DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the rejections of record. In particular, Applicant argues that the amendments clarify that the claimed deodorant functionality is not an intended use, but arises from a specific structural and functional interaction between components.
However, the Examiner notes that the newly added limitation is indefinite (see new rejection below) and does not refer to properties of the claimed two-component system but rather a foam prepared from the system. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the limitations do not overcome the prior art of record as they do not limit the claimed two-component system.
Applicant argues that the incorporation of small amounts of anhydride in component B is what gives rise to the deodorizing property and points to Table 1. However, the Examiner notes that Kreyenschmidt teaches a composition including identical elements as claimed, with an anhydride in component B in an amount inside the range of claim 2. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that given an identical system with the anhydride incorporated in the same amount in component B that this system would also necessarily give rise to the deodorant properties.
Applicant argues that there are unexpected results for the narrower range of claims 14 and 15. However, the Examiner notes that there is no evidence that this range would perform better than at the 1% anhydride of the prior art. Applicant has not provided a comparison against the closest prior art. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot with respect to unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a two-component system with an anhydride present in component B. However, claim 1 also recites that the system comprises residual anhydride groups of the anhydride and the residual anhydride groups are configured to react with amine. However, it is unclear what Applicant means by the system comprising “residual anhydride groups” as the two-component system must include an anhydride which necessarily includes anhydride groups. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 2-10 and 12-17 depend from claim 1 and are indefinite for the same reasons. Perhaps Applicant intends to claim that a polyurethane foam prepared from the two-component system comprises residual anhydride groups that are capable of reacting to reduce odor. However, this would be a limitation of the polyurethane foam and not a limitation of the two-component system. Therefore, the limitations with respect to the residual anhydride groups and their reactivity has not been given patentable weight with respect to the two-component system. Any two-component system including all the elements as claimed with an anhydride in the amount as claimed will be interpreted as meeting these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kreyenschmidt et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6800667).
Initially, it is noted that the recitation in the preamble that the system is for preparing deodorant polyurethane foams is an intended use recitation and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As outlined below, the prior art teaches identical components and would necessarily be capable of performing the intended use and thereby meets the limitation of a system for preparing deodorant polyurethane foams.
I. Regarding claims 1-10, 16 and 17, Kreyenschmidt teaches a two component system (see A component and B component, column 10) for preparing a polyurethane foam (claim 1) comprising: a first component comprising a polyether poly (A component, column 10), water as the exclusive blowing agent (A component, column 10), an amine catalyst (A component, column 10), and other additives (A component, column 10); and a second component comprising polymeric MDI (B component, column 10) and an anhydride in an amount of 1% based on the weight of component (Table 1, column 10), where the anhydride can be dodecenyl succinic anhydride (Table 1, column 10). Kreyenschmidt teaches that the first component and second component are provided to give a system with an index of 100 (column 10, lines 51-53). Kreyenschmidt teaches an identical composition to the two-component system with an anhydride in the amount as claimed. Therefore, Kreyenschmidt’s composition is interpreted as meeting the limitations of the system capable of providing a foam with residual anhydride groups that react with amine to reduce odor. Kreyenschmidt teaches all the limitations of claims 1-10, 16 and 17; therefore, Kreyenschmidt anticipate the claims.
II. Regarding claims 11-13, Kreyenschmidt teaches the two component system as claimed (see above). Additionally, Kreyenschmidt teaches that a polyurethane foam can be prepared by mixing all the elements of the first component, mixing the elements of the second component and then mixing the first component with the second component and reacting to give a polyurethane foam (column 10, lines 9-57). Further, Kreyenschmidt teaches that the foam can be used for preparing deodorant polyurethane foams for furniture applications (claim 1). Kreyenschmidt teaches all the limitations of claims 11-13; therefore, Kreyenschmidt anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreyenschmidt.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Kreyenschmidt teaches all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), but fails to provide an exemplary embodiment using 0.02-0.2 wt% anhydride. However, Kreyenschmidt does teach that the anhydride can be present in an amount of 0.1-6 wt% (column 10, lines 3-7) which overlaps the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, Kreyenschmidt makes obvious claims 14 and 15.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 23, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717