DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/20/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 are pending
Claims 1, 11, 17 and 26 are amended
Claims 12-16 are canceled
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20180368205 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Park teaches a method performed by a first radio access network (RAN) node (Para. [0232]-Park discloses a distributed radio access network entity (DU, distributed unit) may transmit a radio link state information for a wireless device to a central radio access network entity (CU, central unit). The radio link state information may comprise one or more indications indicating that the wireless device may experience a radio link failure and/or that the distributed radio access network entity may lose a connection with the wireless device. Fig. 4, Para. [0162]-Park discloses a base station 401 and a wireless device 406, ... A communication network 400 may include at least one base station 401 and at least one wireless device 406. The base station 401 may include at least one communication interface 402, at least one processor 403, and at least one set of program code instructions 405 stored in non-transitory memory 404 and executable by the at least one processor 403. The wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407, at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 408. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second RAN node different from the first RAN node, load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter). Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU),
the LBT configuration information indicating how a determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication between the second RAN node and a wireless device (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology);
performing one or more operations of the first RAN node based at least in part on the load metrics and the LBT configuration information received from the second RAN node (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Park teaches the method performed by a second radio access network (RAN) node (Para. [0232]-Park discloses a distributed radio access network entity (DU, distributed unit) may transmit a radio link state information for a wireless device to a central radio access network entity (CU, central unit). The radio link state information may comprise one or more indications indicating that the wireless device may experience a radio link failure and/or that the distributed radio access network entity may lose a connection with the wireless device. Fig. 4, Para. [0162]-Park discloses a base station 401 and a wireless device 406, ... A communication network 400 may include at least one base station 401 and at least one wireless device 406. The base station 401 may include at least one communication interface 402, at least one processor 403, and at least one set of program code instructions 405 stored in non-transitory memory 404 and executable by the at least one processor 403. The wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407, at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 408. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology), the method comprising:
determining load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)),
the LBT configuration information indicating how a determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication between the second RAN node and a wireless device (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology); and
sending the load metrics and the LBT configuration information to a first RAN node different from the second RAN node (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter). Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Park teaches the method of claim 1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations comprise adapting an LBT configuration of the first RAN node (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LAA may employ a mechanism to adaptively change the energy detection threshold, e.g., LAA may employ a mechanism to adaptively lower the energy detection threshold from an upper bound ... Category 4 LBT mechanism or other type of LBT mechanisms may be implemented).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Park teaches the method of claim 1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations comprise determining a load status of the second RAN node based on the load metrics and the LBT configuration information received from the second RAN node (Para. [0376]-Park discloses message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0296]-Park discloses the central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Park teaches the method of claim 3 and The first RAN node of claim 19 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations further comprise performing load balancing with the second RAN node based on the load status determined for the second RAN node (Para. [0226]-Park discloses inter-cell coordination for RRM functions like the coordination of interference management, load balancing and Call Admission Control ... efficiency may only be realized if the CU may have reliable and accurate understanding of the current environment at the DU which may include issues beyond just radio conditions).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations further comprise sending the second RAN node a request to change an LBT configuration of the second RAN node (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the method of claim1,
Park further teaches the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are received in response to sending the second RAN node a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Regarding claims 7 and 23 and 29, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 and The second RAN node of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the load metrics associated with the shared channel include load metrics for communication on a downlink from the second RAN node to the wireless device (Para. [0364]-Park discloses the LBT Failure Ratio may be provided for downlink transmissions, for uplink transmission, and/or for all transmissions including both downlink and uplink transmissions. Para. [0281-0282]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed ... the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)); and
the LBT configuration information indicates how the determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication on the downlink (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology).
Regarding claims 8 and 24 and 30, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 and The second RAN node of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the load metrics associated with the shared channel include load metrics for communication on an uplink from the wireless device to the second RAN node (Para. [0364]-Park discloses the LBT Failure Ratio may be provided for downlink transmissions, for uplink transmission, and/or for all transmissions including both downlink and uplink transmissions. Para. [0281-0282]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed ... the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)); and
the LBT configuration information indicates how the determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication on the uplink (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology).
Regarding claims 9 and 25 and 31, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN node of claim 17 and The second RAN node of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the LBT configuration information comprises a channel access configuration for the shared channel the channel access configuration including an energy detection (ED) threshold configuration (Para. [0357]-Park discloses to share the one or more unlicensed spectrums with other networks, the distributed radio access network entity may use an LBT (Listen Before Talk) function, in which the distributed radio access network entity may detect energy level from other networks on its transmission frequency before transmitting packets through the frequency. In an example, if the energy level detected is higher than a threshold, the distributed radio access network entity may not transmit packets via the frequency).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches the method of claim1,
Park further teaches the shared channel uses unlicensed spectrum and is shared by the second RAN node and at least one other node, wherein the at least one other node uses a different radio access technology than the second RAN node (Para. [0357]-Park discloses one or more unlicensed spectrums may be shared with one or more networks, e.g. WLAN, other LTE networks, and/or the like. In an example, to share the one or more unlicensed spectrums with other networks, the distributed radio access network entity may use an LBT (Listen Before Talk) function, in which the distributed radio access network entity may detect energy level from other networks on its transmission frequency before transmitting packets through the frequency. In an example, if the energy level detected is higher than a threshold, the distributed radio access network entity may not transmit packets via the frequency).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches the first RAN node of claim 17,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to send the second RAN node a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report), and
the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are received in response to sending the request (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Regarding claim 27, Park teaches the second RAN node of Claim 26,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the first RAN node, a request to change an LBT configuration of the second RAN node (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed); and
in response to the request, change the LBT configuration of the second RAN node (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed).
Regarding claim 28, Park teaches the second RAN node of claim 26,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the first RAN node, a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report);
the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are sent to the first RAN node in response to receiving the request (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/20/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-11 and 17-31 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [5-12], Applicant argues that, “…cited portion of Park, however, discloses information exchange between a base station central unit (CU) and a base station distributed unit (DU). One of skill in the art would understand that a base station CU and base station DU are components of a distributed base station and together the CU and DU comprise a single base station. Applicant amends claim 1 above to clarify that the first RAN node (e.g., base station) is a different RAN node (e.g., base station) than the first RAN node. Thus, disclosure of a CU and DU in Park is disclosure of a single RAN node, but does not disclose two different RAN nodes, as claimed.”
However, in Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU. Hence, Examiner respectfully recommends amending the current limitations of the referenced independent claims to include the specific nodes in the RAN architecture in order to differentiate between the individual/specific nodes.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [13-15], Applicant argues that, “…Park at least fails to disclose, teach or suggest "receiving, from a second RAN node different from the first RAN node, load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information," as recited in amended claim 1.”
However, in Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472