This action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/04/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, and 11-16 are examined in this office action
Claims 2, 4-7, and 10 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4-7, and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 04, 2026. Claims 1, 3, 8-9, and 11-16 are being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 11-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Ball et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0369560 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ball discloses an adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) for connecting a connector (luer system 200, Fig. 2) provided at a proximal end (See annotated Fig. 7) of a flexible hollow light-guiding tube (catheter 722, Fig. 7) to a light source device (UV light unit 702, Fig. 7),
the connector (luer system 200, Fig. 2) including a hollow cylindrical tubular member (male luer fitting 220, Fig. 2) and a hollow cylindrical base tube (female luer fitting 210, Fig. 2) that is disposed coaxially with the tubular member ("Male luer fitting 220 has an insertion end 222 adapted for insertion into an internal cavity 212 of the female luer fitting 210." - Para [0060]), with the light-guiding tube drawn out from the base tube toward a side opposite to the tubular member (See annotated Fig. 7),
wherein the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) comprises:
a first connecting portion (base end 320, Fig. 3A) that can be connected to and disconnected from the light source device ("The sterilizer body 810 can have a UV light unit 702 …" - Para [0090]); ("The sterilizer body 810 can have an optical plug region 814 that optionally can be in contact with the optical plug 830 …" - Para [0089]);
a second connecting portion (insertion end 310, Fig. 3A) that can be connected to and disconnected from the connector ("The insertion end 310 is designed to be inserted into the internal cavity 212 …" - Para [0061], Fig. 7); and
a light-guiding member (optical plug 1210, Fig. 120) that guides light emitted from the light source device to a proximal end surface (inner surface 1314, Fig. 13B) of the light-guiding tube ("The light 1324 exiting from the front window of the optical plug has been reflected internally and redirected, and illuminates … the inner surface 1314 of the attached catheter." - Para [0098], Fig. 13B).
Regarding claim 3, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
the light-guiding member (optical plug 1210, Fig. 120) includes an annular light exit end surface (front window 312, Fig. 3A) from which light is emitted ("… light 1324 exiting from the front window of the optical plug …" - Para [0098], Fig. 13B) toward the proximal end surface of the light-guiding tube ("The light 1324 exiting from the front window of the optical plug has been reflected internally and redirected, and illuminates … the inner surface 1314 of the attached catheter." - Para [0098], Fig. 13B).
Regarding claim 8, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
when the second connecting portion (insertion end 310, Fig. 3A) is connected to the connector ("The insertion end 310 is designed to be inserted into the internal cavity 212 …" - Para [0061], Fig. 7), the light- guiding member (optical plug 730, Fig. 7) is inserted into the tubular member (female luer fitting 210, Fig. 7) ("A user can insert the insertion end of an optical plug 730 into a female luer fitting 210 …" - Para [0086], Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, further comprising
a lens (base window 732, Fig. 7) for focusing light emitted from the light source device (UV light unit 702, Fig. 7) toward a light entrance end surface (base sidewall 322, Fig. 3A) of the light-guiding member (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) ("… light rays entering the plug through the base window are transmitted through the plug to the insertion end 310 via multiple internal reflections off of the base sidewall 322." - Para [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, further comprising
an engagement structure (sterilizer body 810, Fig. 8) that is engaged with the light source device (UV light unit 702, Fig. 7) ("The sterilizer body 810 can have a UV light unit 702 …" - Para [0090]) when the first connecting portion (base end 820, Fig. 8) is connected to the light source device ("The sterilizer body 810 can have an optical plug region 814 that optionally can be in contact with the optical plug 830 …" - Para [0089], Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, further comprising
an intermediate portion (intermediate bevel 302, Fig. 3A) between the first connecting portion (base end 320, Fig. 3A) and the second connecting portion (insertion end 310, Fig. 3A) ("Optical plug 300 can have an intermediate bevel 302 between the insertion end 310 and the base end 320." - Para [0061]).
Regarding claim 15, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
the second connecting portion (insertion end 310, Fig. 3A) includes a fitting structure (sidewall 734, Fig. 7) that can be fitted to the connector (luer system 200, Fig. 2) (See annotated Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0369560 A1) in view of Bencke et al. (US Patent No. 10,850,059 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
Ball does not expressly disclose that the intermediate portion is provided with a holding surface.
Bencke teaches that the intermediate portion (second end 9004, Fig. 7B) is provided with a holding surface (flats 9046, Fig. 7B) (“… flats 9046 are included on opposed sides where a user would naturally grip.” – Para [106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the adapter of Ball to include that the intermediate portion is provided with a holding surface as taught by Bencke to provide grip for actuation (Bencke, Para [96]).
Regarding claim 14, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
Ball does not expressly disclose that the intermediate portion is provided with a rising surface that protrudes outward in a radial direction.
Bencke teaches that the intermediate portion is provided with a rising surface that protrudes outward in a radial direction (See annotated Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the adapter of Ball to include that the intermediate portion is provided with a holding surface as taught by Bencke to provide grip for actuation (Bencke, Para [96]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0369560 A1) in view of Koken et al. (JP 2015119387 A).
Regarding claim 16, Ball discloses the adapter (optical plug 300, Fig. 3A) as recited above, wherein
the connector (luer system 200, Fig. 2) further includes an outer cylinder (female luer fitting harness 712, Fig. 7) surrounding the tubular member (female luer fitting 210, Fig. 2) Ball does not expressly disclose a female thread provided on an inner circumferential surface of the outer cylinder that opposes the tubular member.
Koken teaches a female thread (female screw 916, Fig. 4B) provided on an inner circumferential surface of the outer cylinder (inner surface of outer cylinder 915, Fig. 4B) that opposes the tubular member (male luer 911, Fig. 4B) ("A female screw 916 is formed on the inner surface of the outer cylinder 915 facing the male luer 911." - Para [3],Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the adapter of Ball to include a female thread provided on an inner circumferential surface of the outer cylinder that opposes the tubular member as taught by Koken for a liquid substance to be administered to the patient (Koken, Para [1]).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783