Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claims 1 and 2 are rejected as being vague and indefinite when they each recite “wherein the light-emitting material is configured to emit fluorescent light” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. Amended claims 1 and 2 each fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the contents of the claimed light-emitting device.
Amended claims 1 and 2 are rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “wherein the organic compound is configured to convey triplet excitation energy into light emission” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. Amended claims 1 and 2 each fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the contents of the claimed light-emitting device.
Amended claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when it recites “wherein the first material is configured to emit delayed fluorescent light” (emphasis added); the scope of the protection sought is not clear. Amended claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the contents of the claimed light-emitting device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ohsawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0057667).
Ohsawa et al. teaches a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in an apparatus, display device and/or electronic device, characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first layer comprising a light-emitting material, a first organic compound, and a first material, wherein the light-emitting material emits fluorescent light, wherein the first organic compound converts triplet excitation energy into light emission, and wherein the first material emits delayed fluorescent light at room temperature.
Ohsawa et al. discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02. Although Ohsawa et al. does not specify the claimed absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, since a composition of matter is claimed, and Ohsawa et al. discloses the claimed contents, as well as that the first material emits fluorescent light at room temperature, it is asserted that the light-emitting device of et al. inherently possesses the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, and that the claimed light-emitting device lacks novelty, absent object evidence to the contrary. Assuming arguendo that the light-emitting device of Ohsawa et al. does not inherently possess the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, then Ohsawa et al. is also relied upon under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amount of each of the components therein with reasonable expectation of achieving the advantages generally taught therein, absent object evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ohsawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,362,517).
Ohsawa et al. teaches a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in an apparatus, display device and/or electronic device, characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first layer comprising a light-emitting material, a first organic compound, and a first material, wherein the light-emitting material emits fluorescent light, wherein the first organic compound converts triplet excitation energy into light emission, and wherein the first material emits delayed fluorescent light at room temperature.
Ohsawa et al. discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02. Although Ohsawa et al. does not specify the claimed absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, since a composition of matter is claimed, and Ohsawa et al. discloses the claimed contents, as well as that the first material emits fluorescent light at room temperature, it is asserted that the light-emitting device of et al. inherently possesses the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, and that the claimed light-emitting device lacks novelty, absent object evidence to the contrary. Assuming arguendo that the light-emitting device of Ohsawa et al. does not inherently possess the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, then Ohsawa et al. is also relied upon under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amount of each of the components therein with reasonable expectation of achieving the advantages generally taught therein, absent object evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)() as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ishisone et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,998,516).
Ishisone et al. teaches a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in an apparatus, display device and/or electronic device, characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first layer comprising a light-emitting material, a first organic compound, and a first material, wherein the light-emitting material emits fluorescent light, wherein the first organic compound converts triplet excitation energy into light emission, and wherein the first material emits delayed fluorescent light at room temperature.
Ishisone et al. discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §§ 2112 - 2112.02. Although Ishisone et al. does not specify the claimed absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, since a composition of matter is claimed, and Ishisone et al. discloses the claimed contents, as well as that the first material emits fluorescent light at room temperature, it is asserted that the light-emitting device of et al. inherently possesses the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, and that the claimed light-emitting device lacks novelty, absent object evidence to the contrary. Assuming arguendo that the light-emitting device of Ishisone et al. does not inherently possess the recited absorption spectrum of the light-emitting material or the spectrum of light emitted by the first organic compound, then Ishisone et al. is also relied upon under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amount of each of the components therein with reasonable expectation of achieving the advantages generally taught therein, absent object evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-13, 15, 16, and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 15, and 18-29 of copending Application No. 17/052,245 (corresponding to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0057667). Although the claims at issue are not identical, the Examiner notes that they are obvious variants thereof each other, and that they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in an apparatus, display device and/or electronic device, characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first layer comprising a light-emitting material, a first organic compound, and a first material, wherein the light-emitting material emits fluorescent light, wherein the first organic compound converts triplet excitation energy into light emission, and wherein the first material emits delayed fluorescent light at room temperature.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-13, 15, 16, and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 9,362,517. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the Examiner notes that they are obvious variants thereof each other, and that they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in an apparatus, display device and/or electronic device, characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first layer comprising a light-emitting material, a first organic compound, a second organic compound and a first material, wherein the light-emitting material emits fluorescent light, the first organic compound converts triplet excitation energy into light emission, and said second compound forms an exciplex.
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,998,516. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the Examiner notes that they are obvious variants thereof each other, and that they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a light-emitting device and corresponding use thereof said light-emitting device in a display device characterized in that said light-emitting device comprises a light-emitting layer containing a first organic compound, a second organic compound, and a third organic compound, wherein a LUMO level of one of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than or equal to a LUMO level of the other of the first organic compound and the second organic compound, wherein a HOMO level of the one of the first organic compound and the second organic compound is higher than or equal to a HOMO level of the other of the first organic compound and the second organic compound, wherein the first organic compound and the second organic compound, in combination, are capable of forming an exciplex, wherein the first organic compound is capable of converting triplet excitation energy into light emission at room temperature, wherein the third organic compound is capable of converting singlet excitation energy into light emission, and wherein light emitted from the light-emitting layer comprises light emitted from the third organic compound.
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0130225, which is the pre-grant publication corresponding to the present application.
GERALDINA VISCONTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/GERALDINA VISCONTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737