DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11 remain pending in the application. Claim 6 remains withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 11 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Horn in view of Zscherp have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 10, a comma should be inserted after “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bornhorn et al. (US2020/0408143).
Regarding claim 1, Bornhorn teaches a turbomachine rotor (Fig. 1) comprising a body (2) extending around a central axis, the body having an outer surface from which a plurality of blades (3) extends radially relative to the central axis, each of said blades having a blade root (generally 5) and a blade tip (generally 3), defining an inner radial end and an outer radial end of the blade relative to the central axis, said blades having the same blade height measured radially relative to the central axis (see Fig. 1), wherein the blade root is connected to the body via a connection (4) having a nonzero connection height (see Fig. 2), so that for the plurality of said blades, the connection height of two successive blades is different (see paragraphs [0044-0046]), wherein for each blade, the connection has a nonzero connection height comprised between 2% and 13% of the blade height (In paragraphs [0044-0046] Bornhorn teaches that a curvature radius, which is considered equivalent to the connection height, for a first blade set is between 2.5%-10% of the blade height. Bornhorn further teaches a second blade set where the radius is proportional to the first blade set by 130% to 400%, which is equivalent to 3%-40% of the blade height), wherein the connection is disposed at an innermost radial end of each of the blades, wherein the body and the blades form a single-piece bladed disk.
Regarding claim 3, Bornhorn teaches the difference between the connection heights of two successive blades is comprised between 1% and 5% of the blade height (see paragraphs [0044-0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Bornhorn teaches the difference between the connection heights of two successive blades is comprised between 2% and 3% of the blade height see paragraphs [0044-0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Bornhorn teaches the body is an annular body having a central recess (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Bornhorn teaches for each blade, the connection between the body and the blade root is accomplished with a fillet (4) having a circular portion cross-section.
Regarding claim 9, Bornhorn teaches for each blade, the connection between the body and the blade root is accomplished so as to have a variable radius of curvature (see paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Bornhorn teaches a turbomachine (paragraph [0001]) comprising a turbomachine rotor according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornhorn in view of Zscherp (US2014/0301852).
Regarding claim 5, Bornhorn fails to explicitly teach the evolution of the connection height of the blades to the body varies according to a sinusoidal profile.
In an analogous art, Zscherp teaches a bladed rotor. Zscherp teaches a sinusoidal variation of connection heights (see Figs. 2-3). Zscherp teaches this arrangement “detunes” the rotor by avoiding radial projections within blade groups and between blade groups (see paragraphs [0033-0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the turbomachine rotor of Bornhorn and change it so that the evolution of the connection height of the blades to the body varies according to a sinusoidal profile as taught by Zscherp to detune the rotor by avoiding radial projections within blade groups and between blade groups.
Conclusion
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745 /COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745