DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 25, 30, 32, 37-40 and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 2022/0109528, hereinafter Babaei) and in view of Yang et al (US 2020/0374089, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 23, Babaei discloses a wireless device, WD (UE, Fig. 1), configured to communicate with a network node, the WD configured to: defer semi-persistent scheduling, SPS, hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement, HARQ-ACK, to a slot subsequent to a slot n+K1 when slot n+K1 is invalid for SPS HARQ-ACK transmission, n being a slot index indicating a downlink slot and K1 being a configured offset indicating a slot for transmission of a HARQ-ACK in response to a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduled for the WD in slot n (SPS configuration with fixed PDSCH to HARQ timing (K1), where n would be the slot PDSCH is received in, Para [0176], HARQ feedback deferred until next available valid PUCCH resource, Para [0177], defer HARQ feedback, when K1 timing would have HARQ feedback collide with invalid slot/symbols, until next UL slot, Para [0187]. Also see Para [0175,176, 186] from the provisional application); but does not explicitly disclose drop the deferred SPS HARQ-ACK when the determined PUCCH resource cannot be transmitted within the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 (UE can discard the HARQ feedback if the UE cannot transmit the HARQ within the maximum HARQ feedback delay, Para [0177], where the max delay is the subsequent slot, also obvious variation to one of ordinary skill to discard HARQ feedback if second attempt is unsuccessful/invalid); nor explicitly disclose multiplex the deferred SPS HARQ-ACK bits with other HARQ-ACK bits configured to be transmitted in the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 in response to another PDSCH received from the network node. Yang discloses the UE can multiplex the delayed ACKs with an ACK scheduled by another PDSCH, in the next available slot, Para [0177/Fig. 4; nor discloses determine a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource based at least in part on a total size of a payload of the multiplexed HARQ-ACK bits. Yang discloses UE determines which PUCCH resource to use based on number of ACK bits (e.g. payload size), Para [0112], UE can determine payload size of more than one ACK then select PUCCH resource, Para [0169]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Babaei in order to prevent collisions of acknowledgement feedback.
Regarding claims 25 and 32, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 23/30, wherein the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 is a first available slot that is not a downlink slot (defer HARQ feedback to the next UL slot, Para [0187], first available slot, Para [0177]).
Regarding claim 30, Babaei discloses a method implemented in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising: deferring semi-persistent scheduling, SPS, hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement, HARQ-ACK, to a slot subsequent to a slot n+K1 when slot n+K1 is invalid for SPS HARQ-ACK transmission, n being a slot index indicating a downlink slot and K1 being a fixed offset indicating a slot for transmission of a HARQ-ACK in response to a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduled for the WD in slot n (SPS configuration with fixed PDSCH to HARQ timing (K1), where n would be the slot PDSCH is received in, Para [0176], HARQ feedback deferred until next available valid PUCCH resource, Para [0177], defer HARQ feedback, when K1 timing would have HARQ feedback collide with invalid slot/symbols, until next UL slot, Para [0187]. Also see Para [0175,176, 186] from the provisional application); but does not explicitly disclose drop the deferred SPS HARQ-ACK when the determined PUCCH resource cannot be transmitted within the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 (UE can discard the HARQ feedback if the UE cannot transmit the HARQ within the maximum HARQ feedback delay, Para [0177], where the max delay is the subsequent slot, also obvious variation to one of ordinary skill to discard HARQ feedback if second attempt is unsuccessful/invalid); nor explicitly disclose multiplex the deferred SPS HARQ-ACK bits with other HARQ-ACK bits configured to be transmitted in the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 in response to another PDSCH received from the network node. Yang discloses the UE can multiplex the delayed ACKs with an ACK scheduled by another PDSCH, in the next available slot, Para [0177/Fig. 4; nor discloses determine a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource based at least in part on a total size of a payload of the multiplexed HARQ-ACK bits. Yang discloses UE determines which PUCCH resource to use based on number of ACK bits (e.g. payload size), Para [0112], UE can determine payload size of more than one ACK then select PUCCH resource, Para [0169]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Babaei in order to prevent collisions of acknowledgement feedback.
Regarding claims 37 and 42, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 23/30, wherein the slot subsequent to the slot n+K1 is an uplink slot (UE defers feedback to the next UL slot, Para [0187]).
Regarding claims 38 and 43, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 23/30, wherein the another PDSCH is an SPS PDSCH and the other HARQ-ACK bits are for the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the SPS PDSCH (UE can receive SPS PDSCH and multiplex HARQ-ACK for multiple SPS PDSCH receptions, Para [0136], Yang also discloses multiple SPS PDSCHs, Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 39 and 44, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 38/43, but not wherein the PUCCH resource to use for the multiplexed HARQ-ACK bits is determined from a set of configured PUCCH resources for SPS HARQ-ACK. Yang discloses selecting PUCCH resources from the configured one or more PUCCH resources in the multiple DL SPS ACK feedback configuration, Para [0169].
Regarding claims 40 and 45, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 23/30, but not wherein the another PDSCH is a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and the other HARQ-ACK bits are for HARQ-ACK corresponding to the dynamically scheduled PDSCH. Yang discloses the UE may append ACK for the SPS to the dynamic codebook of the dynamic PDSCH, Para [0172].
Claims 41 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of Yang and in view of Huang et al (US 2020/0267597, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 41 and 46, Babaei discloses the WD/method of claim 23/30, but not wherein the PUCCH resource to use for the multiplexed HARQ-ACK bits is determined by pucch-resourcesetid in a configured pucch-resourceset. Huang discloses a UE is configured with set of PUCCH resources provided by PUCCH-resourceset and is asscioated with PUCCH resource set index provided by pucch-resourcesetID, Para [0141]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Huang in the system of Babaei in view of Yang in order to efficiently handle both sidelink and uplink HARQ feedback.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Babaei discloses how to order the different HARQ-ACK bits but does not consider for the multiplexing, whether the PUCCH can in the end be transmitted in the available slot. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461