DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
tool conveyance mechanism (e.g. claim 1) - a left-right movable base, an up-and-down and back-and-forth unit, an X-axis (left-right) motor, a Z-axis cylinder, and a Y-axis motor (paragraph 0051). The back-and-forth function may alternatively be omitted (paragraph (0108).
tool holding unit (e.g. claim 1) - engagement plate and lock mechanism (paragraph 0062)
conveyance control unit (e.g. claim 1) - a computer (paragraphs 0071, 0079)
opening and closing mechanism (first and second, e.g. claim 4) - a shutter and actuator (paragraphs 0040, 0044)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a tool stocker storing the tool to be attached to the spindle”. In this case, it is unclear if the tool is intended to be positively recited. Based on the context of the claim, the tool is presumed NOT to be positively recited, and the limitation in question will be interpreted as --a tool stocker configured for storing the tool to be attached to the spindle--.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. (WO2022024454, cited in IDS, with reference to translation) in view of Tanaka et al. (WO2022230036, with reference to 2024/0217042 as an English equivalent).
Claim 1: Yasuda et al. discloses a machine tool (10) at least including: a spindle (paragraph 41) arranged in a machining area (400) and configured to detachably hold a tool (Id.); and a cover body formed by at least a ceiling cover and a side wall cover and surrounding the machining area to separate the machining area from outside (unlabeled upper and side panels of machine tools 400 evident in Figs. 1, 8), wherein: the machine tool includes: a tool stocker (250) storing the tool to be attached to the spindle (paragraph 20); a tool conveyance mechanism (300, including base 332 movable along rail 331, an arm robot 330, and corresponding motors - paragraphs 21, 37) having a tool holding unit (implicitly an end effector of the robot for holding tools) for detachably holding the tool and configured to move the tool holding unit along a predetermined path (along rail 331); and a conveyance control unit (computer 50) configured to control the tool conveyance mechanism (paragraphs 27-29); the tool conveyance mechanism is configured to move the tool holding unit at least to a tool change position (at 400, e.g. Fig. 8; paragraphs 22, 79) for transferring the tool between the tool holding unit and the spindle, a stocker position (at a particular location of 250 - paragraphs 20, 74, 77) for transferring the tool between the tool holding unit and the tool stocker, and a position for work set as a position for a worker to perform work on the tool holding unit from outside of the machining area (any other arbitrary position could be considered for this purpose, e.g. at 200, paragraph 19, or other intermediate positions, given that a worker could theoretically access and work upon the tool holding unit in such a position); and the tool stocker is arranged on top of the ceiling cover or above the ceiling cover (evident in Figs. 1 and 8).
The tool conveyance mechanism 50 is not necessarily structured exactly as dictated by the interpretation under 112(f). However, the examiner submits that the Yasuda robot arm serves as an equivalent since it performs the function specified in the claim (detachably holding the tool and configured to move the tool holding unit along a predetermined path, as cited above), it is not excluded by any explicit definition provided in the specification for an equivalent, and at least performs the identical function specified in the claim (as noted above) in substantially the same way (i.e. through movement in three dimensions of Cartesian space), and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification (i.e. to move the tool between the claimed positions), and/or a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification (since it essentially performs the same function as discussed above).
The tool holding unit does not necessarily structured exactly as dictated by the interpretation under 112(f). However, Tanaka et al. discloses a similar machine tool wherein the tool holding unit comprises an engagement plate and lock mechanism (i.e. respectively two jaws of a gripper/hand 35, where one may be an engagement plate and the other may be a lock mechanism which locks the tool against the first jaw - paragraph 47; Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used such a tool holding unit since it allows for gripping the width across flats of the tool, Id.).
Claim 5: Referring to Yasuda, the machine tool includes the tool stocker (250) as a first tool stocker and further includes a second tool stocker (200) different from the first tool stocker; the second tool stocker has a plurality of tool holding units (237A/B - Fig. 3) connected successively and is configured to detachably hold a tool in each of the tool holding units (paragraph 46, 48); the machine tool further includes a tool changer (238, 438) configured to perform tool change between the spindle and the second tool stocker (the tool changers at least contribute to this process); and the position for work is set on a side opposite to the second tool stocker with the spindle therebetween (if the spindle is in one of the intermediate machine tools 400 and the work set position is to the left in Fig. 1, for example).
Claim 6: The first tool stocker (250) appears that it is configured to be able to store a tool having a greater length than the tool to be stored in the second tool stocker (i.e. even if the sum total of tools of the device have different lengths and each of 250 and 200 were configured to store the same tools, a longer tool could be stored in 250 while a shorter tool is stored in 200. Also, given that 25o is exterior to any housing, it is less limited to the size of tool it is “configured to be able to store”).
Claims 7 and 9: A position of the spindle when the tool is transferred between the tool holding unit of the tool conveyance mechanism at the tool change position and the spindle and a position of the spindle when the tool changer performs the tool change are set at a same position (the spindle location does not appear to change in these scenarios).
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2009/0036282, equivalent to JP2009034803 cited in IDS, with reference to translation) in view of Claus (CH699221, with reference to translation).
Claim 1: Yasuda et al. discloses a machine tool (1) at least including: a spindle (15) arranged in a machining area (SP) and configured to detachably hold a tool (paragraph 36); and a cover body (40) formed by at least a ceiling cover and a side wall cover (top and front portions thereof, see Fig. 1) and surrounding the machining area to separate the machining area from outside (Id. and paragraphs 59-61), wherein: the machine tool includes: a tool stocker (magazine 12) storing the tool to be attached to the spindle (paragraph 39); a tool conveyance mechanism (10 - comprising a base 13 movable along rails 60 in direction D by motor 65, and movable along the vertical axis by a linear actuator comprising 66, 75, and 76 - see Fig. 6) having a tool holding unit (64 having grippers 68) for detachably holding the tool (paragraph 85) and configured to move the tool holding unit along a predetermined path (along 60 and up/down); and a conveyance control unit (PLC) configured to control the tool conveyance mechanism (paragraph 42); the tool conveyance mechanism is configured to move the tool holding unit at least to a tool change position (P1-P3) for transferring the tool between the tool holding unit and the spindle (paragraphs 104, 109-113), a stocker position (Pm) for transferring the tool between the tool holding unit and the tool stocker (paragraph 114), and a position for work set as a position for a worker to perform work on the tool holding unit from outside of the machining area (any other arbitrary position could be considered for this purpose, given that a worker could theoretically access and work upon the tool holding unit in such a position).
The tool conveyance mechanism 10 is not necessarily structured exactly as dictated by the interpretation under 112(f). However, the examiner submits that the Yasuda device serves as an equivalent since it performs the function specified in the claim (detachably holding the tool and configured to move the tool holding unit along a predetermined path, as cited above), it is not excluded by any explicit definition provided in the specification for an equivalent, and at least performs the identical function specified in the claim (as noted above) in substantially the same way (i.e. through movement in the required dimensions of Cartesian space), and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification (i.e. to move the tool between the claimed positions), and/or a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification (since it essentially performs the same function as discussed above).
The tool stocker is not necessarily arranged on top of the ceiling cover or above the ceiling cover. However, Claus discloses s machine tool wherein a tool stocker (9) is arranged on top of a ceiling of a the machine tool (Fig. 1; paragraphs 1-6 and 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tool stocker on the top of the machine tool since it allows extending the space available for storing tools (Id.)
Claim 2: Referring to Yasuda et al., the tool change position and the position for work are set inside the machining area (the tool change occurs within the machine tool in positions P1-P3; the position for work may also be inside the machine but accessible to a worker outside of the housing via doors 41-43, for example); the tool conveyance mechanism is arranged to be located above the ceiling cover (evident in Fig. 1); and the ceiling cover has formed therein a first opening (one of shutters 44-46) for the tool holding unit of the tool conveyance mechanism to pass through when moved to the tool change position (paragraphs 60-61) and has formed therein a second opening (another one of shutters 44-46) for the tool holding unit to pass through when moved to the position for work (as discussed above).
Claim 4: Yasuda discloses shutters as cited above, but does not explicitly disclose first and second opening and closing mechanisms (having an actuator) configured to open and close the first and second openings. However, it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means (e.g. an actuator) to replace a manual activity which accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). In this case, a broad automatic or mechanical means such as an actuator would have been an obvious provision in an otherwise automated machine such as disclosed by Yasuda.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art, and especially Yasuda et al. ‘282, fails to disclose the particular cover and door structure as recited in claim 3. Claim 8 depends from claim 3.
Conclusion
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726