DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 1/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-13 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley (US 2014/0212565 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bradley teaches a beverage (Abstract) comprising fiber [0034]. Bradley teaches that the fiber may contain, e.g., soluble fibers and insoluble fibers [0035] such as inulin and psyllium [0036].
Bradley does not address a ratio of soluble to insoluble fibers in the texturizing fiber component. However, given that Bradley teaches fibers (i.e. psyllium) taught as appropriate texturizing fibers (instant Claim 1 and instant Specification at Page 9, Line 8), the fiber of Bradley is interpreted to have the ratio of soluble to insoluble fibers as claimed.
Bradly additionally does not address a specific ratio of inulin to other fibers.
However, different fiber components are known in the art to have different effects on a comestible product. Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the method disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the art.
Regarding Claims 4-6, Bradley teaches the inclusion of, e.g. soy protein [0044], which is a plant extract and a non-animal protein component.
Regarding Claims 7-9, Bradley teaches the use of sweeteners such as steviol glycosides [0079], sucralose, aspartame, saccharin, acesulfame potassium [0076]. Bradley additionally teaches the use of rebaudioside A [0079].
Regarding Claim 10, Bradley teaches the use of sweetness enhancers [0080].
Regarding Claim 11, Bradley teaches a variety of beverage types including ready to drink beverages, powdered, beverages, and dairy beverages [021]. Bradley does not specifically teach a dairy analogue. However, where Bradley teaches a variety of beverage types, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize the composition of Bradley in any beverage, including a dairy analogue.
Regarding Claim 12, Bradley teaches the use of soy protein [0044], which is an extract from soybeans.
Regarding Claim 13, Bradley teaches the use of soy protein [0044], which is a plant protein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the ratio of pea and psyllium fiber, and the relative amounts of fibers with prebiotic function, is found to have a positive impact on the texture of flavored products. Applicant cites examples from the Specification as providing specific benefits and argues that the claimed parameters are not arbitrary. Applicant additionally argues that Bradley does not address a ratio of soluble to insoluble fibers or a specific ratio of inulin to other fibers, and does not suggest that fiber components influence taste or texture, and one having ordinary skill would therefore not be motivated to modify the fiber components of a comestible product.
This argument is not convincing.
First, Applicant has not claimed specific taste or property textures.
Second, where Bradley teaches the inclusion of both soluble and insoluble fibers in a beverage product, it would have been obvious to have included any ratio of soluble to insoluble fibers, including in the ratios claimed.
Third, Applicant’s examples compare the claimed fiber blend against no fiber (Examples 2 and 5) and dextrin only (Example 3). Applicant has not demonstrated the criticality of the combination of both soluble and insoluble fiber, nor their weight ratio. The showings in the specification are therefore not commensurate in scope with the claims. Applicant has also not compared the claimed invention with the closest prior art.
Fourth, where Bradley teaches fibers (i.e. psyllium) taught as appropriate texturizing fibers (instant Claim 1 and instant Specification at Page 9, Line 8), the fiber of Bradley is interpreted to have the ratio of soluble to insoluble fibers in the texturizing fiber component as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791