DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The phrase “unidirectional circulation means” (claim 1) has been examined as –a valve or a fluidic diode --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 5, 7, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROSALES et al. US 20190257589 A1 in view of LAN US20200328137A1.
Re claim 1, ROSALES et al. teach a micro-channel type evaporator suitable for cooling electronic components , comprising: a plate body (400 body) having an external coupling surface with an electronic component (900, 910) to be cooled (fig 9),
wherein said plate body internally carries an inlet manifold for a two-phase cooling fluid and an outlet manifold for said fluid downstream of the heat exchange (annotated fig), wherein said inlet manifold and said outlet manifold are in fluid communication by a heat exchange chamber (2620) within said plate body at said coupling surface
said heat exchange chamber comprises first flow channels extending along said external coupling surface (para 162).
ROSALES et al. fail to explicitly teach unidirectional circulation means.
LAN teach are in fluid communication by a heat exchange chamber by unidirectional circulation means (343) of the two-phase cooling fluid to provide a one way valve near the lower section of the loop device .
When combined, the instant combination teach said unidirectional circulation means is housed in said plate body and is configured to allow circulation of the liquid phase of the fluid exclusively from said outlet manifold towards said inlet manifold (in the instant combination “said unidirectional circulation means” is placed at bottom of 430 where fluid collects due to gravity, as taught by the primary reference paras 83-84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include unidirectional circulation means as taught by LAN in the ROSALES et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for vapor V would be condensed into liquid L and flow back down to the heat absorbing cavity 30 without going in upward direction (para 29)
Re claim 3, ROSALES et al. , as modified, teach wherein said unidirectional circulation means is external to said heat exchange chamber (figs, see the rejection of claim 1).
Re claim 4, ROSALES et al. teach wherein said plate body comprises a base plate (annotated fig) and a cover element (annotated fig) coupled together in such a way as to define said first flow channels (noting various flow channels meeting broad claims limitations) for the two-phase cooling fluid carried inside said heat exchange chamber (figs, see the rejection of claim 5).
Re claim 5, ROSALES et al. teach said first flow channels extend along respective prevalent directions of development parallel to each other (figs, 2650a form parallel channels).
Re claim 7, ROSALES et al. teach wherein said heat exchange chamber is interposed between said inlet manifold (figs, see the rejection of claim 1) and said outlet manifold (fig 4).
Re claim 13, ROSALES et al. teach wherein said plate body has a substantially quadrilateral geometry (noting the term substantially quadrilateral geometry is very broad and Lan teach multiple perimeters of the system defined by a substantially quadrilateral geometry perimeter) and wherein said inlet manifold and said outlet manifold are positioned along opposite perimeter edges of said plate body (figs).
Claim(s) 2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROSALES et al. US 20190257589 A1 in view of LAN US20200328137A1 in view of VOSS US 20210278491 A1.
Re claim 2, ROSALES et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach a Tesla valve.
VOSS teach , wherein said unidirectional circulation means comprises a Tesla valve (para 34) to ensure single direction flow in thermosiphon applications (paras 3, 9-11, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a Tesla valve as taught by VOSS in the ROSALES et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for flow control in different heat exchange arrangements.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to try to include a Tesla valve as taught by VOSS in the ROSALES et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for flow control in different heat exchange arrangements.
Re claim 8, ROSALES et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach said unidirectional circulation means comprises second flow channels.
VOSS teach wherein said unidirectional circulation means comprises second flow channels (fig 3 noting tesla valves contains multiple channels, para 34) for the two-phase cooling fluid external to said heat exchange chamber to ensure single direction flow in thermosiphon applications (paras 3, 9-11, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include said unidirectional circulation means comprises second flow channels as taught by VOSS in the ROSALES et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for flow control in different heat exchange arrangements with a tesla valve.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to try to said unidirectional circulation means comprises second flow channels as taught by VOSS in the ROSALES et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for flow control in different heat exchange arrangements.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROSALES et al. US 20190257589 A1 in view of LAN US20200328137A1 in view of Endoh US 20200033068 A1.
Rew claim 6, ROSALES et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach fins.
Endoh teach wherein said first flow channels (31) comprise a metal foam structure or a plurality of ribs made in form of fins (32) to aid in condensing the working medium (in the instant combination fins are added to both condensation portions of 34 primary reference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include fins as taught by Endoh in the ROSALES et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for improved heat exchange performance as is known in the art to improve condensing sections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see reply, filed 1/29/2026, with respect to 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that LAN fails to teach details of claim 1. However, the scope of the claim 1 has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on ROSALES et al. to teach the recited claim 1 lines 1-5, first portion of line 6, and lines 8-9 (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim 1 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763