DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 3/16/26 in which claims 1, 12 and 20-41 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejections under 35 USC 101 have been withdrawn due to applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections under under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), have been withdrawn due to applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 20-23, 25, 27-29, 31 and 41is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoneyama et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0014795), herein Yoneyama.
As to claim 1, Yoneyama teaches a method performed by a wireless device for determining a set of network configurations for the wireless device in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
receiving at least one set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source (Yoneyama Fig 6. Flowchart with two configurations (normal and high sensitivity) and [0045] The power control unit 170 manages the power amount of the power storage unit 150. The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. Therefore, the control unit 180 can cause the wireless communication unit 130 to perform wireless communication according to the comparison result. Note that the power control unit 170 is an example of the comparison unit described in the claims. [0066] As a result, if the power amount of the power storage unit 150 is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold (step S922: Yes), it is judged that there is enough amount of power for completing the transmission sequence, and the control unit 180 causes the wireless communication unit 130 to perform transmission in the normal mode (step S923) [0056] In a case of operation enabled by power supply by energy harvesting in such a communication scheme, there is a possibility that the battery is dead in the power storage unit 150 during the communication preparation period or the transmission period, and the power amount stored is zero (unreliable energy source)); and
determining, based on information indicating an amount of energy available to the wireless device originating from an intermittent energy source of the wireless device, a set of network configurations for the wireless device from at least two sets of network configurations comprising the obtained at least one set of network configurations (Yoneyama Fig. 6 and [0066] if the power amount of the power storage unit 150 is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold (step S922: Yes), it is judged that there is enough amount of power for completing the transmission sequence, and the control unit 180 causes the wireless communication unit 130 to perform transmission in the normal mode (first network configuration) (step S923). In contrast, if the power amount of the power storage unit 150 is not equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold (step S922: No), it is judged that there is not enough power amount for completing the transmission sequence, and the control unit 180 causes the wireless communication unit 130 to perform transmission in the high-sensitivity mode (second network configuration)(step S924))
As to claim 20, Yoneyama teaches A wireless device for determining a set of network configurations for the wireless device in a wireless communications network being configured to network, the wireless device comprising processing circuitry configured to: obtain receive at least one set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source (Yoneyama Fig 6. Flowchart with two configurations (normal and high sensitivity) and [0045] The power control unit 170 manages the power amount of the power storage unit 150. The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. Therefore, the control unit 180 can cause the wireless communication unit 130 to perform wireless communication according to the comparison result. Note that the power control unit 170 is an example of the comparison unit described in the claims. [0066] As a result, if the power amount of the power storage unit 150 is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold (step S922: Yes), it is judged that there is enough amount of power for completing the transmission sequence, and the control unit 180 causes the wireless communication unit 130 to perform transmission in the normal mode (step S923) [0056] In a case of operation enabled by power supply by energy harvesting in such a communication scheme, there is a possibility that the battery is dead in the power storage unit 150 during the communication preparation period or the transmission period, and the power amount stored is zero (unreliable energy source));and
determine, based on information indicating an amount of energy available to the wireless device originating from an unreliable energy source of the wireless device, a set of network configurations for the wireless device from at least two sets of network configurations comprising the obtained at least one set of network configurations. (Yoneyama [0057] In the first example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150 before start of a transmission sequence. Then, in a case where there is not enough power amount for completing the transmission sequence, the transmission format is changed and the mode transitions to the high-sensitivity mode [0061] In a case where there is enough power amount to complete the transmission sequence, a packet in the format of the normal mode is transmitted a plurality of times)
As to claim 41, Yoneyama teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out the method according to claim 1 (Yoneyama [0085] Furthermore, each of the processing procedures described in the above-described embodiment may be regarded as a method having the processing procedures, and may be a program for causing a computer to execute the processing procedure or a recording medium storing the program)
As to claim 21, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 20, wherein when receiving the at least one set of network configurations the processing circuitry configured to receive the at least one set of network configurations from a network node or another wireless device in the wireless communications network; (Yoneyama Fig 6. Flowchart with two configurations (normal and high sensitivity) and [0045] The power control unit 170 manages the power amount of the power storage unit 150. The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. Therefore, the control unit 180 can cause the wireless communication unit 130 to perform wireless communication according to the comparison result. Note that the power control unit 170 is an example of the comparison unit described in the claims. [0057] In the first example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150 before start of a transmission sequence. Then, in a case where there is not enough power amount for completing the transmission sequence, the transmission format is changed and the mode transitions to the high-sensitivity mode [0061] In a case where there is enough power amount to complete the transmission sequence, a packet in the format of the normal mode is transmitted a plurality of times)
As to claim 22, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 20, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit signaling indicating the determined set of network configurations to a network node in the wireless communications network. (Yoneyama 0045] The power control unit 170 manages the power amount of the power storage unit 150. The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. Fig. 5 and [0062] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of the format of the high-sensitivity mode of the packet transmitted from the communication terminal 100. This format is similar to the above-described format of the normal mode in that this format has a terminal identifier and a CRC. However, in this format of the high-sensitivity mode, a 128-bit all-zero signal is included as a known signal. By using the known signal, the performance of low density parity check (LDPC) in the demodulation unit 213 of the base station 200 is improved. Therefore, sensitivity on the receiving side can be improved. Note that the all-zero signal in this case is an example of the second data described in the claims)
As to claim 23, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to Claim 22, wherein the signaling indicates the determined set of network configurations by using predetermined settings or sets of at least one of the following transmission characteristics:
random access channel resource or occasions;
uplink control channel resource;
power level of the uplink transmission;
Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), symbols or slots that the wireless device used for transmission (Yoneyama Fig. 5 and [0062] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of the format of the high-sensitivity mode of the packet transmitted from the communication terminal 100. This format is similar to the above-described format of the normal mode in that this format has a terminal identifier and a CRC. However, in this format of the high-sensitivity mode, a 128-bit all-zero signal is included as a known signal. By using the known signal, the performance of low density parity check (LDPC) in the demodulation unit 213 of the base station 200 is improved.
waveform of the uplink transmission; and
scrambling sequence of uplink reference signal
As to claim 25, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 20, wherein the information indicating the amount of energy available to the wireless device is at least partly based on network information received from the network a network node in the wireless communications network, operational information in the wireless device, and/or local site information of the wireless device (Yoneyama [0075] In this third example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150)
As to claim 27, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 25, wherein the operational information comprise at least one of:
energy levels of the wireless device;
profiles of the wireless device;
duty cycles of the wireless device;
a charging status of the wireless device (Yoneyama [0075] the base station 200 can grasp the approximate amount of remaining power of the power storage unit 150 in the communication terminal 100); and
traffic profiles of the wireless device .
As to claim 28, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 25, wherein the local site information comprises at least one of:
a date;
a time of day;
a period of time;
a geographical location of wireless device;
a local temperature (Yoneyama [0040] The sensor 110 acquires ambient environment data by measuring (sensing). As the sensor 110, for example, a temperature sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a vibration sensor, or the like is assumed); and
information indicating one or more local environmental conditions.
As to claim 29, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 20, wherein the determined set of network configurations enable one or more of:
uplink data transmissions (Yoneyama [0063] When the base station 200 receives a packet, the base station 200 attempts demodulation assuming both the formats of the normal mode and the high-sensitivity mode);
uplink control information transmissions;
uplink power control;
downlink data transmissions;
downlink control information transmissions; and
sidelink control and/or data transmissions.
Claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 29.
As to claim 31, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to, claim 20 comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is containing instructions executable by the processor (Yoneyama [0085] Furthermore, each of the processing procedures described in the above-described embodiment may be regarded as a method having the processing procedures, and may be a program for causing a computer to execute the processing procedure or a recording medium storing the program. As the recording medium, for example, a compact disc (CD), a MiniDisc (MD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a memory card, a Blu-ray (registered trademark) Disc, or the like can be used)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 32-35, 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama and Dutta 202/0349661
As to claim 12, Yoneyama teaches a method performed by a network node for determining a set of network configuration for a wireless device in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
determining the set of network configurations for the wireless device in the wireless communications network according to the indicated set of network configurations (Yoneyama [0057] In the first example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150 before start of a transmission sequence. Then, in a case where there is not enough power amount for completing the transmission sequence, the transmission format is changed and the mode transitions to the high-sensitivity mode [0061] In a case where there is enough power amount to complete the transmission sequence, a packet in the format of the normal mode is transmitted a plurality of times)
Yoneyama does not teach
receiving, from the wireless device, signaling indicating a set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source; and
However Dutta does teach
receiving, from the wireless device, signaling indicating a set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an intermittent energy source (Dutta [0173] FIG. 10 is further shown to include send signals to pieces of building equipment indicating new configurations (step 708). Building scoring system 506 (from wireless device) can send signals to building network 502 indicating new configurations for equipment that was identified by building scoring system 506); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoneyama and Dutta, because Dutta teaches us [0173] that will improve a smart building score associated with a building and [0171] FIG. 10 is further shown to include determine which rules can be improved to obtain target smart building score (step 1004). Building scoring system 506 can determine which categories and rules can be improved by identifying categories and rules that have a high potential for improvement (i.e. where there is a large difference between a maximum score for the rule and a buildings current score for the rule). Building scoring system 506 can use thresholds to determine large differences where a rule can be identified if the points associated with it can be improved above a user selected threshold.
As to claim 32, Yoneyama teaches a network node for determining a set of network configuration for a wireless device in a wireless communications network the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Yoneyama Fig 6. Flowchart with two configurations (normal and high sensitivity) and [0045] The power control unit 170 manages the power amount of the power storage unit 150. The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. Therefore, the control unit 180 can cause the wireless communication unit 130 to perform wireless communication according to the comparison result. Note that the power control unit 170 is an example of the comparison unit described in the claims. [0066] As a result, if the power amount of the power storage unit 150 is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold (step S922: Yes), it is judged that there is enough amount of power for completing the transmission sequence, and the control unit 180 causes the wireless communication unit 130 to perform transmission in the normal mode (step S923) [0056] In a case of operation enabled by power supply by energy harvesting in such a communication scheme, there is a possibility that the battery is dead in the power storage unit 150 during the communication preparation period or the transmission period, and the power amount stored is zero (unreliable energy source) [0056] In a case of operation enabled by power supply by energy harvesting in such a communication scheme, there is a possibility that the battery is dead in the power storage unit 150 during the communication preparation period or the transmission period, and the power amount stored is zero. If the battery is dead during the transmission period, transmission is interrupted and there is a possibility that the original communication performance is not fully exhibited. Therefore, in the present embodiment, as described below, the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150 is measured before start of the transmission sequence (signaling indicating a set of network configurations), and transmission is performed in the transmission mode according to the power amount stored); and
determine the set of network configurations for the wireless device in the wireless communications network according to the indicated set of network configurations (Yoneyama [0063] The base station 200, which is the receiving side, does not need to know in which format a packet is transmitted from the communication terminal 100. When the base station 200 receives a packet, the base station 200 attempts demodulation assuming both the formats of the normal mode and the high-sensitivity mode. As a result, in a case where a packet is transmitted a plurality of times and the packets are successfully combined, the base station 200 judges that transmission is performed in the normal mode, and the base station 200 performs processing using the terminal identifier and the payload. In contrast, in a case where the number of times of transmission is small and the packets are failed to be combined, the terminal identifier is extracted from a packet transmitted at one time. Therefore, the base station 200 can recognize that some trouble has occurred in the communication terminal 100 having the terminal identifier)
Yoneyama does not teach
being configured to receive, from the wireless device, signaling indicating a set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source
However Dutta does teach
being configured to receive, from the wireless device, signaling indicating a set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source Dutta [0173] FIG. 10 is further shown to include send signals to pieces of building equipment indicating new configurations (step 708). Building scoring system 506 (from wireless device) can send signals to building network 502 indicating new configurations for equipment that was identified by building scoring system 506); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoneyama and Dutta for the same reasons stated in claim 12.
As to claim 33, the combination of Yoneyama and Dutta teach the network node according to claim 32, wherein the processing circuitry further configured to transmit at least one set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source to the wireless device (Yoneyama [0057] In the first example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150 before start of a transmission sequence. Then, in a case where there is not enough power amount for completing the transmission sequence, the transmission format is changed and the mode transitions to the high-sensitivity mode)
As to claim 34, the combination of Yoneyama and Dutta teach the network node according to claim 32, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit network information to the wireless device (Yoneyama [0075] In this third example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150)
As to claim 35, the combination of Yoneyama and Dutta teach the network node according to claim 32, wherein the signaling indicates the set of network configurations by using predetermined settings or sets of at least one of the following transmission characteristics:
random access channel resource or occasions;
uplink control channel resource;
power level of the uplink transmission;
Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), symbols or slots that the wireless device use for transmission (Yoneyama Fig. 5 and [0062] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of the format of the high-sensitivity mode of the packet transmitted from the communication terminal 100. This format is similar to the above-described format of the normal mode in that this format has a terminal identifier and a CRC. However, in this format of the high-sensitivity mode, a 128-bit all-zero signal is included as a known signal. By using the known signal, the performance of low density parity check (LDPC) in the demodulation unit 213 of the base station 200 is improved)
waveform of the uplink transmission; and
scrambling sequence of uplink reference signal.
As to claim 39, the combination of Yoneyama and Dutta teach the network node according to, claim 32 wherein the network node is a wireless device configured to control a Sidelink (SL), or Device-to-Device, (D2D), communication with the wireless device (Yoneyama [0075] In this third example, the communication terminal 100 measures the power amount stored in the power storage unit 150)
As to claim 40, the combination of Yoneyama and Dutta teach the network node according to claim 32, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor (Yoneyama [0085] Furthermore, each of the processing procedures described in the above-described embodiment may be regarded as a method having the processing procedures, and may be a program for causing a computer to execute the processing procedure or a recording medium storing the program)
Claim(s) 24 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama and Nakao et al. (Pub. No.: 2016/0249295), herein Nakao.
As to claim 24, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 22,
Yoneyama does not teach
wherein transmitting the signaling comprises transmitting a network configuration identifier indicating the determined set of network configurations.
However Nakao does teach
wherein transmitting the signaling comprises transmitting a network configuration identifier indicating the determined set of network configurations (Nakao [0071] The network configuration determining unit 112 refers to the network configuration table 141)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoneyama and Nakao, because Nakao teaches us [0071] the network configuration determining unit 112 then calculates a battery duration of each device for each network configuration from the remaining battery capacities of the mobile terminal device 100, the sensor device 200, and the display device 300 and from the calculated power consumption. Moreover, the network configuration determining unit 112 compares minimum values of the battery durations of the devices in each network configuration, and determines a network configuration whose minimum value is the maximum as an optimal network configuration. The network configuration determining unit 112 generates the routing table 145 of the mobile terminal device 100 and respective routing tables of the sensor device 200 and the display device 300 for forming the optimal network configuration.
Claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 24.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama and Kiemele et al. (Pub. No.: 2019/0220697), herein Kiemele.
As to claim 26, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to claim 25,
Yoneyama does not teach
wherein the network information comprise a transmission request from the network node indicating that the wireless network node requests transmission, from the wireless device, information relating to one or more local environmental conditions, and/or an update of one or more of the pre-determined conditions.
However Kiemele does teach
wherein the network information comprise a transmission request from the network node indicating that the wireless network node requests transmission, from the wireless device, information relating to one or more local environmental conditions, and/or an update of one or more of the pre-determined conditions (Kiemele [0056] The update handler 356 may be referred to as an “update handling module.” In different implementations, the update requester 354 can provide information including an alert, request, notification, details regarding the performance metric, and/or data that was collected during a period of time during which the performance metric was not within expected parameters)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoneyama and Kiemele, because Kiemele teaches us [0056] In some examples, the update handler 356 is configured to determine if one or more alternative ML models is available in an ML model repository 384, and deliver any such ML models to the sensor device 310 for use by the ML model updater 390. This determination may be based on information provided by the update requester about the sensor 310 or the environment 302, to select potentially suitable ML models.
Claim(s) 30 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama and Harada et al. (Pub. No.: 2020/0267687), herein Harada.
As to claim 30, Yoneyama teaches the wireless device according to any of claim 20,
Yoneyama does not teach
wherein a set of network configurations is determined for each bandwidth part (BWP) used by the wireless device.
However Harada does teach
wherein a set of network configurations is determined for each bandwidth part (BWP) used by the wireless device (Harada [0063] a network configuration for paging with respect to a specific BWP may be reported via the system information)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoneyama and Harada, because Harada teaches us [0063] it is assumed that different wireless communication parameters are used for respective BWPs.
Claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claim 1, the applicant states Yoneyama does not teach “receiving at least one set of network configurations that are adapted for wireless devices comprising an unreliable energy source” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoneyama [0045] teaches us The power control unit 170 compares, for example, the power amount of the power storage unit 150 with a predetermined threshold and notifies (receiving the configurations) the control unit 180 of the comparison result. The comparison results maps to a configuration (normal or high sensitivity). Therefore, the device receives the configurations from the comparison. In addition, the applicant states Yoneyama does not teach “unreliable energy source” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoneyama teaches [0056] In a case of operation enabled by power supply by energy harvesting in such a communication scheme, there is a possibility that the battery is dead in the power storage unit 150 during the communication preparation period or the transmission period, and the power amount stored is zero (unreliable energy source)); For these reasons the examiner maintains the rejection with Yoneyama.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467