DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that (pages 13-15):
ETSI and Cheng fail to disclose or suggest the features of Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22. ETSI describes DCI formats including TPC command bits. (ETSI: p. 75). ETSI further describes bit fields for mapping of SRI indication. (Id. at pp. 88-89).
However, ETSI does not describe the first DCI message further including an indication whether the PUSCH transmission corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI as recited in Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22.
The Office Action points to ETSI's description of DCI format 0_1 relative to these features. However, DCI format 0_1 does not include an indication whether the PUSCH transmission corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI. This is the case at least because ETSI does not describe the UE being provided with two resource sets.
Cheng does not disclose the features absent from ETSI. Cheng describes a base station sending an RRC configuration message to a UE to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations, which may configure one or more spatial relations between the PUCCH and downlink signals such as a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) or a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB). (Cheng: [0053]).
However, Cheng does not teach or suggest the above-described features and is not relied upon by the Office Action as to these features of Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22.
Accordingly, ETSI and Cheng, alone or combined, do not teach or suggest features of independent Claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 such that the rejections are unsupported and Applicant requests the withdrawal of the rejections for this reason.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
In response to Applicant's above argument with regards to claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 that ETSI does not describe the claimed DCI functionality is not persuasive because it relies on an overly narrow and incorrect reading of DCI format 0 _1 as defined in ETSI TS 38.212 V15.5.0. As set forth explicitly in Section 7.3.1.1.2, ETSI defines DCI format 0_1 as the uplink scheduling DCI and specifies, in detail, the uplink transmission control information conveyed therein. ETSI expressly states that “DCI format 0_1 is used for the scheduling of PUSCH in one cell” (page 77, section 7.3.1.1.2). ETSI then enumerates the information fields carried in the DCI payload, including both uplink power control and uplink transmission configuration selection.
Specifically, ETSI defines that DCI format 0_1 includes a “TPC command for scheduled PUSCH - 2 bits” (page 77, section 7.3.1.1.2), with the TPC command behavior cross-referenced to TS 38.213 (uplink closed-loop power control). This directly corresponds to Applicant's claimed transmit power control signaling in the first DCI message.
Further, ETSI specifies that DCI format 0_1 includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field, with the bit width determined by the number of configured SRS resources, as defined in TS 38.214 (pages 77-79). ETSI further provides explicit mapping tables (pages 88-89) showing how the DCI bit field maps to SRI index values, thereby signaling which SRS resource is associated with the scheduled PUSCH transmission.
In addition, ETSI defines that DCI format 0_1 includes precoding information and number of layers, with the DCI bit field mapped to Transmission Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI) values, as specified via tables and cross-references to TS 38.214 (pages 82-86). Thus, ETSl's DCI format 0_1 explicitly conveys TPMl-based precoding selection for the scheduled PUSCH.
Accordingly, ETSI teaches a single DCI message (format 0_1) that includes: (i) a TPC command for scheduled PUSCH (page 77); (ii) an SRS resource indicator field identifying the applicable SRS resource (pages 77-79 and 88-89); and (iii) precoding information mapped to TPMI values identifying the precoding matrix for the PUSCH (pages 82-86).
To the extent Applicant argues that ETSI fails to disclose an “an indication whether the PUSCH transmission corresponds to” one of multiple SRI/TPMI combinations, this appears to stem from an overly rigid reading of the claims. ETSI does not signal uplink transmission selection by duplicating SRI or TPMI fields or by adding a separate selector bit. Rather, ETSI signals which SRS resource and which procoding matrix apply through the existing DCI bit fields and their defined mappings. In this way, the DCI naturally conveys which SRI and TPMI are used for the scheduled PUSCH transmission, without requiring parallel “first” and “second” SRI/TPMI field. Viewed in this context, ETSI provides he claimed indication.
Thus, ETSI TS 38.212 §7.3.1.1.2 (pages 77-89), alone or in combination with Cheng, teaches or suggests the claimed uplink scheduling DCI including TPC signaling, SRS-based transmission selection, and TPMl-based precoding indication. Applicant's arguments to the contrary are therefore unpersuasive. With respect to dependent claims 2-5, 9-12, 16-19 and 23-26, Applicant has not presented separated, claim specific argument addressing the additional limitations recited therein, but instead relies on the argument made with respect to the corresponding independent claims. As discussed above, the applied references disclose the limitations of the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims are not allowable by virtue of their dependency. In the absence of persuasive, claim-specific arguments demonstrating how the these additional limitations patentably distinguish over the applied references, the rejections of claims 2-5, 9-12, 16-19 and 23-23 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 , 8-12, 15-19, 22-26 arere rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI TS 138 212 V15.5.0 5G; NR; Multiplexing and channel coding, 3GPP TS 38.212 version 15.5.0 Release 15, 2019-05 (hereinafter “138.212”) and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20200053721, hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 1, 138.212 discloses,
a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (please refer to uplink and downlink physical channels in section 4.1 and 4.2), the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to generate at least one of:
a first downlink control information (DCI) message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.1.2) with a first transmit power control TPC command field of N bits configured to schedule a physical uplink shared PUSCH transmission (TPC command for scheduled PUSCH – 2 bits as defined in Subclause 7.1.1, page 75), the first DCI message further including an indication whether the PUSCH transmission (see, SRI indication in tables 7.3.1.1.2-28 to 7.3.1.1.2-32, pages 88-89) corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI (section 7.3.1.1.2 further discloses that DCI format 0_1 carries both SRI field and TPMI/precoding field. It specifies that the UE interprets rank from SRI when in non-codebook mode and from TPMI when the in codebook mode, pages 77-89); and
a second DCI message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.2.2) with a second TPC command field of M bits configured to schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH transmission (DCI format 1_1 is used for the scheduling of PDSCH in one cell. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1_1 with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CSRNTI or MCS-C-RNTI:….. TPC command for scheduled PUCCH – 2 bits, pages 92-94), the second DCI message further including an indication of a physical uplink control channel PUCCH resource for uplink transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement HARO-ACK by the WD (HARQ process number – 4 bits, Downlink assignment index – number of bits as defined in the following, 4 bits if more than one serving cell are configured in the DL and the higher layer parameter pdsch-HARQACK-Codebook=dynamic, where the 2 MSB bits are the counter DAI and the 2 LSB bits are the total DAI, pages 92-93).
a radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry and configured to transmit at least one the first DCI message and the second DCI message; and receive at least one of (1) the PUSCH transmission according to a first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field; and (2) the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource according to a second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (the gNB transmitting DCI over PDCCH and receiving PUSCH and HARQ-ACK on PUCCH according to the respective TPC commands (PUSCH TPC in DCI 0_1; PUCCH TCP in DCI 1_1, see section 7.3.1.1.2 and section 7.3.1.2.2).
However, 138.212 does not disclose, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource (In one implementation, the base station 111 may configure multiple spatial relations to the UE 121, and the base station 111 may use a MAC CE to indicate which one of the spatial relations to be activated. According to the example shown in FIG. 1, the list of PUCCH spatial relations configured in action 131 may include reference signals SSB index #1, SSB index #2, CSI-RS index #1, and CSI-RS index #2, as shown in the table 210, [0053]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 138.212 by specifically providing at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource, as taught by Cheng for the purpose of activating a PUCCH spatial relation in the next generation wireless communication networks [0005].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to only the first TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 8, 138.212 discloses,
A method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (please refer to uplink and downlink physical channels in section 4.1 and 4.2), the network node comprising generating:
a first downlink control information (DCI) message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.1.2) with a first transmit power control TPC command field of N bits configured to schedule a physical uplink shared PUSCH transmission (TPC command for scheduled PUSCH – 2 bits as defined in Subclause 7.1.1, page 75), the first DCI message further including an indication whether the PUSCH transmission (see, SRI indication in tables 7.3.1.1.2-28 to 7.3.1.1.2-32, pages 88-89) corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI (section 7.3.1.1.2 further discloses that DCI format 0_1 carries both SRI field and TPMI/precoding field. It specifies that the UE interprets rank from SRI when in non-codebook mode and from TPMI when the in codebook mode, pages 77-89); and
a second DCI message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.2.2) with a second TPC command field of M bits configured to schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH transmission (DCI format 1_1 is used for the scheduling of PDSCH in one cell. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1_1 with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CSRNTI or MCS-C-RNTI:….. TPC command for scheduled PUCCH – 2 bits, pages 92-94), the second DCI message further including an indication of a physical uplink control channel PUCCH resource for uplink transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement HARO-ACK by the WD (HARQ process number – 4 bits, Downlink assignment index – number of bits as defined in the following, 4 bits if more than one serving cell are configured in the DL and the higher layer parameter pdsch-HARQACK-Codebook=dynamic, where the 2 MSB bits are the counter DAI and the 2 LSB bits are the total DAI, pages 92-93).
transmitting at least one the first DCI message and the second DCI message; and receiving at least one of (1) the PUSCH transmission according to a first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field; and (2) the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource according to a second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (the gNB transmitting DCI over PDCCH and receiving PUSCH and HARQ-ACK on PUCCH according to the respective TPC commands (PUSCH TPC in DCI 0_1; PUCCH TCP in DCI 1_1, see section 7.3.1.1.2 and section 7.3.1.2.2).
However, 138.212 does not disclose, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource (In one implementation, the base station 111 may configure multiple spatial relations to the UE 121, and the base station 111 may use a MAC CE to indicate which one of the spatial relations to be activated. According to the example shown in FIG. 1, the list of PUCCH spatial relations configured in action 131 may include reference signals SSB index #1, SSB index #2, CSI-RS index #1, and CSI-RS index #2, as shown in the table 210, [0053]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 138.212 by specifically providing at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource, as taught by Cheng for the purpose of activating a PUCCH spatial relation in the next generation wireless communication networks [0005].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to only the first TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 15, 138.212 discloses,
A wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node (please refer to uplink and downlink physical channels in section 4.1 and 4.2), the WD comprising:
a radio interface configured to receive:
a first downlink control information (DCI) message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.1.2) with a first transmit power control TPC command field of N bits configured to schedule a physical uplink shared PUSCH transmission (TPC command for scheduled PUSCH – 2 bits as defined in Subclause 7.1.1, page 75), the first DCI message further including an indication whether the PUSCH transmission (see, SRI indication in tables 7.3.1.1.2-28 to 7.3.1.1.2-32, pages 88-89) corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI (section 7.3.1.1.2 further discloses that DCI format 0_1 carries both SRI field and TPMI/precoding field. It specifies that the UE interprets rank from SRI when in non-codebook mode and from TPMI when the in codebook mode, pages 77-89); and
a second DCI message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.2.2) with a second TPC command field of M bits configured to schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH transmission (DCI format 1_1 is used for the scheduling of PDSCH in one cell. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1_1 with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CSRNTI or MCS-C-RNTI:….. TPC command for scheduled PUCCH – 2 bits, pages 92-94), the second DCI message further including an indication of a physical uplink control channel PUCCH resource for uplink transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement HARO-ACK by the WD (HARQ process number – 4 bits, Downlink assignment index – number of bits as defined in the following, 4 bits if more than one serving cell are configured in the DL and the higher layer parameter pdsch-HARQACK-Codebook=dynamic, where the 2 MSB bits are the counter DAI and the 2 LSB bits are the total DAI, pages 92-93) and
the radio interface being further configured to: receive at least one of the first DCI message and the second DCI message; and transmit at least one of (1) the PUSCH transmission according to a first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field; and (2) the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource according to a second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (the gNB transmitting DCI over PDCCH and receiving PUSCH and HARQ-ACK on PUCCH according to the respective TPC commands (PUSCH TPC in DCI 0_1; PUCCH TCP in DCI 1_1, see section 7.3.1.1.2 and section 7.3.1.2.2).
However, 138.212 does not disclose, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource (In one implementation, the base station 111 may configure multiple spatial relations to the UE 121, and the base station 111 may use a MAC CE to indicate which one of the spatial relations to be activated. According to the example shown in FIG. 1, the list of PUCCH spatial relations configured in action 131 may include reference signals SSB index #1, SSB index #2, CSI-RS index #1, and CSI-RS index #2, as shown in the table 210, [0053]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 138.212 by specifically providing at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource, as taught by Cheng for the purpose of activating a PUCCH spatial relation in the next generation wireless communication networks [0005].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission only corresponding to the first SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission only corresponding to the first TPMI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 22, 138.212 discloses,
A method in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node (please refer to uplink and downlink physical channels in section 4.1 and 4.2), the method comprising:
receiving:
a first downlink control information (DCI) message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.1.2) with a first transmit power control TPC command field of N bits configured to schedule a physical uplink shared PUSCH transmission (TPC command for scheduled PUSCH – 2 bits as defined in Subclause 7.1.1, page 75), the first DCI message further including an indication whether the PUSCH transmission (see, SRI indication in tables 7.3.1.1.2-28 to 7.3.1.1.2-32, pages 88-89) corresponds to (1) one of a first SRS resource indicator, SRI, field and a first transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI field in the first DCI; and (2) one of a second SRI field and a second TPMI field comprised in the first DCI (section 7.3.1.1.2 further discloses that DCI format 0_1 carries both SRI field and TPMI/precoding field. It specifies that the UE interprets rank from SRI when in non-codebook mode and from TPMI when the in codebook mode, pages 77-89); and
a second DCI message (i.e., DCI format 0_1 in section 7.3.1.2.2) with a second TPC command field of M bits configured to schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH transmission (DCI format 1_1 is used for the scheduling of PDSCH in one cell. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1_1 with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CSRNTI or MCS-C-RNTI:….. TPC command for scheduled PUCCH – 2 bits, pages 92-94), the second DCI message further including an indication of a physical uplink control channel PUCCH resource for uplink transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement HARO-ACK by the WD (HARQ process number – 4 bits, Downlink assignment index – number of bits as defined in the following, 4 bits if more than one serving cell are configured in the DL and the higher layer parameter pdsch-HARQACK-Codebook=dynamic, where the 2 MSB bits are the counter DAI and the 2 LSB bits are the total DAI, pages 92-93) and
receiving at least one of the first DCI message and the second DCI message; and transmitting at least one of (1) the PUSCH transmission according to a first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field; and (2) the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource according to a second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (the gNB transmitting DCI over PDCCH and receiving PUSCH and HARQ-ACK on PUCCH according to the respective TPC commands (PUSCH TPC in DCI 0_1; PUCCH TCP in DCI 1_1, see section 7.3.1.1.2 and section 7.3.1.2.2).
However, 138.212 does not disclose, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses, at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource (In one implementation, the base station 111 may configure multiple spatial relations to the UE 121, and the base station 111 may use a MAC CE to indicate which one of the spatial relations to be activated. According to the example shown in FIG. 1, the list of PUCCH spatial relations configured in action 131 may include reference signals SSB index #1, SSB index #2, CSI-RS index #1, and CSI-RS index #2, as shown in the table 210, [0053]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 138.212 by specifically providing at least one of (1) one spatial relation that is one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource; and (2) two spatial relations that are one of configured and activated for the PUCCH resource, as taught by Cheng for the purpose of activating a PUCCH spatial relation in the next generation wireless communication networks [0005].
Regarding claim 23, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first SRI field and the second SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission only corresponding to the first SRI field are according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to both the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further 138.212 discloses, wherein the PUSCH transmission corresponding to only the first TPMI field is according to the first single TPC command carried in the first TPC command field (table 7.3.1.1.2-x (DCI 0-1 field) shows the same TPC command field, alongside the SRI field and the TPMI/precoding field).
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, 20, 21, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 138.212, in view of Cheng and further in view of WO2021142659 (hereinafter “Qualcomm”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (At 810, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations to determine a transmission beam or a transmission power for the uplink control channel. For example, referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations selected at 518 to determine transmission beams or transmission powers of the uplink control channel transmitted at 520. As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel using a first spatial relation at a first time 610 and transmit the uplink control channel using a second spatial relation at a second time 612, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel at 514 to the base station 504 using the signal spatial relation based on the determination by the UE 502 at 510, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (At 810, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations to determine a transmission beam or a transmission power for the uplink control channel. For example, referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations selected at 518 to determine transmission beams or transmission powers of the uplink control channel transmitted at 520. As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel using a first spatial relation at a first time 610 and transmit the uplink control channel using a second spatial relation at a second time 612, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel at 514 to the base station 504 using the signal spatial relation based on the determination by the UE 502 at 510, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (At 810, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations to determine a transmission beam or a transmission power for the uplink control channel. For example, referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations selected at 518 to determine transmission beams or transmission powers of the uplink control channel transmitted at 520. As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel using a first spatial relation at a first time 610 and transmit the uplink control channel using a second spatial relation at a second time 612, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 21, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel at 514 to the base station 504 using the signal spatial relation based on the determination by the UE 502 at 510, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 27, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (At 810, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations to determine a transmission beam or a transmission power for the uplink control channel. For example, referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may use the multiple spatial relations selected at 518 to determine transmission beams or transmission powers of the uplink control channel transmitted at 520. As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel using a first spatial relation at a first time 610 and transmit the uplink control channel using a second spatial relation at a second time 612, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the two spatial relations is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Regarding claim 28, the combination of 138.212 and Cheng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), however the combination of 138.212 and Cheng does not disclose, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field.
In the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm discloses, wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field (referring to FIG. 5, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink control channel at 514 to the base station 504 using the signal spatial relation based on the determination by the UE 502 at 510, Fig. 8 and [0078]-[0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of 138.212 and Cheng by specifically providing wherein the uplink transmission of HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the one spatial relation is according to the second single TPC command carried in the second TPC command field, as taught by Qualcomm in order to improve diversity gain for the PUCCH, reduce a probability that the PUCCH will be blocked or interfered with, and enhance a coverage area of the PUCCH [0005].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20220232482: A terminal according to one aspect of the present disclosure includes: a control section that determines a reference signal for pathloss reference for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), based on any one of reception of a medium access control control element (MAC CE) and transmission of a random access channel; and a transmitting section that transmits the PUSCH by using transmission power based on the reference signal for pathloss reference.
US 20220225361: The present disclosure discloses a method of receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, including configuring a first transmission and reception point (TRP) using resources of a first cell, configuring a second TRP using resources of a second cell, receiving first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), receiving second DCI scheduling a second PUSCH, transmitting the first PUSCH to the first TRP, and transmitting the second PUSCH to the second TRP.
US 20220201679: A method and device are provided for transmitting/receiving a UL signal in a wireless communication system supporting cooperative communication. A method for communication by a UE includes transmitting, to a base station, UE capability information for changing at least one of a UL beam, a transmit power, or a frequency, receiving information about an offset in a time domain from the base station, based on the UE capability information, and in case that the offset in the time domain is greater than or equal to a time for a change according to a UE capability, transmitting a UL signal to a plurality of TRPs by changing at least one of the UL beam, the transmit power, and the frequency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641