DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 45, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/13/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The information disclosure statement filed 09/13/2024 has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to as “CN102816734A”, “EP2925329A1”, “CN106244538A”, CN106591232A”, “EP3188740A1”, “CN107384867A”, “EP3365434A1”, “EP3368659A1”, and “EP3487990A1” have not been submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 34, 45, 51, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 168, 173, 177, 180, 187, and 227 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 34, 45, 51, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 168, 173, 177, 180, 187, and 227, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chartier-Courtaud (WO2019/136459A1, published 07/11/2019, effectively filed 01/08/2018) in view of Reed (US2017/0291934A1, published 10/12/2017, effectively filed 09/21/2015) and Hinrichs (US2021/0052647A1, published 02/25/2021, effectively filed 02/09/2018).
The disclosure of Chartier-Courtaud is directed to improved processes and methods for reprogramming TILs in order to prepare therapeutic populations of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) with increased therapeutic efficacy.
Regarding claim 10, pertaining to a method of expanding TILs into a therapeutic population of TILs, Chartier-Courtaud recites the method steps (a)-(f) verbatim ([0006]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 81, wherein the modifying is carried out on TILs from the first expansion, or TILs from the second expansion, Chartier-Courtaud teaches an electroporation step performed on the second population of TILs (Pg. 292, claim 58(h).
Regarding claim 98, wherein the cell culture medium of the first expansion further comprises a cytokine selected from the disclosed list of cytokines, Chartier-Courtaud teaches a triple cocktail first expansion step comprising IL-2/IL-15/IL-21 (Fig. 10, [00143], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 115, wherein the first expansion step and the second expansion step are each individually performed within a period of 11 days, Chartier-Courtaud teaches a rapid expansion protocol wherein the first and second expansion are each 11 days (Fig. 10, [00143], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 117, wherein the modified TILs further comprise a genetic modification that causes expression of one or more immune checkpoint genes to be silenced or reduced in at least a portion of the therapeutic population of TILs, Chartier-Courtaud teaches delivery of a siRNA for inhibiting the expression of PD-1 (Pg. 285, claim 53(j)).
Regarding claim 167, wherein the modified TILs are transfected with the nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein using microfluidic device to temporarily disrupt the cell membranes of TILs, Chartier-Courtaud teaches a sterile microfluidic membrane disruption step on the second TIL population that mediates the transfer of mRNA (Pg. 286, claim 54).
Regarding claim 168, wherein the method further comprises activating the TILs by incubation with an anti-CD3 agonist before transfection, Chartier-Courtaud teaches incubation of the second population with anti-CD3 mAb clone OKT-3 (Pg. 277, claim 1) and transfection of the second population of cells (Pg. 286, claim 54).
Chartier-Courtaud does not teach: (1) modifying the portion of TILs such that each of the modified TILs comprises an immunomodulatory composition associated with its surface membrane or (2) wherein the TILs comprise a first membrane anchored moiety and a second membrane anchored moiety.
These deficiencies are taught by Reed and Hinrichs.
Reed:
The disclosure of Reed is directed to modified forms of IL-12, including heterodimeric p35/p40, and membrane bound forms of IL-12 (see Abstract). Hinrich teaches IL-12 enhances production of cytotoxic lymphocytes and production of pro-inflammatory cytokines, however systemic administration of IL-12 is toxic ([0007], Lines 1-11).
Regarding the method step of claim 10(h), wherein the method comprises modifying TILs such that they comprise an immunomodulatory composition associated with its surface membrane, Reed teaches membrane tethered IL-12 (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 30, 32, 34, and 173, wherein the immunomodulatory composition comprises one or more membrane anchored immunomodulatory fusion proteins each comprising one or more immunomodulatory agents and a cell membrane anchor moiety (claim 30), wherein the one or more immunomodulatory agents comprise one or more cytokines, wherein the one or more cytokines comprise IL-12 (claim 32, 173), and wherein the IL-12 comprises a human IL-12 p35 subunit attached to a human IL-12 p40 subunit (claim 34), Reed teaches single chain IL-12 configuration comprising p35 and p40 (Fig. 2) and a fusion protein comprising the IL-12 configuration linked to a transmembrane domain CD80 or a GPI anchor (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 51 and 180, wherein the membrane immunomodulatory fusion protein has the formula of a signal peptide, immunomodulatory agent, linker and cell membrane anchor moiety (S-IA-L-C), Reed teaches the fusion protein comprising the Igκ signal peptide, IL-12, carbohydrate-containing linker, and GPI anchor (Fig. 7, with linker described in [0035]).
Regarding claim 58 and 161, wherein the modifying comprises introducing a heterologous nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein into the portion of the TILs and expressing the fusion protein on the surface of the modified TILs (claim 58), and wherein the modified TILs are modified by transfecting the TILs with a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein (claim 161), Reed teaches the modified IL-12 constructs are encoded in nucleic acids and provides vectors encoding the nucleic acids ([0002], Lines 1-7) and the vectors transfected into cells using standard high-throughput transfection methods ([0354], Lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 127, wherein the modified TILs are modified to transiently express the immunomodulatory composition on the cell surface, Reed teaches regulation of IL-12 expression is regulated by a ligand inducible gene switch (Reed claim 17, [0269], Lines 1-3) allowing for regulation of gene expression by addition or removal of a specific ligand ([0228], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 164, wherein the TILs are transfected with the mRNA with electroporation, Reed teaches vectors may be introduced into host cells by methods known in the art including electroporation ([0091], Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 227, wherein the modified TILs express the one or more membrane anchored immunomodulatory fusion proteins under the control of the NFAT promoter, Reed teaches
Hinrichs:
The disclosure of Hinrichs is directed to nucleic acids and polypeptides that encode tethered IL-21 and IL-15 bound to host cell membranes by an anchor moiety. The disclosure is also directed to the associated vectors, host cells, pharmaceuticals and methods of treating cancer using the cells expressing the tethered cytokine (Abstract).
Regarding claim 177 and 187, wherein the modified TILs comprise a first membrane anchored immunomodulatory fusion protein and a second membrane anchored immunomodulatory fusion protein (claim 177) and wherein the one or more membrane anchored immunomodulatory fusion proteins are independently according to the formula, from N- to C-terminus: S1-IA1-L1-C1-L2-S2-IA2-L3-C2, wherein S1 and S2 are each independently a signal peptide, IA1 and IA2 are each independently an immunomodulatory agent, L1-L3 are each independently a linker, and C1 and C2 are each independently a cell membrane anchor moiety (claim 187), Hinrichs teaches the same formula, written in the following format: S1-N1-L1-C1a-L2-S2-N2-L3-C2b, wherein each S is a signal sequence, each N is independently an interleukin N1 IL-21 and N2 IL-15, each L1 and L3 are linkers and L2 is a cleavable linker, and each C is transmembrane intracellular amino acid sequence. Exemplary fusion proteins using this formula is shown in Hinrichs Table 6A (Pg. 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the TILs generation method of Chartier-Courtaud with (1) the membrane anchor IL-12 as taught by Reed and (2) further expression of another cytokine such as IL-15 as taught by Hinrichs. One would have been motivated to do so because Reed’s membrane-bound IL-12 provides site specific and ligand inducible delivery of IL-12 and Hinrichs teaches the membrane-tethered dual cytokine autocrine expression on adoptively transferred cells overcomes the issues associated with cytokine administration which is constrained by dose-limiting cytotoxicity and the need for repeated administration ([0034], Lines 1-8). There would be an expectation of success in modifying the TILs of Chartier-Courtaud with the membrane tethered cytokines of Reed and Hinrichs because both Reed and Hinrichs demonstrate their modifications on cells and teach methods of performing the modification using methods routinely used in the art at the time of filing.
Claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 45, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chartier-Courtaud (WO2019/136459A1, published 07/11/2019, effectively filed 01/08/2018) in view of Reed (US2017/0291934A1, published 10/12/2017, effectively filed 09/21/2015) and Hinrichs (US2021/0052647A1, published 02/25/2021, effectively filed 02/09/2018) as applied to claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 above, and further in view of Kuhn (Cancer Cell. 2019 Mar 18;35(3):473-488.e6).
The combined teachings of Chartier-Courtaud, Reed, and Hinrichs teach a method of expanding TILs into a therapeutic population of TILs, comprising modifying a portion of the TILs such that each of the modified TILs comprises an immunomodulatory composition associated with its surface membrane.
The disclosure of Chartier-Courtaud does not teach wherein the one or more immunostimulatory agents comprise a CD40 agonist.
This deficiency is taught by Kuhn.
The disclosure of Kuhn is directed to engineered tumor-targeted CAR T cells to express the immune-stimulatory molecule CD40L and their efficacy in different mouse cancer molecules (Abstract).
Regarding claim 45, wherein the one or more immunomodulatory agents comprise a CD40 agonist, Kuhn teaches after adoptive cell transfer, the CD40L+ CAR T cells displayed superior antitumor efficacy, licensed antigen-presenting cells, enhanced recruitment of immune effectors, and mobilized endogenous tumor-recognizing T cells (Abstract, seen for example in Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of expanding and modifying TILs of Chartier-Courtaud, Reed, and Hinrichs with the addition of a membrane anchored CD40L as taught by Kuhn. One would have been motivated to do so because Kuhn teaches the addition of CD40L to tumor-specific adoptively transferred T cells increased the antitumor efficacy of the cells. There would be an expectation of success in modifying the methods of Chartier-Courtaud, Reed, and Hinrichs with the membrane anchored CD40L because Kuhn distills to practice the genetic modification of lymphocytes to express the CD40L using methods routinely used in the art at the time of filing.
Double Patenting
Nonprovisional
Claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 45, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the U.S. Patents listed below in view of Reed (US2017/0291934A1, published 10/12/2017, effectively filed 09/21/2015), Hinrichs (US2021/0052647A1, published 02/25/2021, effectively filed 02/09/2018) and Kuhn (Cancer Cell. 2019 Mar 18;35(3):473-488.e6).
US 10130659 B2
US 10166257 B2
US 10272113 B2
US 10363273 B2
US 10398734 B2
US 10415015 B2
US 10420799 B2
US 10463697 B2
US 10517894 B2
US 10537595 B2
US 10639330 B2
US 10646517 B2
US 10695372 B2
US 10894063 B2
US 10918666 B2
US 10925900 B2
US 10953046 B2
US 10953047 B2
US 11007225 B1
US 11007226 B2
US 11013770 B1
US 11026974 B2
US 11040070 B2
US 11052115 B2
US 11052116 B2
US 11058728 B1
US 11083752 B2
US 11123371 B2
US 11141438 B2
US 11168303 B2
US 11168304 B2
US 11179419 B2
US 11202803 B1
US 11202804 B2
US 11220670 B2
US 11241456 B2
US 11254913 B1
US 11266694 B2
US 11273180 B2
US 11273181 B2
US 11291687 B2
US 11293009 B2
US 11304979 B2
US 11304980 B2
US 11311578 B2
US 11337998 B2
US 11344579 B2
US 11344580 B2
US 11344581 B2
US 11351197 B2
US 11351198 B2
US 11351199 B2
US 11357841 B2
US 11364266 B2
US 11369637 B2
US 11384337 B2
US 11401507 B2
US 11433097 B2
US 11517592 B1
US 11529372 B1
US 11541077 B2
US 11667890 B2
US 11713446 B2
US 11819517 B2
US 11857573 B2
US 11865140 B2
US 11939596 B2
US 11969444 B2
US 11975028 B2
US 11981921 B2
US 11998568 B2
US 12024718 B2
US 12031157 B2
US 12104172 B2
US 12121541 B2
US 12188048 B2
US 12194061 B2
US 12226434 B2
US 12226522 B2
US 12233075 B2
US 12280140 B2
US 12343380 B2
US 12453697 B2
US 12473532 B2
US 12485145 B2
US 12495791 B2
US 12516291 B2
US 12558375 B2
US 12570959 B2
US 12570961 B2
Each of the patents listed above teach the rapid TIL expansion comprising a first and second expansion step in a closed system. It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the TIL expansion methods with: (1) the membrane anchor IL-12 as taught by Reed, (2) further expression of another cytokine such as IL-15 as taught by Hinrichs, and (3) the addition of a membrane anchored CD40L as taught by Kuhn.
One would have been motivated to do so because: (1) Reed’s membrane-bound IL-12 provides site specific and ligand inducible delivery of IL-12, (2) Hinrichs teaches the membrane-tethered dual cytokine autocrine expression on adoptively transferred cells overcomes the issues associated with cytokine administration which is constrained by dose-limiting cytotoxicity and the need for repeated administration, and (3) Kuhn teaches the addition of CD40L to tumor-specific adoptively transferred T cells increased the antitumor efficacy of the cells. As all of the reference patents teach a method of preparing TILs for adoptive transfer for treatment of cancer, then it would be obvious to modify the therapeutic TILs using known techniques to yield predictable results.
There would be an expectation of success in modifying the TILs of the reference patents with the membrane tethered cytokines of Reed and Hinrichs because both Reed, Hinrichs, and Kuhn demonstrate their modifications on cells and teach methods of performing the modification using methods routinely used in the art at the time of filing.
Provisional
Claims 10, 30, 32, 34, 45, 51, 58, 81, 98, 115, 117, 127, 161, 164, 167-168, 173, 177, 180, 187, 227 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the copending applications listed below in view of Reed (US2017/0291934A1, published 10/12/2017, effectively filed 09/21/2015), Hinrichs (US2021/0052647A1, published 02/25/2021, effectively filed 02/09/2018) and Kuhn (Cancer Cell. 2019 Mar 18;35(3):473-488.e6).
16969362
17050552
17110179
17147080
17147412
17229127
17290705
17290710
17415175
17420787
17610671
17771723
17817217
17817239
17817247
17817273
17817276
17823419
17823448
17829087
17838127
17856793
17997648
17997731
18247877
18247878
18256421
18262843
18291536
18429006
18477810
18551138
18551586
18555513
18560898
18609772
18619119
18661510
18673083
18674562
18690067
18693508
18707719
18745958
18810044
18832493
18832901
18858710
18886988
18984595
18996872
19011427
19050082
19108091
19128904
19326908
19340364
Each of the co-pending applications listed above teach the rapid TIL expansion comprising a first and second expansion step in a closed system. It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the TIL expansion methods with: (1) the membrane anchor IL-12 as taught by Reed, (2) further expression of another cytokine such as IL-15 as taught by Hinrichs, and (3) the addition of a membrane anchored CD40L as taught by Kuhn.
One would have been motivated to do so because: (1) Reed’s membrane-bound IL-12 provides site specific and ligand inducible delivery of IL-12, (2) Hinrichs teaches the membrane-tethered dual cytokine autocrine expression on adoptively transferred cells overcomes the issues associated with cytokine administration which is constrained by dose-limiting cytotoxicity and the need for repeated administration, and (3) Kuhn teaches the addition of CD40L to tumor-specific adoptively transferred T cells increased the antitumor efficacy of the cells. As all of the reference patents teach a method of preparing TILs for adoptive transfer for treatment of cancer, then it would be obvious to modify the therapeutic TILs using known techniques to yield predictable results.
There would be an expectation of success in modifying the TILs of the co-pending applications with the membrane tethered cytokines of Reed and Hinrichs because both Reed, Hinrichs, and Kuhn demonstrate their modifications on cells and teach methods of performing the modification using methods routinely used in the art at the time of filing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CAROL ANN CHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/HONG SANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646