DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/6/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Issues raised by the Applicant:
a) The Applicant’s argument mainly relies on the newly added limitation “…at the same time…” and “…locking …separately…”.
b) The Applicant attempts to distinguish the two types of support brackets being claimed that D1 does not teach.
The Examiner’s position:
a) The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant for the reason that the language “…at the same time…” is a method/step. The limitation “…locking …separately…” is taught by D1/D2 as explained in below rejection of claim 1.
b) It appears that the Applicant argues more than what is actually being claimed.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach said servers are ODCC server and OCP server, however, the claimed ODCC server and OCP server are merely intended use. The Examiner maintains that accommodating different types of servers having different sizes by using different corresponding types/size of support brackets would have been obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is not clearly understood what exactly is meant by “first support brackets and second support brackets detachably arranged….at the same time”. (at exact same moment?. Note that claim 1 is an apparatus claim, not a method claim.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. U.S. Patent 9,635,776 (hereinafter D1) in view of Bold et al. U.S. Pub. 2020/0137917 (hereinafter D2).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a server cabinet (see figure 1), comprising:
a cabinet frame (10; figure 1);
first mounting flanges (23; figure 1) detachably and vertically arranged at two sides (column 3, lines 21-24) of a front end (see column 3, lines 21-24) of the cabinet frame (10);
second mounting flanges (21; figure 1) detachably and vertically arranged at the two sides (see column 3, lines 21-24) of the front end of the cabinet frame;
first support brackets (see above annotated figure 1) and second support brackets (see above annotated figure 1) detachably (see figures 1 and 4; brackets 30 can be moved and detached) arranged at two side walls of the cabinet frame and configured for installing a server (300; see paragraph bridging columns 1-2) and second support brackets (see above annotated figure 1) detachably (see figures 1 and 4; brackets 30 can be moved and detached) arranged at the two side walls of the cabinet frame and configured for installing another type of server (400; see paragraph bridging columns 1-2);
the first mounting flanges (23) being closer (see figures 1-3) to the front end of the cabinet frame than the second mounting flanges (21).
However, D1 does not specifically teach a plurality of first locking holes are formed in the first mounting flanges along a height direction, and a plurality of second locking holes are formed in the second mounting flanges along the height direction; and
the plurality of first locking holes and the plurality of second locking holes are configured for locking a front end of the ODCC server and a front end of the OCP server separately.
D2 teaches a similar structure of a server cabinet, which suggests a plurality of locking holes (138G; figure 6) configured for locking a front end (front end of 122A; figures 7A-B) of the server (122A; figures 7A-B) are formed in the first mounting flanges (110A; figure 1) along a height direction (see figure 1; vertical direction of 110A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the first/second flanges of D1 with a plurality of first locking holes configured for locking a front end of the server (300) are formed in the first mounting flanges along a height direction, and a plurality of second locking holes configured for locking a front end of the OCP server are formed in the second mounting flanges along the height direction, as suggested by D2, to lock or tie down the respective server(s) to the respective first/second flanges.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach said servers are ODCC server and OCP server, however, the claimed ODCC server and OCP server are merely intended use.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify/equip the server cabinet of D1 with a plurality of first mounting holes configured for being matched with a front end of the ODCC server (intended use) being formed in the first mounting flanges along a height direction, and a plurality of second mounting holes configured for being matched with a front end of the OCP server (intended use) being formed in the second mounting flanges along the height direction, as suggested by D2, for accommodating different servers with different sizes.
Even though, D1 does not specifically spell out that the first support brackets and the second support brackets detachably arranged at two side walls of the cabinet frame at the same time, however, such limitation is a process and thus, it is not given patentable weight.
The modification of D1/D2, as explained above, would result in the plurality of first locking holes and the plurality of second locking holes being configured for locking a front end of the ODCC server and a front end of the OCP server separately.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of D1 in view of D2 would result in the server cabinet according to claim 1, wherein front vertical posts (12; figures 1-4; see paragraph bridging columns 1-2 of D1) are provided at the two sides of the front end of the cabinet frame, and the first mounting flanges and the second mounting flanges are both provided on the front vertical posts (see figures 2-3 of D1).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of D1 in view of D2 would result in the server cabinet according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of columns of mounting holes (2142; figure 2 and 2341; figure 3 of D1) are provided on surfaces of the front vertical posts along a mounting direction (see figures 2-3 of D1), and the first mounting flanges and the second mounting flanges respectively installed in corresponding (see figures 2-3 of D1) columns of mounting holes of the plurality of columns of mounting holes.
Regarding claim 4, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 2, wherein the first mounting flanges and the second mounting flanges are integrally connected by connecting plates (top and bottom 11; figure 1 of D1) and the connecting plates are detachably provided on the front vertical posts.
Regarding claim 6, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1, even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein both the first locking holes and the second locking holes are square holes, round holes, or polygonal holes, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the shape of said first/second mounting holes to be square holes, round holes or polygonal holes, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1, wherein both the first support brackets and the second support brackets are U-shaped supports (see figure 1 of D1).
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach that each inner width of the first support brackets equivalent to a height of the ODCC server and each inner width of the second support brackets is equivalent to a height of the OCP server, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify/change the height of each of inner width of the first/second support brackets such that each inner width of the first support brackets equivalent to a height of the ODCC server and each inner width of the second support brackets is equivalent to a height of the OCP server, for structural integrity purpose, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1, wherein the cabinet frame is in a shape of a vertical cuboid (see figure 1 of D1), the cabinet frame comprises a bottom plate (plate opposite of 13; figure 1 of D1), a top plate (13; figure 1 of D1), side covers (implicitly taught in figure 1 of D1), a front cover (implicitly taught in figure 1 of D1), and a rear cover (implicitly taught in figure 1 of D1).
Regarding claim 12, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1, wherein the first support brackets (see figure 1 of D1 and above rejection of claim 1) are stacked (see figure 1 of D1) in the height direction of the cabinet frame.
Regarding claim 13, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1, wherein second support brackets (see above rejection of claim 1 and figure 1 of D1) are stacked in the height direction of the cabinet frame.
Regarding claim 14, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 2, wherein the front vertical posts (12; figure 1 of D1) at the two sides are connected to form a rectangular enclosure frame, and are sleeved on the front end of the cabinet frame.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 3.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein the first mounting flanges stand on an outer end edge positions of the front vertical posts, and the second mounting flanges stand on an inner end edge positions of the front vertical posts, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrange or rearrange the positions of said first/second mounting flanges, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 7, wherein each of the first support brackets and the second support brackets comprises a groove bottom plate (see above annotated figure 4 of D1) and two side groove wall plates (see above annotated figure 4 of D1), the groove bottom plate is attached to an inner wall surfaces (see figure 4 of D1) at the two sides of the cabinet frame, and a lengthwise direction of the groove bottom plate is parallel (see figure 1 of D1) to a depth direction of the cabinet frame.
Regarding claim 17, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 7, wherein each of the first support brackets and the second support brackets is provided with one groove wall plate (see above annotated figure 4 of D1) and a groove bottom plate (see above annotated figure 4 of D1), the groove wall plate stands vertically at a bottom (see figure 4 of D1) of the groove bottom plate to form an L-shaped structure.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1/D2 in view of Chen U.S. Patent 11,382,235 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 7.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein rear ends of the first support brackets and the second support brackets are respectively provided with limiting blocks for blocking the ODCC server and the OCP server to limit the maximum installing depth of the ODCC server and the OCP server in the cabinet frame.
D3, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a server cabinet, wherein rear ends of the support brackets (34; figure 1) are provided with limiting blocks (321; figure 1) for blocking the apparatus to limit the maximum installing depth of said apparatus in the cabinet frame.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the server cabinet of D1/D2 with limiting blocks, as suggested by D3, such that rear ends of the first support brackets and the second support brackets are respectively provided with limiting blocks for blocking the ODCC server and the OCP server to limit the maximum installing depth of the ODCC server and the OCP server in the cabinet frame.
Claims 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1/D2 in view of Goergen et al. U.S. Patent 10,932,387 (hereinafter D4).
Regarding claim 9, D1/D2 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 1.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein the server cabinet further comprises first locking attachment members provided on side walls of a rear end of the cabinet frame and for fixing ODCC busbars, and second locking attachment members provided on side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for fixing OCP busbars
D4, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a server cabinet, which comprises locking attachment members (20 + 22 + 32; figure 3 of D4) provided on side wall of a rear end (see figure 1 of D4) of the cabinet frame for fixing busbars.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the server cabinet of D1/D2 with first locking attachment members provided on side walls of a rear end of the cabinet frame and for fixing ODCC busbars, and second locking attachment members provided on side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for fixing OCP busbars, as suggested by D4, for cables/busbars management.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of D1/D2 in view of D4 would result in the server cabinet according to claim 9, wherein the first locking attachment members comprise bolts (32; figure 3 of D4) or rivets; or the second locking attachment members comprise bolts (32; figure 3 of D4) or rivets.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D4 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 9.
Even though, D1/D2/D4 does not specifically teach that the OCP busbars are provided at a central position of the rear end of the cabinet frame, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the positions of said busbars such that the busbars would be provided at a central position of the rear end of the cabinet frame, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioning above, D1/D2/D4 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 9.
Even though, D1/D2/D4 does not specifically teach that the first support brackets are arranged in an upper half area of the cabinet frame, and the second support brackets are arranged in a lower half area of the cabinet frame, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the positions of said first/second support brackets of D1 such that the first support brackets are arranged in an upper half area of the cabinet frame, and the second support brackets are arranged in a lower half area of the cabinet frame, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1/D2/D4 and in further view of Nguyen et al. U.S. Patent 10,349,553 (hereinafter D5).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D4 teaches the server cabinet according to claim 9.
However, D1/D2/D4 teaches does not specifically teach the server cabinet further comprises a butt block provided at a middle part in the height direction of the side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the ODCC busbars; and a butt cross beam transversely connected between the two side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the OCP busbars.
D5, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a server cabinet which further comprises a butt block (see above annotated figure 1 of D5) provided at a middle part in the height direction of the side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the ODCC busbars (intended use); and a butt cross beam (see above annotated figure 1 of D5) transversely connected between the two side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the OCP busbars (intended use).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the server cabinet of D1/D2/D4 with a butt block provided at a middle part in the height direction of the side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the ODCC busbars; and a butt cross beam transversely connected between the two side walls of the rear end of the cabinet frame and for vertically abutting joint two of the OCP busbars, as suggested by D5, to achieve busbar/cable managing purposes.
Conclusion
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841