DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 03/06/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 & 5 for further examination. Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “application needle holder fixing unit” in claims 1-3; “cushioning mechanism” in claim 1; “elastic member” in claim 2.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-2 & 5 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamanaka (JP 2015-112577 A – cited in 08/01/2023 IDS) hereinafter Yamanaka (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Yamanaka are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Yamanaka discloses an application mechanism (4) that applies a liquid material on an application surface (5) (abs; fig 1-6), comprising:
an application needle holder fixing unit (20) (abs; [0022]; [0024]; fig 2-6);
an application needle holder (25) detachably attached to the application needle holder fixing unit (20) (abs; [0022]; [0024]; [0028]-[0031]; [0037]; [0039]-[0041]; fig 2-6);
an application needle (24) held at the application needle holder (25) (abs; [0024]; [0027]-[0031]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]; [0039]-[0042]; fig 2-6); and
a cushioning mechanism (27), wherein the cushioning mechanism (27) is capable of cushioning an impact (force) when the application needle (24) is brought into contact with the application surface (5) (abs; [0024]; [0027]-[0031]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]; [0039]-[0042]; fig 2-6).
As regards to claim 2, Yamanaka discloses an application mechanism (4) (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the application mechanism (4) has a linear guide (26) and an elastic member (27), the application needle holder fixing unit (20) is held at the linear guide (26) so as to be slidable in a direction orthogonal to the application surface (5), and the elastic member (27) biases the application needle holder fixing unit (20) toward the application surface (5) (abs; [0024]; [0027]-[0031]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]-[0042]; fig 2-6).
As regards to claim 5, Yamanaka discloses application apparatus ([0017]; fig 1) comprising the application mechanism (4) according to claim 1 (abs; [0017]-[0024]; [0027]-[0031]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]; [0039]-[0042]; fig 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oda (JP 2020-032389 A – cited in 08/01/2023 IDS) hereinafter Oda (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Oda are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 3, Yamanaka discloses an application mechanism (4) (abs; fig 1-6), the application needle holder fixing unit (20), the application needle holder (25), wherein the application needle holder (25) is detachably attached to the application needle holder fixing unit (20) (abs; [0024]; [0027]-[0031]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]-[0042]; fig 2-6), however Yamanaka does not disclose a first magnet held at the application needle holder fixing unit (20); and a second magnet held at the application needle holder (25), wherein the application needle holder (25) is composed of a resin material, and the application needle holder (25) is detachably attached to the application needle holder fixing unit (20) by the second magnet being attracted to the first magnet.
Oda discloses an application mechanism (4) (abs; fig 2), comprising an
application needle holder attachable to and detachable from movable base, wherein a plurality of magnets are disposed on a surface facing movable base, wherein the magnet on the surface of holder base and magnet of movable base attract each other, so that application needle holder can be installed on movable base, wherein the application needle holder insertion material is composed of a resin material and by adjusting the positions of the magnet on the surface of holder base and magnet of movable base, application needle holder can be accurately positioned when application needle holder is attracted to movable base by the magnetic force acting between the magnet of holder base and magnet of movable base ([0035]-[0036]; fig 8). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a first magnet held at the application needle holder fixing unit and a second magnet held at the application needle holder, wherein the application needle holder is composed of a resin material, and the application needle holder (25) is detachably attached to the application needle holder fixing unit by the second magnet being attracted to the first magnet in the application mechanism of Yamanaka because Oda teaches the use of an application needle holder attachable to and detachable from movable base, wherein a plurality of magnets are disposed on a surface facing movable base, wherein the magnet on the surface of holder base and magnet of movable base attract each other, so that application needle holder can be installed on movable base, wherein the application needle holder insertion material is composed of a resin material and by adjusting the positions of the magnet on the surface of holder base and magnet of movable base, application needle holder can be accurately positioned when application needle holder is attracted to movable base by the magnetic force acting between the magnet of holder base and magnet of movable base so that application needle holder can be installed on movable base by adjusting the positions of the magnet on the surface of holder base and magnet of movable base ([0035]-[0036]).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717