DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed 02/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 13-21, 25 & 27-33 in the application remain pending. Claims 13, 15, 25, 27-28 & 30 were amended. Claims 22-24 & 26 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2026 & 03/23/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Title
5. Title objections in the 11/28/2025 Office Action are withdrawn.
Drawings
6. Drawing objections in the 11/28/2025 Office Action are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
7. Claim objections on claim 13 in the 11/28/2025 Office Action are rendered moot per amendments.
Claim Rejections
8. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b), of claims 13-33 are withdrawn per cancellation of claims 22-24 & 26 and amendments of claims 13, 15 & 30.
9. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Baumann (US 2010/0147215 A1) of claims 13-20, 22-23 & 25-32 are withdrawn per cancellation of claims 22-23 & 26 and amendments of claim 13.
10. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Baumann (US 2010/0147215 A1) and van der Steur (US 2005/0129872 A1) of claim 24 are withdrawn per cancellation of claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 13-20, 25 & 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann (US 2010/0147215 A1) hereinafter Baumann in view of van der Steur (US 2005/0129872 A1) hereinafter van der Steur (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Baumann & van der Steur are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 13, Baumann discloses a coating device for coating components with a coating agent (abs; fig 1-4), comprising:
a protected area (1) which is explosion-proof and/or is under high-voltage during operation ([0017]-[0020]; [0023]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]; fig 1),
an unprotected area (area outside of 1) which is not explosion-protected and/or is at earth potential (grounded, see fig 1) during operation ([0017]-[0020]; [0023]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]; fig 1),
at least two sensors (7) for measuring process variables of the coating device (fig 1-2), wherein the sensors (7) are arranged in the protected area (1) ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]; fig 1),
a data interface (21, 27) for external data communication, the data interface (21, 27) being arranged in the unprotected area (area outside of 1) ([0032]-[0035]; [0040]; fig 1-4),
a transmission system (LWL, 25) for transmitting data between the sensors (7) in the protected area (1) and the data interface (21, 27) in the unprotected area (area outside of 1) ([0032]-[0036]; [0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4),
a collecting device (20, 26) ([0032]-[0036]; [0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4), wherein the collecting device (20, 26):
is arranged in the protected area (1) ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0036]; [0038]; [0040]; fig 1),
is connected to the sensors (7) and receives measured values of the process variables from the sensors (7) ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0036]; [0038]; [0040]; fig 1), and
is connected to the transmission system (LWL, 25) in order to transmit the measured values of the sensors (7) to the data interface (21, 27) ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0036]; [0038]; [0040]; fig 1),
a coating robot (fig 2) with a proximal robot arm (rear arm 16) and a distal robot arm (front arm 10), wherein the protected area (1) is arranged at least partially in the distal robot arm (front arm 10), and the unprotected area (area outside of 1) is arranged at least partially in the proximal robot arm (rear arm 16) ([0016]-[0020]; [0027]-[0032]; fig 1-2), and
an insulating section ([0018] – “front arm made from an insulating material”, thus would contain an insulating section at the end connecting to the proximal robot arm (rear arm 16)) is arranged in the distal robot arm (front arm 10) between the protected area (1) and the unprotected area (area outside of 1) ([0008]-[0009]; [0018]; [0027]-[0032]; fig 1-2), however Baumann does not disclose the insulating section is made of plastic.
van der Steur discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-2), wherein the insulating section is made of plastic ([0010]; [0041]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the insulating section is made of plastic in the coating device of Baumann, because van der Steur teaches the use of the insulating section is made of plastic for isolating an electrostatic sprayer from an electrically grounded coating product distribution circuit connected thereto ([0010]; [0041]).
As regards to claim 14, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein a) the sensors (7) are operated with electrical energy, b) the sensors (7) are supplied with the electrical energy required for operation by the collecting device (20, 26), and c) the transmission system (LWL, 25), in addition to transmitting the data, also supplies the electrical energy for operating the sensors (7) to the collecting device (20, 26) so that the collecting device (20, 26) can supply the sensors (7) with the electrical energy required for operation ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4).
As regards to claim 15, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein a) the sensors (7) are operated with electrical energy, b) the sensors (7) are supplied with the electrical energy required for operation by the collecting device (20, 26), as a self-sufficient power supply (DC) with a battery, an accumulator, a mechanical compressed air generator, or an optical current generator arranged in the protected area (1) ([0016]-[0017]; [0021]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0035]; [0037]-[0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4).
As regards to claim 16, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the power supply (DC) is a battery ([0016]; [0021]; [0023]-[0024]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 17, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein a) the power supply (DC) in the protected area (1) supplies the sensors (7) with the electrical energy required for operation via the collecting device (20, 26), and
b) the power supply (DC) in the protected area (1) is intrinsically safe to ensure explosion protection ([0016]-[0017]; [0021]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0035]; [0037]-[0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4).
As regards to claim 18, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the transmission system (LWL) comprises at least one optical waveguide (fig 3) for connecting the data interface (21) in the unprotected area (area outside of 1) to the collecting device (20) in the protected area (1) and thereby effecting an electrical potential separation between the data interface (21) and the collecting device (20) ([0033]-[0034]; [0038]-[0039]; fig 3).
As regards to claim 19, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the transmission system (25) operates wirelessly in order to effect an electrical potential separation between the data interface (27) and the collecting device (26) ([0035]-[0040]; fig 4).
As regards to claim 20, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the transmission system (25) operates wirelessly by means of one of the following techniques: a) an inductive coupling, b) a resonant-inductive coupling, c) a capacitive coupling ([0006]; [0035]-[0040]; fig 4).
As regards to claim 25, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the transmission system (LWL, 25) is arranged at least partially in the distal robot arm (front arm 10) ([0016]-[0021]; [0023]; [0028]-[0031]; fig 1-4).
As regards to claim 27, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein a sensor is arranged in the unprotected area (area outside of 1) ([0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]).
As regards to claim 28, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the sensors (7) comprise at least one of the following sensors (7): a) pressure sensor, b) flow sensor, c) speed sensor, d) force sensor, e) acceleration sensor, f) vibration sensor, g) temperature sensor ([0009]; [0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 29, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the data interface (21, 27) provides at least one of the following interface types: a) Ethernet interface, b) Bluetooth interface, c) USB interface, d) IO-Link, e) optical waveguide interface, f) an analog interface, g) a digital interface, h) Ethernet-based fieldbus systems, i) analog in/out interfaces, j) digital in/out interfaces ([0033]-[0040]; fig 3-4).
As regards to claim 30, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the collecting device (20, 26) communicates digitally with individual sensors ([0009]; [0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0035]; [0039]-[0040]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 31, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein a power supply voltage generated for the data interface (21, 27) is arranged in the unprotected area (area outside of 1), the power supply in the unprotected area (area outside of 1) being intrinsically safe to ensure explosion protection ([0016]-[0017]; [0020-[0021]; [0023]-[0027]; [0030]-[0035]; [0040]; fig 1-4).
As regards to claim 32, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the power supply is intrinsically safe according to at least one of the technical standards IEC/EN 60079-11-Part 11, IEC/EN 60079-25-Part 25 and IEC/EN 60079-14-Part 14 ([0003]-[0008]; [0016]-[0017]; [0020-[0021]; [0023]-[0027]; [0030]-[0035]; [0037]-[0038]; [0040]; fig 1-4).
12. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann & van der Steur as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Sakata et al. (US 2017/0239822 A1) hereinafter Sakata.
As regards to claim 21, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the transmission system (LWL, 25) comprises an inductive coupling, ([0006]; [0035]-[0040]), however Baumann & van der Steur does not disclose the following components: a) a transmitting coil for inductive coupling, b) an oscillator for driving the transmitting coil with an AC voltage signal, c) a transmitter-side resonant circuit coupled to the transmitting coil, d) a receiving coil for inductive coupling with the transmitting coil,
e) a receiver-side resonant circuit coupled to the receiving coil, and f) a rectifier for rectifying the signal coupled into the receiving coil.
Sakata discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), comprising a) a transmitting coil for inductive coupling, b) an oscillator for driving the transmitting coil with an AC voltage signal, c) a transmitter-side resonant circuit coupled to the transmitting coil, d) a receiving coil for inductive coupling with the transmitting coil, e) a receiver-side resonant circuit coupled to the receiving coil, and f) a rectifier for rectifying the signal coupled into the receiving coil ([0137]; [0145]; [0162]-[0172]; fig 12A-13). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a) a transmitting coil for inductive coupling, b) an oscillator for driving the transmitting coil with an AC voltage signal, c) a transmitter-side resonant circuit coupled to the transmitting coil, d) a receiving coil for inductive coupling with the transmitting coil, e) a receiver-side resonant circuit coupled to the receiving coil, and f) a rectifier for rectifying the signal coupled into the receiving coil in the coating device of Baumann & van der Steur, because Sakata teaches the use of ) a transmitting coil for inductive coupling, b) an oscillator for driving the transmitting coil with an AC voltage signal, c) a transmitter-side resonant circuit coupled to the transmitting coil, d) a receiving coil for inductive coupling with the transmitting coil, e) a receiver-side resonant circuit coupled to the receiving coil, and f) a rectifier for rectifying the signal coupled into the receiving coil to form a complete circuit configuration of an electrodynamic coating apparatus deemed as a wireless power transmission system including a power transmission apparatus and a power reception apparatus ([0162]-[0172]).
13. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann & van der Steur as applied to claim 13 above.
As regards to claim 33, Baumann discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-4), wherein the coating device (fig 1-2) comprises a metering pump which meters the coating agent and, in operation, comprises an inlet pressure and an outlet pressure (implicit), one of the sensors (7) is a pressure sensor which measures the pressure of the metering pump, one of the sensors (7) is a temperature sensor measuring a coating agent temperature ([0009]; [0017]; [0023]-[0024]; [0026]; [0032]-[0033]; [0035]; [0040]; fig 1), however Baumann & van der Steur does not disclose the metering pump is arranged in the protected area and the sensors measure the output pressure and the inlet pressure of the metering pump.
Although the Baumann & van der Steur does not explicitly disclose the claimed metering pump arrangement, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Baumann & van der Steur to have the metering pump arrangement recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as there are only a finite number of suitable locations and since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Further, although Baumann & van der Steur does not explicitly disclose the claimed sensors measure the output pressure and the inlet pressure, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Baumann & van der Steur to have the sensors measure the output pressure and the inlet pressure recited in the claim as needed for an intended coating method and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been an obvious matter of design choice since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 1 93 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Baumann does not disclose an insulating section in the distal robot arm between the protected area and the unprotected area. At best, Baumann discloses that "[t]he front arm may be made from an insulating material in a manner customary per se" (Baumann, [0018]). Therefore, Baumann does not disclose all of the features arranged in the same way as recited in amended claim 13.
(b) Applicant respectfully submits that claim 13, and all claims depending therefrom, should be allowed for at least the reasons presented above and in view of the additional features of these claims.
15. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 13, Baumann discloses a coating robot (fig 2) with a proximal robot arm (rear arm 16) and a distal robot arm (front arm 10), wherein the protected area (1) is arranged at least partially in the distal robot arm (front arm 10), and the unprotected area (area outside of 1) is arranged at least partially in the proximal robot arm (rear arm 16) ([0016]-[0020]; [0027]-[0032]; fig 1-2), and an insulating section ([0018] – “front arm made from an insulating material”, thus would contain an insulating section at the end connecting to the proximal robot arm (rear arm 16)) is arranged in the distal robot arm (front arm 10) between the protected area (1) and the unprotected area (area outside of 1) ([0008]-[0009]; [0018]; [0027]-[0032]; fig 1-2), however Baumann does not disclose the insulating section is made of plastic.
van der Steur discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1-2), wherein the insulating section is made of plastic ([0010]; [0041]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the insulating section is made of plastic in the coating device of Baumann, because van der Steur teaches the use of the insulating section is made of plastic for isolating an electrostatic sprayer from an electrically grounded coating product distribution circuit connected thereto ([0010]; [0041]).
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 13 are indeed satisfied. Claims 14-21, 25 & 27-33 in are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717