Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) present have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. [US PPGUB 20200251072] (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a display device, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises:
a plurality of scan lines (see annotated Fig. 24) comprising a plurality of first scan lines (see annotated Fig. 24) and a plurality of second scan lines (see annotated Fig. 24), wherein the first scan lines and the second scan lines are spaced apart in a first direction (vertical direction, see annotated Fig. 24);
a plurality of data lines (see annotated Fig. 24) comprising a plurality of first data lines (see annotated Fig. 24) and a plurality of second data lines (see annotated Fig. 24), wherein the first data lines and the second data lines are spaced apart in a second direction (horizontal direction, see annotated Fig. 24) perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated Fig. 24); and
a plurality of sub-pixels (RGBs, Para 65) comprising a plurality of first sub-pixels (sub-pixel rows 1, 3, 5, and 7; see annotated Fig. 24) and a plurality of second sub-pixels (sub-pixel rows 2, 4, 6, and 8; see annotated Fig. 24) wherein the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels are alternatively arranged in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 24),
wherein each of the first sub-pixels comprises a first thin film transistor (TFT, Para 65; i.e., black solid squares see annotated Fig. 24), each of the second sub-pixels comprises a second thin film transistor (TFT, Para 65; i.e., black solid squares see annotated Fig. 24), the first thin film transistor is connected to one of the first scan lines and one of the first data lines (see annotated Fig. 24), the second thin film transistor is connected to one of the second scan lines and one of the second data line lines (see annotated Fig. 24), and the first thin film transistor and the second thin film transistor are alternatively arranged (see annotated Fig. 24 –wherein the annotated Fig. 24 is in line which the arrangement of the present application).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a display device wherein the display panel includes a substrate (inherent to the device), the first data lines are disposed on the substrate, the second data lines are disposed on a side of the first data lines away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of each of the first data lines on the substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of one of the second data lines on the substrate (Fig. 24).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen in view of Jin [US PGPUB 20170220149].
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Chen does not specifically disclose a display device wherein each of the sub- pixels further comprises an opening area, a cross-section of the opening area has a "P" shape in a horizontal direction.
Referring to the invention of Jin, Jin teaches a display device wherein the structure of the pixels as detailed wherein an opening area (region where the pixel electrode is formed, Fig. 4b), a cross-section of the opening area has a "P" shape in a horizontal direction (Fig. 4).
In view of such teaching by Jin, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Chen comprise the teaching of Jin at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches a display device wherein the first sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first opening areas respectively, the second sub-pixels comprise a plurality of second opening area areas respectively, two adjacent ones of the second opening areas in the second direction are mirror-symmetrical in the second direction, and two adjacent ones of the first opening areas in the second direction are mirror-symmetrical in the second direction (see annotated Fig. 24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 9-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-7 and 9-18 are objected to because all prior arts on record on record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious a display device comprising:
a display wherein an extension direction of a channel of the first thin film transistor is mirror-symmetrical in the second direction with an extension direction of a channel of the second thin film transistor adjacent to the first thin film transistor (as claimed in claim 2), in combination with the rest of claim limitations as claimed and defined by the Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISMAIL A MUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812