DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First lower device (e.g. claim 1)
Second lower device (e.g. claim 1)
First upper device (e.g. claim 1)
Second upper device (e.g. claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (WO2020230731, with reference to U.S. PGPub 20220203429 as an English equivalent) in view of Cavicchia et al. (WO2017139824, with reference to translation)
Claim 1: Sato et al. discloses a device (56) for loading bending tools (12, 14) into a press (16), comprising: a first lower guide (one of 82 - Fig. 2; paragraph 53) oriented according to a first direction (L-R); a second lower guide (another one of 82, not shown but understood as being arranged in the front-rear direction relative to the first as cited above) arranged to be parallel to said first lower guide (e.g. along the L-R direction, Id.) and spaced vertically therefrom (in that 92 “moves the selected lower stocker 82 to the lower exchange position”, paragraphs 53, 55); a first lower device (92) for translating said second lower guide in a second direction (U-D, paragraph 55), which is orthogonal to said first direction (vertically as compared to horizontally) so as to cause the first lower guide and the second lower guide to be horizontally parallel (noting that “horizontally parallel” does not necessarily mean at a common vertical height, that they are simply oriented horizontally and parallel to one another; however, they may also be relatively positioned at a common height as implied above); a second lower device (88) for translating said first lower guide and said second lower guide, arranged to be horizontally parallel (as discussed above), in a third direction (FF-FR - paragraph 55), which is orthogonal to said first direction and to said second direction; a first upper guide (one of 66 - Fig. 2; paragraph 50) oriented according to said first direction (L-R); a second upper guide (another one of 66, not shown but understood as being arranged in the front-rear direction relative to the first as cited above) arranged is to be parallel to said first upper guide (e.g. along the L-R direction, Id.) and spaced vertically therefrom (in that 78 “moves the selected upper stocker 66 to the upper exchange position”, paragraphs 50, 52); a first upper device (78) for translating said second upper guide in said second direction (U-D, paragraph 52), which is orthogonal to said first direction, so as to cause the first upper guide and the second upper guide to be horizontally parallel (similar to with the lower guides discussed above); a second upper device (74) for translating said first upper guide and said second upper guide, arranged to be horizontally parallel (as discussed above), in said third direction (FF-FR - paragraph 52), which is orthogonal to said first direction, wherein said lower guides and said upper guides are configured so that one or more tools or dies (12, 14) can be slidably assembled thereon (e.g. paragraphs 90, 92-93, 97; Figs. 6B-6C). It is noted that the first and second upper and lower devices are disclosed as being known (paragraphs 52 and 55) and are implicitly mechanical, and so are considered to read on the interpretation under 112(f).
Sato et al. further discloses said second lower device (88) causes said first and said second lower guide (82) to translate horizontally (as cited above), and said second upper device causes said first and said second upper guide to translate horizontally, but not necessarily respectively integrally with each other. However, Cavicchia et al. discloses a similar device wherein a set of guides 16 may be translated integrally with each other along a direction (along rails 35 in Fig. 3; paragraph 48; noting they may still be translated vertically independently). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the Sato device to have translated the respective guides integrally, for example in order to have saved movement steps by allowing moving both guides together on a common platform.
Claim 2: Referring to Sato, said first lower device (92) is configured to selectively translate said second lower guide (82) in said second direction (vertically) between a lower position with respect to said first lower guide and a position, in which said lower guide is coplanar and side by side with respect to said first lower guide (it “moves the selected lower stocker 82 to the lower exchange position”, paragraphs 53, 55).
Claim 3: Said first upper device (78) is configured to selectively translate said second upper guide (66) in said second direction (vertically) between a higher position with respect to said first upper guide and a position in which said second upper guide is coplanar and side by side with respect to said first upper guide (it “moves the selected upper stocker 66 to the upper exchange position”, paragraphs 50, 52).
Claim 5: Said second lower device (88) is configured to selectively arrange said first lower guide or said second lower guide (82) in an aligned and coplanar position with respect to a lower transfer guide (46), the lower transfer guide being intended to be positioned to be aligned and coplanar with a lower guide (40) of a press (16 - e.g. Figs. 1-2).
Claim 6: Said second upper device (74) is configured to selectively arrange said first upper guide or said second upper guide (68) in an aligned and coplanar position with respect to an upper transfer guide (44), the upper transfer guide being intended to be positioned to be aligned and coplanar with an upper guide (30) of a press (16 - e.g. Figs. 1-2).
Claim 7: Said first lower device (92) and said second lower device (88) move said lower guides independently of said first and said second upper device and vice versa (implied as cited previously, as they are separate devices).
Claim 8: Said first and said second lower device (92, 88) move said lower guides so that they are synchronized with said first and second upper device and vice versa. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the first and said second lower device are presumed capable of being “synchronized” with said first and second upper device and vice versa, i.e. simply being controlled in some manner in conjunction with each other.
Claim 9: Said lower transfer guide (46) is configured for a sliding movement of said bending tools (paragraph 46).
Claim 11: Said upper transfer guide (44) is configured for a sliding movement of said bending tools (paragraph 45).
Claim 10: Sato et al., as modified by Cavicchia, teaches a procedure for loading tools (12, 14) onto a press (16) equipped with a lower guide (40) and with an upper guide (30), the procedure comprising: providing the loading device (56) according to claim 6 (as discussed above); preloading a plurality of first tools (12, 14) by manually or automatically positioning said plurality of tools on said second lower guide (82) and/or on said second upper guide (66 - tools 12 and 14 are shown loaded on guides 66 and 82 in Figs. 2-3; loading would inherently be one of manual or automatic; the provision of a plurality of each of guides 66 and 82 implies any may be used to hold tools at a given time, see paragraphs 50 and 53); positioning said first lower guide (another of 82) to be coplanar and aligned with a lower transfer guide (46) and/or positioning said first upper guide (66) to be coplanar and aligned with an upper transfer guide (44 - an upper and/or lower guide preparing for receiving tools would have to be aligned with the respective upper and lower transfer guides in order to allow for sliding tools to the guides from the press); transferring second tools from said press (P) to said first lower guide (82) and/or to said first upper guide (66) by sliding said second tools along said lower transfer guide and/or upper transfer guide (implied at paragraphs 90, 93); moving said first lower guide with and said second lower guide (guides 82) and/or said first upper guide with said second upper guide (guides 66) so that said second lower guide and/or said second upper guide is positioned to be aligned and coplanar with the lower transfer guide or respectively said upper transfer guide (the upper and/or lower guides holding the tools would have to be aligned with the respective upper and lower transfer guides in order to allow for sliding tools to the press); and transferring said first tools from said second lower guide and/or said second upper guide to said lower guide (40) of said press (16) and/or respectively said upper guide (30) of said press by sliding said tools along said lower transfer guide and/or respectively said upper transfer guide (implied in paragraph 92).
Sato does not explicitly describe moving the guides “with a synchronized movement”. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have operated the guides with a synchronized movement since it has been held that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Please note that in the instant application, page 8, lines 1-2, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for synchronized versus independent operation and contemplates both.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Sato discloses instead that lower stockers 82, as well as upper stockers 66, are arranged parallel to each other along a horizontal plane and, accordingly, are not "spaced vertically" as recited in claim 1”. The examiner agrees that lower stockers 82 and upper stockers 66 can be arranged parallel to each other along a horizontal plane. However, as cited in the previous rejection, the first lower device 92 and the first upper device 78 are each capable of raising/lowering a "selected" lower stocker 82 and upper stocker 66, which implies that there are at least some configurations where the stockers (guides) would be spaced vertically.
Applicant then notes that, in Sato, “the lower and respectively upper stocker moving mechanisms cause a selected lower and respectively upper stocker to move vertically so as to be in a different vertical position in relation to the remaining lower and upper stockers” and consequently argues “Sato does not teach that the lower and upper devices move the lower and upper guides to become ‘arranged to be horizontally parallel’ as recited in claim 1 but, on the contrary, teaches that the lower and upper devices move the lower and upper guides to become vertically offset”. Applicant had asserted just prior that the lower and upper stockers are respectively arranged parallel along a horizontal plane and are thus not spaced vertically. Now, Applicant asserts just the opposite, i.e. that because the selected stockers may be moved vertically relative to one another, they are not "arranged to be horizontally parallel" but are vertically offset. Applicant has thus contradicted themselves by asserting Sato is capable of both configurations while somehow meeting neither limitation. Applicant cannot have it both ways. The examiner maintains that Sato is capable of both configurations, as affirmed by Applicant above, and thus meets the claimed limitations. The examiner further notes that the limitation “horizontally parallel” does not necessarily mean the guides share a common vertical position, but could simply mean they are both horizontally oriented and parallel (e.g. having parallel longitudinal axes) to one another, which is always true of the Sato stockers.
Regarding Cavicchia, the mechanism for moving the tool carriers 16 (analogous to the claimed tool guides) is analogous to the second upper/lower device for moving said tool guides in that it is able to translate both guides integrally while still allowing for their independent vertical movement. Sato, having tool carriers (stockers) arranged horizontally in the front-rear direction, would also require a selected stocker to be aligned with the entry point of the press. Sato already provides a mechanism (88, 74) for this purpose. Cavicchia is merely cited to teach the concept of moving the stockers together or “integrally with each other” as opposed to individually, for example. It is unclear how this would render Sato unsuitable for its intended purpose.
Regarding Applicant’s last paragraph on page 8, the claims do not necessarily preclude vertical movement of the first lower guide.
Applicant makes no separate argument for claim 10, and so the examiner presumes Applicant relies on its ultimate dependency from claim 1 and the arguments addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726