DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-24 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 8 in substance that “Applicant respectfully submits that Li fails to disclose "the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern over a plurality of slots and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots," as recited in independent claim 1.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches frequency domain resource occupation manner of SRSs sent by the terminal on symbols in the SRS subframe. SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources. In fig. 3 hopping exists between subframes, that is, SRSs over plurality of slots as we can see in the figure, the configuration information further includes: frequency domain start location information n.sub.RRC of the terminal, where the frequency domain start location information n.sub.RRC of the terminal is used to indicate a frequency domain start location of a bandwidth occupied by an SRS sent by the terminal, and the frequency domain start location information n.sub.RRC.sup.n.sup.s of the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s is determined according to the following formula: in [0078]. However claim merely recites …a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots…
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 10 in substance that “There is no disclosure in Li, however, of a frequency hopping configuration where the frequency hopping configuration comprises a different frequency domain starting position for each slot of the plurality of slots in a frequency hopping pattern, as claimed. Accordingly, Li fails to disclose "the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern over a plurality of slots and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots," as recited in independent claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches, in [0482] A resource block is used to describe mapping from a particular physical channel to a resource element. One physical resource block (physical resource block, PRB) is defined as a resource occupying N.sub.symb.sup.DL consecutive OFDM symbols in a time domain, and occupying N.sub.sc.sup.RB consecutive subcarriers in a frequency domain. SRSs sent by the terminal 502 of Fig. 5 occupy different PRBs (that is, frequency domain resources occupied in different timeslots are different) and same comb subcarriers in different timeslots, as shown in FIG. 13.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 13, 15, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Li hereafter) (US 20180076946 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 1 Li teaches, A method performed by a wireless device for transmitting a sounding reference signal, SRS (Li; [0435] FIG. 19 is a flowchart of an SRS configuration), the method comprising:
receiving a SRS configuration for a SRS resource set, the SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping configuration (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources), and the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern (a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s) over a plurality of slots (different timeslots) wherein and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources) (Li; [0064] if the frequency domain resource occupation manner of SRSs sent by the terminal on symbols in the SRS subframe is that SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources…[0066] cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, used to indicate a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the current cell;… [0067] terminal dedicated bandwidth information …used to indicate: in a bandwidth indicated by the cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s; or[0068] frequency domain start location information); and
transmitting SRS according to the received SRS configuration (Li; [0064] SRSs sent by the terminal [0441] provide a terminal, a base station, and SRS configuration and transmission methods, so as to provide more SRS transmission resources).
Regarding claim 7 Li teaches, a wireless device comprising capable of transmitting a sounding reference signal, SRS (Li; [0435] FIG. 19 is a flowchart of an SRS configuration), processing circuitry operable to:
receive a SRS configuration for a SRS resource set, the SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping configuration (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources), and the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern (a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s) over a plurality of slots (different timeslots) wherein and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources) (Li; [0064] if the frequency domain resource occupation manner of SRSs sent by the terminal on symbols in the SRS subframe is that SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources…[0066] cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, used to indicate a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the current cell;… [0067] terminal dedicated bandwidth information …used to indicate: in a bandwidth indicated by the cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s; or[0068] frequency domain start location information); and
transmit SRS according to the received SRS configuration (Li; [0064] SRSs sent by the terminal [0441] provide a terminal, a base station, and SRS configuration and transmission methods, so as to provide more SRS transmission resources).
Regarding claim 13 Li teaches, A method performed by a network node for receiving a sounding reference signal, SRS (Li; [0435] FIG. 19 is a flowchart of an SRS configuration), the method comprising:
transmitting a SRS configuration for a SRS resource set, the SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping configuration (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources), and the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern (a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s) over a plurality of slots (different timeslots) wherein and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources) (Li; [0064] if the frequency domain resource occupation manner of SRSs sent by the terminal on symbols in the SRS subframe is that SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources…[0066] cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, used to indicate a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the current cell;… [0067] terminal dedicated bandwidth information …used to indicate: in a bandwidth indicated by the cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s; or[0068] frequency domain start location information); and
receiving SRS according to the received SRS configuration (Li; [0064] SRSs sent by the terminal [0441] provide a terminal, a base station, and SRS configuration and transmission methods, so as to provide more SRS transmission resources).
Regarding claim 19 Li teaches, a network node capable of receiving a sounding reference signal, SRS (Li; [0435] FIG. 19 is a flowchart of an SRS configuration), comprising processing circuitry operable to:
transmit a SRS configuration for a SRS resource set, the SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping configuration (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources), and the frequency hopping configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern (a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s) over a plurality of slots (different timeslots) wherein and a frequency domain starting position that varies for each slot of the plurality of slots (SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources) (Li; [0064] if the frequency domain resource occupation manner of SRSs sent by the terminal on symbols in the SRS subframe is that SRSs sent by the terminal in different timeslots in the SRS subframe occupy different frequency domain resources…[0066] cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, used to indicate a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the current cell;… [0067] terminal dedicated bandwidth information …used to indicate: in a bandwidth indicated by the cell public bandwidth information C.sub.SRS, a bandwidth occupied by an SRS that is sent by the terminal in the timeslot with the sequence number n.sub.s; or[0068] frequency domain start location information); and
receiving SRS according to the received SRS configuration (Li; [0064] SRSs sent by the terminal [0441] provide a terminal, a base station, and SRS configuration and transmission methods, so as to provide more SRS transmission resources).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15, and 21, Li teaches, The claims 1, 7, 13, and 19
Li teaches, wherein the frequency domain starting position for each slot of the plurality of slots is such that one or more frequency hops per slot together span, over the plurality of slots, a bandwidth for which any gap between the frequency hops is smaller a coherence bandwidth (Li; [0748] a comb structure with an interval of more than one subcarrier (an interval of n.sub.comb subcarriers, where n.sub.comb may be determined according to a coherence bandwidth) may be used for SRS transmission).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Matsumura et.al. (Matsumura hereafter) (US 20200305146 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 14, and 20 Li teaches, The claims 1, 7, 13, and 19
Li fails to explicitly teach, wherein the frequency domain starting position for each slot of the plurality of slots is such that one or more frequency hops per slot together span, over the plurality of slots, a contiguous bandwidth.
However, in the same field of endeavor Matsumura teaches, wherein the frequency domain starting position for each slot of the plurality of slots is such that one or more frequency hops per slot together span, over the plurality of slots (Matsumura; [0047] As shown in FIG. 4A, intra-slot frequency hopping may be employed on the long PUCCH over a plurality of slots in each slot. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4B, for the long PUCCH over a plurality of slots, frequency hopping which causes frequency), a contiguous bandwidth ([0055] FIGS. 5A to 5C, cases of employing intra-slot frequency hopping in a BWP configured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Matsumura in order to causes frequency resources to which the long PUCCH is mapped to hop among the plurality of slots (Matsumura; [0047]).
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 16, 17, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wang et al. (Wang hereafter) (EP 3927001 A1) (IDS provided)
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, and 22 Li teaches, The claims 1, 7, 13, and 19
Li fails to explicitly teach, wherein each frequency hop comprises a frequency hop bandwidth and the frequency domain starting position is incremented by the frequency hop bandwidth for each slot of the plurality of slots
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang teaches, wherein each frequency hop comprises a frequency hop bandwidth and the frequency domain starting position is incremented by the frequency hop bandwidth for each slot of the plurality of slots (Wang; [0053] When the terminal device performs multi-BWP handover, the SRS frequency domain configurations of the same terminal device among multiple BWPs may be the same, thus greatly simplifying the configuration complexity of the SRS in multiple BWPs, avoiding collision among SRSs of different terminal devices, reducing SRS interference in the cell and increasing the resource utilization rate of the SRS under multiple BWPs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to simplifying the configuration complexity of the SRS in multiple BWPs (Wang; [0053]).
Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, and 23 Li teaches, The claims 1, 7, 13, and 19
Li fails to explicitly teach, wherein the frequency domain starting position is incremented after a fixed number of slots of the plurality of slots
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang teaches, wherein the frequency domain starting position is incremented after a fixed number of slots of the plurality of slots (Wang [0050] When the SRS frequency hopping is enabled, an actual transmission pattern of the SRS is shown in Fig. 5 , where the network side is configured with the parameters locationAndBandwidth=1374 (indicating that the starting position of the BWP is CRB=0 and the number of RBs is 272), nshift=0 (indicating that the starting position of the SRS sending bandwidth is CRB 0), c-SRS=62 (indicating that the total sending bandwidth of the SRS is 272 RBs), b-SRS=1 (indicating that the sending bandwidth of each SRS is 68 RBs), b-hop=0 (indicating that the hopping bandwidth of the SRS is the total bandwidth), and nRRC=0 (indicating that the starting RB of the first SRS sending is CRB 0).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to simplifying the configuration complexity of the SRS in multiple BWPs (Wang; [0053]).
Claims 6, 12, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of (Sun hereafter) (EP3343810A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claims 6, 12, 18, and 24 Li teaches, The claims 1, 7, 13, and 19
Li fails to explicitly teach, wherein the frequency domain starting position is incremented according to a pre-defined hopping pattern
However, in the same field of endeavor Sun teaches, wherein the frequency domain starting position is incremented according to a pre-defined hopping pattern (Sun; [0045] A frequency hopping rule applied to the SRS with the frequency hopping period of 2 ms is a pattern 1, a frequency hopping rule applied to the SRS with the frequency hopping period of 10 ms is a pattern 2, and a frequency hopping rule applied to the SRS with the frequency hopping period of 20 ms is a pattern 3.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Sun in order to configured in a subframe of a time offset of 0, and an SRS with a frequency hopping period (Sun; [0047]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416