Response to Arguments
After further consideration on reviewing the references and updating the searches, another office action has been rendered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Weilguni et al. (2019/0394864).
Regarding Claim 1, Weilguni discloses a device comprising:
at least one radiation emitting element (infrared radiation source, paragraph [0003]) configured for emitting a modulated (turned on for a certain pulse duration, paragraph [0004]) thermal
radiation (emits thermal radiation, paragraph [0003]) as a result of its temperature; wherein the radiation emitting element comprises at least one incandescent lamp (incandescent lamp, paragraph [0003]); and
at least one electronic circuit (electronic arrangement, abstract) configured for applying a periodic time-dependent voltage (time-dependent control voltage, abstract) to the radiation emitting element (radiation source, abstract), wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling one or more of an amplitude, a duty cycle (ON state for a pulse duration, abstract; voltage converter selects a time profile, paragraph [0023]. Noted that the ratio of ON state and OFF state determine the duty cycle) and a frequency of the periodic time-dependent voltage (control input such that coil is constantly turned on and off at a frequency in the range of from 100kHz to 1MHz, paragraph [0050]. Noted the voltage at coil via the control input is feedback to the FB, See fig. 3), wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one evaluation unit configured for measuring a current flowing through the radiation emitting element (currently measured electrical quantities at the radiation source, such as, for example, a lamp current”, paragraph [0032]).
wherein a frequency of the modulated thermal radiation (control input such that coil is constantly turned on and off at a frequency in the range of from 100kHz to 1MHz, paragraph [0050] depend on the applied periodic time-dependent voltage (time-dependent control voltage, abstract. The control voltage is feedback to FB, see fig. 3) controlled by the electronic circuit, and an information about the current state of the current is used (currently measured electrical quantities at the radiation source…a lamp current”, paragraph [0032]) to configure the applied periodic time-dependent voltage (“suitable time-dependent control voltage”, paragraph [0031]).
Weilguni discloses that the radiation emitting source (paragraph [0003]) emits thermal radiation (paragraph [0003]) as a temperature of the radiation emitting element. The lamp voltage is based on the time-dependent voltage at the feedback (See Abstract, fig. 3).
In addition, in paragraph [0062], Weilguni teaches three equations about the relationship among lamp voltage, power, and lamp temperature. For example, the time dependent lamp voltage VLP(t) determines lamp power PLP. And the lamp TLP(t) is depend on the lamp power (PLP). Therefore, the temperature of the lamp (radiation emitting element) is dependent on the time-dependent voltage.
Regarding Claim 2, Weilguni discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage such that the applied periodic time-dependent voltage is unipolar (lamp voltage in a range of from 0.6V to 2.4V. Since it is positive voltage, it means unipolar, paragraph [0059]) and sinusoidal (Weilguni teaches that the voltage at the coil is constantly turned on and off at a frequency in the range of from 100kHz to 1MHz, paragraph [0050]. It is noted that since the output voltage is generated at a frequency, sinusoidal waveform is created)
Regarding Claim 7, Weilguni discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one variable output buck regulator, wherein the buck regulator (buck converter with voltage divider) comprises at least one resister network (R1, R2) (paragraphs [0055], [0056]).
Regarding Claim 8, Weilguni discloses the device of claim 7, wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one first input voltage source configured for applying a non-modulated supply voltage Vsupply to the buck regulator (A supply voltage Vcc, paragraph [0049]).
Regarding Claim 15, Weilguni et al. (2019/0394864) discloses a method for operating a device comprising at least one radiation emitting element (infrared radiation source, paragraph [0003]) configured for emitting a modulated (turned on for a certain pulse duration, paragraph [0004]) thermal radiation (emits thermal radiation, paragraph [0003]) as a result of its temperature;
wherein the radiation emitting element comprises at least one incandescent lamp (incandescent lamp, paragraph [0003]), the method comprising:
applying at least one periodic time-dependent voltage (time-dependent control voltage, abstract) to the at least one radiation emitting element (radiation source, abstract); and
controlling one or more of an amplitude, a duty cycle (ON state for a pulse duration, abstract; voltage converter selects a time profile, paragraph [0023]. Noted that the ratio of ON and OFF state determines the duty cycle), and a frequency of the periodic time-dependent voltage (microcontroller controls buck converter via control input such that coil is constantly turned on and off at a frequency in the range of from 100kHz to 1MHz, paragraph [0050]) with electronic circuits (electronic arrangement, abstract, fig. 3);
and measuring a current flowing through the radiation emitting element, wherein an information about a current state of the current is used (currently measured electrical quantities at the radiation source, such as, for example, a lamp current”, paragraph [0032]) to configure the applied periodic time-dependent voltage (“suitable time-dependent control voltage”, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claim 16, Weilguni discloses a non-transient computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (microprocessors, paragraph [0070]), cause the one or more processors to perform the method according to claim 15.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weilguni et al. (2019/0394864) in view of Song et al. (2019/0268984).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage such that a total harmonic distortion of the periodic time-dependent voltage is in a range from 0.01 to 0.2.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Regarding Claim 4, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage in such a way that a resulting current through the radiation emitting element is also periodic time-dependent with a total harmonic distortion in a range from 0.01 to 0.2.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Regarding Claim 6, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage applied to the radiation emitting element such that a total harmonic distortion of an optical output of the radiation emitting element is in a range from 0.05 to 0.4.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Regarding Claim 18, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage such that a total harmonic distortion of the periodic time-dependent voltage is in a range from 0.015 to 0.15.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Regarding Claim 19, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage such that a total harmonic distortion of the periodic time-dependent voltage is in a range from 0.02 to 0.1.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Regarding Claim 20, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured for controlling the periodic time-dependent voltage in such a way that a resulting current through the radiating emitting element is also periodic time-depend with a total harmonic distortion in a range from 0.015 to 0.15.
However, Song et al. (2019/0268984) discloses the total harmonic distortion (THD) can be 11% or 20% (in other words, 0.11 or 0.20 to the driver circuit and it could make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output (paragraph [0066], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have tuned the THD to 0.11 or 0.20 in Weilguni to meet the claimed range in order to make practical the use of single-stage Buck converter circuits to drive LED lighting systems that require a high quality of both input current and light output as taught by Song.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weilguni et al. (2019/0394864) in view of Moss (2011/0193489).
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Weilguni discloses a voltage divider (R1 to R3) (paragraphs [0034], [0057], [0058], fig. 3) to vary voltage but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 7, wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one variable electronic component configured for modulating an output of the buck regular which is applied to the radiation emitting element as an applied voltage Vapplied.
However, Moss (2011/0193489) discloses a digital user interface 610 such as a potentiometer or a DAC as a variable electronic component for modulating the output of the buck regulator (Fig. 4A) to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus (paragraphs [0001], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a digital potentiometer as a variable electronic component in Weilguni to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus as taught by Moss.
Regarding Claim 10, Weilguni discloses the resistor network (R1 to R3) thereby transforming the output of the buck regulator (Fig. 3, paragraphs [0034], [0057], [0058) but does not disclose the device of claim 9, wherein the variable electronic component comprises at least one variable voltage source, wherein the variable voltage source is configured for applying a periodic time-dependent input voltage Vinput to the resistor network thereby transforming the output of the variable buck regulator into a periodical time-dependent voltage, which is applied to the radiation emitting element as the applied voltage Vapplied.
However, Moss (2011/0193489) discloses a digital user interface 610 such as a potentiometer or a DAC as a variable electronic component for modulating the output of the buck regulator (Fig. 4A) to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus (paragraphs [0001], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a digital potentiometer as a variable electronic component in Weilguni to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus as taught by Moss.
Regarding Claim 11, Weilguni discloses the device of claim 10, wherein the variable voltage source comprises a Digital-Analog-Converter (DAC) (DAC, paragraph [0057]).
Regarding Claim 12, Weilguni discloses voltage divider (R1 to R3) (paragraphs [0034], [0057], [0058] but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 9, wherein the variable electronic component comprises at least one variable resistor, wherein the variable resistor is configured for changing its resistance Rvariable periodically as a function of time thereby transforming the output of the variable buck regulator into periodic time-dependent voltage, which is applied to the radiation emitting element as the applied voltage Vapplied.
However, Moss (2011/0193489) discloses a digital user interface 610 such as a potentiometer or a DAC as a variable resistor for changing the resistance periodically as a function of time thereby transforming the output of the voltage (Fig. 4A) to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired change in output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus (paragraphs [0001], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a digital potentiometer as a variable electronic component in Weilguni to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus as taught by Moss.
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, Weilguni essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 12, wherein the variable resistor comprises a digital potentiometer.
However, Moss (2011/0193489) discloses a digital user interface 610 such as a potentiometer or a DAC as a variable electronic component for modulating the output of the buck regulator (Fig. 4A) to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus (paragraphs [0001], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a digital potentiometer as a variable electronic component in Weilguni to adjust the source voltage in order to attain the desired change in output of light (e.g. dimming, temperature control) emitted from the light apparatus as taught by Moss.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 14 and 17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior arts of record do not render obvious, nor anticipate the combination of claimed elements including the technique of:
“wherein the device is configured for illuminating at least one measurement object;
at least one filter element configured to separate at least one incident light beam remitted by the measurement object into a spectrum of constituent wavelength;
at least one sensor element having a matrix of optical sensors, the optical sensors each having a light-sensitive area, wherein each optical sensor is configured for generating at least one sensor signal in response to an illumination of the light-sensitive area; and
at least one evaluation device configured for determining at least one item of information related to the spectrum by evaluating the sensor signals” such as required by Claim 14.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845