DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 28 which include an array substrate comprising a plurality of subpixels but does not include various numbers of gate lines, in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claimed limitation of “in the region, pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same in accordance with a distance away from the same reference region” as recited in claim 1, is unclear as to which element said pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 28, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2016/0005382) or Guo et al. (2017/0132969).
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text an array substrate, in at least a region, comprising a plurality of subpixels R, G, B;
wherein a light emissive region of a respective subpixel of the plurality of subpixels has a first end and a second end, the second end being on a side of the first end away from a same reference region (since every six sub-pixels encircle one center point in the shape of a flower) with respect to the plurality of subpixels in the region;
directions respectively from second ends to first ends of the plurality of subpixels substantially point toward the same reference region (said center); and
wherein, in the region, the plurality of subpixels comprise first subpixels of a first orientation and second subpixels of a second orientation;
a width of a first light emissive region of a respective first subpixel of the first subpixels increases from the first end to the second end;
a width of a second light emissive region of a respective second subpixel of the second subpixels decreases from the first end to the second end; and
the first orientation and the second orientation (in reference to said center) are substantially opposite to each other.
Guo et al. (‘382) do not explicitly state that in the region, pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same in accordance with a distance away from the same reference region;
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form in the region, pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same in accordance with a distance away from the same reference region, in Guo et al.’s (‘382) device, in order to adjust and optimize the emission characteristics of the device.
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text an array substrate, in at least a region, comprising a plurality of subpixels R, G, B;
wherein a light emissive region of a respective subpixel of the plurality of subpixels has a first end and a second end, the second end being on a side of the first end away from a same reference region (since Guo et al. teach that the sub-pixels are arranged in “a circular manner” such that the reference region can be the center of the circle OR the reference point can be arbitrarily chosen in the middle of the display, as depicted in figure 2) with respect to the plurality of subpixels in the region;
directions respectively from second ends to first ends of the plurality of subpixels substantially point toward the same reference region (said center); and
wherein, in the region, the plurality of subpixels comprise first subpixels of a first orientation and second subpixels of a second orientation;
a width of a first light emissive region of a respective first subpixel of the first subpixels increases from the first end to the second end;
a width of a second light emissive region of a respective second subpixel of the second subpixels decreases from the first end to the second end; and
the first orientation and the second orientation (in reference to said center) are substantially opposite to each other.
Guo et al. (‘969) do not explicitly state that in the region, pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same in accordance with a distance away from the same reference region;
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form in the region, pixel-per-inch (PPI) is substantially the same in accordance with a distance away from the same reference region, in Guo et al.’s (‘969) device, in order to adjust and optimize the emission characteristics of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text and Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text that the array substrate comprising N number of portions sequentially arranged in the region, N being an integer greater than 2; wherein an (n+1)-th portion is on a side of an n-th portion away from the same reference region, 1 < n < (N-1); and subpixels of the n-th portion that are directly adjacent to the (n+1)-th portion and subpixels of the (n+1)-th portion that are directly adjacent to the n-th portion, where wider ends of light emissive regions of the subpixels of the n-th portion that are directly adjacent to the (n+1)-th portion are directly adjacent to wider ends of light emissive regions of subpixels of the (n+1)-th portion that are directly adjacent to the n-th portion, have different orientations.
Regarding claim 28, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text and Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text a display apparatus, comprising the array substrate, but do not explicitly state using one or more integrated circuits connected to the array substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to connect one or more integrated circuits to the array substrate, in prior art’s devices, in order to operate the device in its intended use.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 10 and 12, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2016/0005382) or Guo et al. (2017/0132969), each in view of Zhang et al. (2021/0193745).Regarding claim 4, Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969) teach substantially the entire claimed structure, as recited in claim 4, except having a respective portion of the N number of portions comprises one or more arcs of subpixels.
Zhang et al. (2021/0193745) teach in figure 2 and related text a respective portion of N number of portions comprises one or more subpixels 11 arranged in circular portions around a center.
Zhang et al., Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969) are analogous art because they are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to arrange the sub-pixels in circular portions around a center, as taught by Zhang et al., in prior art’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the emission characteristics of the device.
In the combined device, a respective portion of the N number of portions comprises one or more arcs of subpixels (since the triangular shaped sub-pixels of Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969), arranged in a circle, now comprise arcs); the array substrate comprises X number of arcs of subpixels at least partially surrounding the same reference region, X being an integer greater than 2; and subpixels respectively from any two directly adjacent arcs of subpixels have different orientations.
Regarding claim 5, in the combined device, a 1st portion of the N number of portions comprises one arc of subpixels, the n-th portion comprises two arcs of subpixels, and an N-th portion comprises two arcs of subpixels, and X = 2(N-1) + 1.
Regarding claim 7, in the combined device, a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the n-th portion is greater than a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the (n+1)-th portion (since the subpixels are now arranged in a circle such that the number of subpixels in the outer perimeter of the circle is greater than those in the inner circle).
Regarding claim 8, in the combined device, a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the n-th portion is in a range of (n-0.5):(n-1) to (n+0.5):(n-1).
Regarding claim 10, in the combined device, at least a m-th portion of the N number of portions comprises a first sub-portion and a second sub- portion, the second sub-portion being on a side of the first sub-portion away from the same reference region, 1 < m < (N-1); and subpixels of the first sub-portion and subpixels of the second sub-portion have different orientations.
Regarding claim 12, in the combined device, a number of subpixels in the n-th portion is S * I * (2n-1); S stands for a number of subpixels in a respective pixel; and I stands for a number of subpixels in a 1st portion of the N number of portions divided by S, the 1st portion being a portion of the N number of portions closest to the same reference region.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
2/6/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800