The previous action is withdrawn/superseded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 14, 16, 20, 27, 29, 33, 40, 42, and 46, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li US 20230354164 in view of Lin US 20220369298 ‘298 and
Lin US 20200314811 ‘811.
Regarding claim 1, 14, 27, and 40, Li teaches a wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the wireless device configured to:
receive, in a scheduling downlink control information (DCI), a bitfield for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation, the bitfield being configured to take a field value, out of a set of field values, to indicate to the wireless device to perform one of:
search space set group switching; and
skipping of PDCCH monitoring;
adapt the PDCCH monitoring for at least one cell based on the field value of the one bitfield;
the wireless device being configured with at least two search space set groups, including the first and second search space set groups, for the at least one cell and the search space set group switching corresponding to switching between the first and second search space set groups for the at least one cell (PDCCH, abstract, DCI format 1-1, switching search space group, [0044], indication field in DCI, PDCCH skipping, [0048]).
Although Li teaches search space set group switching, the reference is silent on the set of field values including:
a first field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a first search space set group;
a second field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a second search space set group.
Lin ‘298 teaches the set of field values including:
a first field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a first search space set group;
a second field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a second search space set group (a first group index for the first group of search space sets and a second group index for the second group of search
space sets, The receiver is further configured to receive, based on the indication, physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) according to either the first group of search space sets or the second group of search space sets, [0005], the DCI format includes a field with a first value indicating the first group index or the second group index; determining receptions of the PDCCHs according to the first group of search space sets or the second group of search space sets based on the first value, claim 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li by at least one field value taking one of set of field values including: a first field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a first search space set group; a second field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a second search space set group, as shown by Lin ‘298. This modification would benefit the system by providing a method for informing the UE on which search space group to monitor.
Although Li teaches skipping PDCCH monitoring, the combination is silent on a third field value indicating to skip PDCCH monitoring according to a skip duration.
Lin ‘811 teaches the wireless device is configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell and wherein the skipping of PDCCH monitoring corresponds to skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the at least one cell according to the skip duration (PDCCH monitoring is skipped in the respective search space sets or all search space sets associated with the respective CORESETs for a dynamic duration indicated by a field in the decoded DCI format, [0156]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li by the wireless device is configured with a skip duration for the at least one cell and wherein the skipping of PDCCH monitoring corresponds to skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the at least one cell according to the skip duration, as shown by Lin ‘811. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the system to dynamically change the duration of PDCCH monitoring skipping.
Although the combination teaches a first field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a first search space set group; a second field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a second search space set group; or and a third field value indicating to skip PDCCH monitoring according to a skip duration, the combination is silent on a single field wherein a first field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a first search space set group; a second field value indicating to perform PDCCH monitoring according to a second search space set group; and a third field value indicating to skip PDCCH monitoring according to a skip duration. However, this modification would have been obvious with the use of two bits to indicate the three different scenarios. For example ‘00’ could represent the first field value, ‘01’ could represent the second field value, and ‘10’ could represent the third field value.
Regarding claims 3, 16, 29, and 42, the wireless device is configured with the skip duration for the at least one cell and wherein the skipping of PDCCH monitoring corresponds to skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the at least one cell according to the skip duration (Lin ‘811: PDCCH monitoring is skipped in the respective search space sets or all search space sets associated with the respective CORESETs for a dynamic duration indicated by a field in the decoded DCI format [0156]).
Regarding claims 7, 20, 33, 46, the at least one cell includes a first serving cell of the wireless device and the bitfield includes a bitfield for PDCCH monitoring adaptation for the first serving and wherein the wireless device is configured to receive the bitfield for PDCCH monitoring adaptation for the first serving cell in the first serving cell (Li: PDCCH, abstract, DCI format 1-1, switching search space group, [0044], indication field in DCI, PDCCH skipping, [0048]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) (2/9/26) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476