DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the combination of Baarman and Dvorak was improper for the rejections of claims 1 and 12. Furthermore, the Applicant argues that the combination of Baarman and Dvorak do not teach the limitations of newly amended independent claims 1 and 12.
In response, the Applicant is herein referred to the new 102 rejections of claims 1 and 12 using the Dvorak reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,10-13,21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dvorak et al. (US 2016/0158107).
Claim 1, Dvorak discloses a device comprising a tamper-resistant outer housing (para.0005), wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing comprises an outer sheath (104); a display (abstract); a biometric scanner (142); an interior assembly comprising: a pill bottle (102), wherein the pill bottle is sized such that it fits within the outer sheath (104) of the tamper-resistant outer housing; a chute (192) for transmitting a single pill from the pill bottle to a user; a mechanism (172; para.0049) for dispensing the single pill from a plurality of pills in the pill bottle (102) defining an opening configured to engage the single pill in the pill bottle, wherein the mechanism for dispensing the single pill is actuated to transfer the single pill to the chute (12); a locking mechanism (121) to secure the interior assembly to the tamper-resistant outer housing.
Claim 2, Dvorak discloses wherein the biometric scanner comprises a fingerprint scanner
(142).
Claim 10, Dvorak discloses the display is configured to show the user a number of pills
remaining and an amount of time until a next pill is dispensed (para.0081).
Claim 11, Dvorak discloses wherein the locking mechanism comprises a tamper- resistant lock and key (para.0015).
Claim 12, Dvorak discloses a device comprising: a tamper-resistant outer housing (para.0005) wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing comprises an outer sheath (104); a display (abstract); a biometric scanner (142); and an interior assembly comprising: a pill bottle (102) wherein the pill bottle is sized such that it fits within the outer sheath (104) of the tamper-resistant outer housing; a pill wheel (plurality of holes in 172) defining a hole (plurality of holes in 172) sized for a single pill; a chute (192) for transmitting the single pill from the pill bottle (102) to a user; a mechanism (172) for dispensing the single pill from a plurality of pills in the pill bottle (102), wherein the mechanism for dispensing the single pill is actuated to transfer the single pill to the chute (192); a locking mechanism (121) to secure the interior assembly to the tamper-resistant outer housing.
Claim 13, Dvorak discloses wherein the biometric scanner comprises a fingerprint scanner
(142).
Claim 21, Dvorak discloses the display is configured to show the user a number of pills
remaining and an amount of time until a next pill is dispensed (para.0081).
Claim 22, Dvorak discloses wherein the locking mechanism comprises a tamper- resistant lock and key (para.0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorak et al. (US 2016/0158107) in view of Clark (US 2002/0074341).
Claim 3, Dvorak does not explicitly disclose wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a group consisting of nylon, metal, and polycarbonate.
Clark discloses wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a
group consisting of nylon, metal, and polycarbonate (para.0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious
to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the
tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a group consisting of nylon, metal,
and polycarbonate because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine
skill to implement.
Claim 14, Dvorak does not explicitly disclose wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a group consisting of nylon, metal, and polycarbonate.
Clark discloses wherein the tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a group consisting of nylon, metal, and polycarbonate (para.0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious
to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the
tamper-resistant outer housing is formed from one selected from a group consisting of nylon, metal,
and polycarbonate because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine
skill to implement.
Claims 4-9,15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorak et al. (US 2016/0158107) in view of Song (US 8,936,175).
Claim 4, Dvorak does not disclose a programming means for programming the
device.
Song discloses a programming means for programming the device (abstract; C6:L20-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of
Dvorak with wherein a programming means for programming the device because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 5, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device.
Song discloses wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a
programming device (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device
because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement
such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 6, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the plug is concealed behind the
outer housing when the device is fully assembled.
Song discloses wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a
programming device (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Although Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired
connection to the computer) is concealed behind the outer housing when the device is fully assembled, it would have been very obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the wired connection in any arbitrary and/or needed location after assembling the device.
Claim 7, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the programming device comprises
one selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and
personal computer.
Song discloses wherein the programming device comprises one selected from a group consisting
of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and personal computer (abstract; C6:L20-
67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the programming device comprises one selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and personal computer because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 8, Dvorak does not disclose further comprising an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval.
Song discloses an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer; the ability to program the device for timed-dispensing inherently includes an application). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 9, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information about the user and a prescription of the user.
Song discloses wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information
about the user and a prescription of the user (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer;
the ability to program the device for timed-dispensing inherently includes an application wherein the
pharmacist is prompted to enter pertinent information about the patient and patient's drug regimen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of
Dvorak with wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information about the user and a prescription of the user because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 15, Dvorak does not disclose a programming means for programming the device.
Song discloses a programming means for programming the device (abstract; C6:L20-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein a programming means for programming the device because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 16, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device.
Song discloses wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a
programming device (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 17, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the plug is concealed behind the
outer housing when the device is fully assembled.
Song discloses wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a
programming device (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the programming means comprises a plug for connecting the device to a programming device because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Although Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer) is concealed behind the outer housing when the device is fully assembled,
it would have been very obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the wired connection in any arbitrary and/or needed location after assembling the device.
Claim 18, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the programming device comprises one selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and personal computer.
Song discloses wherein the programming device comprises one selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and personal computer (abstract; C6:L20- 67; wired connection to the computer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Baarman in view of Dvorak with wherein the programming device comprises one selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, dedicated computing device, and personal computer because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 19, Dvorak does not disclose further comprising an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval.
Song discloses an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer; the ability to program the device for timed-dispensing inherently includes an application). Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with an application for programming the device to dispense the pill at a predetermined time interval because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Claim 20, Dvorak does not disclose wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information about the user and a prescription of the user.
Song discloses wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information
about the user and a prescription of the user (abstract; C6:L20-67; wired connection to the computer;
the ability to program the device for timed-dispensing inherently includes an application wherein the
pharmacist is prompted to enter pertinent information about the patient and patient's drug regimen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Dvorak with wherein the application prompts a pharmacist to enter relevant information about the user and a prescription of the user because it's a very well-known configuration in the art and merely requires routine skill to implement such a configuration since it further enhances the compliance by the patient taking the medications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYODEJI T OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651