DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 6, 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, lines 1, 2, “a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer” should be changed to “a thickness of the second metal layer is less than a thickness of the first metal layer” because claim 5 comprising the first part is a first metal layer and the second part is a second metal layer; while claim 3 comprising the first part is greater than a thickness of the second part.
In claim 16, lines 1, 2, “a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer” should be changed to “a thickness of the second metal layer is less than a thickness of the first metal layer” because claim 15 comprising the first part is a first metal layer and the second part is a second metal layer; while claim 13 comprising the first part is greater than a thickness of the second part.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (10340365).
With regard to claim 1, Lu discloses a driving substrate (a structure of fig. 4K, comprising transistors, functioning as a driving substrate), comprising:
a substrate (41); and
a thin film transistor structure (a transistor, having an active layer 4211 – 4215, functioning as a thin film transistor structure) disposed on the substrate (41),
wherein the thin film transistor structure comprises: an active layer (4211 – 4215) disposed on the substrate (41) and comprising a first contact part (4211), a transition part (4213), a channel (4215), and a second contact part (4212), wherein the transition part (4213) is disposed between the first contact part (4211) and the channel (4215), and the second contact part (4212) is disposed at a side of the channel (4215) away from the first contact part (4211);
wherein a resistance value of the first contact part (4211) is less than a resistance value of the transition part (4213), and the resistance value of the transition part (4213) is less than a resistance value of the channel (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the active area without being shielded by the metal layer is implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211 and a drain region 4212 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213 and a drain lightly doped region 4214 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the photoresist 45 and the metal layer 44 is not implanted with ions. Therefore, it is inherently a resistance value of the first contact part 4211 is less than a resistance value of the transition part 4213, and the resistance value of the transition part 4213 is less than a resistance value of the channel based on the high doped in the source/drain region 4211, lightly doped in the region 4213 and no doped in the channel 4215);
a gate insulation layer (43) disposed on the active layer (4211 – 4215);
a gate (441, 442) disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and comprising a first part (441) and a second part (442) connected to the first part (441), wherein the first part (441) is disposed overlapping with the channel (4215) and used to block doped ions completely (for example, see column 9, lines 20 – 24, fig. 4G discloses the first active layer being shielded by the photoresist 45 and the metal layer 44, including the first part 441, is not implanted with ions), and
the second part (442) is disposed overlapping with the transition part (4213) and used to penetrate part of the doped ions (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213. Therefore, the second part 442 used to penetrate part of the doped ions for forming a source lightly doped region 4213); and
a first electrode (491) and a second electrode (492), wherein the first electrode (491) is connected to the first contact part (4211), and the second electrode (492) is connected to the second contact part (4212).
With regard to claim 2, Lu inherently discloses a compactness of the first part is greater than a compactness of the second part based on a thickness of the first part is thicker than that of the second part and the first part is functioning as a blocking region from the doped ions and the second part is the lightly doped region, used to penetrate part of the doped ions.
With regard to claim 3, Lu discloses a thickness of the first part (441) is greater than a thickness of the second part (442).
With regard to claim 4, Lu discloses the gate (441, 442) is a single film layer structure.
With regard to claim 5, Lu discloses the first part (441) is a first metal layer and the second part (442) is a second metal layer, the first metal layer (441) is disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215) and the transition part (4213), and the second metal layer (442) is disposed on a side of the first metal layer (441) away (a top surface of the second metal layer 442 away) from the gate insulation layer (a portion 43A functioning as the gate insulation layer) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215).
With regard to claim 7, Lu discloses the first part (441) is a first metal layer and the second part (442) is a second metal layer, the first metal layer (441) is disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and only blocks the channel (4215), and the second metal layer (442) is disposed on a side of the first metal layer (441) away from (a portion 43A functioning as the gate insulation layer) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215) and the transition part (4213).
With regard to claim 9, Lu discloses a mass ratio of the doped ions in the first contact part (4211) is greater than a mass ratio of the doped ions in the transition part (4213). (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the active area without being shielded by the metal layer is implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211 and a drain region 4212 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213 and a drain lightly doped region 4214 of the first thin film transistor. Therefore, it is inherently a mass ratio of the doped ions in the first contact part 4211 is greater than a mass ratio of the doped ions in the transition part 4213 based on the metal half tone mask, forming on the transition part 4213, and no shielding or mask for forming implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (10340365) in view of Ohta (12224356).
With regard to claim 6, Lu does not clearly a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer.
However, Ohta discloses a thickness (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) of the first metal layer (referred to as “11A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) is less than a thickness (referred to as “B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) of the second metal layer (referred to as “11B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu’s device to have a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer as taught by Ohta in order to secure the mobility efficiency of the active layer of the transistor, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
7. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (10340365) in view of Hayakawa (2002/0192931).
With regard to claim 8, Lu does not clearly the thickness of the first part is greater than or equal to 250 nm, and the thickness of the second part is greater than or equal to 10 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm.
However, Hayakawa discloses the thickness of the first part (409, fig. 5A), for forming a first part 418b of the gate 418, fig. 5B, is 400 nm, and the thickness of the second part (408, fig. 5A) for forming a second part 418a of the gate 418, fig. 5B, is 20 nm (for example, paragraph [0067, fig. 5A, 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu’s device to have the thickness of the first part is 400 nm, and the thickness of the second part is 20 nm as taught by Ding et al. in order to enhance a high blocking efficiency of the gate functioning as the mask, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
8. Claim(s) 10 – 15, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (10340365) in view of Ding et al. (12224354).
With regard to claim 10, Lu discloses another transition part (4214) is connected between the channel (4215) and the second contact part (4212), but Lu does not clearly the first electrode is used to connect a light-emitting device.
However, Ding et al. disclose the first electrode (206) is used to connect a light-emitting device (a light-emitting device including anode electrode 305; for example, column 9, lines 55 – 57, fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu’s device to have the first electrode is used to connect a light-emitting device as taught by Ding et al. in order to in order to perform color display, a light-emitting diode is provided on an organic light-emitting display substrate, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 11, Lu discloses a driving substrate (a structure of fig. 4K, comprising transistors, functioning as a driving substrate), comprising:
a substrate (41); and
a thin film transistor structure (a transistor, having an active layer 4211 – 4215, functioning as a thin film transistor structure) disposed on the substrate (41),
wherein the thin film transistor structure comprises: an active layer (4211 – 4215) disposed on the substrate (41) and comprising a first contact part (4211), a transition part (4213), a channel (4215), and a second contact part (4212), wherein the transition part (4213) is disposed between the first contact part (4211) and the channel (4215), and the second contact part (4212) is disposed at a side of the channel (4215) away from the first contact part (4211);
wherein a resistance value of the first contact part (4211) is less than a resistance value of the transition part (4213), and the resistance value of the transition part (4213) is less than a resistance value of the channel (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the active area without being shielded by the metal layer is implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211 and a drain region 4212 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213 and a drain lightly doped region 4214 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the photoresist 45 and the metal layer 44 is not implanted with ions. Therefore, it is inherently a resistance value of the first contact part 4211 is less than a resistance value of the transition part 4213, and the resistance value of the transition part 4213 is less than a resistance value of the channel based on the high doped in the source/drain region 4211, lightly doped in the region 4213 and no doped in the channel 4215);
a gate insulation layer (43) disposed on the active layer (4211 – 4215);
a gate (441, 442) disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and comprising a first part (441) and a second part (442) connected to the first part (441), wherein the first part (441) is disposed overlapping with the channel (4215) and used to block doped ions completely (for example, see column 9, lines 20 – 24, fig. 4G discloses the first active layer being shielded by the photoresist 45 and the metal layer 44, including the first part 441, is not implanted with ions), and
the second part (442) is disposed overlapping with the transition part (4213) and used to penetrate part of the doped ions (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213. Therefore, the second part 442 used to penetrate part of the doped ions for forming a source lightly doped region 4213); and
a first electrode (491) and a second electrode (492), wherein the first electrode (491) is connected to the first contact part (4211), and the second electrode (492) is connected to the second contact part (4212).
Lu does not clearly a display panel, comprising a light emitting device disposed on the driving substrate.
However, Ding et al. disclose a display panel (300), comprising a light emitting device (a light-emitting device including anode electrode 305; for example, column 9, lines 55 – 57, fig. 5) disposed on the driving substrate (referred to as “SUB1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 5 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu’s device to have a display panel, comprising a light emitting device disposed on the driving substrate as taught by Ding et al. in order to in order to perform color display, a light-emitting diode is provided on an organic light-emitting display substrate, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 12, Lu inherently discloses a compactness of the first part is greater than a compactness of the second part based on a thickness of the first part is thicker than that of the second part and the first part is functioning as a blocking region from the doped ions and the second part is the lightly doped region, used to penetrate part of the doped ions.
With regard to claim 13, Lu discloses a thickness of the first part (441) is greater than a thickness of the second part (442).
With regard to claim 14, Lu discloses the gate (441, 442) is a single film layer structure.
With regard to claim 15, Lu discloses the first part (441) is a first metal layer and the second part (442) is a second metal layer, the first metal layer (441) is disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215) and the transition part (4213), and the second metal layer (442) is disposed on a side of the first metal layer (441) away (a top surface of the second metal layer 442 away) from the gate insulation layer (a portion 43A functioning as the gate insulation layer) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215).
With regard to claim 17, Lu discloses the first part (441) is a first metal layer and the second part (442) is a second metal layer, the first metal layer (441) is disposed on the gate insulation layer (43) and only blocks the channel (4215), and the second metal layer (442) is disposed on a side of the first metal layer (441) away from (a portion 43A functioning as the gate insulation layer) and blocks (covers) the channel (4215) and the transition part (4213).
With regard to claim 19, Lu discloses a mass ratio of the doped ions in the first contact part (4211) is greater than a mass ratio of the doped ions in the transition part (4213). (for example, see column 9, lines 12 – 22 discloses the active area without being shielded by the metal layer is implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211 and a drain region 4212 of the first thin film transistor. The first active layer being shielded by the metal half tone mask is implanted with ions, so as to form a source lightly doped region 4213 and a drain lightly doped region 4214 of the first thin film transistor. Therefore, it is inherently a mass ratio of the doped ions in the first contact part 4211 is greater than a mass ratio of the doped ions in the transition part 4213 based on the metal half tone mask, forming on the transition part 4213, and no shielding or mask for forming implanted with ions, so as to form a source region 4211).
With regard to claim 20, Lu discloses another transition part (4214) is connected between the channel (4215) and the second contact part (4212), but Lu does not clearly the first electrode is used to connect a light-emitting device.
However, Ding et al. disclose the first electrode (206) is used to connect a light-emitting device (a light-emitting device including anode electrode 305; for example, column 9, lines 55 – 57, fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu’s device to have the first electrode is used to connect a light-emitting device as taught by Ding et al. in order to in order to perform color display, a light-emitting diode is provided on an organic light-emitting display substrate, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
9. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (10340365) in view of Ding et al. (12224354) and further in view of Ohta (12224356).
With regard to claim 16, Lu does not clearly a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer.
However, Ohta discloses a thickness (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) of the first metal layer (referred to as “11A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) is less than a thickness (referred to as “B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below) of the second metal layer (referred to as “11B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu and Ding et al.’s device to have a thickness of the first metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal layer as taught by Ohta in order to secure the mobility efficiency of the active layer of the transistor, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
10. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (10340365) in view of Ding et al. (12224354) and further in view of Hayakawa (2002/0192931).
With regard to claim 18, Lu and Ding et al. do not clearly the thickness of the first part is greater than or equal to 250 nm, and the thickness of the second part is greater than or equal to 10 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm.
However, Hayakawa discloses the thickness of the first part (409, fig. 5A), for forming a first part 418b of the gate 418, fig. 5B, is 400 nm, and the thickness of the second part (408, fig. 5A) for forming a second part 418a of the gate 418, fig. 5B, is 20 nm (for example, paragraph [0067, fig. 5A, 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu and Ding et al.’s device to have the thickness of the first part is 400 nm, and the thickness of the second part is 20 nm as taught by Ding et al. in order to enhance a high blocking efficiency of the gate functioning as the mask, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812