DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are pending. Claims 15-17 have been added. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1, 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are being examined in this application.
Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 9/8/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 3-5 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as set forth in the last Office action.
Applicant arguments are not persuasive because the claimed unexpected results and long felt need do not apply to a rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a method of treating osteoarthritis pain in a subject comprising administering subcutaneously to the subject a polypeptide comprising a LINK_TSG6, wherein the LINK_TSG6 polypeptide consists of (i) the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 or SEQ ID NO: 9, or (ii) an amino acid having a sequence at least 90% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 or SEQ ID NO: 9 and having the activity of improving weight bearing in a mouse partial medial meniscectomy model as compared to a control treatment; and wherein the treating provides:(1) a reduction in Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) pain score as compared to (a) the subject prior to the administering or (b) an untreated control;(2) improved weight bearing as compared to (a) the subject prior to the administering or (b) an untreated control; or (3) a combination of (1) and (2).
When referring to the LINK_TSG6, the specification teaches that “[L]INK_TSG6 polypeptide comprises, consists, or consists essentially of (i) the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 or SEQ ID NO: 9, or (ii) an amino acid sequence having at least 80% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 or 9” (para [0046]).
The specification does not provide any other structural attributes associated with the LINK_TSG6.
Without a correlation between structure and function, the claims do little more than define the claimed invention by function. That is not sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (“A definition by function alone “does not suffice” to sufficiently describe a coding sequence because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”).”
Here, the specification fails to describe what part of the sequence correlates with the required activity (i.e. to treat osteoarthritis pain).
The MPEP states that a broad genus can be described by a showing of representative number of examples. The claims in the instant application are broad.
Based on the claims, the LINK_TSG6 can be any polypeptide having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 or SEQ ID NO: 9.
It is noted that SEQ ID NO: 7 and SEQ ID NO: 9 consist of 92 and 98 amino acids, respectively.
Therefore, even considering only naturally occurring amino acids, one would have 6.3x1018 (92x91x90x89x88x87x86x85x84x20) possible polypeptides having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7, and 1.14x1019 (98x97x96x95x94x93x92x91x90x20) possible polypeptides having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9.
However, the specification fails to provide a representative number of examples for the claimed LINK_TSG6.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming a rejection for lack of written description because the specification does “little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate”).
Therefore, since the specification fails to identify any relevant structural characteristics that can be attributed to the claimed function and activity, the claimed invention lacks written description.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, as amended, the claims disclose both functional and structural characteristic of LINK_TSG6.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The amendments to claim 1 do not satisfy the written description requirement. “A definition by function alone “does not suffice” to sufficiently describe a coding sequence because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Similarly, in the instant case, a definition of a function of the claimed LINK_TSG6 polypeptides without any structural characteristics does not satisfy the written description requirement.
Furthermore, as discussed above, the specification exemplifies only SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 9, whereas the claims encompass 6.3x1018 polypeptides having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7, and 1.14x1019 polypeptides having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Day et al. (US 2015/0057229) as evidenced by Curtis (Osteoarthritis Symptoms and Signs, 11/12/2020) and Milner et al. (A Novel Chondroprotective Property of TSG-6 Has Therapeutic Potential for OA; Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 24: Abstract, 2 pages (2016)).
With respect to claim 1, Day et al. teach a method for inhibiting cartilage degradation in a subject, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of a Link_TSG6 polypeptide, or a therapeutically effective amount of a polynucleotide encoding a Link_TSG6 polypeptide, thereby inhibiting cartilage degradation (claim 1), wherein the subject has osteoarthritis (claim 3), and wherein the Link_TSG6 polypeptide comprises, consists or consists essentially of (i) the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9, 27, 7 or 26, or (ii) an amino acid sequence having at least 80% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9, 27, 7 or 26 (claim 5). It is noted that SEQ ID NOs: 26 and 27 corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 9, respectively.
Day et al. also teach that the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered subcutaneously (para [0230]).
The MPEP 2112.01 states that “'Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.’ A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2112.01).
It is noted that claim 1 requires only the step of administering the Link_TSG6 polypeptide to a subject with osteoarthritis.
Therefore, the teachings of Day et al. anticipate the instant claims because, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat osteoarthritic pain.
Furthermore, as evidenced by Milner et al. administration of Link_TSG6 polypeptide to subjects with osteoarthritis reduced pain (see “Results”).
Similarly, with respect to claims 4 and 15-17, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat referred pain.
Alternatively, with respect to claim 4, Day et al. teach that “[O]steoarthritis is a clinical syndrome of joint pain and reduced function of the joint (for example, stiffness and/or reduced range of motion). Symptoms include joint pain, stiffness and problems moving the joint. It may be characterised pathologically by localised loss of cartilage, remodeling of bone and/or inflammation. Joints most commonly affected by arthritis are knee joints, hip joints and joints in the hands and feet, but other joints can also be affected (para [0202]). As evidenced by Curtis, “[W]hile osteoarthritis pain is usually felt in the affected joint, it is possible for the pain to be referred to other areas of the body. For example, hip osteoarthritis may lead to knee pain” (page 2, 3rd para).
Therefore, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with hip osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat referred pain.
With respect to claims 3 and 5, Day et al. teach that the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered weekly (para [0247]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “[D]ay does not anticipate claims 1 and 3-5 because it does not disclose, expressly or inherently, each and every element of claim 1, as amended, from which claims 3-5 depend. Specifically, Day does not teach a method of treating osteoarthritic pain, and further does not teach that such a method provides a reduction in WOMAC pain score and/or improved weight bearing”.
Applicant also argues that “[t]he effect of LINKTSG6 on tactile allodynia described in Milner is attributable to inhibition of local inflammatory processes, suggesting a localised effect in the joint to which the LINKTSG6 polypeptide was administered intra-articularly. This result would not lead to one skilled in the art reasonably expecting that subcutaneous administration of LINKTSG6 would treat OA pain. Instead, it would at best suggest a localised effect in the joint (which in turn impacts peripheral sensitisation in the adjacent paw). The person skilled in the art would therefore consider the results described in Milner to be specific to intra-articular administration and certainly not indicative that a subcutaneously administered LINKTSG6 treatment would result in reduction in WOMAC pain score and/or improved weight bearing”.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The instant claims relate to a method of treating osteoarthritic pain comprising administering subcutaneously a polypeptide comprising LINK_TSG6.
The only active step of the claimed method is the subcutaneous administration of a polypeptide comprising LINK_TSG6 to a patient with osteoarthritis (which is characterized by pain).
Day et al. clearly teach administering subcutaneously the LINK_TSG6 polypeptide instantly claimed to a patient with osteoarthritis.
Therefore, the osteoarthritic pain is inherently treated once the LINK_TSG6 polypeptide is subcutaneously administered to said patient.
As previously discussed, this is evidenced by Milner et al., who teaches that administration of LINK_TSG6 polypeptide to patients with osteoarthritis reduced pain.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments regarding changing the route of administration from intra-articular to subcutaneous, it is noted that Day et al. anticipates the claims because subcutaneous administration is clearly taught. Thus, there is no need to change the route of administration from intra-articular to subcutaneous.
The evidentiary reference of Milner et al. teach that intra-articular administration of the LINK_TSG6 polypeptide provides OA pain relief. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected both subcutaneous and intra-articular administration to reduce pain in patients with osteoarthritis.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. (US 2015/0057229).
The teachings of Day et al. with respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 15-17 have been discussed above.
Day et al. do not teach the claimed amount of LINK_TSG6 (i.e. 10 mg to 150 mg).
However, Day et al. also teach that “[a] physician will be able to determine the required route of administration and dosage for any particular patient. A typical daily dose is from about 0.1 to 50 mg per kg, preferably from about 0.1 mg/kg to 10 mg/kg of body weight, according to the activity of the specific inhibitor, the age, weight and conditions of the subject to be treated, the type and severity of the disease and the frequency and route of administration. Preferably, daily dosage levels are from 5 mg to 2 g” (para [0239]).
A prima facie case of obviousness necessarily exists when the prior art range overlaps or touches a claimed range, such as in the instant rejection (MPEP § 2144.05).
Furthermore, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that “[G]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”.
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable dosage and time interval between dosages by normal optimization procedures known in the pharmaceutical art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “[t]he unexpected element of the results is that LINKTSG6 is acting on the CNS and can treat central as well as peripheral pathways of OA pain. For example, as described in Example 3, subcutaneous LINKTSG6 treatment reduces thermal sensitivity (to a cold plate stimulus) for both the ipsilateral (operated leg) and the contralateral (un-operated leg) paw (Figures 3A and 3B). Similarly, subcutaneous LINKTSG6 treatment reduced mechanical sensitivity (to a pressure stimulus) in both the ipsilateral and the contralateral paw (see Examples 4 and Figures 4A and 4B). Professor Day and Dr. Milner further describe the surprising nature of these results at Paragraphs 20-23 of the Declaration. Taken together, these results indicate that LINKTSG6 has effects extending beyond local joint pathology and are consistent with modulation of central pain pathways during OA pain. Without acquiescing to the propriety of the rejection and solely to expedite prosecution, the claims are amended to specify that the method of "treating provides: (1) a reduction in Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) pain score as compared to (a) the subject prior to the administering or (b) an untreated control; (2) improved weight bearing as compared to (a) the subject prior to the administering or (b) an untreated control; or (3) a combination of (1) and (2). As set out above, these treatment effects capture a meaningful therapeutic effect on the overall OA pain burden (i.e. including central pain sensitisation mechanisms) rather than merely an effect on local joint pathology. As is further described at Paragraphs 18 and 19 of the Declaration, in view of Milner, which did not demonstrate or suggest contralateral pain reduction effects following intra-articular administration of LinkTSG6, one skilled in the art had no reason to expect that subcutaneous administration would produce a clinically meaningful improvement in such broad measures of OA pain”.
Applicant also argues that “[T]here has also been a long-felt need for effective treatments of OA pain. As Professor Day and Dr. Milner describe in Paragraphs 6 and 7 of the Declaration, there is an "enormous and long-felt need for OA pain treatments". Professor Day and Dr. Milner note at Paragraph 7 of the Declaration: Despite decades of research and development work there are still no disease- modifying OA drugs (DMOAD) and existing treatments for OA pain are inadequate. First line options for pain relief include acetaminophen (paracetamol) and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID); the latter are COX inhibitors and (even in the case of selective COX-2 inhibitors) are associated with serious gastrointestinal, cardiovascular and renal side effects. This has resulted in several COX-2 inhibitors (e.g. Vioxx) being withdrawn from use. A recent Phase 3 trial (ACTiVION-II) of TG-C (a cell and gene therapy for knee OA, administered by intra-articular injection), which aimed to induce an anti-inflammatory response to both reduce pain and improve cartilage structure, failed to demonstrate statistically significant improvements over placebo in VAS pain and WOMAC function scores at 12 months. NGF (nerve growth factor) inhibitors - e.g. tanezumab and fasinumab - were a promising target for treating OA pain and progressed to Phase 3 trials. However, despite providing good pain relief, these drugs have not been approved by the FDA and development was halted due to adverse events in some patients - most notably, rapidly progressing OA, but also paraesthesia and adverse joint events - even with low dose administration. One skilled in the art would therefore be aware that treating OA pain is challenging and that several OA pain drugs have not progressed past clinical trials, thus contributing to the long- felt need. Accordingly, in view of the results presented in the application and in the Declaration showing that LINKTSG6 can effectively treat OA pain when administered subcutaneously, and especially in view of the present amendments to the claims, Applicant respectfully submits that Claims 1, 3-5, and 13 are not obvious”.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
First of all, it is noted that Applicant did not present any argument with respect to the 103 rejection (i.e. the claimed amount of LINK_TSG6).
All arguments seem to be related to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection.
However, as discussed above, the claimed unexpected results and long felt need do not apply to a rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Assuming that the claimed unexpected results relate to the claimed amount of LINK_TSG6, it is noted that the MPEP 716.02(d) states that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
In the instant case, they are not.
Figs. 4A-B and 5A-B show that the administration of a “high” dose of LINK_TSG6 reduced mechanical sensitivity, and improves weight bearing. The specification teaches that a “high” dose is 40 mg/month, which may correspond to approximately 18.2 mg per human per month.
First of all, it is noted that the claimed subject encompasses humans as well as other species (which received 40 mg/month).
Second, even considering only administration to humans, 18.2 mg per month is not commensurate in scope with the claims, not even if the limitations of claims 5 and 13 were incorporated into claim 1.
Furthermore, since Day et al. teach that “[a] physician will be able to determine the required route of administration and dosage for any particular patient”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed dose of LINK_TSG6.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 9878003 (hereafter Day et al.), as evidenced by Curtis (Osteoarthritis Symptoms and Signs, 11/12/2020) and Milner et al. (A Novel Chondroprotective Property of TSG-6 Has Therapeutic Potential for OA; Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 24: Abstract, 2 pages (2016)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same composition and method instantly claimed.
With respect to claim 1, Day et al. teach a method for inhibiting cartilage degradation in a subject, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of a Link_TSG6 polypeptide, thereby inhibiting cartilage degradation, wherein the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is a fragment of the human TSG6 polypeptide that consists of (i) the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO : 9, 27 , 7 or 26 , or (ii) an amino acid sequence having at least 95 % identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO : 9 , 27, 7 or 26 and being capable of inhibiting IL-1a , IL-b or TNFa induced expression of ADAMTS-4 ADAMTS-5 or MMP13 (claim 1), wherein the subject has osteoarthritis (claim 3), and wherein the Link_TSG6 polypeptide comprises, consists or consists essentially of (i) the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9, 27, 7 or 26, or (ii) an amino acid sequence having at least 80% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9, 27, 7 or 26 (claim 5). It is noted that SEQ ID NOs: 26 and 27 corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 9, respectively.
Day et al. also teach that the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered subcutaneously (column 27, lines 11-19). Please note that it is proper to turn to and rely on the disclosure of a patent application to ascertain what constitutes an obvious modification. This position is supported by the courts. See In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
Furthermore, the MPEP 2112.01 states that “'Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.’ A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2112.01).
It is noted that claim 1 requires only the step of administering the Link_TSG6 polypeptide to a subject with osteoarthritis.
Therefore, the teachings of Day et al. anticipate the instant claims because, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat osteoarthritic pain.
Furthermore, as evidenced by Milner et al. administration of Link_TSG6 polypeptide to subjects with osteoarthritis reduced pain (see “Results”).
Similarly, with respect to claims 4 and 15-17, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat referred pain.
Alternatively, with respect to claim 4, Day et al. teach that “[O]steoarthritis is a clinical syndrome of joint pain and reduced function of the joint (for example, stiffness and/or reduced range of motion). Symptoms include joint pain, stiffness and problems moving the joint. It may be characterised pathologically by localised loss of cartilage, remodeling of bone and/or inflammation. Joints most commonly affected by arthritis are knee joints, hip joints and joints in the hands and feet, but other joints can also be affected (column 22, lines 46-53). As evidenced by Curtis, “[W]hile osteoarthritis pain is usually felt in the affected joint, it is possible for the pain to be referred to other areas of the body. For example, hip osteoarthritis may lead to knee pain” (page 2, 3rd para).
Therefore, once the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered to a subject with hip osteoarthritis, it would inherently treat referred pain.
With respect to claims 3 and 5, Day et al. teach that the Link_TSG6 polypeptide is administered weekly (column 29, lines 40-48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments have been addressed above under “Response to Arguments” on pages 9-10.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 9878003 (hereafter Day et al.).
The teachings of Day et al. with respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 15-17 have been discussed above.
Day et al. do not teach the claimed amount of LINK_TSG6 (i.e. 10 mg to 150 mg).
However, Day et al. also teach that “[a] physician will be able to determine the required route of administration and dosage for any particular patient. A typical daily dose is from about 0.1 to 50 mg per kg, preferably from about 0.1 mg/kg to 10 mg/kg of body weight, according to the activity of the specific inhibitor, the age, weight and conditions of the subject to be treated, the type and severity of the disease and the frequency and route of administration. Preferably, daily dosage levels are from 5 mg to 2 g” (column 28, lines 20-28).
A prima facie case of obviousness necessarily exists when the prior art range overlaps or touches a claimed range, such as in the instant rejection (MPEP § 2144.05).
Furthermore, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that “[G]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”.
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable dosage and time interval between dosages by normal optimization procedures known in the pharmaceutical art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments have been addressed above under “Response to Arguments” on pages 13-16.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658