DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 8/11/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are specifically recited as being interoperable. This is not found persuasive. The instant application is a national stage of a PCT application. As such, it is subject to the PCT unity of invention standards for restriction purposes. Unity of invention exists among species where the species share a special technical feature. In the instant case, the species at issue do not share a special technical feature. As such, they do not have unity of invention, and restriction is proper. Applicant’s assertion alludes to the independent or distinct requirement of US restriction practice, wherein species must be mutually exclusive in order to be restricted from each other. Since this application is being restricted under the Unity of Invention standard, and not the under the US filing standard, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-7, 12, and 17 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites, “wherein the sample flows continuously through the liquid container.” Claim 14 is directed to an apparatus, and there is no recitation of structure that might move liquid. As such, it is unclear whether the above noted functional limitation is a description of additional structure to be added to the apparatus to facilitate “flow”, or a description of intended use, or simply an acknowledgement that liquid moves via Brownian motion. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention, and the claim is indefinite. The claim will be interpreted as though it references a non-limiting intended use.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0283628 A1 [Hattingh].
Regarding Claim 1:
Hattingh discloses a method of sampling an ejection of a sample from a liquid container (abstract), the method comprising:
disposing the liquid container (Fig. 3c (300)) adjacent an open port interface (Fig. 3c (340)), wherein the container comprises a sampling port (Fig. 3c – top of well (307));
engaging the open port interface with the sampling port (as shown in Fig. 3c);
ejecting the sample from the liquid container, through the sampling port, and into the open port interface (para 60); and
analyzing the sample with a mass spectrometry device (claim 8).
Regarding Claim 8:
Hattingh discloses a system for obtaining a sample for analysis (abstract), the system comprising:
a liquid container containing the sample (Fig. 3c (300));
an open port interface for receiving the sample (Fig. 3c (340));
an acoustic ejection device for ejecting a droplet of the sample from the liquid container (Fig. 3c (350), para 60); and
means for isolating an interior of the liquid container from an atmosphere surrounding the liquid container, wherein the means for isolating is configurable to allow ejection of the droplet from the liquid container and into the open port interface (This “means for” limitation is understood under 35 USC 112(f) to correspond to the isolating structures disclosed in the specification, including a seal. Hattingh Fig. 3c (342) is such a seal.).
Regarding Claim 11:
Hattingh discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the means comprises a gasket. Fig. 3c (342), paras 25, 27.
Regarding Claim 13:
Hattingh discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the open port interface is positionable relative to the liquid container. Paras 38, 64, 65.
Regarding Claim 14:
Hattingh discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the liquid container comprises a conduit (Fig. 3c (300) has a number of conduits), and wherein the sample flows continuously through the liquid container (one could add sample to the open wells, thus achieving the intended use of continuous flow).
Regarding Claim 15:
Hattingh discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the open port interface is configured to contact the sample. The open port of (307) is configured for sample contact, at least because the entire well (307) clearly demonstrate the ability to contact sample.
Regarding Claim 16:
Hattingh discloses a method of aseptically sampling a droplet of a fluid sample (abstract), the method comprising:
isolating, from a surrounding atmosphere, the fluid sample in a liquid container (as shown in Fig. 3c (300));
aligning a port of the liquid container with an open port interface (as shown in Fig. 3c (340));
ejecting the droplet into the open port interface while maintaining the isolation of the fluid sample (Fig. 3c (350), para 60).
Regarding Claim 19:
Hattingh discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising sealingly engaging the port with the open port interface. Fig. 3c (342), paras 25, 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattingh in view of US 2006/0071983 A1 [Stearns].
Regarding Claim 2:
Hattingh teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach that engaging the open port interface with the sampling port comprises opening at least one of a shutter.
Stearns teaches a method for acoustically ejecting samples (abstract) wherein the sampling port comprises a shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and sampling from said port comprises opening said shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 below, see para 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the shutter and the shutter opening step of Stearns to Hattingh, since this would keep the sample safe from the environment when said sample is not under test.
Regarding Claim 9:
Hattingh teaches the system of claim 8, but fails to teach that the means comprises a shutter positionable in a first open position and a second closed position.
Stearns teaches a method for acoustically ejecting samples (abstract) wherein the sampling port comprises a openable shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and sampling from said port comprises opening said shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 above, see para 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the shutter of Stearns to Hattingh, since this would keep the sample safe from the environment when said sample is not under test.
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the shutter is positionable in the first open position upon engagement of the open port interface with at least a portion of the shutter. Stearns para 135 – the acoustic ejection takes place when the shutter is open.
Regarding Claim 20:
Hattingh teaches the method of claim 19, but fails to teach sealingly engaging the port comprises penetrating a positionable shutter with the open port interface.
Stearns teaches a method for acoustically ejecting samples (abstract) wherein the sampling port comprises a openable shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and sampling from said port comprises opening said shutter (see annotated Fig. 2 above, see para 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the shutter and the shutter opening step of Stearns to Hattingh, since this would keep the sample safe from the environment when said sample is not under test.
Claims 3, 4, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattingh in view of US 2007/0039866 A1 [Schroeder].
Regarding Claim 3:
Hattingh discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to teach that engaging the open port interface with the sampling port comprises receiving the open port interface in the sampling port.
Schroeder teaches another sampling technique for analytical technique (abstract), wherein samples are taken from well by engaging an open port interface with a sampling port and receiving the open port interface in the sampling port. See Fig. 4a, para 255.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the second sampling method of Schroeder to the sampling method of Hattingh, since this would provide users with an additional technique for extracting sample for analysis.
Regarding Claim 4:
Hattingh discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to teach that engaging the open port interface with the sampling port further comprises receiving the open port interface in the liquid container.
Schroeder teaches another sampling technique for analytical technique (abstract), wherein samples are taken from well by engaging an open port interface with a sampling port and receiving the open port interface in the liquid container. See Fig. 4a, para 255.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the second sampling method of Schroeder to the sampling method of Hattingh, since this would provide users with an additional technique for extracting sample for analysis.
Regarding Claim 18:
Hattingh discloses the method of claim 16, but fails to teach the method further comprising penetrating the port with the open port interface.
Schroeder teaches another sampling technique for analytical technique (abstract), wherein samples are taken from well by engaging an open port interface with a sampling port and the open port interface penetrating the sampling port. See Fig. 4a, para 255.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the second sampling method of Schroeder to the sampling method of Hattingh, since this would provide users with an additional technique for extracting sample for analysis.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881