DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 10/23/2025.
The amendments filed on 10/23/2025 have been entered. Accordingly claims remain pending 1-8 and 23-28. Claims 9-22 are cancelled and claims 23-28 are newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 23-28 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Newly submitted claims are directed to subject matter that was not originally searched and considered for e.g., housing define an internal cavity, and wherein the internal cavity includes: a light emitting diode (LED) bracket assembly; an LED flexible printed circuit; an inner frame; a printed circuit board assembly; a battery; a sponge; a vibrator; and a sensor; and wherein the pod comprises: an inertial measurement unit (IMU) having a 6-axis configuration, wherein the IMU is configured to detection a repetition or step performed by a user of the heart rate monitor.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 23-28 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160192716) in view of Watterson (US 20150253736).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a heart rate monitor (“the sensor pod 100 can optionally include a digital display that can be used, e.g., to display the time, date, day of the week and/or the like, and can also be used to display activity and/or physiological metrics, such as, but not limited to, heart rate (HR), heart rate variability (HRV)” [0023]), comprising:
a strap (202) comprising a securement element (“FIG. 2B illustrates the wrist band 202 with the sensor pod 100 secured within the opening 204.” [0027]); and
a pod (sensor pod 100) releasably coupled to the securement element and configured to detect a heart rate of a user (“The sensor pod 100 can alternatively be placed in a similar opening in a chest strap, headband, swim cap, arm band, or some other user wearable band, strap, article of apparel or device” [0027]; “heart rate (HR), heart rate variability (HRV)” [0023]),
an interface between the pod and the securement element (“The housing 102 also includes a groove 112 within and extending about the peripheral surface 110” [0020]),
wherein the interface includes a detent and is configured to install and release the pod in a particular direction with respect to the securement element (“a wrist band 202 that includes an opening 204 into which the groove 112 of the sensor pod 100 fits to secure sensor pod 100 in place” [0027]; The first portion 1201 of the lapel adaptor 1200 includes an elastic ring 1207 having an opening 1204. The elastic ring 1207 is shown as having oval or elliptical shape and generally has the same shape as the circumferential surface 110 of the sensor pod 100. In accordance with an embodiment, an inner circumference of the elastic ring 1207 is slightly smaller than the outer circumference of the groove 112 in the circumferential surface 110 of the sensor pod 100. This enables the groove 112 in the sensor pod 100 to be snapped into the opening 1204 in the elastic ring 1207 and held in place [0079]. FIG. 12B is a perspective view of the lapel adaptor 1200 with the sensor pod 100 snapped into the opening in the elastic ring 1207 of the first portion 1201 of the lapel adaptor 1200. FIG. 12C is a side view of the lapel adaptor 1200 with the sensor pod 100 snapped into the opening in the elastic ring 1207 of the first portion 1201 of the lapel adaptor 1200 [0080]).
As can be factually seen above, Lee teaches all the newly amended claimed limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation. Yet, if one argues in a narrower interpretation that the interface and the features are not taught, the below reference is brought in to show the narrow interpretation in an effort to provide compact prosecution.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Watterson teaches mechanism for attaching the latch side 128 to the holder 122 may be used in accordance with the principles described in the present disclosure. In some examples, a locking component, such as a detent, is formed on the holder 122 which is configured to interlock with the watch portion 116. In other examples, the detent is formed in the watch portion 116 and is configured to interlock with the holder 122. In other examples, a magnetic component may be included in either the holder 122 or in the watch portion 116. In such an example, as the magnetic component is brought closer to the holder 122 or the watch portion 116, the magnetic component magnetically attracts the holder 122 or the watch portion 116 and holds the holder 122 or watch portion 116 in place through a magnetic connection. In yet another example, the size and/or shape of the watch portion 116 may be compressively held between the inner walls 125 of the holder 122. Such a compression fit may secure the watch portion 116 to the holder 122 [0126].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with as taught by Watterson because it provides a light weight wrist wearable instrument ([0002] of Watterson).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the securement element is a ring disposed in the strap (“wrist band 202 that includes an opening 204 into which the groove 112 of the sensor pod 100 fits to” [0027]); and
the pod is snap fitted to the ring to releasably couple the pod to the strap (“The opening in the pocket can also enable the groove 112 in the sensor pod 100 to be snapped into a correct position and held in place against a user's skin.” [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the interface is configured to receive the pod from a bottom of the strap and release the pod from a top of the strap (“FIG. 2A illustrates a wrist band 202 that includes an opening 204 into which the groove 112 of the sensor pod 100 fits to secure sensor pod 100 in place. FIG. 2B illustrates the wrist band 202 with the sensor pod 100 secured within the opening 204.” [0027]; insert the pod from either opening of the top or bottom as shown in figs 2 and the associated pars; Also see figs below showing the feature).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Watterson as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Magniez et al (US 20150272458).
Regarding claim 4, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitation except for a top housing comprising a button.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Magniez teaches a top housing comprising a button (e.g., “a user input device, e.g. four-way button 506” [0058]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with button as taught by Magniez because it provides an improved heart rate monitor and strap for mounting a heart rate monitor or similar device. ([0007] of Magniez).
Regarding claim 5, the above noted combination teaches wherein the sensor lens is disposed in a sensor body shaped to interface with a charger to align the one or more charger contacts of the pod with the charger (see fig. 5A and 1C and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 6, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitation except for a top housing comprising a button.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Magniez teaches a top housing comprising a button (e.g., “a user input device, e.g. four-way button 506” [0058]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with button as taught by Magniez because it provides an improved heart rate monitor and strap for mounting a heart rate monitor or similar device. ([0007] of Magniez).
Regarding claim 7, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitation except for wherein the pod comprises at least one of a vibrator configured to provide haptic feedback to the user or an inertial measurement unit configured to detect a movement of the pod.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Magniez teaches the OHR sensor may comprise an audio output, e.g. a beeper, and/or a haptic output, e.g. a vibrator, to alert a user to changes in the HR data [0026]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with vibrator configured to provide haptic feedback as taught by Magniez because it provides an improved heart rate monitor and strap for mounting a heart rate monitor or similar device. ([0007] of Magniez).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Watterson as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Breslow et al (US 20160374569).
Regarding claim 8, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitation except for a clasp.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Breslow teaches FIG. 1, the strap 102 of the bracelet may have a wider side and a narrower side. In one embodiment, a user may simply insert the narrower side into the thicker side and squeeze the two together until the strap is tight around the wrist, as shown in FIG. 5. To remove the strap, a user may push the strap further inwards, which unlocks the strap and allows it to be released from the wrist. In other embodiments, various other fastening means may be provided. For example, the fastening mechanism may include, without limitation, a clasp, clamp, clip, dock, friction fit, hook and loop, latch, lock, pin, screw, slider, snap, button, spring, yoke, and so on.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with clasp as taught by Breslow because it helps to obtain accurate instrumentation and quantification of physical recovery resulting from sleep. ([0002] of Breslow).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797