DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (2016/0005382) or Guo et al. (2017/0132969).
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text an array substrate, in at least a region, comprising a plurality of subpixels R, G, B;
wherein a light emissive region of a respective subpixel of the plurality of subpixels has a first end and a second end, the second end being on a side of the first end away from a same reference region (since every six sub-pixels encircle one center point in the shape of a flower) with respect to the plurality of subpixels in the region;
directions respectively from second ends to first ends of the plurality of subpixels substantially point toward the same reference region (said center); and
wherein, in the region, the plurality of subpixels comprise first subpixels of a first orientation and second subpixels of a second orientation;
a width of a first light emissive region of a respective first subpixel of the first subpixels increases from the first end to the second end;
a width of a second light emissive region of a respective second subpixel of the second subpixels decreases from the first end to the second end;
the first orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective first subpixel:
the second orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective second subpixel; and
the first orientation and the second orientation (in reference to said center) are substantially opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text an array substrate, in at least a region, comprising a plurality of subpixels R, G, B;
wherein a light emissive region of a respective subpixel of the plurality of subpixels has a first end and a second end, the second end being on a side of the first end away from a same reference region (since Guo et al. teach that the sub-pixels are arranged in “a circular manner” such that the reference region can be the center of the circle OR the reference point can be arbitrarily chosen in the middle of the display, as depicted in figure 2) with respect to the plurality of subpixels in the region;
directions respectively from second ends to first ends of the plurality of subpixels substantially point toward the same reference region (said center); and
wherein, in the region, the plurality of subpixels comprise first subpixels of a first orientation and second subpixels of a second orientation;
a width of a first light emissive region of a respective first subpixel of the first subpixels increases from the first end to the second end;
a width of a second light emissive region of a respective second subpixel of the second subpixels decreases from the first end to the second end; and
the first orientation and the second orientation (in reference to said center) are substantially opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 2, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text and Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text that the array substrate comprising N number of portions sequentially arranged in the region, N being an integer greater than 2; wherein an (n+1)-th portion is on a side of an n-th portion away from the same reference region, 1 < n < (N-1); and subpixels of the n-th portion that are directly adjacent to the (n+1)-th portion and subpixels of the (n+1)-th portion that are directly adjacent to the n-th portion, where wider ends of light emissive regions of the subpixels of the n-th portion that are directly adjacent to the (n+1)-th portion are directly adjacent to wider ends of light emissive regions of subpixels of the (n+1)-th portion that are directly adjacent to the n-th portion, have different orientations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2016/0005382) or Guo et al. (2017/0132969).
Regarding claim 28, Guo et al. (‘382) teach in figure 1 and related text and Guo et al. (‘969) teach in figure 2 and related text a display apparatus, comprising the array substrate, but do not explicitly state using one or more integrated circuits connected to the array substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to connect one or more integrated circuits to the array substrate, in prior art’s devices, in order to operate the device in its intended use.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2016/0005382) or Guo et al. (2017/0132969), each in view of Zhang et al. (2021/0193745).Regarding claim 4, Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969) teach substantially the entire claimed structure, as recited in claim 4, except having a respective portion of the N number of portions comprises one or more arcs of subpixels.
Zhang et al. (2021/0193745) teach in figure 2 and related text a respective portion of N number of portions comprises one or more subpixels 11 arranged in circular portions around a center.
Zhang et al., Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969) are analogous art because they are directed to display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to arrange the sub-pixels in circular portions around a center, as taught by Zhang et al., in prior art’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the emission characteristics of the device.
In the combined device, a respective portion of the N number of portions comprises one or more arcs of subpixels (since the triangular shaped sub-pixels of Guo et al. (‘382) and Guo et al. (‘969), arranged in a circle, now comprise arcs); the array substrate comprises X number of arcs of subpixels at least partially surrounding the same reference region, X being an integer greater than 2; and subpixels respectively from any two directly adjacent arcs of subpixels have different orientations.
Regarding claim 5, in the combined device, a 1st portion of the N number of portions comprises one arc of subpixels, the n-th portion comprises two arcs of subpixels, and an N-th portion comprises two arcs of subpixels, and X = 2(N-1) + 1.
Regarding claim 7, in the combined device, a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the n-th portion is greater than a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the (n+1)-th portion (since the subpixels are now arranged in a circle such that the number of subpixels in the outer perimeter of the circle is greater than those in the inner circle).
Regarding claim 8, in the combined device, a ratio of a number of subpixels having first orientations to a number of subpixels having second orientations in the n-th portion is in a range of (n-0.5):(n-1) to (n+0.5):(n-1).
Regarding claim 10, in the combined device, at least a m-th portion of the N number of portions comprises a first sub-portion and a second sub- portion, the second sub-portion being on a side of the first sub-portion away from the same reference region, 1 < m < (N-1); and subpixels of the first sub-portion and subpixels of the second sub-portion have different orientations.
Regarding claim 12, in the combined device, a number of subpixels in the n-th portion is S * I * (2n-1); S stands for a number of subpixels in a respective pixel; and I stands for a number of subpixels in a 1st portion of the N number of portions divided by S, the 1st portion being a portion of the N number of portions closest to the same reference region.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicants argue regarding Guo 382 that “a respective first subpixel Sp1 has a first orientation OR1 from a wider end to a narrower end of the respective first subpixel SP1 and are a respective second subpixel Sp2 has a second orientation 0R2 from a wider end to a narrower end of the respective second subpixel Sp2” and this is different from claim 1 which requires that the first orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective first subpixel: the second orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective second subpixel”.
1. Applicants arbitrarily chose SP2 as a sample. However, another subpixel in figure 1 of Guo 382 has a second orientation that is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective second subpixel.
2. Applicants argue that Guo 969 does not teach that the first orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective first subpixel: the second orientation is from a wider end to a narrower end of a respective second subpixel, because “As shown in the annotated FIG. 2, a same reference region SRR is denoted. The six subpixels surrounding the same reference region SRR all satisfy the requirement of "directions respectively from second ends to first ends of the six subpixels substantially point toward the same reference region. The display substrate includes at least a subpixel Spx having an orientation ORx from a wider end to a narrower end of the subpixel Spx. Applicants respectfully submit that a direction from a second end to a first end of the subpixel Spx does not point toward the same reference region SRR”.
2. As discussed regarding Guo 382, applicants arbitrarily chose subpixels which do not support the limitations of claim 1. Choosing another second subpixel would satisfy the requirements of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
5/16/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800