DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quy et al (US 2022/0061172 A1).
As to claim 1, Quy discloses a gas generator comprising:
a decomposition unit that reacts with at least a portion of a supply liquid to generate at least one of hydrogen gas or oxygen gas (Fig. 3 #24 electrolyzer [0018] “Water electrolyzer 24 splits the condensed water into hydrogen and oxygen gases,…”); and
a supply unit that collects moisture in atmosphere and supplies the collected moisture to the decomposition unit as the supply liquid (Fig. 3 #20 “thermoelectric cooler” [0018] “hermoelectric cooler 20 is configured to draw heat from water electrolyzer 24 and through conductive member 22 to cool water electrolyzer 24 to a temperature below that of the ambient air of the enclosure and any other surface in the enclosure. The reduced temperature of water electrolyzer 24 will cause water to preferentially condense on water electrolyzer 24.”).
As to claim 2, Quy further discloses wherein the supply unit comprises a Peltier device, and condenses and collects the moisture in the atmosphere by cooling with the Peltier device. ([0023]).
As to claim 4, Quy further discloses wherein the decomposition unit comprises a pair of electrodes to be an anode and a cathode (#s 30/34 [0022] “First printed circuit board 30 serves as a negative electrode for the operation of water electrolyzer 24. Second printed circuit board 34 serves as a positive electrode for operation of water electrolyzer 24”), and generates the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas by electrolyzing the at least the portion of the supply liquid ([0018] “Water electrolyzer 24 splits the condensed water into hydrogen and oxygen gases,”).
As to claim 5, Quy further discloses an ion exchange membrane disposed between the pair of electrodes. (#32 [0022] “proton exchange membrane”).
As to claim 6, Quy further discloses wherein the pair of electrodes each have a plate shape with a thickness, and are disposed in such a manner that the ion exchange membrane is sandwiched between the pair of electrodes in a thickness direction of the pair of electrodes (See Fig. 3 electrodes 30 and 34 on each side of 32 via metal layers 42 and 46).
As to claim 8, Quy further discloses wherein at least one of the pair of electrodes is an electrode having a plate shape with a thickness and having one or a plurality of openings penetrating the at least one of the pair of electrodes in a thickness direction (See Fig. 3 # 50 openings).
As to claim 9, Quy further discloses a switching unit that switches a direction of a current applied to the pair of electrodes to interchange the anode and the cathode.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (JP 2014/136193 A as provided with the IDS dated 2 August 2023 with citations drawn towards the translation provided).
As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a gas generator comprising:
a decomposition unit that reacts with at least a portion of a supply liquid to generate at least one of hydrogen gas or oxygen gas (Fig. 1 #2 Abstract “provided with an electrolysis tank 2 having at least one pair of negative electrode 4 and positive electrode 5 which are arranged opposed to each other”); and
a supply unit that collects moisture in atmosphere and supplies the collected moisture to the decomposition unit as the supply liquid (Fig. 1 #30 Abstract “a condensation part 30 for condensing water content in atmosphere, so that the condensed water can be electrolyzed in the electrolysis tank 2).
As to claim 2, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the supply unit comprises a Peltier device, and condenses and collects the moisture in the atmosphere by cooling with the Peltier device. (#16 [0023] “a Peltier element 16…”).
As to claim 3, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the supply unit comprises a water adsorbent, and adsorbs and collects the moisture in the atmosphere with the water adsorbent (#13 adsorbent [0054]).
As to claim 4, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the decomposition unit comprises a pair of electrodes to be an anode and a cathode (#s 4/5 [0020]).
As to claim 5, Yamamoto further discloses an ion exchange membrane disposed between the pair of electrodes. (#17 Fig. 3 [0036]).
As to claim 6, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the pair of electrodes each have a plate shape with a thickness, and are disposed in such a manner that the ion exchange membrane is sandwiched between the pair of electrodes in a thickness direction of the pair of electrodes (See Fig. 3 with citations to electrodes and ion exchange membrane provided above).
As to claim 7, Yamamoto further discloses the pair of electrodes are separated from each other in such a manner that the supply liquid is sandwiched between the pair of electrodes (See Fig. 1 and 4-8 supply lines #11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quy et al in view of Yamauchi et al (US 2020/0048781 A1).
As to claim 9, Quy fails to explicitly disclose a switching unit that switches a direction of a current applied to the pair of electrodes to interchange the anode and the cathode.
Yamauchi discloses a water electrolyzer (Abstract [0076]) comprising a switching unit that switches a direction of a current applied to the pair of electrodes to interchange the anode and the cathode ([0076] polarity switching unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a switching unit in a water electrolyzer as taught by Yamauchi with the water electrolyzer in Quy in order to prevent the attachment of scale to the electrodes during electrolysis (Yamauchi [0076]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al in view of Yamauchi et al (US 2020/0048781 A1).
As to claim 9, Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose a switching unit that switches a direction of a current applied to the pair of electrodes to interchange the anode and the cathode.
Yamauchi discloses a water electrolyzer (Abstract [0076]) comprising a switching unit that switches a direction of a current applied to the pair of electrodes to interchange the anode and the cathode ([0076] polarity switching unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a switching unit in a water electrolyzer as taught by Yamauchi with the water electrolyzer in Yamamoto in order to prevent the attachment of scale to the electrodes during electrolysis (Yamauchi [0076]).
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795