wei teaches
A user equipment (UE)
([0038] UE 502 is an example of a communications device such as the communications device),
the UE comprising:
processing circuitry configured to
([0042] Controller 502c of the UE 502 may comprise processor circuitry):
receive information from a network node, the information indicating one or more trigger conditions for triggering a conditional handover to a target cell
([0050] The source node may configure one or more conditions to be met to perform a conditional handover to the target node 506 and include the one or more conditions in the RRC reconfiguration message 514 to be transmitted to the UE);
determine a set of the one or more trigger conditions for which each trigger condition in the set must be met in order to trigger the conditional handover, the set comprising a first trigger condition and at least one other trigger condition
([0050] The UE 502 then determines, on a basis of the one or more conditions included in the RRC reconfiguration message, whether the conditions have been met
[0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition);
determine whether the first trigger condition and the at least one other trigger condition have been met
([0050] The UE 502 then determines, on a basis of the one or more conditions included in the RRC reconfiguration message, whether the conditions have been met
[0113] The UE receiving the pre-configuration triggers the handover. In some embodiments, the criterion to trigger the handover included in the pre-configuration message may include both a position condition and a radio link quality condition); and
trigger the conditional handover based at least in part on determining that each trigger condition in the set has been met
([0113] The execution of the handover may be triggered when the UE enters a predefined geographical area and the Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of radio link is above a pre-defined threshold); and
power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the UE
([0042] Communications device 502 will comprise a power source).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of Hunukumbure (US PG Publication 2022/0353766).
Regarding claim 16, Wei teaches the method of claim 14.
Wei does not teach
wherein one or more location-based trigger conditions is based on a distance from the UE to a serving cell reference location without reference to a distance to a target cell reference location.
In the same field of endeavor, Hunukumbure teaches
wherein one or more location-based trigger conditions is based on a distance from the UE to a serving cell reference location without reference to a distance to a target cell reference location
([0054] The predetermined condition may be detecting or determining, by the source gNB, that: the UE 200 is within a predetermined distance from the source gNB 100; the UE 200 will fall outside the coverage footprint of the source gNB 100 in less than a predetermined period of time
(Trigger condition is based on distance to source gNB and only related to the source gNB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wei, which includes performing condition-based handover, to include Hunukumbure’s teaching of performing condition-based handover, based on a distance condition, for the benefit of supporting a handover of a user equipment from a first base station to a second base station in a wireless network (see [0001]).
Claims 19, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of Deenoo, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0365186), hereafter Deenoo.
Regarding claim 19, Wei teaches the method of claim 1.
Wei does not teach
wherein for each of one or more possible target cells a different set of one or more trigger conditions are configured.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
wherein for each of one or more possible target cells a different set of one or more trigger conditions are configured
([0077] The WTRU may determine a trigger condition, and apply the reconfiguration when the trigger condition is satisfied. For example, the WTRU may receive a RRC connection reconfiguration with one or more conditional mobility IEs per candidate target cell. A configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with the trigger condition such as a counter(s), timer(s), offset(s), threshold(s), filtering coefficient(s)
(A plurality of different trigger conditions (counters, timers, thresholds, etc) are configured for all candidate target cells)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wei, which includes performing condition-based handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing condition-based handover, for the benefit of improved power savings both at the network and the WTRU (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 20, Wei teaches the method of claim 1.
Wei does not teach
wherein each of one or more possible target cells are evaluated with a different one or more trigger conditions.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
wherein each of one or more possible target cells are evaluated with a different one or more trigger conditions
([0077] The WTRU may determine a trigger condition, and apply the reconfiguration when the trigger condition is satisfied. For example, the WTRU may receive a RRC connection reconfiguration with one or more conditional mobility IEs per candidate target cell. A configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with the trigger condition such as a counter(s), timer(s), offset(s), threshold(s), filtering coefficient(s)
(WTRU determines a plurality of different trigger conditions (counters, timers, thresholds, etc) for all candidate target cells to determine when conditions satisfied)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wei, which includes performing condition-based handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing condition-based handover, for the benefit of improved power savings both at the network and the WTRU (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 23, Wei teaches the method of claim 1.
Wei does not teach
wherein the UE evaluates the one or more trigger conditions in a hierarchical order.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
wherein the UE evaluates the one or more trigger conditions in a hierarchical order
([0090] A WTRU may also perform one attempt for each suitable resource in
decreasing order of quality and until an attempt is successful).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wei, which includes performing condition-based handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing condition-based handover, for the benefit of improved power savings both at the network and the WTRU (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 24, Wei teaches the method of claim 23.
Wei does not teach
wherein the UE only evaluates a subsequent one of the one or more trigger conditions if the preceding one has been fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
wherein the UE only evaluates a subsequent one of the one or more trigger conditions if the preceding one has been fulfilled
([0111] Another rule may address a validity of the conditional reconfiguration that may be associated with the quality of a serving cell or a target cell. For example, the WTRU may be configured to invalidate a conditional reconfiguration, if the quality of the serving or target cell falls below a threshold for a certain or preconfigured duration
(Duration (time-based) condition evaluated valid, only when quality first valid, duration evaluated subsequent to quality condition being met)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wei, which includes performing condition-based handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing condition-based handover, for the benefit of improved power savings both at the network and the WTRU (see [0081]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fehrenbach, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0078684), hereafter Fehrenbach, teaches a UE receives configuration data or configuration updates from a cellular network, where the configuration data comprises multiple trigger conditions and handover configuration data, and, as one or more of the trigger conditions are met, the UE is performing an i-th CHO with the i-th target cell.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E. DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642