DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Election/Restrictions
II. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 29-41, in the reply filed on September 24, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 14 and 42-52 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
III. Claims 1 and 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos (US 2019/0356445 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Manolakos teaches a method by a wireless device comprising: receiving, from a network node, an indication of a particular one of a plurality of sounding reference signal, SRS, configurations for an antenna switching configuration, ASC (see paragraphs [0063] – [0067] and claim 2, A base station, that configures the UE according to one or more antenna switching constraints, transmits to the UE a configuration message with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets for antenna switching by the UE (see claim 1). The UE may be configured with one of a plurality of SRS resource sets (see paragraphs [0063] – [0067]). This reads on receiving, from a network node, an indication of a particular one of a plurality of sounding reference signal, SRS, configurations for an antenna switching configuration, ASC); and transmitting, to the network node, at least one SRS based on the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC (see claim 1, Receiving one or more SRS, by the base station, transmitted by the UE according to the configuration of the multiple SRS resource sets for antenna switching. This reads on transmitting, to the network node, at least one SRS based on the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC).
Regarding claim 29 Manolakos teaches a wireless device adapted to: receive, from a network node, an indication of a particular one of a plurality of sounding reference signal, SRS, configurations for an antenna switching configuration, ASC (see paragraphs [0063] – [0067] and claim 2, A base station, that configures the UE according to one or more antenna switching constraints, transmits to the UE a configuration message with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets for antenna switching by the UE (see claim 1). The UE may be configured with one of a plurality of SRS resource sets (see paragraphs [0063] – [0067]). This reads on receiving, from a network node, an indication of a particular one of a plurality of sounding reference signal, SRS, configurations for an antenna switching configuration, ASC); and transmit, to the network node, at least one SRS based on the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC (see claim 1, Receiving one or more SRS, by the base station, transmitted by the UE according to the configuration of the multiple SRS resource sets for antenna switching. This reads on transmitting, to the network node, at least one SRS based on the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC).
Regarding claim 30 Manolakos teaches wherein the wireless device is adapted to implement the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC (see paragraphs [0063] & [0067] and claim 10, For a UE that supports transmit antenna switching, the UE may be configured with one or more antenna switching configurations. This reads on wherein the wireless device is adapted to implement the plurality of SRS configurations for the ASC).
Regarding claim 31 Manolakos teaches wherein each of the plurality of SRS configurations has a different number of SRS sets (see paragraphs [0065] & [0067], The UE configured for (2T4R) and (1T4R) which each have a different number of SRS sets, for example, 2T4R which has an SRS resource set and 1T4R with two SRS resource sets. This reads on wherein each of the plurality of SRS configurations has a different number of SRS sets).
Regarding claim 32 Manolakos teaches wherein each SRS set comprises at least one SRS resource (see paragraph [0064], The UE configured for 1T2R has at least one SRS resource and reads on wherein each SRS set comprises at least one SRS resource).
Regarding claim 33 Manolakos teaches for the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations of the ASC, a number of SRS sets is equal to a number of ASC switches (see paragraph [004], The UE configured for 1T2R, with SRS resource set for one switch reads on wherein, for the particular one of the plurality of SRS configurations of the ASC, a number of SRS sets is equal to a number of ASC switches).
Regarding claim 34 Manolakos teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 1T4R and is configured with one or four aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the one or four aperiodic SRS resource sets is transmitted in different slots, each SRS resource in the one or four aperiodic SRS resource set comprises a single SRS port, and the single SRS port of each resource is associated with a different UE antenna port (see paragraphs [0063] & [0067], The UE configured for 1T4R with SRS- ResourceSet set to aperiodic with a total of four SRS resources reads on wireless device comprises ASC 1T4R and is configured with one or four aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the one or four aperiodic SRS resource sets is transmitted in different slots, each SRS resource in the one or four aperiodic SRS resource set comprises a single SRS port, and the single SRS port of each resource is associated with a different UE antenna port).
Regarding claim 35 Manolakos teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 2T4R and is configured with two aperiodic SRS resource sets, each one of the two aperiodic SRS resource sets comprises a two-port SRS resource, each SRS resource comprises a unique pair of SRS ports, and
each unique pair of SRS ports is associated with a different UE antenna port pair (see paragraphs [0063] & [0065] and claim 6, The IE configured for 2T4R SRS resource sets with two SRS ports where the SRS port pair of the second resource is associated with a different UE antenna port pair than the SRS port par of the first resource. This reads on configured with two aperiodic SRS resource sets, each one of the two aperiodic SRS resource sets comprises a two-port SRS resource, each SRS resource comprises a unique pair of SRS ports, and each unique pair of SRS ports is associated with a different UE antenna port pair).
Regarding claim 36 Manolakos teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 1T2R and is configured with two aperiodic SRS resource sets, each one of the two aperiodic SRS resource sets comprises a one-port SRS resource, each SRS resource comprises a single SRS port, and each SRS port is associated with a different UE antenna port (see paragraphs [0063] – [0064] and claim 6, The IE configured for 1T2R having two SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource consisting of a single SRS port, wherein an SRS port of a second resource of the two SRS resources is associated with a different UE antenna port than another SRS port of a first resource of the two SRS resources. This reads on wireless device comprises ASC 1T2R and is configured with two aperiodic SRS resource sets, each one of the two aperiodic SRS resource sets comprises a one-port SRS resource, each SRS resource comprises a single SRS port, and each SRS port is associated with a different UE antenna port).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
VI. Claims 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Manolakos (US 2019/0356445 A1) in view of Shahmohammadian et al. (US2022/0029861 A1, which includes U.S. Provisional application No. 63/056,926, filed on July 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 37 Manolakos teaches the wireless device of claim 29 except for the wireless device comprises ASC 1T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and six, six SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the six SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port.
Shahmohammadian teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 1T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and six, six SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the six SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port (see paragraphs [0067] & [0105] – [0108], The UE configured with antennaSwitching in the SRS Resource set including 1T6R for an aperiodic resource type with 6 SRS resources, each SRS resource in a given set includes a single SRS port. This reads on ASC 1T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and six, six SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the six SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the wireless device in Manolakos adapt to include ASC 1T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and six, six SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the six SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port because it would provide further flexibility and coverage for SRS transmission (see Shahmohammadian, paragraphs [0002] & [0004]).
Regarding claim 38 Shahmohammadian teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 2T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and three, three SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the three SRS resources is associated with two SRS ports (see paragraphs [0067] & [0102] – [0104], The UE configured with antennaSwitching in the SRS Resource set including 2T6R for aperiodic resource type configuration, where each SRS resource set has three SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set includes two SRS ports. This reads on ASC 2T6R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and three, three SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the three SRS resources is associated with two SRS ports).
Regarding claim 39 Shahmohammadian teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 1T8R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between two and eight, eight SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the eight SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port (see paragraphs [0067] & [0109] – [0113], The UE configured with antennaSwitching in the SRS Resource set including 1T8R for aperiodic resource type configuration, where a total of eight resources are utilized because there are eight possible switching cases (with 1 transmit and 8 receive antennas). With eight SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set including a single SRS port. This reads on ASC 1T8R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between two and eight, eight SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the eight SRS resources is associated with a single SRS port).
Regarding claim 40 Shahmohammadian teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 2T8R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and four, four SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the four SRS resources is associated with a pair of SRS ports (see paragraphs [0067] & [0097] – [0101], The UE configured with antennaSwitching in the SRS Resource set including 2T8R where For an aperiodic resource type of 2T8R four SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set including two SRS ports. This reads on ASC 2T8R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and four, four SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the four SRS resources is associated with a pair of SRS ports).
Regarding claim 41 Shahmohammadian teaches the wireless device comprises ASC 4T8R and is configured with a number of aperiodic SRS resource sets that is between one and two aperiodic SRS resource sets, two SRS resources are split between the number of aperiodic SRS resource sets, each of the two SRS resources is associated with four SRS ports (see paragraphs [0067] & [0088] – [0090], The UE configured with antennaSwitching in the SRS Resource set including 4T8R where For an aperiodic resource type 4T8R up to two SRS resource sets are configured here each SRS resource set has two SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set includes four SRS ports).
Conclusion
VII. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRANDON J MILLER whose telephone number is (571)272-7869. The examiner can normally be reached M-F.
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
December 22, 2025