DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to Application 18/262,002 filed on 01/05/2026. Claims 1-11 are canceled. Claims 12 and 20-21 have been amended. Claims 12-13 and 15-21 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority for Application No. DE102021202949.3, filed on 03/25/2021.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 12, Applicant argues the cited art of record fails to explicitly disclose the newly amended claim feature, specifically, controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the checksum calculation unit, such that no checksum is transmitted to the motor vehicle over the communication network, wherein the absence of the checksum results in a disturbance of the communication between the system and the motor vehicle, and the motor vehicle is driven to the safe state as a result of the disturbed communication.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nordbruch discloses monitoring communication between system components using checksum or cyclic redundancy check information to verify message integrity. Nordbruch further discloses detecting missing or invalid checksum information and determining that communication integrity has been compromised as a result. Nordbruch expressly discloses that, when communication integrity is compromised, the system initiates a fail-safe response, including transitioning the vehicle or system to a safe operating state. Accordingly, Nordbruch discloses that the absence of checksum information results in disturbed communication and causes the motor vehicle to be driven to a safe state, as recited in the claims. The claims do not require any particular internal mechanism by which checksum transmission is prevented beyond reciting that no checksum is transmitted. Nordbruch expressly discloses the condition of missing checksum information and the resulting communication disturbance and safe-state response. Because Nordbruch discloses each claimed functional limitation, including the absence of checksum information, the resulting disturbed communication, and the transition of the motor vehicle to a safe state, Nordbruch anticipates the amended claims.
Examiner notes the same arguments apply to independent claims 20 and 21.
For at least the above the previous 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 15-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stefan Nordbruch, US 20170205824 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nordbruch.
Regarding claim 12, Nordbruch discloses a system for infrastructure-supported assistance of a motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within a parking lot, comprising:
a data processor configured to ascertain infrastructure assistance data for the infrastructure-supported assistance of the motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within the parking lot (a method for monitoring an autonomous driving operation of a motor vehicle within a parking facility is provided, including the following steps: ascertaining data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶5);
a communicator configured to transmit the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a communication network (Such assistance includes, for example, that data, for example the ascertained data, are transmitted to the motor vehicle via a communication network, based on which the motor vehicle may drive autonomously – See at least ¶27); and
a controller configured such that, when an error of the at least one of the data processor and the communicator during the infrastructure-supported assistance is detected, the controller switches to a safe state, such that communication between the system and the motor vehicle is at least interrupted (checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶104. control device being configured to control an implementation of a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, if the check revealed that the data have an error -See at least ¶110),
wherein the data-processing device includes a checksum calculation unit which is designed to ascertain a checksum for the infrastructure assistance data, the communication device being configured to transmit the checksum to the motor vehicle over the communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the checksum calculation unit such that no checksum is transmitted to the motor vehicle over the communication network (The motor vehicle uses these ascertained data, according to a specific embodiment, to check ascertained data which the motor vehicle has ascertained itself for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle. The same applies similarly for the reversed case. This means, that according to one specific embodiment, the motor vehicle transmits its ascertained data to the parking facility management system via a communication network. The parking facility management system uses these ascertained data to check its own ascertained data – See at least ¶63. Changes to partial processes/status within an AVP process (shutting off, shutting off at the pick-up position) are monitored, safety actions being triggered in the event of erroneous results or actions – See at least ¶143),
wherein the absence of the checksum results in a disturbance of the communication between the system and the motor vehicle, and the motor vehicle is driven to the safe state as a result of the disturbed communication (ascertaining of data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have no errors, then using the data to autonomously drive the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have an error, i.e. interpret the absence of the checksum as a disturbance in communication, then carrying out a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, i.e. safe state – See at least ¶104).
Regarding claim 15, Nordbruch discloses wherein the data processor includes a server which is separate from the checksum calculation unit and connected to the checksum calculation unit, the server being configured to ascertain the infrastructure assistance data and a server checksum for the infrastructure assistance data, and to transmit the server checksum to the checksum calculation unit, the checksum calculation unit being configured to ascertain the checksum based on the server checksum (In one specific embodiment, it is provided that the check includes a check external to the motor vehicle of the ascertained data, a result of the check external to the motor vehicle being transmitted to the motor vehicle via a communication network, the check further including a check internal to the motor vehicle of the ascertained data using the result of the check external to the motor vehicle – See at least ¶93. These data may thereby originate locally as well as from external data sources (for example, via a cloud infrastructure) – See at least ¶160).
Regarding claim 16, Nordbruch discloses wherein the checksum calculation unit and the server are connected to each other by a bus system including a USB (Universal Serial Bus), and/or by a network connection (it is provided that the check includes a check external to the motor vehicle of the ascertained data, a result of the check external to the motor vehicle being transmitted to the motor vehicle via a communication network – See at least ¶93).
Regarding claim 17, Nordbruch discloses wherein the checksum calculation unit is a microcontroller or a single-board computer or a PC (a computer program is provided which includes program code to carry out the method for monitoring an autonomous driving operation of a motor vehicle within a parking facility if the computer program is executed on a computer – See at least ¶17).
Regarding claim 19, Nordbruch discloses wherein the controller is a programmable logic controller or a PC or a microcontroller (According to yet another aspect, a computer program is provided which includes program code to carry out the method for monitoring an autonomous driving operation of a motor vehicle within a parking facility if the computer program is executed on a computer – See at least ¶17).
Regarding claim 20, Nordbruch discloses a method for infrastructure-supported assistance of a motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within a parking lot, the method comprising the following steps:
ascertaining infrastructure assistance data for the infrastructure-supported assistance of the motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within the parking lot (a method for monitoring an autonomous driving operation of a motor vehicle within a parking facility is provided, including the following steps: ascertaining data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶5);
transmitting the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a communication network (Such assistance includes, for example, that data, for example the ascertained data, are transmitted to the motor vehicle via a communication network, based on which the motor vehicle may drive autonomously – See at least ¶27); and
when an error during the infrastructure-supported assistance is detected, switching to a safe state, such that communication with the motor vehicle is at least interrupted (checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶104. control device being configured to control an implementation of a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, if the check revealed that the data have an error -See at least ¶110),
wherein the data-processing device includes a checksum calculation unit which is designed to ascertain a checksum for the infrastructure assistance data, the communication device being configured to transmit the checksum to the motor vehicle over the communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the checksum calculation unit such that no checksum is transmitted to the motor vehicle over the communication network (The motor vehicle uses these ascertained data, according to a specific embodiment, to check ascertained data which the motor vehicle has ascertained itself for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle. The same applies similarly for the reversed case. This means, that according to one specific embodiment, the motor vehicle transmits its ascertained data to the parking facility management system via a communication network. The parking facility management system uses these ascertained data to check its own ascertained data – See at least ¶63. Changes to partial processes/status within an AVP process (shutting off, shutting off at the pick-up position) are monitored, safety actions being triggered in the event of erroneous results or actions – See at least ¶143),
wherein the absence of the checksum results in a disturbance of the communication between the system and the motor vehicle, and the motor vehicle is driven to the safe state as a result of the disturbed communication (ascertaining of data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have no errors, then using the data to autonomously drive the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have an error, i.e. interpret the absence of the checksum as a disturbance in communication, then carrying out a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, i.e. safe state – See at least ¶104).
Regarding claim 21, Nordbruch discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium on which is stored a computer program for infrastructure-supported assistance of a motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within a parking lot, the computer program, when executed by a computer, causing the computer to perform the following steps:
ascertaining infrastructure assistance data for the infrastructure-supported assistance of the motor vehicle guided with at least partial automation within the parking lot (a method for monitoring an autonomous driving operation of a motor vehicle within a parking facility is provided, including the following steps: ascertaining data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶5);
transmitting the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a communication network (Such assistance includes, for example, that data, for example the ascertained data, are transmitted to the motor vehicle via a communication network, based on which the motor vehicle may drive autonomously – See at least ¶27); and
when an error during the infrastructure-supported assistance is detected, switching to a safe state, such that communication with the motor vehicle is at least interrupted (checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle – See at least ¶104. control device being configured to control an implementation of a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, if the check revealed that the data have an error -See at least ¶110),
wherein the data-processing device includes a checksum calculation unit which is designed to ascertain a checksum for the infrastructure assistance data, the communication device being configured to transmit the checksum to the motor vehicle over the communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the checksum calculation unit such that no checksum is transmitted to the motor vehicle over the communication network (The motor vehicle uses these ascertained data, according to a specific embodiment, to check ascertained data which the motor vehicle has ascertained itself for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle. The same applies similarly for the reversed case. This means, that according to one specific embodiment, the motor vehicle transmits its ascertained data to the parking facility management system via a communication network. The parking facility management system uses these ascertained data to check its own ascertained data – See at least ¶63. Changes to partial processes/status within an AVP process (shutting off, shutting off at the pick-up position) are monitored, safety actions being triggered in the event of erroneous results or actions – See at least ¶143),
wherein the absence of the checksum results in a disturbance of the communication between the system and the motor vehicle, and the motor vehicle is driven to the safe state as a result of the disturbed communication (ascertaining of data for an autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; checking the data for errors before the ascertained data are used for the autonomous driving operation of the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have no errors, then using the data to autonomously drive the motor vehicle; if check revealed that the data have an error, i.e. interpret the absence of the checksum as a disturbance in communication, then carrying out a safety action to reduce a risk of collision for the autonomously driving motor vehicle, i.e. safe state – See at least ¶104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefan Nordbruch, US 20170205824 A1, in view of Sung Won Yoon, US 20200159236 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nordbruch and Yoon, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Nordbruch fails to explicitly disclose wherein the communicator includes a base station and a switch, the switch being connected between the data processor and the base station and is configured to receive the infrastructure assistance data from the data processor and forward the infrastructure assistance data to the base station, the base station being configured to transmit the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a wireless communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the switch.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the communicator includes a base station and a switch, the switch being connected between the data processor and the base station and is configured to receive the infrastructure assistance data from the data processor and forward the infrastructure assistance data to the base station, the base station being configured to transmit the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a wireless communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the switch (The transceiver communicates the data with the infrastructure. This communication is called “vehicle to infrastructure (V2I)” communication. The transceiver communicates the data with other vehicles. This communication is called “vehicle to vehicle (V2V)” communication. The V2I communication and the V2V communication are collectively called vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication. According to embodiments, the transceiver receives the data from the infrastructure, processes the received data, and transmits the processed data to the processor – See at least ¶52. In step (8), an error control operation is performed. The error control is performed when an error occurs in communication between the vehicle and the infrastructure and/or when a mechanical error of the vehicle occurs. The infrastructure monitors communication with the vehicle to detect whether a communication error occurs – See at least ¶75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nordbruch and include the feature of wherein the communicator includes a base station and a switch, the switch being connected between the data processor and the base station and is configured to receive the infrastructure assistance data from the data processor and forward the infrastructure assistance data to the base station, the base station being configured to transmit the infrastructure assistance data to the motor vehicle over a wireless communication network, the controller being configured to, when an error occurring during the infrastructure assistance is detected, shut off an electrical power source supplying electrical power to the switch, as taught by Yoon, to provide an automated valet parking method in which when a driver claims his or her vehicle to leave a visited area, and which the driver conveniently gets in the vehicle to leave a parking lot (See at least ¶6).
Regarding claim 18, Nordbruch fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the switch and/or electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the checksum computing unit is included in the controller.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the switch and/or electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the checksum computing unit is included in the controller (The processor controls the overall operation of the vehicle. The processor controls the vehicle controller on the basis of the data transmitted from the sensor and from the transceiver. According to embodiments, the processor generates a control signal for controlling the vehicle controller on the basis of the data transmitted from the infrastructure and then transmits the control signal to the vehicle controller – See at least ¶54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nordbruch and include the feature of wherein the electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the switch and/or electrical power source for supplying electrical power to the checksum computing unit is included in the controller, as taught by Yoon, to provide an automated valet parking method in which when a driver claims his or her vehicle to leave a visited area, and which the driver conveniently gets in the vehicle to leave a parking lot (See at least ¶6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Faizan Shaik, US 20160125736A1 discloses a method for identifying a vacant parking space in a parking lot, and parking an autonomous vehicle. The method may include receiving map data sufficient to identify a location of a plurality of parking spaces within the parking lot. Occupancy status information may be received for at least one of the plurality of parking spaces. The method may include identifying a vacant parking space and creating a trajectory to the vacant parking space in an existing planned path of the autonomous vehicle. The autonomous vehicle may be directed or parked in the vacant parking space.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED
/MAHMOUD M KAZIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3665