DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on December 1, 2025. Claims 39, 40, 42, 43, 45-49, 51-54, and 57-66 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on April 6, 2026, May 11, 2026, and July 8, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The replacement drawings sheet received on December 1, 2025 for figure 3 is accepted. On pages 2 and 13 of the amendment, the Applicant stated that corresponding corrections in accordance with the objections made on figures 1, 2, 5, and 10 in the previous Office Action have been made, however, no revised figures 1, 2, 5, and 10 have been filed or included with the amendment as indicated by the Applicant. The previous drawing objections are maintained and repeated below for Applicant’s convenience.
Figures 1 and 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
On figure 5 step 50, replace “pattern” with --pattern)--; and
On figure 10, replace “117” with --137--.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 39, 47, 61, and 63 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 11 of claim 39 and on line 13 of claim 61, replace “widow” with --window--;
and
On line 11 of claim 47 and on line 15 of claim 63, replace “occasion” with --
occasion,--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 39, 40, 42, 43, 45, 46, 61, 62, 65, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as
being unpatentable over Berggren et al. (US 2020/0367194 A1) in view of ETSI TS 136 304 V16.2.0 (hereinafter ETSI) and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0209464 A1 – with the portions of the disclosure relied upon having proper support on provisional application 63/030,228).
Consider claim 39, Berggren et al. show and disclose a method (figure 23) by a wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9) comprising:
receiving, from a network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9), a paging early indicator, PEI, configuration comprising an indication of a mapping of a PEI to a plurality of paging occasions (a wake-up signal (WUS) (i.e., PEI - which is equivalent to a WUS as interpreted in accordance with Applicant’s specification on page 3 lines 15-17 (“a PEI (which may also be referred to as Wake Up Signal (WUS)”))) configuration included in a control message is received by the UE 102 from the BS 101 in step 4001 in figure 9, the configuration includes a mapping of the WUS to a plurality of paging occasions (POs) and between POs and
UEs – see, for example, figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0100 and 0101);
receiving, from the network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9), the PEI
(WUS is received by the UE 102 from BS 101 – see, for example, step 4003 in figure 9, step 8001 in figure 23, and paragraphs 0104, 0167, and 0168); and
based on the mapping of the PEI to the plurality of paging occasions, monitoring a shared channel for paging in one of the plurality of paging occasions if the received PEI indicates that the paging is intended for the wireless device (UE 102 monitors a shared channel (e.g., PDSCH) in, for example, one of the plurality of POs based on the mapping of the WUS to the plurality of POs if the received WUS indicates that the paging is intended for the UE 102 – see
figures 9, 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0109, 0146-0150, and 0167-0169),
wherein the plurality of paging occasions comprise a number of successive paging occasions (figure 15 shows POs 4901-4903 following each other in time).
However, Berggren et al. do not specifically disclose that the number of successive paging occasions are explicitly consecutive paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, ETSI clearly discloses a number of consecutive paging occasions (POs) mapped to one WUS (see page 49 section 7.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to map a WUS to a number of consecutive paging occasions as disclosed by ETSI in the method disclosed by Berggren et al. in order to, for example, reduce unnecessary paging monitoring and power consumption.
However, Berggren et al, as modified by ETSI, fail to disclose
wherein the wireless device is configured with a PEI search window, the PEI search window being determined based on a reference paging occasion, and
wherein the method further comprises monitoring a control channel during the PEI search window.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose
wherein the wireless device is configured with a PEI search window (UE is configured with a specific search space for PEI monitoring such as a paging search space (PEI search window) – see paragraphs 0162 and 0163), the PEI search window being determined based on a reference paging occasion (see paragraphs 0166 and 0167 – PEI search space (window) is determined in reference to, for example, a PO (i.e., reference paging occasion), PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle), and
wherein the method further comprises monitoring a control channel during the PEI search
window (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted (and hence received), among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel) and paragraphs 0160-0162 - PEI monitoring is performed during a search space (window)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 40, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI and Tsai et al., further show and disclose determining, based on the PEI configuration comprising the indication of the mapping, that the PEI is mapped to the plurality of paging occasions (WUS is mapped to a plurality of POs - abstract, figures 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0010, 0053, 0054, and 0137-0140).
Consider claim 42, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, show and disclose the claimed invention except wherein the PEI is received on a control channel
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the PEI is received on a control channel (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted (and hence received), among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the PEI on a control channel that is monitored during a PEI search window as disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see
paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 43, and as applied to claim 42 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, show and disclose the claimed invention except wherein the PEI search window is defined by an offset start and an offset stop, and the method further comprises measuring the offset start and the offset stop from a first reference point to determine the PEI search window.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the PEI search window is defined by an offset start and an offset stop and measuring the offset start and the offset stop from a first reference point to determine the PEI search window (see paragraphs 0164-0167 – offset and start position of PEI are defined for the search window in reference to, for example, a PO, PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle (i.e., first reference point)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to defined the PEI search window and measure the offsets as disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 45, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI and Tsai et al., further show and disclose wherein the PEI configuration is received as system information, SI (control message 4001 carrying the WUS configuration maybe broadcasted in a system information block – figure 9 and paragraph 0099).
Consider claim 46, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI and Tsai et al., also show and disclose in response to receiving the PEI, monitoring every n-th paging occasion in a sequence of m paging occasions (at least one respective PO (i.e., n-th PO) is monitored/listen by the UE 102 from a plurality of POs (i.e., sequence of m POs) – see figures 22A-23 and paragraphs 0163-0169).
Consider claim 61, Berggren et al. show and disclose a wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9) comprising:
a memory (MEM 1023 – figure 4) storing instructions (paragraph 0070); and
a processor (CTRL 1022 – figure 4) operable to execute the instructions to cause the
wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9 – paragraph 0070) to:
receive, from a network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9), a paging early indicator, PEI, configuration comprising an indication of a mapping of a PEI to a plurality of paging occasions (a wake-up signal (WUS) (i.e., PEI - which is equivalent to a WUS as interpreted in accordance with Applicant’s specification on page 3 lines 15-17 (“a PEI (which may also be referred to as Wake Up Signal (WUS)”))) configuration included in a control message is received by the UE 102 from the BS 101 in step 4001 in figure 9, the configuration includes a mapping of the WUS to a plurality of paging occasions (POs) and between POs and
UEs – see, for example, figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0100 and 0101);
receive, from the network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9), the PEI
(WUS is received by the UE 102 from BS 101 – see, for example, step 4003 in figure 9, step 8001 in figure 23, and paragraphs 0104, 0167, and 0168); and
based on the mapping of the PEI to the plurality of paging occasions, monitor a shared channel for paging in one of the plurality of paging occasions if the received PEI indicates that the paging is intended for the UE (UE 102 monitors a shared channel (e.g., PDSCH) in, for example, one of the plurality of POs based on the mapping of the WUS to the plurality of POs if the received WUS indicates that the paging is intended for the UE 102 – see figures 9, 15, 17-19,
and 23, and paragraphs 0109, 0146-0150, and 0167-0169),
wherein the plurality of paging occasions comprise a number of successive paging
occasions (figure 15 shows POs 4901-4903 following each other in time).
However, Berggren et al. do not specifically disclose that the number of successive paging occasions are explicitly consecutive paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, ETSI clearly discloses a number of consecutive paging occasions (POs) mapped to one WUS (see page 49 section 7.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to map a WUS to a number of consecutive paging occasions as disclosed by ETSI in the method disclosed by Berggren et al. in order to, for example, reduce unnecessary paging monitoring and power consumption.
However, Berggren et al, as modified by ETSI, fail to disclose
wherein the wireless device is configured with a PEI search window, the PEI search window being determined based on a reference paging occasion, and
wherein the processor is operable to execute the instructions to cause the wireless device to monitor a control channel during the PEI search window.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose
wherein the wireless device is configured with a PEI search window (UE is configured with a specific search space for PEI monitoring such as a paging search space (PEI search window) – see paragraphs 0162 and 0163), the PEI search window being determined based on a reference paging occasion (see paragraphs 0166 and 0167 – PEI search space (window) is determined in reference to, for example, a PO (i.e., reference paging occasion), PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle), and
wherein the processor is operable m to execute the instructions to cause the wireless device to monitor a control channel during the PEI search window (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted (and hence received), among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel) and paragraphs 0160-0162 - PEI monitoring by the UE is performed during a search space (window)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 62, and as applied to claim 61 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI and Tsai et al., further show and disclose wherein the processor (CTRL 1022 – figure 4) is operable to execute the instructions to cause the wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9 – paragraph 0070) to determine, based on the PEI configuration comprising the indication of the mapping, that the PEI is mapped to the plurality of paging occasions (WUS is mapped to a plurality of POs - abstract, figures 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0010, 0053, 0054, and 0137-0140).
Consider claim 65, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, also show and disclose wherein monitoring the shared channel for paging in one of the plurality of paging occasions comprises monitoring the shared channel in a first paging occasion of the plurality of paging occasions (UE 102 monitors a shared channel (e.g., PDSCH) in, for example, a first one of the plurality of POs based on the mapping of the WUS to the plurality of POs if the received WUS indicates that the paging is intended for the UE 102 – see
figures 9, 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0109, 0146-0150, and 0167-0169), wherein the first paging occasion is derived based on an identity assigned to the wireless device (the particular PO 4901-4903 with which a UE is associated may be based on a formula; the formula may receive, as an input parameter, an identity of the UE or an identity of a subscriber associated with the UE, e.g., the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) – see paragraph 0144). Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, also disclose that the WUS is associated with a plurality of POs, including multiple time-offset POs following the WUS (see figure 15 and paragraphs 0137–0140).
However, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, do not specifically disclose the first paging occasion being the reference paging occasion or a paging occasion occurring after the reference paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose PEI timing and PEI monitoring relative to paging-related timing references, including a PO, PF, PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, and/or DRX cycle (see paragraphs 0164-0167) and that one PEI may be associated with multiple POs, PFs, and/or DRX cycles (see figure 5 and paragraphs 0206-0218).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to, when implementing Berggren et al.’s, as modified by ETSI, one-WUS-to-many-PO mapping using Tsai et al.’s NR PEI framework, to use a paging occasion as a reference timing point for the PEI-to-PO mapping and to configure the UE to monitor its identity-derived paging occasion either at that reference paging occasion or at a subsequent paging occasion within the mapped plurality of paging occasions. This is merely a predictable implementation of a known paging arrangement in which a PEI/WUS is associated with multiple upcoming paging occasions and the UE monitors the one of those paging occasions assigned to it by the standard UE-identity-based paging formula. This is consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), and MPEP § 2143, because the proposed combination applies known wireless paging and PEI/WUS techniques according to their known functions to obtain the expected result of more efficient paging operation.
Consider claim 66, and as applied to claim 39 above, Berggren et al., as modified by ETSI, disclose that paging monitoring involves a paging indicator transmitted on a paging control channel and a subsequent paging message transmitted on a shared channel. For example, paragraph 0005 of Berggren et al. states that a WUS is sent prior to a paging indicator, and that the paging indicator is transmitted on a paging control channel. Berggren et al. further explains that, in LTE/NR-type systems, the UE listens to a control channel such as PDCCH for paging-related control information and then decodes a subsequent PDSCH for the paging message (see paragraph 0050). Berggren et al. also describes transmission of a paging indicator on a control channel and a paging message on a shared channel (see paragraphs 0107-0109).
Tsai et al. expressly teaches the claimed PDCCH/DCI/PDSCH paging implementation as they describe that the UE monitors PDCCH to receive paging-related DCI, and that the DCI provides scheduling information for a paging message on PDSCH (see figure 1 and paragraphs 0075-0100). Tsai et al. also state that paging may be performed using DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI, where the DCI includes scheduling information for paging (see paragraphs 0090-0100). In addition, Tsai et al. teach monitoring PDCCH in a configured search space to detect a specific indication, such as a PEI, and determining whether to monitor a PO based on that indication (see the abstract and paragraphs 0125-0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Berggren et al.’s, as modified by ETSI, WUS/PEI-triggered paging monitoring using Tsai et al.’s known NR paging procedure in which the UE monitors PDCCH for DCI that schedules PDSCH carrying the paging message. Both Berggren et al. and Tsai et al. are directed to wireless paging and UE power-saving operation, and using PDCCH/DCI to schedule PDSCH paging is a standard, predictable NR
implementation for paging reception.
Claims 47-49, 52-54, 57-60, 63, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al. (US 2020/0367194 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0209464 A1 – with the portions of the disclosure relied upon having proper support on provisional application 63/030,228) .
Consider claim 47, Berggren et al. show and disclose a method (figure 24) by a network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9) comprising:
transmitting, to at least one wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9), a paging early indicator, PEI, configuration comprising an indication of a mapping of a PEI to a plurality of paging occasions (a wake-up signal (WUS) (i.e., PEI - which is equivalent to a WUS as interpreted in accordance with Applicant’s specification on page 3 lines 15-17 (“a PEI (which may also be referred to as Wake Up Signal (WUS)”))) configuration included in a control message is transmitted from the BS 101 to the UE 102 in step 4001 in figure 9, the configuration includes a mapping of the WUS to a plurality of paging occasions (POs) and between POs and
UEs – see, for example, figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0100 and 0101); and
based on the mapping, transmitting the PEI to the at least one wireless device to trigger monitoring of a shared channel for paging in one of the plurality of paging occasions by the at least one wireless device, wherein the paging is intended for the at least one wireless device (WUS is transmitted by the BS 101 to the UE 102 – see, for example, step 4003 in figure 9, step
8001 in figure 23, and paragraphs 0104, 0167, and 0168 and the UE 102 monitors a shared channel (e.g., PDSCH) in, for example, one of the plurality of POs based on the mapping of the
WUS to the plurality of POs if the received WUS indicates that the paging is intended for the UE
102 – see figures 9, 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0109, 0146-0150, and 0167-0169),
wherein the at least one wireless device comprises a first wireless device and a second wireless device (UE 102 could also be multiple UEs 102 (i.e., first and second wireless devices)
– paragraphs 0146 and 0148),
wherein he plurality of paging occasions comprises a first paging occasion and a second paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B – PO1 to PO-N), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the first wireless device in the first paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B and paragraphs 0163-0167 – as an example, UE 102-4 monitoring PO2 4902), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the second wireless device in the second paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B and paragraphs 0163-0167 – as an example, UE 102-7 monitoring PO3
4903).
However, Berggren et al. fails to specifically disclose
wherein the PEI is transmitted on a control channel to at least the first wireless device and the second wireless device,
wherein the method further comprises:
configuring the first wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a first PEI search window; and
configuring the second wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a second PEI search window, and
wherein the first PEI search window and the second PEI search window are determined based on at least one reference paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the PEI is transmitted on a
control channel to at least the first wireless device and the second wireless device (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted, among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel) and PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that it could be performed by at least two UEs as claimed),
wherein the method further comprises:
configuring the first wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a first PEI search window; and configuring the second wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a second PEI search window (as set forth in the rejections of claims 42 and 43, Tsai et al. disclose a single UE configured to perform the steps with the wherein clauses (see paragraphs 0159-0162 and 0164-0167), however, Tsai et al. also discloses that that the PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that the steps as recited could be performed by at least two UEs as claimed),
wherein the first PEI search window and the second PEI search window are determined
based on at least one reference paging occasion (see paragraphs 0166 and 0167 – PEI search space (window) is determined by the UE in reference to, for example, a PO (i.e., reference paging occasion), PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle. Tsai et al. disclose a single UE configured to perform the steps with the wherein clauses (see paragraphs 0159-0162 and 0164-0167), however, Tsai et al. also discloses that that the PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that the steps as recited could be performed by
at least two UEs as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings disclosed by Tsai et al.
in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 48, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., further show and disclose wherein the at least one wireless device comprises a plurality of wireless devices (UE 102 could also be multiple UEs 102 – paragraphs 0146 and 0148), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the plurality of wireless devices in the plurality of paging occasions (see figures 16, 19, 22A, and 22B, and paragraph 0142 – all relevant UEs may listen for paging signals at the relevant POs).
Consider claim 49, and as applied to claim 48 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., the PEI triggers monitoring of the shared channel by the first wireless device in the plurality of paging occasions (see figures 16, 19, 22A, and 22B, and paragraph 0142 – all
relevant UEs (which includes the first UE) may listen for paging signals at the relevant POs), and
the PEI triggers monitoring of the shared channel by the second wireless device in the plurality of paging occasions (see figures 16, 19, 22A, and 22B, and paragraph 0142 – all relevant UEs (which includes the second UE) may listen for paging signals at the relevant POs).
Consider claim 52, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., further show and disclose determining the mapping of the PEI to the plurality of paging occasions based on at least one of a performance of a network (see paragraph 0018 – overall control signaling is reduced (i.e., performance of the network) by the use of a single WUS associated with multiple POs), a performance of the at least one wireless device, network energy efficiency, and user equipment energy efficiency.
Consider claim 53, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al. show and disclose the claimed invention except wherein the PEI is transmitted on the control channel, and the method further comprises configuring the at least one wireless device to monitor the control channel during a PEI search window.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the PEI is transmitted on a control channel (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted, among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel)) and the UE monitors the control channel during a PEI search window – (see paragraphs 0160-0162 - PEI monitoring is performed by the UE during a search space (window)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the PEI on a control channel that is monitored by the UE during a PEI search window as disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al. in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph
0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 54, and as applied to claim 53 above, Berggren et al. show and disclose the claimed invention except wherein the PEI search window is defined by an offset start and an offset stop, and wherein the method further comprises configuring the at least one wireless device to measure the offset start and the offset stop from a first reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the search window is defined by an offset start and an offset stop and the UE measures the offset start and the offset stop from
a first reference point (see paragraphs 0164-0167 – offset and start position of PEI are defined for the search window in reference to, for example, a PO, PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle (i.e., first reference point)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to defined the PEI search window and measure the offsets as disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al. in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claims 57 and 58, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al. show and
disclose the claimed invention except:
wherein the first PEI search window is defined by a first offset start and a first offset stop,
the second PEI search window is defined by a second offset start and a second offset stop, and
the first PEI search window at least partially overlaps with the second PEI search window (claim 57); and
wherein the first offset start and the first offset stop are measured from a first reference point associated with the first wireless device, and the second offset start and the second offset stop are measured from a second reference point associated with the second wireless device
(claim 58).
In the same field of endeavor, and as set forth in the rejections of claims 42, 43, 53, and 54, Tsai et al. disclose a single UE configured to perform the steps with the wherein clauses of claims 57 and 58 (see paragraphs 0159-0162 and 0164-0167), however, Tsai et al. also discloses that that the PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that the steps as recited in claim 55-58 could be performed by at least two UEs as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor and defined the PEI search window and measure the offsets as disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al. in order
to, for example, conserve power at the UEs (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.)
Consider claim 59, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al., as modified by
Tsai et al., also show and disclose wherein the PEI configuration is transmitted as system information, SI (control message 4001 carrying the WUS configuration maybe broadcasted in a system information block – figure 9 and paragraph 0099).
Consider claim 60, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., further show and disclose configuring the at least one wireless device (UE 102) to, in response to receiving the PEI, monitor every n-th paging occasion in a sequence of m paging occasions (at least one respective PO (i.e., n-th PO) is monitored/listen by the UE 102 from a plurality of POs (i.e., sequence of m POs) based on the WUS received – see figures 22A-23 and paragraphs 0163-0169).
Consider claim 63, Berggren et al. show and disclose a network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9) comprising:
a memory (MEM 1013 – figure 4) storing instructions (paragraph 0069); and
a processor (CTRL 1012 – figure 4) operable to execute the instructions to cause the network node (eNB/Base Station 101 in figures 1, 3, and 9 and paragraph 0069) to
transmit, to at least one wireless device (UE 102 in figures 1, 4, and 9), a paging early indicator, PEI, configuration comprising an indication of a mapping of a PEI to a plurality of paging occasions (a wake-up signal (WUS) (i.e., PEI - which is equivalent to a WUS as interpreted in accordance with Applicant’s specification on page 3 lines 15-17 (“a PEI (which may also be referred to as Wake Up Signal (WUS)”))) configuration included in a control message is transmitted from the BS 101 to the UE 102 in step 4001 in figure 9, the configuration includes a mapping of the WUS to a plurality of paging occasions (POs) and between POs and UEs – see, for example, figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0100 and 0101); and
based on the mapping, transmit the PEI to the at least one wireless device to trigger
monitoring of a shared channel for paging in one of the plurality of paging occasions by the at least one wireless device, wherein the paging is intended for the at least one wireless device (WUS is transmitted by the BS 101 to the UE 102 – see, for example, step 4003 in figure 9, step 8001 in figure 23, and paragraphs 0104, 0167, and 0168 and the UE 102 monitors a shared channel (e.g., PDSCH) in, for example, one of the plurality of POs based on the mapping of the WUS to the plurality of POs if the received WUS indicates that the paging is intended for the UE 102 – see figures 9, 15, 17-19, and 23, and paragraphs 0109, 0146-0150, and 0167-0169),
wherein the at least one wireless device comprises a first wireless device and a second wireless device (UE 102 could also be multiple UEs 102 (i.e., first and second wireless devices)
– paragraphs 0146 and 0148),
wherein he plurality of paging occasions comprises a first paging occasion and a second
paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B – PO1 to PO-N), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the first wireless device in the first paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B and paragraphs 0163-0167 – as an example, UE 102-4 monitoring PO2 4902), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the second wireless device in the second paging occasion (figures 22A and 22B and paragraphs 0163-0167 – as an example, UE 102-7 monitoring PO3
4903).
However, Berggren et al. fails to specifically disclose
wherein the PEI is transmitted on a control channel to at least the first wireless device and the second wireless device,
wherein the processor is operable to execute the instructions to cause the network node to:
configuring the first wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a first
PEI search window; and
configuring the second wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a second PEI search window, and
wherein the first PEI search window and the second PEI search window are determined based on at least one reference paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai et al. disclose wherein the PEI is transmitted on a control channel to at least the first wireless device and the second wireless device (see paragraph 0159 – PEI may be transmitted, among other ways, via DCI or system information (both of which are well known to come on a control channel) and PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that it could be performed by at least two UEs as claimed),
wherein the method further comprises:
configuring the first wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a first PEI search window; and configuring the second wireless device to monitor the shared channel during a second PEI search window (as set forth in the rejections of claims 42, 43, 53, and 54, Tsai et al. disclose a single UE configured to perform the steps with the wherein clauses (see paragraphs 0159-0162 and 0164-0167), however, Tsai et al. also discloses that that the PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that the steps as recited could be performed by at least two UEs as claimed),
wherein the first PEI search window and the second PEI search window are determined
based on at least one reference paging occasion (see paragraphs 0166 and 0167 – PEI search space (window) is determined by the UE in reference to, for example, a PO (i.e., reference paging occasion), PF, monitoring occasion, or DRX cycle. Tsai et al. disclose a single UE configured to perform the steps with the wherein clauses (see paragraphs 0159-0162 and 0164-0167), however, Tsai et al. also discloses that that the PEI signaling maybe also UE group-specific (see paragraphs 0139-0154) which means that the steps as recited could be performed by
at least two UEs as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings disclosed by Tsai et al. in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., in order to, for example, conserve power at the UE (see paragraph 0002 of Tsai et al.).
Consider claim 64, and as applied to claim 63 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., further show and disclose wherein the at least one wireless device comprises a plurality of wireless devices (UE 102 could also be multiple UEs 102 – paragraphs 0146 and 0148), the PEI triggering monitoring of the shared channel by the plurality of wireless devices in the plurality of paging occasions (see figures 16, 19, 22A, and 22B, and paragraph 0142 – all relevant UEs may listen for paging signals at the relevant POs).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al.
(US 2020/0367194 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0209464 A1 – with the portions of the disclosure relied upon having proper support on provisional application 63/030,228) as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of ETSI TS 136 304 V16.2.0 (hereinafter ETSI).
Consider claim 51, and as applied to claim 47 above, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., also show and disclose wherein the first plurality of paging occasions comprise a number of successive paging occasions (figure 15 shows POs 4901-4903 following each other in
time).
However, Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., do not specifically disclose that the number of successive paging occasions are explicitly consecutive paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, ETSI clearly discloses a number of consecutive paging occasions (PO) mapped to one WUS (see page 49 section 7.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to map on WUS to a number of consecutive paging occasions as disclosed by ETSI in the method disclosed by Berggren et al., as modified by Tsai et al., in order to, for example, reduce unnecessary paging monitoring and power consumption.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 14 and 15 of the remarks, that neither Berggren et al. nor the Breggren et al.-Tsai et al. combination disclose, teach, or suggest “wherein the wireless device is configured with a PEI search window, the PEI search window being determined based on a reference paging occasion, and wherein the method further comprises monitoring a control channel during the PEI search window,” as recited in amended claim 39 because Tsai et al. merely discloses that the starting position of the PEI is offset to “each” search space/PO.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Tsai et al. expressly teach configuring a UE with a search space for monitoring a specific indication, e.g., PEI, and monitoring a PDCCH in that search space to detect the PEI (see paragraphs 0162 and 0163). Tsai et al. further teach that the PEI monitoring timing may be defined by an offset or starting position relative to a PO, PF, PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, or DRX cycle. For example, paragraph 0165 of Tsai et al. states that the offset may be a time gap between the PEI and the starting position of a PO, PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, PF, or DRX cycle, and that the UE may monitor the PEI an offset before the PO, PDCCH monitoring occasion, PF, or DRX cycle. Paragraph 0167 of Tsai et al. further states that the starting position of the PEI may be a time location/offset for starting to monitor the PEI on each search space, PO, PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, PF, and/or DRX cycle. Thus, Tsai et al. teach determining PEI monitoring timing based on a paging-related reference point, including a PO. The claimed “reference paging occasion” is broadly recited and does not require any special structure beyond using a PO as the reference basis for determining the PEI search window. Therefore, Tsai et al.’s PO-based PEI offset/search-space teachings meet or render obvious the claimed PEI search window determined based on a reference PO. Additionally, Berggren et al. teach a WUS associated with multiple POs and describes the timing relationship between WUS transmission and subsequent POs (see the abstract). In view of Berggren et al.’s one-WUS-to-many-PO mapping, a person of ordinary skill would have had reason to apply Tsai et al.’s PEI search-space/offset configuration to define a PEI search window relative to a reference PO for the grouped POs.
Applicant further argues, on page 15 of the remarks, that Berggren et al. and the Berggren et al.-Tsai et al. combination does not disclose, teach, or suggests “an indication of a mapping of a PEI to a plurality of paging occasions wherein the plurality of paging occasions comprises a number of consecutive paging occasions,” as recited in amended claim 39.
This argument is not persuasive. Berggren et al. expressly teach a wake-up signal (WUS) associated with a plurality of paging occasions for a plurality of terminals (see the abstract). Berggren et al.’s WUS is functionally equivalent to the claimed PEI because it is an early paging-related indication transmitted before paging monitoring to cause a UE to wake up or monitor paging. For example, Berggren discloses:
A WUS associated with multiple POs for multiple terminals.
A terminal receiving the WUS and listening for a paging signal at at least one of the
plurality of POs.
A base station transmitting the WUS and then transmitting paging signals on associated
POs.
A WUS that may be indicative of a plurality of POs, a plurality of terminals, or a
mapping between POs and terminals.
Berggren et al.’s figure 15 shows a single WUS 700 associated with multiple paging occasions 4901, 4902, and 4903. Paragraphs 0137-0140 describe that the single WUS 700 is associated with the plurality of POs and that the different POs may provide POs for different UEs, thereby permitting one WUS to be shared among multiple UEs. Berggren et al. also disclose WUS embodiments that include bitmap or mapping information. For example, paragraphs 0150-0157 describe a WUS indicative of a mapping between the plurality of POs and the plurality of UEs, and figure 22A illustrates a WUS including a multi-bit bitmap indicator indicative of a mapping between UEs and POs. Thus, Berggren et al. teach the claimed concept of a paging early indication mapped to multiple paging occasions.
Applicant argues that Berggren et al.’s POs are merely “offset in time domain” and not disclosed as “consecutive.” This argument is also not persuasive. Figure 15 depicts a single WUS 700 followed by POs 4901, 4902, and 4903 arranged sequentially in time. Berggren et al. describes these POs as offset in the time domain, but the fact that the POs are time-offset does not exclude them from being consecutive. A set of consecutive POs necessarily occurs at different time positions. The claim does not require that the POs be contiguous without any intervening time gap; it requires only that the plurality of POs comprise a number of consecutive paging occasions. Applicant appears to be applying a narrow reading to the term consecutive. Nonetheless, to make it absolutely clear, the reference of ETSI above has been applied to clearly meet the consecutive aspect of the POs.
Berggren et al.’s disclosure of multiple POs within a paging frame, associated with a single WUS and arranged in time sequence, teaches or at least renders obvious a number of consecutive POs. Further, Tsai et al. reinforces this teaching by disclosing that a PEI may be associated with multiple POs/PFs/DRX cycles and that the instruction of one PEI may be applied to multiple upcoming POs, PFs, or DRX cycles. See paragraphs 0206-0218 and figure 5 of Tsai et al..
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the multiple POs associated with a single PEI/WUS as consecutive POs because doing so is a straightforward and predictable way to reduce PEI overhead while preserving paging reachability during a known sequence of upcoming paging occasions.
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed each of Applicant’s arguments, the previous rejection, as applicable, is maintained by the Examiner and made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez
R.P.G./rpg
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
July 18, 2026