DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 52-54 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 52-54 are dependent upon cancelled 44. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 45-46, 49-50, 55-58 and 63-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teaches the claims.
Regarding claim 45, Campbell discloses a method performed by a first user plane function (Campbell, paragraph [0006], the user plane packets have already passed the radio, eNodeB, SGW and PGW (if permitted)), comprising:
receiving, from a control plane function, a first message comprising a flag requesting the first user plane function to send a first indication to a second user plane function to start pause of charging for a session (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause”. The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface (i.e., suspend notification or S5/S8 control signalling/flag received from a control plane triggers downlink pages/first message requesting the first user plane to send indication to suspend charging for a session to a second user plane)) when a dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached (Campbell, Fig. 5 and paragraph [0030], when the SGW detects that the rate of dropped packets or dropped bytes exceeds a predetermined threshold, the SGW determines that the UE is in the ECM idle state (510). An example threshold includes 8 packets dropped in 10 seconds (i.e., 0.8 packets/ sec). In some embodiments, upon this determination, the SGW sends a Suspend Notification message ( e.g., S5/S8) for that UE (514) (i.e., the second user plane function pause charging when the dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached)); and
upon the dropped downlink traffic threshold being reached (Campbell, Fig.11 and paragraph [0041], The process proceeds to 1102 to determine the packet loss rate. The packet loss rate may be determined over a predetermined time interval (i.e., 5 ms). For example, if l00 packets are lost in a 5 ms interval, the packet loss rate is 20 packets/ms. The process proceeds to 1104 to determine if the packet loss rate exceeds a threshold (i.e. upon determining the dropped downlink traffic threshold being reached). If the packet loss rate does not exceed a threshold, the process returns to 1100)), sending a second message to the second user plane function (Campbell, Fig. 11 and paragraph [0041], If the packet loss rate exceeds the threshold, the process proceeds to 1106 where the SGW transmits a notification to the PGW), the second message comprising the first indication to start pause of charging for the session (Campbell, paragraph [0041], This notification may be a suspend notification or a pause notification as described above).
Regarding claim 46, Campbell discloses wherein the first indication comprises a bit for SPOC (Start Pause Of Charging) (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause." The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface. Also see paragraph [0036], In some embodiments, on theS5/S8 interface, the IE flag in the SGW to PGW direction indicates support of the pausing feature. This bit in the PGW to SGW direction indicates that the PGW wants to enable the feature in the SGW for that PDN).
Regarding claim 49, Campbell discloses further comprising:
sending, to the control plane function, a third message comprising a second indication that the first user plane function supports notifying for start pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0037]. FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary sequence diagram illustrating an embodiment of the pause feature. Particularly, if the UE is in the ECM idle state and the packet loss rate at the SGW exceeds a threshold (800), the SGW sends a pause notification (802) to the PGW (i.e., notify start of pause of charging)).
Regarding claim 50, Campbell discloses wherein the second indication comprises a bit for NSPOC (Notify Start Pause Of Charging) (Campbell, paragraph [0033], According to some embodiments, PGW pauses the charging of the UE upon reception of a pause notification from the SGW. Also see paragraph [0036], In some embodiments, on theS5/S8 interface, the IE flag in the SGW to PGW direction indicates support of the pausing feature. This bit in the PGW to SGW direction indicates that the PGW wants to enable the feature in the SGW for that PDN).
Regarding claim 55, Campbell discloses a first user plane function (Campbell, paragraph [0006], the user plane packets have already passed the radio, eNodeB, SGW and PGW (if permitted)), comprising:
a processor (Campbell, paragraph [0012], The first node includes a processor); and
a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor (Campbell, paragraph [0013], a memory coupled to the processor, a transceiver coupled to the processor, and an antenna coupled to the transceiver configured to transmit and receive message), whereby said first user plane function is operative to:
receive, from a control plane function, a first message comprising a flag requesting the first user plane function to send a first indication to a second user plane function to start pause of charging for a session (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause”. The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface (i.e., suspend notification or S5/S8 control signalling/flag received from a control plane triggers downlink pages/first message requesting the first user plane to send indication to suspend charging for a session to a second user plane)) when a dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached (Campbell, Fig. 5 and paragraph [0030], when the SGW detects that the rate of dropped packets or dropped bytes exceeds a predetermined threshold, the SGW determines that the UE is in the ECM idle state (510). An example threshold includes 8 packets dropped in 10 seconds (i.e., 0.8 packets/ sec). In some embodiments, upon this determination, the SGW sends a Suspend Notification message ( e.g., S5/S8) for that UE (514) (i.e., the second user plane function pause charging when the dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached)); and
upon the dropped downlink traffic threshold being reached (Campbell, Fig.11 and paragraph [0041], The process proceeds to 1102 to determine the packet loss rate. The packet loss rate may be determined over a predetermined time interval (i.e., 5 ms). For example, if l00 packets are lost in a 5 ms interval, the packet loss rate is 20 packets/ms. The process proceeds to 1104 to determine if the packet loss rate exceeds a threshold (i.e. upon determining the dropped downlink traffic threshold being reached). If the packet loss rate does not exceed a threshold, the process returns to 1100)), send a second message to the second user plane function (Campbell, Fig. 11 and paragraph [0041], If the packet loss rate exceeds the threshold, the process proceeds to 1106 where the SGW transmits a notification to the PGW), the second message comprising the first indication to start pause of charging for the session (Campbell, paragraph [0014], This notification may be a suspend notification or a pause notification as described above).
Regarding claim 56, Campbell discloses wherein said first user plane function is further operative to:
send, to the control plane function, a third message comprising a second indication (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause." The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface) that the first user plane function supports notifying for start pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0036], In some embodiments, on theS5/S8 interface, the IE flag in the SGW to PGW direction indicates support of the pausing feature. This bit in the PGW to SGW direction indicates that the PGW wants to enable the feature in the SGW for that PDN).
Regarding claim 57, Campbell discloses a method performed by a second user plane function, comprising:
receiving, from a first user plane function, a second message comprising a first indication to start pause of charging for a session (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause”. The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface (i.e., suspend notification or S5/S8 control signalling/flag received from a control plane triggers downlink pages/first message requesting the first user plane to send indication to suspend charging for a session to a second user plane)) due to a dropped downlink traffic threshold being reached (Campbell, Fig. 5 and paragraph [0030], when the SGW detects that the rate of dropped packets or dropped bytes exceeds a predetermined threshold, the SGW determines that the UE is in the ECM idle state (510). An example threshold includes 8 packets dropped in 10 seconds (i.e., 0.8 packets/ sec). In some embodiments, upon this determination, the SGW sends a Suspend Notification message ( e.g., S5/S8) for that UE (514) (i.e., the second user plane function pause charging when the dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached)); and
pausing the charging for the session responsive to the first indication (Campbell, paragraph [0041], This notification may be a suspend notification or a pause notification as described above).
Regarding claim 58, Campbell discloses wherein the first indication comprises a bit for SPOC (Start Pause Of Charging) (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause." The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface. Also see paragraph [0036], In some embodiments, on theS5/S8 interface, the IE flag in the SGW to PGW direction indicates support of the pausing feature. This bit in the PGW to SGW direction indicates that the PGW wants to enable the feature in the SGW for that PDN).
Regarding claim 63, Campbell discloses a method performed by a first control plane function (Campbell, paragraph [0003], UE-related control signaling (S1-MME) is handled by Mobility Management Entity (MME) 104 with support of subscription information provided by the Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 106. Also see paragraph [0026], The access node 404 may be in communication with, for instance via a network 402, one or more control nodes, such as a Radio Network Controller (RNC), a Mobility Management Entity (MME), a Mobile Switching Center (MSC) or Base Station Subsystem (BSS), or one or more gateway nodes such as SGW 408 and PGW 410. It is noted that each of nodes 404,406,408, and 410 may be understood as a "control" node to the extent that it includes a control unit or otherwise implements control functions), comprising:
receiving, from a first user plane function, a third message comprising a second indication that the first user plane function supports notifying for start pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0030], Upon receiving the suspend notification, the PGW stops sending downlink data (516) destined for the UE. The PGW may further send an acknowledgement of the suspend notification (518). Accordingly, when the PGW stops sending downlink data (516) upon reception of the suspend notification, the UE is not charged for packets at this point while the UE is in the ECM idle state. In some embodiments, the SGW may include a predetermined number of dropped packets (i.e., 8 packets) in the suspend notification); and
sending, to the first user plane function, a first message comprising a flag requesting the first user plane function to send a first indication to a second user plane function to start pause of charging for a session (Campbell, paragraph [0035], a new Indication IE flag is added to the S5/S8 Modify Bearer Request to indicate "support/enabling of charging pause”. The IE flag allows for a PGW to "pause" the PGW charging and to still trigger downlink pages at the SGW based on new downlink data received on the SGi interface (i.e., suspend notification or S5/S8 control signalling/flag received from a control plane triggers downlink pages/first message requesting the first user plane to send indication to suspend charging for a session to a second user plane)) when a dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached (Campbell, Fig. 5 and paragraph [0030], when the SGW detects that the rate of dropped packets or dropped bytes exceeds a predetermined threshold, the SGW determines that the UE is in the ECM idle state (510). An example threshold includes 8 packets dropped in 10 seconds (i.e., 0.8 packets/ sec). In some embodiments, upon this determination, the SGW sends a Suspend Notification message ( e.g., S5/S8) for that UE (514) (i.e., the second user plane function pause charging when the dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached)).
Regarding claim 64, Campbell discloses wherein the second indication comprises a bit for NSPOC (Notify Start Pause Of Charging) (Campbell, paragraph [0033], According to some embodiments, PGW pauses the charging of the UE upon reception of a pause notification from the SGW. Also see paragraph [0036], In some embodiments, on theS5/S8 interface, the IE flag in the SGW to PGW direction indicates support of the pausing feature. This bit in the PGW to SGW direction indicates that the PGW wants to enable the feature in the SGW for that PDN).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47, 51-54 and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Qiao et al., US 2023/0114188 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of December 29, 2020 related to provisional application 63/131,402; referred to as Qiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 47, 51-54 and 61, Campbell discloses the method of claim 45 and the method of claim 57. Campbell does not explicitly discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 47, wherein the first message is a PFCP Session Establishment Request or PFCP Session Modification Request.
Regarding claim 51, wherein the third message is a PFCP Association Setup Response or a PFCP Association Setup Request.
Regarding claim 52, wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (Packet Data Network Gateway - Control Plane), an SGW-C (Serving Gateway – Control Plane, or an SMF (Session Management Function).
Regarding claim 53, wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of:
an SGW-U (Serving Gateway - User Plane, a V-UPF (Visited User Plane Function), or an I-UPF (Intermediate User Plane Function).
Regarding claim 54, wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of:
a PGW-U (Packet Data Network Gateway - User Plane), an I-UPF (Intermediate User Plane Function, an H-UPF (Home User Plane Function), or an A-UPF (Anchor User Plane Function).
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Qiao discloses a method related to a base station communicating with a mix of wireless devices that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 47, wherein the first message is a PFCP Session Establishment Request or PFCP Session Modification Request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel).
Regarding claim 51, wherein the third message is a PFCP Association Setup Response or a PFCP Association Setup Request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel).
Regarding claim 52, wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (Packet Data Network Gateway - Control Plane), an SGW-C (Serving Gateway – Control Plane, or an SMF (Session Management Function) (Qiao, paragraph [0223], In an example, in response to receiving the identity of the UPF, the second control plane function may send a CP-UP association request message to the UPF. For example, the SMF may send a PFCP association setup request message to the UPF requesting setup a PFCP association, the PFCP association setup request message may comprise one or more information element/parameters as described in FIG. 18. Also see paragraph [0209], In an example, the CP Function may receive PDN Connection Establishment Request/PDU Session Establishment Request from an SGW-C/AMF).
Regarding claim 53, wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of:
an SGW-U (Serving Gateway - User Plane, a V-UPF (Visited User Plane Function), or an I-UPF (Intermediate User Plane Function) (Qiao, paragraph [0088], FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a core network architecture 500 in which a UE 501 is in a roaming scenario. In a roaming scenario, UE 501 is a subscriber of a first PLMN ( a home PLMN, or HPLMN) but attaches to a second PLMN (a visited PLMN, or VPLMN). Core network architecture 500 includes UE 501, an AN 502, a UPF 505, and a DN 508. The AN 502 and UPF 505 may be associated with a VPLMN. The VPLMN may manage the AN 502 and UPF 505 using core network elements associated with the VPLMN, including an AMF 512, an SMF 514, a PCF 520, an NRF 530, an NEF 540, and an NSSF 570. An AF 599 may be adjacent the core network of the VPLMN).
Regarding claim 54, wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of:
a PGW-U (Packet Data Network Gateway - User Plane), an I-UPF (Intermediate User Plane Function, an H-UPF (Home User Plane Function), or an A-UPF (Anchor User Plane Function) (Qiao, paragraph [0088], FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a core network architecture 500 in which a UE 501 is in a roaming scenario. In a roaming scenario, UE 501 is a subscriber of a first PLMN ( a home PLMN, or HPLMN) but attaches to a second PLMN (a visited PLMN, or VPLMN). Core network architecture 500 includes UE 501, an AN 502, a UPF 505, and a DN 508. The AN 502 and UPF 505 may be associated with a VPLMN. The VPLMN may manage the AN 502 and UPF 505 using core network elements associated with the VPLMN, including an AMF 512, an SMF 514, a PCF 520, an NRF 530, an NEF 540, and an NSSF 570. An AF 599 may be adjacent the core network of the VPLMN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Campbell by using the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to provide a method for wireless devices and/or base stations support multiple technologies, and/or multiple releases of the same technology (see Qiao, paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 48 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of MOHAMED et al., US 2019/0150225 A1 (Mohamed hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 48 and 59, Campbell discloses the method of claim 45 and the method of claim 57. Campbell does not explicitly discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 48, wherein the second message is a Tunnel Status message.
Regarding claim 59, wherein the second message is a Tunnel Status message.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Mohamed discloses a method related to a user equipment device creating a dedicated bearer between a local gateway and a packet data network gateway that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 48, wherein the second message is a Tunnel Status message (Mohamed, paragraph [0069], the S-GW acknowledges the bearer activation to the P-GW by sending a "Create Bearer Response" (LGW-Bearer-ID, SGW-TEID) message 13. A GTP tunnel between the P-GW and the S-GW is now created).
Regarding claim 59, wherein the second message is a Tunnel Status message (Mohamed, paragraph [0086], The P-GW (i.e., the second user plane) returns message SB (i.e., an acknowledgement) to the S-GW (i.e., the first user plane function). Message SB contains a "Create Session Response" (P-GW Address for the user plane, P-GW TEID of the user plane, P-GW TEID of the control plane, PDN Type, LS-IPADDRESS- new, LGW-Bearer-ID, EPS Bearer QoS, Protocol Configuration Options, LGW-Charging Id, Prohibit Payload Compression, APN Restriction, Cause, PDN Charging Pause Enabled indication (if P-GW has chosen to enable the function), APN-AMBR, SCS-IP-ADDRESS)S-GW, establishing a GTP tunnel between the S-GW and P-GW).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Campbell by using the features, as taught by Mohamed, in order to support operations that may involve the use of a local data plane and may use tunneling protocol such as general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) (see Mohamed, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 60, Campbell discloses the method of claim 57. Campbell does not explicitly discloses further comprising: sending, to a control plane function, a fourth message comprising a third indication that the second user plane function supports pause of charging. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Shan discloses a method related to a wireless communication system that comprises further comprising: sending, to a control plane function, a fourth message comprising a third indication that the second user plane function supports pause of charging (Shan, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Campbell by using the features, as taught by Shan, in order to support methods for allocating resources for a user plane node in a network providing wireless communications (see Shan, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter), in view of over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Qiao et al., US 2023/0114188 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of December 29, 2020 related to provisional application 63/131,402; referred to as Qiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 61, Campbell and Shan discloses the method of claim 60. Campbell and Shan do not explicitly discloses wherein the fourth message is a PFCP Association Setup Response or a PFCP Association Setup Request. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Qiao discloses a method related to a base station communicating with a mix of wireless devices that comprises wherein the fourth message is a PFCP Association Setup Response or a PFCP Association Setup Request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Campbell and Shan by using the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to provide a method for wireless devices and/or base stations support multiple technologies, and/or multiple releases of the same technology (see Qiao, paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Chai, US 2022/0014632 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of March 7, 2020 corresponding to PCT/CN2020/078315; referred to as Chai hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 62, Campbell discloses the method of claim 57. Campbell does not explicitly discloses the following features. Campbell does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, from a control plane function, an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Chai discloses a method related to a charging session that comprises further comprising: receiving, from a control plane function (Chai, paragraph [0014], The control plane function entity sends a charging update message to the charging function entity through the SBI charging session. The charging update message includes network usage information of the 4G data connection and/or a quota request for the 5G data connection after the handover), an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function (Chai, paragraph [0014], the control plane function entity may charge, by using the SBI charging session established for the 4G data connection in the 4G network, network usage of the 5G data connection after the handover. In this way, there is no need to re-establish a charging session for the 5G data connection after the handover, thereby simplifying a network handover procedure. Also see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0079], The integrated control plane function entity 106 includes a packet data network (packet data network, PDN) gateway control plane function (PDN gateway control plane function, PGW-C) in the 4G network and a session management function (session management function, SMF) in the 5G network. The integrated user plane function entity 108 includes a user plane function (user plane function, UPF) and a PDN gateway control plane function (PGW-U)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Campbell by using the features, as taught by Chai, in order to simplify a procedure of charging online data and oflline data in the 4G data connection by using different charging sessions (see Chai, abstract).
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 05/26/2026. Claims 45-64 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed on 05/26/2026, with respect to the claims 45-64 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground (s) of rejection.
Regarding claims 45, 55, 57 and 63, on page 13, last paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that “Campbell is not cited as disclosing, and does not disclose, "receiving, from a control plane function, a first message comprising a flag requesting the first user plane function to send a first indication to a second user plane function to start pause of charging for a session when a dropped downlink traffic threshold is reached" as variously recited in new independent Claims 45, 55, 57 and 63. As a result, Campbell does not cure the deficiencies of Shan, Qiao and Mohamed noted above”. This argument is not persuasive. As noted in the office action above, the features of the newly presented claims are not in condition for allowance since the claimed features are disclosed in Campbell.
Examiner’s Note
Following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Taleb Fard et al., US 2020/0351984 A1: discloses a user plane function (UPP) receives, from a session management function (SMF), a session configuration message, where the UPF connecting to the released UPF buffers the DL packets for the one or more PDU Session(s) or drop the DL packets for the PDU session or forward the DL packets for the one or more PDU session(s) to the SMF, based on buffering instruction provided by the SMF. The method also discloses the SMF informas the UPF for pause of charging when it receives a Namf_Communication_N1N2Transfer failure notification (see abstract and paragraph [0312], [0320] and [0327]-[0328]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 08/17/2026