CTNF 18/263,971 CTNF 78519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 18-21, 23, 24, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0260187 A1 to Colaizzi et al . Colaizzi et al. clearly teaches Microphone Assemblies Including Integrated Vibration Transducer and Wearable Devices Including the Same, comprising: an oscillating body (110) on which a piezoelectric element (120) is fixed by a solder joint (116; see paragraphs [0015], [0019], [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], [0065], and [0066]). With regards to claim 19, Colaizzi et al. discloses: the oscillating body comprises a conductive material (see paragraphs [0056]). With regards to claim 20, Colaizzi et al. discloses: the oscillating body being coated with a coating (see paragraphs [0058] and [0059]) and the solder joint is arranged on the coating (see paragraphs [0058] and [0059]). With regards to claim 21, Colaizzi et al. discloses: the piezoelectric element having a Curie temperature higher than a melting temperature of a material of the solder joint (see paragraphs [0014], [0017], [0020], [0022], [0057], [0058], [0063], [0064], [0065], [0066], [0074], [0080], [0081], [0082], and [0089]; see Figure 8). With regards to claim 23, Colaizzi et al. discloses: the piezoelectric element being configured to excite the oscillating body to oscillate at a frequency in an ultrasonic range. With regards to claim 24, Colaizzi et al. discloses: the solder joint comprising a lead-free solder (see paragraph [0058]). With regards to claim 30, Colaizzi et al. discloses method for manufacturing a device, comprising: an oscillating body (110) and a piezoelectric element (120), the method comprising the step of: connecting the piezoelectric element to the oscillating body by a first solder joint (116; see paragraphs [0015], [0019], [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], [0065], and [0066]). With regards to claim 31, Colaizzi et al. discloses the step of: producing the first solder joint in a reflow soldering process, or a vapor phase soldering process, or by a thermal mode soldering (see paragraphs [0058]-[0062]). With regards to claim 32, Colaizzi et al. discloses the step of: polarizing the piezoelectric element before the piezoelectric element is connected to the oscillating body by the solder joint, or polarizing the piezoelectric element after the piezoelectric element is connected to the oscillating body by the solder joint (see paragraph [0055]). With regards to claim 33, Colaizzi et al. discloses the step of: forming the first solder joint and a second solder joint in a single soldering process (see paragraphs [0058] and [0059]), wherein the solder joint and the second solder joint are configured to apply an excitation voltage to the piezoelectric element (see paragraph [0014]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 22, 25-29, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0260187 A1 to Colaizzi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0292146 A1 to Son et al . Colaizzi et al. clearly teaches Microphone Assemblies Including Integrated Vibration Transducer and Wearable Devices Including the Same as described in paragraph 4 above. However, it fails to disclose the oscillating body has a T-shaped cross-section comprising a first region having a first width and a second region having a second width, wherein the second width is greater than the first width, wherein the first region is centered on the second region, and wherein the piezoelectric element is arranged on a side of the second region facing away from the first region. Son et al. discloses a Piezoelectric Vibration Module, comprising: an oscillating body (120) having a T-shaped cross-section (see Figure 4), comprising: a first region having a first width and a second region having a second width (see Figure 4), wherein: the second width is greater than the first width, the first region is centered on the second region, and a piezoelectric element (200) is arranged on a side of the second region facing away from the first region. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the T-shaped cross-section disclosed by Son et al. for the oscillating body disclosed by Colaizzi et al., for the purpose of providing internal space between the oscillating body and the piezoelectric element (see paragraph [0048] of Son et al.). With regards to claim 25, Colaizzi et al. in view of Son et al. disclose: the piezoelectric element comprising: a first electrode (211 of Son et al.) and a second electrode (212 of Son et al.), wherein at least two lines are arranged on the oscillating body, wherein the first electrode is connected to one of the at least two lines by the solder joint, and wherein the second electrode is connected to the other of the at least two lines by a second solder joint. With regards to claim 26, Colaizzi et al. in view of Son et al. disclose: the piezoelectric element comprises: a first electrode (211) and a second electrode (212), wherein: the first electrode is arranged on a side of the piezoelectric element facing the oscillating body, the second electrode is arranged on a side of the piezoelectric element facing away from the oscillating body, the first electrode is connected to the oscillating body by the solder joint, and the second electrode is connected to a connection element via a second solder joint. With regards to claim 27, Son et al. discloses: an input element (see paragraphs [0008] and [0009]), wherein: the input element has a top surface and a bottom surface, and the oscillating body is attached to the bottom surface of the input element. With regards to claim 28, Son et al. discloses: the input element being a touch- sensitive screen (see paragraph [0047]). With regards to claim 29, Colaizzi et al. in view of Son et al. disclose: the oscillating body being connected to the input element in such a way that a oscillation with a frequency in an ultrasonic range is excited at the input element when the piezoelectric element excites the oscillating body to an oscillation, and wherein a standing wave is generated at the top surface of the input element. With regards to claim 34, Colaizzi et al. in view of Son et al. discloses: the oscillating body having at least two lines, wherein a first electrode of the piezoelectric element is contacted with one of the at least two lines through the solder joint, wherein a second electrode of the piezoelectric element is contacted with another one of the at least two lines by a second solder joint, and wherein the first solder joint and the second solder joint are formed in a single soldering process. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEDRO J CUEVAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2021. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 May 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/263,971 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/263,971 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/263,971 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/263,971 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/263,971 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834