DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 05/18/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 are pending
Claims 1-8, 10-11 and 17-31 are amended
Claims 12-16 are canceled
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20180368205 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Park teaches a method performed by a first radio access network (RAN) base station (Para. [0232]-Park discloses a distributed radio access network entity (DU, distributed unit) may transmit a radio link state information for a wireless device to a central radio access network entity (CU, central unit). The radio link state information may comprise one or more indications indicating that the wireless device may experience a radio link failure and/or that the distributed radio access network entity may lose a connection with the wireless device. Fig. 4, Para. [0162]-Park discloses a base station 401 and a wireless device 406, ... A communication network 400 may include at least one base station 401 and at least one wireless device 406. The base station 401 may include at least one communication interface 402, at least one processor 403, and at least one set of program code instructions 405 stored in non-transitory memory 404 and executable by the at least one processor 403. The wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407, at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 408. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second RAN base station different from the first RAN base station, load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information (Para. [0376]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity (e.g. neighboring base station), a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message and/or the radio resource status information for the LAA cell received via the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0383]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity, a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter). Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU),
the LBT configuration information indicating how a determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication between the second RAN base station and a wireless device (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology);
performing one or more operations of the first RAN base station based at least in part on the load metrics and the LBT configuration information received from the second RAN base station (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Park teaches the method performed by a second radio access network (RAN) base station (Para. [0232]-Park discloses a distributed radio access network entity (DU, distributed unit) may transmit a radio link state information for a wireless device to a central radio access network entity (CU, central unit). The radio link state information may comprise one or more indications indicating that the wireless device may experience a radio link failure and/or that the distributed radio access network entity may lose a connection with the wireless device. Fig. 4, Para. [0162]-Park discloses a base station 401 and a wireless device 406, ... A communication network 400 may include at least one base station 401 and at least one wireless device 406. The base station 401 may include at least one communication interface 402, at least one processor 403, and at least one set of program code instructions 405 stored in non-transitory memory 404 and executable by the at least one processor 403. The wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407, at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 408. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology), the method comprising:
determining load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)),
the LBT configuration information indicating how a determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication between the second RAN base station and a wireless device (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology); and
sending the load metrics and the LBT configuration information to a first RAN base station different from the second RAN base station (Para. [0376]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity (e.g. neighboring base station), a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message and/or the radio resource status information for the LAA cell received via the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0383]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity, a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter). Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Park teaches the method of claim 1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations comprise adapting an LBT configuration of the first RAN base station (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LAA may employ a mechanism to adaptively change the energy detection threshold, e.g., LAA may employ a mechanism to adaptively lower the energy detection threshold from an upper bound ... Category 4 LBT mechanism or other type of LBT mechanisms may be implemented).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Park teaches the method of claim 1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations comprise determining a load status of the second RAN base station based on the load metrics and the LBT configuration information received from the second RAN base station (Para. [0376]-Park discloses message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0296]-Park discloses the central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Park teaches the method of claim 3 and The first RAN base station of claim 19 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations further comprise performing load balancing with the second RAN base station based on the load status determined for the second RAN base station (Para. [0226]-Park discloses inter-cell coordination for RRM functions like the coordination of interference management, load balancing and Call Admission Control ... efficiency may only be realized if the CU may have reliable and accurate understanding of the current environment at the DU which may include issues beyond just radio conditions).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more operations further comprise sending the second RAN base station a request to change an LBT configuration of the second RAN base station (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the method of claim1,
Park further teaches the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are received in response to sending the second RAN base station a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Regarding claims 7 and 23 and 29, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 and The second RAN base station of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the load metrics associated with the shared channel include load metrics for communication on a downlink from the second RAN base station to the wireless device (Para. [0364]-Park discloses the LBT Failure Ratio may be provided for downlink transmissions, for uplink transmission, and/or for all transmissions including both downlink and uplink transmissions. Para. [0281-0282]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed ... the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)); and
the LBT configuration information indicates how the determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication on the downlink (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology).
Regarding claims 8 and 24 and 30, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 and The second RAN base station of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the load metrics associated with the shared channel include load metrics for communication on an uplink from the wireless device to the second RAN base station (Para. [0364]-Park discloses the LBT Failure Ratio may be provided for downlink transmissions, for uplink transmission, and/or for all transmissions including both downlink and uplink transmissions. Para. [0281-0282]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed ... the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter)); and
the LBT configuration information indicates how the determination is made whether the shared channel is occupied or available for communication on the uplink (Para. [0199]-Park discloses in a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, equipment may apply a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before using the channel. For example, the CCA utilizes at least energy detection to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear, respectively. Para. [0202]-Park discloses LBT procedures on a node attempting to transmit on a carrier in unlicensed spectrum require the node to perform a clear channel assessment to determine if the channel is free for use. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology).
Regarding claims 9 and 25 and 31, Park teaches the method of claim1 and The first RAN base station of claim 17 and The second RAN base station of claim 26 respectively,
Park further teaches the LBT configuration information comprises a channel access configuration for the shared channel the channel access configuration including an energy detection (ED) threshold configuration (Para. [0357]-Park discloses to share the one or more unlicensed spectrums with other networks, the distributed radio access network entity may use an LBT (Listen Before Talk) function, in which the distributed radio access network entity may detect energy level from other networks on its transmission frequency before transmitting packets through the frequency. In an example, if the energy level detected is higher than a threshold, the distributed radio access network entity may not transmit packets via the frequency).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches the method of claim1,
Park further teaches the shared channel uses unlicensed spectrum and is shared by the second RAN base station and at least one other base station, wherein the at least one other base station uses a different radio access technology than the second RAN base station (Para. [0357]-Park discloses one or more unlicensed spectrums may be shared with one or more networks, e.g. WLAN, other LTE networks, and/or the like. In an example, to share the one or more unlicensed spectrums with other networks, the distributed radio access network entity may use an LBT (Listen Before Talk) function, in which the distributed radio access network entity may detect energy level from other networks on its transmission frequency before transmitting packets through the frequency. In an example, if the energy level detected is higher than a threshold, the distributed radio access network entity may not transmit packets via the frequency).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches the first RAN base station of claim 17,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to send the second RAN base station a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report), and
the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are received in response to sending the request (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Regarding claim 27, Park teaches the second RAN base station of Claim 26,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the first RAN base station, a request to change an LBT configuration of the second RAN base station (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed); and
in response to the request, change the LBT configuration of the second RAN base station (Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. The central radio access network entity may configure one or more network configuration parameters at least based on the radio resource status information. The central radio access network entity may transmit, to the distributed radio access network entity, a second message comprising one or more of the one or more network configuration parameters. Para. [0200]-Park discloses channel reservation may be enabled by the transmission of signals, by an LAA node, after gaining channel access via a successful LBT operation, so that other nodes that receive the transmitted signal with energy above a certain threshold sense the channel to be occupied. Para. [0281]-Park discloses the first message may comprise at least one or more radio configuration parameters for the wireless device, the one or more radio configuration parameters may be changed by the distributed radio access network entity and/or by the central radio access network entity. The first message may be configured to request changing one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters and/or to inform that one or more of the one or more radio configuration parameters are changed and/or have been changed).
Regarding claim 28, Park teaches the second RAN base station of claim 26,
Park further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the first RAN base station, a request to provide the load metrics and the LBT configuration information (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report);
the load metrics and the LBT configuration information are sent to the first RAN base station in response to receiving the request (Para. [0296]-Park discloses a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. The central unit may configure and/or reconfigure one or more configuration parameters for the licensed assisted access cell at least based on the radio resource status information. The central unit may request, to the distributed unit, a radio resource status information report for a licensed assisted access cell with an event based condition for the report and/or a periodicity to report).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 05/18/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-11 and 17-31 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [1-4], Applicant argues that, “…The cited portion of Park, however, discloses information exchange between a base station central unit (CU) and a base station distributed unit (DU). One of skill in the art would understand that a base station CU and base station DU are components of a distributed base station and together the CU and DU comprise a single base station.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0376]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity (e.g. neighboring base station), a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message and/or the radio resource status information for the LAA cell received via the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message).
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [4-6], Applicant argues that, “…the type of information exchange recited in the claims, and as further explained in Applicant's Specification excerpts above, would not be necessary between a CU and a DU because the CU and DU combined form a single base station.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0376]-Park discloses a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message and/or the radio resource status information for the LAA cell received via the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0383]-Park discloses a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter).
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [10-14], Applicant explains that, “…The Office Action alleges that the prior amendments were insufficient because paragraph 0179 of Park discloses that a single base station may act as a master gNB for one UE and a secondary gNB for another UE. Office Action at p. 25. Applicant is unclear regarding the significance of this paragraph because even if the same base station performs different roles for different UEs, it is still a single base station.”
However, paragraph 0179 of Park was not referenced on page 25 of the 02/18/2026 Final Action.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [21-24], Applicant argues that, “…Park at least fails to disclose, teach or suggest "receiving, from a second RAN base station different from the first RAN base station, load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information," as recited in amended claim 1. Thus, Park fails to disclose every element of claim 1.”
However, Park teaches receiving, from a second RAN base station different from the first RAN base station, load metrics associated with a shared channel and listen-before-talk (LBT) configuration information (Para. [0376]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity (e.g. neighboring base station), a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message and/or the radio resource status information for the LAA cell received via the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access (LAA) cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information (e.g. load information message and/or resource status update message). Para. [0383]-Park discloses the central radio access network entity may transmit, to a first radio access network entity, a fifth message at least based on one or more elements of the first message. The fifth message may be configured to indicate at least one of: a load status of the licensed assisted access cell with one or more elements of the radio resource status information. Para. [0381]-Park discloses a central radio access network entity may receive, from a distributed radio access network entity, a first message comprising a radio resource status information of a licensed assisted access cell served by the distributed radio access network entity. The radio resource status information may comprise at least one of an LBT Failure Ratio, an LBT Success Ratio, a PRB Tried, a PRB Failed, a PRB Used, a PRB Usage, a Contention Level, an Average CW, a Current CW, and/or an absenceOfAnyOtherTechnology. Para. [0295-0296]-Park discloses base station distributed unit to inform a base station central unit of lower layer radio condition information and/or traffic {load} status of cells ... base station distributed unit to transmit status information of LAA cell status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information on LAA cell, and/or the like) ... a distributed unit may transmit, to a central unit, a radio resource status information (e.g. LBT failure status, channel quality status, collision status, activated UE information, and/or the like) of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell served by the distributed unit. Para. [0282]-Park discloses the one or more radio configuration parameters transmitted via the first message may comprise at least one of a ..., a rach-ConfigCommon (random access configuration parameter), a prach-Config (physical layer random access configuration parameter), a pdsch-ConfigCommon/a pdsch-ConfigDedicated (physical downlink shared channel configuration parameter), a pusch-ConfigCommon/a pusch-ConfigDedicated (physical uplink shared channel configuration parameter). Fig. 6, Para. [0170]-Park discloses example diagrams for protocol structure with CA and multi-connectivity as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. NR may support multi-connectivity operation whereby a multiple RX/TX UE in RRC_CONNECTED may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in multiple gNBs connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. gNBs involved in multi-connectivity for a certain UE may assume two different roles: a gNB may either act as a master gNB or as a secondary gNB. Figs. 13A-13B, Para. [0193]-Park discloses example diagrams for gNB deployment scenarios as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present invention. In the non-centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13A, the full protocol stack (e.g. NR RRC, NR PDCP, NR RLC, NR MAC, and NR PHY) may be supported at one node. In the centralized deployment scenario in FIG. 13B, upper layers of gNB may be located in a Central Unit (CU), and lower layers of gNB may be located in Distributed Units (DU). The CU-DU interface (e.g. Fs interface) connecting CU and DU may be ideal or non-ideal. Para. [0229]-Park discloses example, F1-C and F1-U may provide C-plane and U-plane over F1 interface, respectively. In this architecture, CU and DU may be defined as follows. Central Unit (CU) may be a logical node that may include a subset of the gNB functions as listed excepting those functions allocated exclusively to the DU. CU may control the operation of DUs. Distributed Unit (DU) may be a logical node that may include, depending on the functional split option, a subset of the gNB functions. The operation of DU may be controlled by the CU).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Esmael Hejazi Dinan (US 20170099667 A1)-discloses A base station transmits at least one message comprising one or more first parameters identifying one or more subframes as a listen-before-talk (LBT) subframe. The base station performs an LBT procedure in a subframe in the one or more subframe. A burst is transmitted when the LBT procedure indicates a clear channel. The burst is configurable to start in the subframe if the subframe is identified as an LBT subframe…. …Fig. 1-5
Sun et al. (US 20160353437 A1)-discloses A method for reserving a shared channel in a wireless communications system includes when a first device has a communications to start at a first time, determining, by the first device, a push-forward duration in accordance with at least quality of service (QoS) information associated with the communications, and performing, by the first device, at least one clear channel assessment (CCA) to reserve the shared channel at a second time that is before the first time by the push-forward duration…. …Fig. 1-5
Wu et al. (US 20220022051 A1)-discloses a wireless communication method and apparatus for unlicensed frequency spectrum, and a communication device. The method includes transmitting, by a first device, first information to a second device on a first transmission burst within first Channel Occupancy Time (COT). A channel access scheme corresponding to the first transmission burst is determined based on a second transmission burst. The second transmission burst is a last transmission burst before the first transmission burst within the first COT. The first COT is COT obtained by the first device or COT obtained by the second device.… …Fig. 1-5
koorapaty et al. (US 20190191456 A1)-discloses Systems and methods are disclosed that enable multi-cast transmissions (e.g., Physical Multi-cast Channel (PMCH) transmissions) on carriers in unlicensed spectrum. In some embodiments, a method of operation of a radio access node to enable multi-cast transmissions on a carrier in an unlicensed spectrum comprises performing a Listen-Before-Talk (LBT) procedure on a carrier in an unlicensed spectrum based on random backoff and a contention window size prior to a multi-cast transmission. The method further comprises transmitting the multi-cast transmission if the LBT procedure determines that the carrier in the unlicensed spectrum is Idle. In this manner, multi-cast transmissions on the carrier in the unlicensed spectrum are enabled…. …Fig. 1-5
Bhamri et al. (US 20250081232 A1)-discloses Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for UE assistance for no-LBT based unlicensed channel access. A processor (305) calculates a combined gain from a combination of an antenna configuration gain and a beamforming gain for at least one transmission beam. The processor (305) determines if the at least one transmission beam can be used for a no-LBT based channel access mechanism in an unlicensed band with or without a channel occupancy duration restriction based on the combined gain. The processor (305) transmits, via a transceiver (325), to a network node, information that indicates whether the at least one transmission beam can be used for a no-LBT based channel access mechanism in an unlicensed band with or without a channel occupancy duration restriction, or whether the network node can apply an LBT-based channel access mechanism, or some combination thereof…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472