DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0175757 A1 [Hanafusa].
Regarding Claim 16:
Hanafusa discloses a method of aseptically sampling a droplet of a fluid sample (abstract), the method comprising:
isolating, from a surrounding atmosphere, the fluid sample in a liquid container (Fig. 7 (90), para 92);
aligning a port of the liquid container with an open port interface (Fig. 7 – port is hole of needle (8) which is aligned with sample container (90));
sealingly engaging the port with the open port interface (Fig. 7 (90a), paras 92-93);
ejecting the droplet into the open port interface while maintaining the isolation of the fluid sample (para 92 –“imbibing of the sample”); and
after ejecting the droplet into the open port interface, maintaining the isolation of the fluid sample (abstract, paras 92-93).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hanafusa discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising penetrating the port with the open port interface. Para 92- The hole in the needle of (8) is an open port interface.
Regarding Claim 20:
Hanafusa discloses the method of claim 19, wherein sealingly engaging the port comprises penetrating at least one of a septum or positionable shutter with the open port interface. Para 92.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0109042 A1 [Ellson] in view of US 2022/0268778 A1 [Iannotti]
Regarding Claim 1:
Ellson teaches a method of sampling an ejection of a sample from a liquid container, the method comprising:
disposing the liquid container adjacent an interface (Fig. 8), wherein the liquid container comprises a well and a lid the defines a substantially closed interior volume (see Fig. 5b), and wherein the container lid defines a sampling port (see cover in Fig. 5a-b);
engaging the interface with the sampling port (Fig. 8);
ejecting the sample from the liquid container, through the sampling port, and into the open port interface (Fig. 8, paras 78-79); and
analyzing the sample (paras 47, 58, 87).
However, Ellson does not specify that the interface is an open port interface, or
that engaging the open port interface comprises penetrating the sampling port with the open port interface, or that the analysis is performed by a mass spectrometry device.
Iannotti teaches another sampling and analysis method (abstract), wherein
a sampling interface is an open port interface (Fig. 5),
wherein engaging the open port interface with a liquid container comprises penetrating the sampling port with the open port interface (Fig. 7, para 57), and
wherein the analysis is performed by a mass spectrometry device (paras 3-5, 60, 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the interface of Ellson with the open port interface of Iannotti, and further to implement the probe insertion and analysis steps associated with that open port interface in Ellson. One would have been motivated to do so since this would provide a sample for analysis with reduced air bubbles and simplified sampling system construction. Iannotti para 10.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 1, wherein engaging the open port interface with the sampling port comprises opening at least one shutter connected to the lid of the sampling port. As shown by the moving portion of the cover in Ellson Fig. 5a-b.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 1, wherein engaging the open port interface with the sampling port comprises receiving the open port interface in the sampling port. Iannotti Fig. 7, para 57.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 1, wherein engaging the open port interface with the sampling port further comprises receiving the open port interface in the liquid container. Iannotti Fig. 7, para 57.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 16, 18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claims 8-11, 13, and 15 have overcome the rejections of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 13, and 15 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881