DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 31-55 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s explanation regarding the previous double patenting rejections to claims 31, 33-38, 40-44, 48, and 52. The previous double patenting rejections to claims 31, 33-38, 40-44, 48, and 52 are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/2/2025 regarding claims 31 and 48 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The Applicant argues in substance that “the combination of Fischer and Akkarakaran does not disclose all the features of independent claims 31 and 48”, arguing the following:
The claimed PRS are downlink PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with one or more DUs
Akkarakaran does not teach PRS activity reporting between a CU and DU
Fischer does not teach “associating” PRS information with respective DUs
The operations performed by the LMC in Fischer cannot be attributed to the CU
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding argument a), Fischer [0111] states “the LMC 117 performs positioning procedures ... in order to obtain a location (or location estimate) for UE 102. This may include ... requesting the UE 102 to perform measurement of DL PRS ... [and] DL PRS transmission from gNB-DUs 304 and/or TPs 111”. Fischer [0055] also states “A TP 111, RP 113, and/or a TRP may be part of or may comprise a Distributed Unit (DU, also referred to as gNB-DU) in a gNB 110”. That is, the positioning procedure involves measurement of DL PRS transmitted by a TRP which is associated with a DU.
Regarding argument d), Fischer makes it clear that the LMC can be part of the CU in paragraphs [0059] “An LMC may be part of a Central Unit (CU, also referred to as gNB-CU) in a gNB” and [0068] “For example, LMC 117 ... may be physically combined with gNB-CU 302.” Thus, the operations performed by the LMC may be attributed to the CU.
Regarding arguments b) and c), after further consideration the Akkarakaran reference has been removed and the rejection of claims 31 and 48 now relies solely on Fischer. Fischer [0074] states “the NG-RAN node 300 may ... support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration and measurements information to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117”. In other words, DL PRS measurement information (PRS activity reports) may be sent from the LMC (CU) to the DU. Fischer [0117] states “for DL-PRS measurements, the LMC 117 may determine gNBs 110, gNB-DUs 304 and 306 (e.g., a serving gNB-DU 304) and/or TPs 111 nearby the approximate location of the target UE 102”. That is, the LMC/CU may select the DU/TPs to use for DL-PRS transmission that the UE will measure, thereby “associating” the measurement information the UE reports back with the respective DUs. Additionally, in order for the LMC/CU to send DL PRS measurement information to a specific DU/TRP, it must “associate” that measurement information with a specific DU by way of the DU’s IP address. For this reason any information sent from the CU to the DU over the F1 interface can be said to be “DU-specific”.
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/2/2025 regarding claims 38 and 52 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity, the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (US 2020/0267508 A1, hereinafter “Fischer”).
Regarding Claim 31, Fischer teaches a method for a centralized unit (CU) (Fischer: An LMC may be part of a Central Unit (CU, also referred to as gNB-CU) in a gNB, see paragraph [0059]) of a radio access network (RAN) node that is associated with one or more transmission reception points (TRPs), the method comprising: receiving, from a positioning node associated with the RAN, a first positioning reference signal (PRS) activity report that includes information about PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with one or more distributed units (DUs) of the RAN node (Fischer: the LMC 117 performs positioning procedures ... This may include ... requesting the UE 102 to perform measurement of DL PRS ... [and] DL PRS transmission from gNB-DUs 304 and/or TPs 111, see paragraph [0111]; a TP 111 and RP 113 may be combined into a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) (not shown in FIG. 2), which performs the functions of both a TP 111 and an RP 113. ATP 111, RP 113, and/or a TRP may be part of or may comprise a Distributed Unit (DU, also referred to as gNB-DU) in a gNB 110, see paragraph [0055]);
associating the information in the first PRS activity report with respective DUs of the RAN node (Fischer: for DL-PRS measurements, the LMC 117 may determine gNBs 110, gNB-DUs 304 and 306 (e.g., a serving gNB-DU 304) and/or TPs 111 nearby the approximate location of the target UE 102, see paragraph [0117]); and
sending, to the DUs, respective second PRS activity reports that include the information associated with the respective DUs, such that the second PRS activity reports will have DU-specific subsets of the information in the first PRS activity report (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may ... support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration and measurements information to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
*Examiner’s Note: By determining the DUs/TPs to use for DL-PRS transmission that the UE will measure, the LMC is “associating” the measurement information the UE reports back with the respective DUs. Additionally, any transfer of DL-PRS measurement information from the LMC to a DU can be said to have “DU-specific” information.
Regarding Claim 48, Fischer teaches a centralized unit (CU) of a radio access network (RAN) node that is associated with one or more transmission reception points (TRPs), the CU comprising: communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with a positioning node and with one or more distributed units (DUs) of the RAN node (Fischer: a Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) node in a radio access network (RAN) configured to support positioning of a user equipment (UE), the NG-RAN node comprising a Central Unit (CU) configured to communicate with one or more other NG-RAN nodes within the RAN and with a core network node ... [and] at least one internal interface configured to communicate between the LMC, the CU, and the DU, see paragraph [0008]; An LMC may be part of a Central Unit (CU, also referred to as gNB-CU) in a gNB, see paragraph [0059]); and
processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio network interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the radio network interface circuitry are configured to: receive, from the positioning node, a first positioning reference signal (PRS) activity report that includes information about PRS transmitted by the TRPs (Fischer: the LMC 117 performs positioning procedures ... This may include ... requesting the UE 102 to perform measurement of DL PRS ... [and] DL PRS transmission from gNB-DUs 304 and/or TPs 111, see paragraph [0111]; a TP 111 and RP 113 may be combined into a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) (not shown in FIG. 2), which performs the functions of both a TP 111 and an RP 113. ATP 111, RP 113, and/or a TRP may be part of or may comprise a Distributed Unit (DU, also referred to as gNB-DU) in a gNB 110, see paragraph [0055]); and
associate the information in the first PRS activity report with the respective DUs (Fischer: for DL-PRS measurements, the LMC 117 may determine gNBs 110, gNB-DUs 304 and 306 (e.g., a serving gNB-DU 304) and/or TPs 111 nearby the approximate location of the target UE 102, see paragraph [0117]); and
send, to the DUs, respective second PRS activity reports that include the information associated with the respective DUs, such that the second PRS activity reports will have DU-specific subsets of the information in the first PRS activity report (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may ... support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration and measurements information to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0189201 A1, hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding Claim 32, Fischer teaches the method of claim 31, but does not explicitly teach, receiving, from the DUs, respective acknowledgements of the second PRS activity reports.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches receiving, from the DUs, respective acknowledgements of the second PRS activity reports (Lu: the location management network element may send the second message to the base station, and the base station may receive the second message, and reply to the location management network element with the confirmation message if confirming that the PRS parameter included in the second message is adopted, see paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Lu above in order to improve resource utilization and positioning flexibility (Lu: see paragraph [0004]).
Claims 33-34 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Fakoorian et al. (US 2022/0132493 A1, hereinafter “Fakoorian”).
Regarding Claim 33, Fischer teaches the method of claim 31, and receiving, from the DUs, DL PRS configuration information (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may support signaling and location procedures between a gNB-CU 302 and LMC 117 ... and, in addition, support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration ... to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer does not explicitly teach that PRS configuration information involves PRS action reports indicating actions related to the PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the respective DUs, taken by the respective DUs in response to the respective second PRS activity reports.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches that PRS configuration information involves PRS action reports indicating actions related to the PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the respective DUs, taken by the respective DUs in response to the respective second PRS activity reports (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Fakoorian above in order to increase accuracy and network efficiency (Fakoorian: see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 34, Fischer-Fakoorian teaches the method of claim 33, wherein each PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Fakoorian is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 33.
Regarding Claim 49, Fischer teaches the CU of claim 48, wherein the processing circuitry and the radio network interface circuitry are further configured to receive, from the DUs, DL PRS configuration information (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may support signaling and location procedures between a gNB-CU 302 and LMC 117 ... and, in addition, support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration ... to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer does not explicitly teach that PRS configuration information involves PRS action reports indicating actions related to the PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the respective DUs, taken by the respective DUs in response to the respective second PRS activity reports, wherein each PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches that PRS configuration information involves PRS action reports indicating actions related to the PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the respective DUs, taken by the respective DUs in response to the respective second PRS activity reports, wherein each PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Fakoorian above in order to increase accuracy and network efficiency (Fakoorian: see paragraph [0034]).
Claims 35-36, 38, 42-43, 50, 52, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0116089 A1, hereinafter “Khoryaev III”).
Regarding Claim 35, Fischer teaches the method of claim 31, but does not explicitly teach, wherein the first PRS activity report includes a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khoryaev III teaches the first PRS activity report includes a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs (Khoryaev III: At operation 206, the operational control flow 200 causes TRPs/gNBs to transmit on pre-configured PRS Resources ... At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraphs [0115], [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Khoryaev III above in order to improve positioning performance (Khoryaev III: see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 36, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 35.
Khoryaev III further teaches the first PRS activity report also includes the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: identifiers of PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraph [0118]); and
the following associated with each particular one of the PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 35.
Regarding Claim 38, Fischer teaches a method for a distributed unit (DU) of a radio access network (RAN) node that is associated with one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) the method comprising: receiving, from a centralized unit (CU) of the RAN node, a positioning reference signal (PRS) activity report that includes information about PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU (Fischer: the LMC 117 performs positioning procedures ... This may include ... requesting the UE 102 to perform measurement of DL PRS ... [and] DL PRS transmission from gNB-DUs 304 and/or TPs 111, see paragraph [0111]; for DL-PRS measurements, the LMC 117 may determine gNBs 110, gNB-DUs 304 and 306 (e.g., a serving gNB-DU 304) and/or TPs 111 nearby the approximate location of the target UE 102, see paragraph [0117]); the NG-RAN node 300 may ... support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration and measurements information to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer does not teach, based on the PRS activity report, performing one or more actions related to the PRS transmitted by the TRPs associated with the DU, wherein the one or more actions include: activating or maintaining activation of one or more second PRS resources indicated by the PRS activity report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khoryaev III teaches, based on the PRS activity report, performing one or more actions related to the PRS transmitted by the TRPs associated with the DU, wherein the one or more actions include: activating or maintaining activation of one or more second PRS resources indicated by the PRS activity report (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning ... At operation 214, the operational control flow 200 causes the TRPs/gNBs to configure UE specific set of PRS resources (resource IDs) and to activate it for DL PRS transmission from the set of DL PRS Resource IDs reported by UE, see paragraphs [0118]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Khoryaev III above in order to improve positioning performance (Khoryaev III: see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 42, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 38.
Khoryaev III further teaches the first PRS activity report includes a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs (Khoryaev III: At operation 206, the operational control flow 200 causes TRPs/gNBs to transmit on pre-configured PRS Resources ... At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraphs [0115], [0118]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 38.
Regarding Claim 43, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 42.
Khoryaev III further teaches the PRS activity report also includes the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: identifiers of PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraph [0118]); and
the following associated with each particular one of the PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 38.
Regarding Claim 50, Fischer teaches the CU of claim 48, but does not explicitly teach, wherein the first PRS activity report includes: a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs; and
the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: identifiers of PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set; and
the following associated with each particular one of the PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khoryaev III teaches, the first PRS activity report includes: a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs (Khoryaev III: At operation 206, the operational control flow 200 causes TRPs/gNBs to transmit on pre-configured PRS Resources ... At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraphs [0115], [0118]); and
the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: identifiers of PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraph [0118]); and
the following associated with each particular one of the PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Khoryaev III above in order to provide improved positioning performance (Khoryaev: see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 52, Fischer teaches a distributed unit (DU) of a radio access network (RAN) node that is associated with one or more transmission reception points (TRPs), the DU comprising: radio network interface circuitry configured to communicate with a centralized unit (CU) of the RAN node and to transmit positioning reference signals (PRS) via the TRPs (Fischer: the NG-RAN node comprising ... a Distributed Unit (DU) configured to communicate with the UE, includes at least one external interface configured to communicate with external entities [and] at least one internal interface configured to communicate between the LMC, the CU, and the DU, see paragraph [0008]; ); and
processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio network interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the radio network interface circuitry are configured to: receive, from the CU, a PRS activity report that includes information about PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU (Fischer: at least one processor coupled to the at least one external interface, the at least one internal interface, and the at least one memory and configured to: exchange a first plurality of positioning messages between the LMC and the UE via the CU and DU, see paragraph [0008]; for DL-PRS measurements, the LMC 117 may determine gNBs 110, gNB-DUs 304 and 306 (e.g., a serving gNB-DU 304) and/or TPs 111 nearby the approximate location of the target UE 102, see paragraph [0117]); the NG-RAN node 300 may ... support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration and measurements information to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer does not teach to, based on the PRS activity report, perform one or more actions related to the PRS transmitted by the TRPs associated with the DU, wherein the one or more actions include: activate or maintain activation of one or more second PRS resources indicated by the PRS activity report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khoryaev III teaches, based on the PRS activity report, perform one or more actions related to the PRS transmitted by the TRPs associated with the DU, wherein the one or more actions include: activate or maintain activation of one or more second PRS resources indicated by the PRS activity report (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning ... At operation 214, the operational control flow 200 causes the TRPs/gNBs to configure UE specific set of PRS resources (resource IDs) and to activate it for DL PRS transmission from the set of DL PRS Resource IDs reported by UE, see paragraphs [0118]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer to include the features as taught by Khoryaev III above in order to improve positioning performance (Khoryaev III: see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 54, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the DU of claim 52.
Khoryaev III further teaches the first PRS activity report includes a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DUs (Khoryaev III: At operation 206, the operational control flow 200 causes TRPs/gNBs to transmit on pre-configured PRS Resources ... At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraphs [0115], [0118]); and
the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: identifiers of PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraph [0118]); and
the following associated with each particular one of the PRS resources within the particular PRS resource set: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 52.
Claims 37, 44, 51, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer-Khoryaev III in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0267684 A1, hereinafter “Huang”) and Khoryaev et al. (WO 2020/206021 A1, hereinafter “Khoryaev II”).
Regarding Claim 37, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 35.
Khoryaev III further teaches the first PRS activity report also includes the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 35.
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach, a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set;
average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set; and
average reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for the particular PRS resource set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches, average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set (Huang: UE determines the ... average PRS RSRP for each PRS resource set, see paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to report RSRP measurements results (Huang: see paragraph [0021]).
Although Huang teaches average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set, Huang does not teach reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for a PRS resource set.
However, Khoryaev II teaches RSRQ for a PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: one or more of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with best PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value, see paragraph [0024]); and
a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: wherein a selection rule of multiple positioning measurements comprises one or a combination of the following methods: selection rule of measurement with PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above predefined threshold, see paragraph [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III-Huang to include the features as taught by Khoryaev II above in order to improve the efficiency of the positioning service (Khoryaev II: see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 44, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 42.
Khoryaev III further teaches the PRS activity report also includes the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 42.
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach, a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set;
average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set; and
average reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for the particular PRS resource set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches, average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set (Huang: UE determines the ... average PRS RSRP for each PRS resource set, see paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to report RSRP measurements results (Huang: see paragraph [0021]).
Although Huang teaches average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set, Huang does not teach reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for a PRS resource set.
However, Khoryaev II teaches RSRQ for a PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: one or more of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with best PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value, see paragraph [0024]); and
a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: wherein a selection rule of multiple positioning measurements comprises one or a combination of the following methods: selection rule of measurement with PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above predefined threshold, see paragraph [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III-Huang to include the features as taught by Khoryaev II above in order to improve the efficiency of the positioning service (Khoryaev II: see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 51, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the CU of claim 48.
Khoryaev III further teaches, wherein the first PRS activity report also includes the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 50.
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach, a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set;
average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set; and
average reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for the particular PRS resource set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches, average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set (Huang: UE determines the ... average PRS RSRP for each PRS resource set, see paragraph [0021]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 37.
Although Huang teaches average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set, Huang does not teach reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for a PRS resource set.
However, Khoryaev II teaches RSRQ for a PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: one or more of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with best PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value, see paragraph [0024]); and
a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: wherein a selection rule of multiple positioning measurements comprises one or a combination of the following methods: selection rule of measurement with PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above predefined threshold, see paragraph [0191]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev II is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 37.
Regarding Claim 55, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the DU of claim 52.
Khoryaev III further teaches, wherein the PRS activity report includes: a list of PRS resource sets for the TRPs associated with the DU (Khoryaev III: At operation 206, the operational control flow 200 causes TRPs/gNBs to transmit on pre-configured PRS Resources ... At operation 212, the operational control flow 200 causes the UE to report set of the best DL PRS resource IDs for positioning, see paragraphs [0115], [0118]); and
the following information associated with each particular one of the PRS resource sets in the list: any quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev III: If some of the resources are quasi collocated the QCL type can be indicated, see paragraph [0113]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev III is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 52.
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach, a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set;
average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set; and
average reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for the particular PRS resource set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches, average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set (Huang: UE determines the ... average PRS RSRP for each PRS resource set, see paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to report RSRP measurements results (Huang: see paragraph [0021]).
Although Huang teaches average reported RSRP for the particular PRS resource set, Huang does not teach reported reference signal received quality (RSRQ) for a PRS resource set.
However, Khoryaev II teaches RSRQ for a PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: one or more of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with best PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value, see paragraph [0024]); and
a number of UEs that have reported reference signal receive power (RSRP) above a threshold for the particular PRS resource set (Khoryaev II: wherein a selection rule of multiple positioning measurements comprises one or a combination of the following methods: selection rule of measurement with PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above predefined threshold, see paragraph [0191]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev II is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 44.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer-Khoryaev III in view of Lu.
Regarding Claim 39, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 38, but does not explicitly teach, sending, to the CU, an acknowledgement of the PRS activity report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches, sending, to the CU, an acknowledgement of the PRS activity report (Lu: the location management network element may send the second message to the base station, and the base station may receive the second message, and reply to the location management network element with the confirmation message if confirming that the PRS parameter included in the second message is adopted, see paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Lu above in order to improve resource utilization and positioning flexibility (Lu: see paragraph [0004]).
Claims 40-41 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer-Khoryaev III in view of Fakoorian.
Regarding Claim 40, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 38, and sending, to the CU, DL PRS configuration information (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may support signaling and location procedures between a gNB-CU 302 and LMC 117 ... and, in addition, support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration ... to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach that PRS configuration information involves a PRS action report indicating the actions related to PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU, taken by the DU in response to the PRS activity report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches that PRS configuration information involves a PRS action report indicating the actions related to PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU, taken by the DU in response to the PRS activity report (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Fakoorian above in order to increase accuracy and network efficiency (Fakoorian: see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 41, Fischer-Khoryaev III-Fakoorian teaches the method of claim 40.
Fakoorian further teaches, wherein the PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Fakoorian is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 40.
Regarding Claim 53, Fischer-Khoryaev III teaches the DU of claim 52, wherein the processing circuitry and the radio network interface circuitry are further configured to send, to the CU, DL PRS configuration information (Fischer: the NG-RAN node 300 may support signaling and location procedures between a gNB-CU 302 and LMC 117 ... and, in addition, support transfer of a UL/DL PRS configuration ... to/from a gNB-DU/TRP from/to the LMC 117, see paragraph [0074]).
Fischer-Khoryaev III does not explicitly teach that PRS configuration information involves a PRS action report indicating the actions related to PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU, taken by the DU in response to the PRS activity report, wherein the PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fakoorian teaches that PRS configuration information involves a PRS action report indicating the actions related to PRS transmitted by TRPs associated with the DU, taken by the DU in response to the PRS activity report, wherein the PRS action report includes an indication of PRS resources or beams that are activated or operational (Fakoorian: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include, at 312, performing a positioning operation with respect to the DL-PRS resources based on the control signal. In some embodiments, the control signal may be an activation signal. In these embodiments, the positioning operation may include detecting the activation of the DL-PRS resources ... measuring the DL-PRS resources, and transmitting a report to a base station based on the measuring of the DL-PRS resources, see paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Fakoorian above in order to increase accuracy and network efficiency (Fakoorian: see paragraph [0034]).
Claims 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer-Khoryaev III in view of Khoryaev II.
Regarding Claim 45, Fischer- Khoryaev III teaches the method of claim 38, but does not explicitly teach, wherein: the one or more first PRS resources are indicated by the PRS activity report as having no UE measurements or UE measurements that do not meet one or more criteria; and
the one or more second PRS resources are indicated by the PRS activity report as having UE measurements that meet the one or more criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khoryaev II teaches, the one or more first PRS resources are indicated by the PRS activity report as having no UE measurements or UE measurements that do not meet one or more criteria (Khoryaev II: In other embodiments, multiple measurements are reported by the UE per DL PRS resource set ... The UE is configured to perform a set of measurements selected by pre-configured criteria , see paragraph [0025]); and
the one or more second PRS resources are indicated by the PRS activity report as having UE measurements that meet the one or more criteria (Khoryaev II: One or a combination of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with a PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above a predefined threshold, see paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fischer-Khoryaev III to include the features as taught by Khoryaev II above in order to improve the efficiency of the positioning service (Khoryaev II: see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 46, Fischer-Khoryaev III-Khoryaev II teaches the method of claim 45.
Khoryaev II further teaches, wherein the one or more criteria include any of the following: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold (Khoryaev II: One or a combination of the following options may be utilized as a selection criteria: measurement with a PRS SNR/RSRP/RSRQ value above a predefined threshold, see paragraph [0025]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev II is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 45.
Regarding Claim 47, Fischer-Khoryaev III-Khoryaev II teaches the method of claim 45.
Khoryaev II further teaches, wherein one or more criteria apply to one of the following: each PRS resource set comprising a plurality of PRS resources (Khoryaev II: multiple measurements are reported by the UE per DL PRS resource set ... The UE is configured to perform a set of measurements selected by pre-configured criteria, see paragraph [0025]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Khoryaev II is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 45.
Conclusion
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416