Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 46-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 46 recites that “the free radical polymerization initiator comprises an azo free radical, an organic peroxide polymerization initiator, or a combination thereof” in lines 6-8 and also that the composition “comprises an organic peroxide” in line 11. The scope of the claim is confusing given that it is not clear if the composition comprises two organic peroxides or if the recitation in line 11 is meant to further limit the organic peroxide polymerization initiator.
Claim 47 and 55-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 47 is improperly dependent because it fails to further limit the subject matter of Claim 46 on which it depends.
Claim 55 is improperly dependent because it fails to include all the limitations of Claim 46 on which it depends. Claim 55, line 4, requires “the composition does not comprise the free radical polymerization initiator” while Claim 46, line 5, requires a free radical polymerization initiator.
Claims 56-58 are rejected as dependent on rejected Claim 55.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46-54 and 59-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bojkova et al. (US 2007/0142605 A1) in view of Kang et al. (GB 2123431 A).
Regarding Claims 46-50, 52, Bojkova discloses the production of polythiols by reacting a mixture (i.e. composition) of a dithiol and a diene compound (Abstract), where the diene compound may include divinyl or diallyl (i.e. polyalkenyl) compounds (para 0083). The reaction mixture further comprises a radical initiator, such as azo or peroxide type free-radical initiators, or a combination of the two (para 0102). Example 1 uses an azo initiator in an amount of 0.1 wt.% (1.25/(1.25+888.53+311.47). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the azo or peroxide type free-radical initiators in an amount of 0.1 wt.%.
The azo free-radical initiator may be VAZO-67 (para 0102), which is the same azo initiator used in the present invention (present specification, Table 3), has a formula of 2,2’-azodi(2-methylbutyronitrile) as claimed, and would therefore have a 10-hour half-life decomposition temperature as claimed.
The peroxide type free-radical initiator may be an organic peroxide, such as t-butyl peroxide (para 0207).
Bojkova does not disclose the specific organic peroxide as claimed.
Kang discloses the production of polythioethers (Abstract), using an organic peroxide free radical initiator (page 3, lines 22-25). Kang discloses specific t-butyl peroxides suitable for this reaction include 1,1-di(t-butylperoxy)-3,3,5-trimethyl-cyclohexane (page 3, lines 46-47).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Bojkova to incorporate the teachings of Kang, and use 1,1-di(t-butylperoxy)-3,3,5-trimethyl-cyclohexane as the organic peroxide free-radical initiator, since this would be a suitable organic peroxide for the reaction mixture.
Since 1,1-di(t-butylperoxy)-3,3,5-trimethyl-cyclohexane is the same organic peroxide as claimed, it would necessarily have a 10-hour half-life decomposition temperature as claimed.
Regarding Claim 51, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 46 above. Bojkova further discloses the reaction mixture may include a photoinitiator for reaction by irradiation with ultraviolet light (i.e. actinic radiation-activated free radical polymerization initiator) (paras 0208, 0210).
Regarding Claims 53-54, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 46 above. Bojkova further discloses the reaction mixture may comprise 0.01 to 5% by weight base catalyst such as 1,8-diazabicyclo[5.4.0]undec-7-ene (para 0111), which according to the present specification is a suitable reducing agent (para 348).
Regarding Claim 59, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 46 above. While there is no disclosure of storage stability, since the reaction mixture comprises all the materials of the present invention as claimed, it would necessarily have storage stability as claimed.
Regarding Claims 60-61, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 46 above. Bojkova further discloses a cured product of the reaction mixture (para 0278).
Regarding Claims 62 and 65, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 46 above. Bojkova further discloses the reaction mixture applied as a coating (i.e. sealant) on a polymerizate surface (para 0276).
Regrading Claim 63, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 62 above. Bojkova further discloses the reaction temperature may be from room temperature to 100 C (para 0103).
Regarding Claim 64, Bojkova in view of Kang discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 62 above. Bojkova further discloses the reaction can include irradiation with ultraviolet light (i.e. actinic radiation) (para 0208).
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787