DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/261,388 filed on 07/13/2023.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for priority based on application filed on 01/15/2021 (CHINA PCT/CN2021/072290).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
WHEN CLAIMS ARE DIRECTED TO MULTIPLE CATEGORIES OF INVENTIONS
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475(c).
Election/Restrictions
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-16, 18-19 and 22, related to determination of transport block size for multi-slot TB based on number of REs and number of information bits. (See par. 0115 of US 2024/0305419 A1.) (H04L5/0046)
Group II, claim(s) 23, related to segmentation of multi-slot TB into code blocks based on determination of whether to segment the TB. (See par. 0035 of US 2024/0305419 A1.) (H04L5/0091)
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The special technical feature of the Group I invention is to determine a TBS at a UE based on allocated resource elements. The calculation of the TBS allows for the calculation of the TBS based on a number of REs at the UE, such feature is not present in Group II.
The special technical feature of the Group II invention is to format the TB using segmentation for multi-slot-based transmission. The determination of whether to segment the TB allows for the formatting of the TB into CBs based on the transmission parameters, such feature is not present in Group I.
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claim appears to be generic.
During a telephone conversation with Alan Weisberg (Reg. No. 43,982) on May 11, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of 18/261,388, claims 1-16, 18-19 and 22. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andersson et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0210697 A1 hereinafter Andersson).
Regarding claim 1, Andersson discloses “a method performed by a user equipment for determining a size of a multi-slot transport block (TB) for a multi-slot TB-based transmission,” as [(Para. 0130), The solutions are described from a PUSCH perspective, either dynamically scheduled of UL CG (Uplink configured grant), but they apply equally to PDSCH, either dynamically scheduled or DL SPS (downlink semi-persistent scheduling). The embodiments disclosed herein may be written from the perspective of PUSCH segmentation, but they can also be applied to repetition of slots or mini-slots. In this case a segment may be equivalent to a repetition… TBS Determination.. (Para. 0131), Let m0 be the number of useful symbols occupied by the PUSCH in the first slot. Let m1 be the number of useful symbols occupied by the PUSCH in the second slot. Let m=min(13, m0+m1). Perform TBS determination based on m symbols. Here the symbol refers to an OFDM symbol if OFDM is used for PUSCH transmission, and refers to a DFT-s-OFDM symbol if DFT-s-OFDM is used.] “the method comprising: determining a number of resource elements (REs) for the transmission;” [(Para. 0116), the UE shall first determine the number of REs (NRE) within the slot.] “determining a number of information bits at least partially based on one or more of the determined number of REs, a modulation order for the transmission, a target coding rate for the transmission, and a number of layers for the transmission;” [(See Para. 0113-0119), Otherwise, the LUE shall use IMCS and Table 5.1.3.1-1 to determine the modulation order (Qm) and Target code rate (R) used in the physical downlink shared channel… Intermediate number of information bits (Ninfo) is obtained by Ninfo=NRE·Qm·v….] “and determining the size of the multi-slot TB for the transmission at least partially based on the determined number of information bits” [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′… Some embodiments disclosed herein include methods to indicate the transmit format of multi-segment PUSCH. The transmit format may include the TBS determination, the RV sequence signalling, and signalling of PUSCH starting point and duration.].
Regarding claim 2, Andersson discloses “wherein each of the multiple slots of the multi-slot TB has an independent Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS) configuration” as [(Para. 0205), wherein each segment includes a demodulation reference signal, DMRS].
Regarding claim 3, Andersson discloses “wherein each of the multiple slots of the multi-slot TB has one or both of an independent number of uplink symbols and an independent number of downlink symbols” as [(Para. 0040), In some embodiments, an SFI, slot format indicator, DCI message is used to determine which symbols are used for UL transmission].
Regarding claim 4, Andersson discloses “wherein the multiple slots of the multi-slot TB have one or more of a same modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index, a same number of layers, and a same number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)” as [(Para. 0369), According to the MCS table below, we examine all MCS indices find the number of PRBs needed to support the target TBS. Sometimes the same number of PRBs gives close to equal TBS when using adjacent MCS indices].
Regarding claim 5, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining a number of resource elements (REs) for the transmission comprises: calculating the number of REs for the transmission at least partially based on one or more of a number of PRBs allocated for the transmission, the number of slots for the transmission, and a number of REs allocated for each PRB in each of the slots for the transmission” as [(Para. 0132), In some embodiments operation 1) in the TBS determination procedure in TS 38.214 section “5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination” is modified by letting N′ RE=(Σi=1 N t N SC RB ·N symb,i sh −N DMRS,i PRB)−N oh PRB where Nsymb,i sh is the number of symbols of the PUSCH allocation in the slot i, and NDMRS PRB is the number of Res for DM-RS per PRB in the scheduled duration including the overhead of the RS CDM groups without data for slot I, and the sum is over all slots in the transmission].
Regarding claim 6, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of calculating the number of REs for the transmission comprises: calculating the number of REs for the transmission according to following equations: NRE=∑k=1nslotNREk NREk=min(156,N′REk)*nPRB where, NRE is the number of REs for the transmission, NRE k is the number of REs allocated in a slot k for the transmission, nPRB is the number of PRBs allocated for the transmission, nslot is the number of slots for the transmission, N′RE k is the number of RES allocated for each PRB in the slot k for the transmission” as [(Para. 0117), A UE determines the total number of REs allocated for PDSCH ( NRE ) by
is the total number of allocated PRBs for the UE].
Regarding claim 7, Andersson discloses “wherein in a case where no DMRS symbol is configured in at least one slot, the step of calculating the number of REs for the transmission comprises: calculating the number of REs for the transmission according to following equations: NRE=∑k=1nslotNREk {NREk=N′REk*nPRBifnoDMRSsymbolisconfiguredinslotkNREk=min(156,N′REk)*nPRB otherwise where, NRE is the number of REs for the transmission, NRE k is the number of REs allocated in a slot k for the transmission, nPRB is the number of PRBs allocated for the transmission, nslot is the number of slots for the transmission, N′RE k is the number of REs allocated for each PRB in the slot k for the transmission” as [(Para. 0117), A UE determines the total number of REs allocated for PDSCH ( NRE ) by
is the total number of allocated PRBs for the UE].
Regarding claim 8, Andersson discloses “wherein in a case where the multiple slots for the transmission have a same number of REs, the step of calculating the number of REs for the transmission comprises: calculating the number of REs for the transmission according to the following equation: NRE=min(156*nslot,NRE′)*nPRB where, NRE is the number of REs for the transmission, nPRB is the number of PRBs allocated for the transmission, nslot is the number of slots for the transmission, and NRE′ is the number of REs in all slots per PRB” as [(Para. 0117), A UE determines the total number of REs allocated for PDSCH ( NRE ) by
is the total number of allocated PRBs for the UE].
Regarding claim 9, Andersson discloses “wherein in a case where all the slots have a same number of REs, the step of calculating the number of REs for the transmission comprises: calculating the number of REs for the transmission according to the following equation: NRE=min(156,NRE″)*nPRB*nslot where, NRE is the number of REs for the transmission, nPRB is the number of PRBs allocated for the transmission, nslot is the number of slots for the transmission, and NRE″ is the number of REs in each slot per PRB” as [(Para. 0117), A UE determines the total number of REs allocated for PDSCH ( NRE ) by
is the total number of allocated PRBs for the UE]..
Regarding claim 10, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining a number of information bits comprises: calculating the number of information bits according to the following equation: Ninfo=NRE*R*Qm*v where Ninfo is the number of information bits, NRE is the number of REs for the transmission, Qm is the modulation order for the transmission, R is the target coding rate for the transmission, and ν is the number of layers for the transmission” as [(Para. 0118), Intermediate number of information bits (Ninfo) is obtained by Ninfo=NRE·Qm·v.… (Para. 0119), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′.].
Regarding claim 11, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB for the transmission at least partially based on the determined number of information bits comprises: comparing the determined number of information bits for the transmission with a threshold value; and determining the size of the multi-slot TB by using a pre-determined lookup table based on the determined number of information bits in response to determining that the determined number of information bits being less than or equal to the threshold value” as [(Para. 0119), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′.].
Regarding claim 12, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB by using a pre-determined lookup table based on the determined number of information bits comprises: determining an intermediate number of information bits based on the determined number of information bits, and using the pre-determined lookup table to determine the size of the multi-slot TB based on the intermediate number of information bits” as [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′… Some embodiments disclosed herein include methods to indicate the transmit format of multi-segment PUSCH. The transmit format may include the TBS determination, the RV sequence signalling, and signalling of PUSCH starting point and duration.].
Regarding claim 13, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB by using a pre-determined lookup table based on the determined number of information bits comprises: quantizing intermediate number of information bits Ninfo′=max(24,2n·⌊Ninfo2n⌋), where n=max(3, └ log2(Ninf o)┘−6), and using the pre-determined lookup table to find the closest size of the multi-slot TB that is not less than Ninfo′” as [(Para. 0119), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′.].
Regarding claim 14, Andersson discloses “wherein the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB for the transmission at least partially based on the determined number of information bits comprises: comparing the determined number of information bits for the transmission with a threshold value; and determining the size of the multi-slot TB according to a pre-determined equation in response to determining that the determined number of information bits being greater than the threshold value” as [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′… Some embodiments disclosed herein include methods to indicate the transmit format of multi-segment PUSCH. The transmit format may include the TBS determination, the RV sequence signalling, and signalling of PUSCH starting point and duration.].
Regarding claim 15, Andersson discloses “wherein the threshold value is 3824 or 8424” as [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824].
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including “the communication device comprising: a processor;” as [(Andersson: Para. 0173), Wireless device UE may also include a processor circuit 1403 (also referred to as a processor)] “a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to..” [(Andersson: Para. 0173), a memory circuit 1405 (also referred to as memory) coupled to the processor circuit. The memory circuit 1405 may include computer readable program code that when executed by the processor circuit 1403 causes the processor circuit to perform operations according to embodiments disclosed herein.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson in view of You et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0047006 A1 hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 16, Andersson teaches “wherein after the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB for the transmission at least partially based on the determined number of information bits” as [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′… Some embodiments disclosed herein include methods to indicate the transmit format of multi-segment PUSCH. The transmit format may include the TBS determination, the RV sequence signalling, and signalling of PUSCH starting point and duration.].
However, Anderson does not specifically disclose the method further comprises: comparing the determined size of the multi-slot TB with a maximum TB size; and adjusting the size of the multi-slot TB to be equal to the maximum TB size in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being greater than the maximum TB size; and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as it is in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being less than or equal to the maximum TB size, wherein the maximum TB size for the transmission is either predetermined or received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) or Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling.
In an analogous art, You teaches “the method further comprises: comparing the determined size of the multi-slot TB with a maximum TB size;” as [(Para. 0293), The number of slots (Z) in which the TBoMS is transmitted and the number of repetitions (K) of the TBoMS may be determined as follows.… (Para. 0296), the value of Z*K may be limited to a specific value M or less. If the product of the set Z value and K value is greater than M, the UE may determine the values of Z and K as follows…(Para. 0454), multi-slot TB mapping (TBoMS)] “and adjusting the size of the multi-slot TB to be equal to the maximum TB size in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being greater than the maximum TB size;” [(Para. 0296), If the product of the set Z value and K value is greater than M, the UE may determine the values of Z and K as follows… (Para. 0297), Based on the set Z value, the UE determines that the maximum K value satisfying Z*K<=M is the applied K value. Alternatively, it is determined that the maximum value satisfying Z*K<=M among candidate values (e.g., {1, 2, 4, 7, 12, 16}) that can be configured to the UE is the applied K value… (Para. 0298), Alternatively, based on the set K value, the UE determines that the maximum Z value satisfying Z*K<=M is the applied Z value. Alternatively, it is determined that the maximum value that satisfies Z*K<=M among candidate values (e.g., {2, 4, 8}) that can be configured to the UE is the applied Z value.] “and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as it is in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being less than or equal to the maximum TB size,” [(Para. 0296), Note: You inherently teaches retaining the value when the condition does not exceed the maximum because adjustment only occurs “if the product… is greater than M.”.]. “wherein the maximum TB size for the transmission is either predetermined or received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) or Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling” [(Para. 0231), the value of Z may be indicated by higher layer signaling or DCI from the network].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Andersson to provide an effective technique as taught by You for providing how to signal the number of slots to which a transport block is mapped, how to determine the size of a transport block, and how to map a transport block to a plurality of slots in order to minimize the additional signaling overhead for signaling the number of slots to which transport blocks are mapped [You: Para 0013].
Regarding claim 18, Andersson teaches “wherein after the step of determining the size of the multi-slot TB for the transmission at least partially based on the determined number of information bits” as [(See Para. 0119 and 0129-0130), If Ninfo≤3824, then use step 3 as the next step of the TBS determination. Otherwise, use step 4 as the next step of the TBS determination. End when Ninfo≤3824, TBS is determined as follows quantized intermediate number of information bits
,where n=max(3,┘log2(Ninfo)└−6). Use Table 5.1.3.2-1 find the closest TBS that is not less than Ninfo′… Some embodiments disclosed herein include methods to indicate the transmit format of multi-segment PUSCH. The transmit format may include the TBS determination, the RV sequence signalling, and signalling of PUSCH starting point and duration.].
However, Anderson does not specifically disclose the method further comprises: comparing the determined size of the multi-slot TB with a maximum TB size which is not pre-configured but calculated at least partially based on a maximum number of slots in a multi-slot TB; and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as the maximum TB size in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being greater than the maximum TB size; and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as it is in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being less than or equal to the maximum TB size.
In an analogous art, You teaches “the method further comprises: comparing the determined size of the multi-slot TB with a maximum TB size which is not pre-configured but calculated at least partially based on a maximum number of slots in a multi-slot TB;” as [(Para. 0293), The number of slots (Z) in which the TBoMS is transmitted and the number of repetitions (K) of the TBoMS may be determined as follows.… (Para. 0296), the value of Z*K may be limited to a specific value M or less. If the product of the set Z value and K value is greater than M, the UE may determine the values of Z and K as follows…(Para. 0454), multi-slot TB mapping (TBoMS)] “and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as the maximum TB size in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being greater than the maximum TB size;” [(Para. 0296), If the product of the set Z value and K value is greater than M, the UE may determine the values of Z and K as follows… (Para. 0297), Based on the set Z value, the UE determines that the maximum K value satisfying Z*K<=M is the applied K value. Alternatively, it is determined that the maximum value satisfying Z*K<=M among candidate values (e.g., {1, 2, 4, 7, 12, 16}) that can be configured to the UE is the applied K value… (Para. 0298), Alternatively, based on the set K value, the UE determines that the maximum Z value satisfying Z*K<=M is the applied Z value. Alternatively, it is determined that the maximum value that satisfies Z*K<=M among candidate values (e.g., {2, 4, 8}) that can be configured to the UE is the applied Z value.] “and determining the size of the multi-slot TB as it is in response to determining that the determined size of the multi-slot TB being less than or equal to the maximum TB size” [(Para. 0296), Note: You inherently teaches retaining the value when the condition does not exceed the maximum because adjustment only occurs “if the product… is greater than M.”.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Andersson to provide an effective technique as taught by You for providing how to signal the number of slots to which a transport block is mapped, how to determine the size of a transport block, and how to map a transport block to a plurality of slots in order to minimize the additional signaling overhead for signaling the number of slots to which transport blocks are mapped [You: Para 0013].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Andersson and You, specifically You teaches “wherein the maximum number of slots in a multi-slot TB is either predetermined or received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) or Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling” as [(Para. 0231), the value of Z may be indicated by higher layer signaling or DCI from the network].
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463