DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 27 and 41 recites “receiving a supported feature of a user plane function from a user plane function”. It is not clear if “a user plane function” referring to the same user plane function or a different user plane function. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, 27, 37, 39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teaches the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Shan discloses a method performed by a first user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0020], The main nodes of the EPC 102 may include a PDN gateway (PGW) 122, a Serving Gateway (SGW) 124, and a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 136), comprising:
determining a charging action for a first session (Shan, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network)); and
sending information regarding the charging action for the first session to a second user plane function (Shan, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request … message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address (i.e., the second user plane function) received in the previous operation).
Regarding claim 14, Shan discloses a method performed by a second user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0020], The main nodes of the EPC 102 may include a PDN gateway (PGW) 122, a Serving Gateway (SGW) 124, and a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 136), comprising:
receiving information regarding a charging action for a first session from a first user plane function (Shan, Fig. 2, and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network) message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address received in the previous operation); and
performing the charging action for the first session based on the information regarding the charging action for the first session (Shan, paragraph [0076], Operation 2-15: Create Session Response. The PGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer context table and generates a Charging ID for the Default Bearer. The new entry allows the PGW to route user plane PDUs between the SGW and the packet data network, and to start charging).
Regarding claim 27, Shan discloses a method performed by a first control plane function (Shan, abstract, A serving gateway (SGW) control plane (SGW-C) node of a core network can allocate a resource for a SGW user plane (SGW-U) node. Also see paragraph [0237], The SGW-C 524 and the SGW-U 525 may collectively provide similar functionality and/or hardware of a SGW, such as the SGW 124 of FIG. 1, yet separated according to the control plane and the user plane), comprising:
receiving a supported feature of a user plane function from a user plane function (Shan, Fig. 2, and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network) message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address (i.e., receiving supported feature of the user plane function from a user plane). Also see paragraph [0236], The PGW-C 522 and the PGW-U 523 may collectively provide similar functionality and/or hardware of a PGW, such as the PGW 122 of FIG. 1, yet separated according to the control plane and the user plane), wherein the supported feature of the user plane function indicates that the user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0076], Operation 2-15: Create Session Response. The PGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer context table and generates a Charging ID for the Default Bearer. The new entry allows the PGW to route user plane PDUs between the SGW and the packet data network, and to start charging).
Regarding claim 37, Shan discloses a first user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0020], The main nodes of the EPC 102 may include a PDN gateway (PGW) 122, a Serving Gateway (SGW) 124, and a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 136) comprising:
a processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF); and
a memory coupled to the processor the memory containing instructions executable by said processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002 coupled with one or more storage media 1004. Also see paragraph [0365], The storage media 1004 may be used to load and store data or instructions ( collectively "logic" 1006) for operations performed by the processors. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF), whereby the first user plane function is operative to:
determine a charging action for a first session (Shan, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network)); and
send information regarding the charging action for the first session to a second user plane function (Shan, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request … message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address (i.e., the second user plane function) received in the previous operation).
Regarding claim 39, Shan discloses a second user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0020], The main nodes of the EPC 102 may include a PDN gateway (PGW) 122, a Serving Gateway (SGW) 124, and a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 136) comprising:
a processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF); and
a memory coupled to the processor the memory containing instructions executable by said processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002 coupled with one or more storage media 1004. Also see paragraph [0365], The storage media 1004 may be used to load and store data or instructions ( collectively "logic" 1006) for operations performed by the processors. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF), whereby she second user plane function is operative to:
receive information regarding a charging action for a first session from a first user plane function (Shan, Fig. 2, and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network) message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address (i.e., second user plane receiving charging information from the first user plane function) received in the previous operation); and
perform the charging action for the first session based on the information regarding the charging action for a session (Shan, paragraph [0076], Operation 2-15: Create Session Response. The PGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer context table and generates a Charging ID for the Default Bearer. The new entry allows the PGW to route user plane PDUs between the SGW and the packet data network, and to start charging).
Regarding claim 41, Shan discloses a first control plane function (Shan, abstract, A serving gateway (SGW) control plane (SGW-C) node of a core network can allocate a resource for a SGW user plane (SGW-U) node. Also see paragraph [0237], The SGW-C 524 and the SGW-U 525 may collectively provide similar functionality and/or hardware of a SGW, such as the SGW 124 of FIG. 1, yet separated according to the control plane and the user plane), comprising:
a processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF); and
a memory coupled to the processor the memory containing instructions executable by said processor (Shan, paragraph [0363], The computing apparatus 1000 may include one or more processors 1002 coupled with one or more storage media 1004. Also see paragraph [0365], The storage media 1004 may be used to load and store data or instructions ( collectively "logic" 1006) for operations performed by the processors. Also see paragraph [0362], FIG. 10 illustrates, for one embodiment, example components of a computing apparatus 1000, which may comprise, or be part of, a UE, an MME, a SGW, a PGW, a PCRF, a P-CSCF, or an S-CSF), whereby the first control plane function is operative to:
receive a supported feature of a user plane function from a user plane function (Shan, Fig. 2, and paragraph [0067], Operation 2-13: Create Session Request. The SGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request (IMSI, MSISDN, APN, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, SGW TEID of the control plane, RAT type, Default EPS Bearer QoS, PDN Type, PDN Address, subscribed APN-AMBR, EPS Bearer Identity, Protocol Configuration Options, Handover Indication, ME Identity, User Location Information (ECGI), UE Time Zone, User CSG Information, MS Info Change Reporting support indication, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics, Trace Reference, Trace Type, Trigger ID, OMC Identity, Maximum APN Restriction, Dual Address Bearer Flag, Serving Network) message to the PGW indicated by the PGW address (i.e., receiving supported feature of the user plane function from a user plane). Also see paragraph [0236], The PGW-C 522 and the PGW-U 523 may collectively provide similar functionality and/or hardware of a PGW, such as the PGW 122 of FIG. 1, yet separated according to the control plane and the user plane),
wherein the supported feature of the user plane function indicates that the user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function (Shan, paragraph [0076], Operation 2-15: Create Session Response. The PGW creates a new entry in its EPS bearer context table and generates a Charging ID for the Default Bearer. The new entry allows the PGW to route user plane PDUs between the SGW and the packet data network, and to start charging).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of MOHAMED et al., US 2019/0150225 A1 (Mohamed hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Shan discloses the method according claim 1 and method according to claim 14. Shan does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising:
receiving an acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session from the second user plane function; and
wherein the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in a GTP-U (general packet radio service tunnelling protocol for user plane) tunnel status message and the acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in another GTP-U tunnel status message.
Regarding claims 15, further comprising:
sending an acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session to the first user plane function; and
wherein the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in a GTP-U (general packet radio service tunnelling protocol for user plane) tunnel status message and the acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in another GTP-U tunnel status message.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Mohamed discloses a method related to a user equipment device creating a dedicated bearer between a local gateway and a packet data network gateway that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising:
receiving an acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session from the second user plane function (Mohamed, paragraph [0086], The P-GW (i.e., the second user plane) returns message SB (i.e., an acknowledgement) to the S-GW (i.e., the first user plane function). Message SB contains a "Create Session Response" (P-GW Address for the user plane, P-GW TEID of the user plane, P-GW TEID of the control plane, PDN Type, LS-IPADDRESS- new, LGW-Bearer-ID, EPS Bearer QoS, Protocol Configuration Options, LGW-Charging Id, Prohibit Payload Compression, APN Restriction, Cause, PDN Charging Pause Enabled indication (if P-GW has chosen to enable the function), APN-AMBR, SCS-IP-ADDRESS)S-GW, establishing a GTP tunnel between the S-GW and P-GW); and
wherein the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in a GTP-U (general packet radio service tunnelling protocol for user plane) tunnel status message and the acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in another GTP-U tunnel status message (Mohamed, paragraph [0069], the S-GW acknowledges the bearer activation to the P-GW by sending a "Create Bearer Response" (LGW-Bearer-ID, SGW-TEID) message 13. A GTP tunnel between the P-GW and the S-GW is now created).
Regarding claims 15, further comprising:
sending an acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session to the first user plane function (Mohamed, paragraph [0086], The P-GW (i.e., the second user plane) returns message SB (i.e., an acknowledgement) to the S-GW (i.e., the first user plane function). Message SB contains a "Create Session Response" (P-GW Address for the user plane, P-GW TEID of the user plane, P-GW TEID of the control plane, PDN Type, LS-IPADDRESS- new, LGW-Bearer-ID, EPS Bearer QoS, Protocol Configuration Options, LGW-Charging Id, Prohibit Payload Compression, APN Restriction, Cause, PDN Charging Pause Enabled indication (if P-GW has chosen to enable the function), APN-AMBR, SCS-IP-ADDRESS)S-GW, establishing a GTP tunnel between the S-GW and P-GW); and
wherein the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in a GTP-U (general packet radio service tunnelling protocol for user plane) tunnel status message and the acknowledgement for the information regarding the charging action for the first session is comprised in another GTP-U tunnel status message (Mohamed, paragraph [0069], the S-GW acknowledges the bearer activation to the P-GW by sending a "Create Bearer Response" (LGW-Bearer-ID, SGW-TEID) message 13. A GTP tunnel between the P-GW and the S-GW is now created).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shan by using the features, as taught by Mohamed, in order to support operations that may involve the use of a local data plane and may use tunneling protocol such as general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) (see Mohamed, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 4, 17 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of CAMPBELL, US 2014/0119242 A1 (Campbell hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4, 17 and 31, Shan discloses the method according claim 1, the method according to claim 14 and the method according to claim 27. Shan does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging, and wherein sending the information comprises immediately sending the information after determining the charging action for the first session, and wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging;
wherein performing the charging action comprises immediately performing the charging action after receiving the information; and
wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration.
Regarding claim 31, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging; and
wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Campbell discloses a method related to charging of a mobile device in communication with the first node in a communications network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0033], According to some embodiments, PGW pauses the charging of the UE upon reception of a pause notification from the SGW), and wherein sending the information comprises immediately sending the information after determining the charging action for the first session (Campbell, paragraph [0037]. FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary sequence diagram illustrating an embodiment of the pause feature. Particularly, if the UE is in the ECM idle state and the packet loss rate at the SGW exceeds a threshold (800), the SGW sends a pause notification (802) to the PGW), and wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration (Campbell, paragraph [0033], while the PGW charging is paused, the PGW continues to send downlink data to the SGW. Neither the SGW nor the PGW charges for this downlink data. This downlink data from the PGW may act as a trigger for S 11 Downlink Data Notification from the SG W to the MME. However, the SGW, based on operator policy at the SGW, may or may not forward this data to the UE).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0033], According to some embodiments, PGW pauses the charging of the UE upon reception of a pause notification from the SGW);
wherein performing the charging action comprises immediately performing the charging action after receiving the information (Campbell, paragraph [0037]. FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary sequence diagram illustrating an embodiment of the pause feature. Particularly, if the UE is in the ECM idle state and the packet loss rate at the SGW exceeds a threshold (800), the SGW sends a pause notification (802) to the PGW); and
wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration (Campbell, paragraph [0033], while the PGW charging is paused, the PGW continues to send downlink data to the SGW. Neither the SGW nor the PGW charges for this downlink data. This downlink data from the PGW may act as a trigger for S 11 Downlink Data Notification from the SG W to the MME. However, the SGW, based on operator policy at the SGW, may or may not forward this data to the UE).
Regarding claim 31, wherein the charging action comprises immediate start of pause of charging (Campbell, paragraph [0033], According to some embodiments, PGW pauses the charging of the UE upon reception of a pause notification from the SGW); and
wherein the charging action is determined based on at least one of:
an operator policy, or an operator configuration (Campbell, paragraph [0033], while the PGW charging is paused, the PGW continues to send downlink data to the SGW. Neither the SGW nor the PGW charges for this downlink data. This downlink data from the PGW may act as a trigger for S 11 Downlink Data Notification from the SG W to the MME. However, the SGW, based on operator policy at the SGW, may or may not forward this data to the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shan by using the features, as taught by Campbell, in order to provide a substantial improvement in accuracy of charging data in the downlink direction on the PGW (see Campbell, abstract and paragraph [0053]).
Claim(s) 7, 20, 40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Chai, US 2022/0014632 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of March 7, 2020 corresponding to PCT/CN2020/078315; referred to as Chai hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 7, 20, 40 and 42, Shan discloses the method according claim 1, the method according to claim 14, the second user plane function according to claim 39, and the first control plane function according to claim 41.
Shan does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising:
receiving from a control plane function, an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a second session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the second session.
Regarding claim 20,further comprising:
receiving from a control plane function, an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function.
Regarding claim 40, wherein the second user plane function is further operative to receive, from a control plane function, an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function.
Regarding claim 42, wherein the first control plane function is further operative to send, to the user plane function, an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the session.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Chai discloses a method related to a charging session that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising:
receiving from a control plane function (Chai, paragraph [0014], The control plane function entity sends a charging update message to the charging function entity through the SBI charging session. The charging update message includes network usage information of the 4G data connection and/or a quota request for the 5G data connection after the handover), an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a second session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the second session (Chai, paragraph [0014], the control plane function entity may charge, by using the SBI charging session established for the 4G data connection in the 4G network, network usage of the 5G data connection after the handover. In this way, there is no need to re-establish a charging session for the 5G data connection after the handover, thereby simplifying a network handover procedure. Also see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0079], The integrated control plane function entity 106 includes a packet data network (packet data network, PDN) gateway control plane function (PDN gateway control plane function, PGW-C) in the 4G network and a session management function (session management function, SMF) in the 5G network. The integrated user plane function entity 108 includes a user plane function (user plane function, UPF) and a PDN gateway control plane function (PGW-U)).
Regarding claim 20,further comprising:
receiving from a control plane function, an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function (Chai, paragraph [0173], immediate reporting, when the 4G handover trigger is satisfied, the control plane function entity 106 sends the charging update message to the charging function entity 122 to report the network usage information of the 4G data connection. Generally, after receiving the network handover request, the control plane function entity 106 determines that the 4G handover trigger is satisfied. The 4G charging trigger
may be preconfigured in the control plane function entity 106, or may be a 4G charging trigger carried in the update message delivered by the charging function entity 122).
Regarding claim 40, wherein the second user plane function is further operative to receive, from a control plane function, an indication of whether a usage reporting rule is applicable for a charging action received from another user plane function (Chai, paragraph [0173], immediate reporting, when the 4G handover trigger is satisfied, the control plane function entity 106 sends the charging update message to the charging function entity 122 to report the network usage information of the 4G data connection. Generally, after receiving the network handover request, the control plane function entity 106 determines that the 4G handover trigger is satisfied. The 4G charging trigger may be preconfigured in the control plane function entity 106, or may be a 4G charging trigger carried in the update message delivered by the charging function entity 122. Also see paragraph [0086], After terminal access is handed over from the 4G network to the 5G network, a PDU session obtained after the handover is supported by the SMF in the control plane function entity 106 and the UPF in the integrated user plane function entity 108).
Regarding claim 42, wherein the first control plane function is further operative to send, to the user plane function (Chai, paragraph [0014], The control plane function entity sends a charging update message to the charging function entity through the SBI charging session. The charging update message includes network usage information of the 4G data connection and/or a quota request for the 5G data connection after the handover. Also see paragraph [0086], After terminal access is handed over from the 4G network to the 5G network, a PDU session obtained after the handover is supported by the SMF in the control plane function entity 106 and the UPF in the integrated user plane function entity 108), an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the session (Chai, paragraph [0014], the control plane function entity may charge, by using the SBI charging session established for the 4G data connection in the 4G network, network usage of the 5G data connection after the handover. In this way, there is no need to re-establish a charging session for the 5G data connection after the handover, thereby simplifying a network handover procedure. Also see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0079], The integrated control plane function entity 106 includes a packet data network (packet data network, PDN) gateway control plane function (PDN gateway control plane function, PGW-C) in the 4G network and a session management function (session management function, SMF) in the 5G network. The integrated user plane function entity 108 includes a user plane function (user plane function, UPF) and a PDN gateway control plane function (PGW-U)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shan by using the features, as taught by Chai, in order to simplify a procedure of charging online data and oflline data in the 4G data connection by using different charging sessions (see Chai, abstract).
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), in view of Chai, US 2022/0014632 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of March 7, 2020 corresponding to PCT/CN2020/078315; referred to as Chai hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Qiao et al., US 2023/0114188 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of December 29, 2020 related to provisional application 63/131,402; referred to as Qiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Shan and Chai disclose the method according claim 7 and the method according to claim 20.
Shan and Chai do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of:
a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request;
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function);
wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of an SGW-U (serving gateway user plane), a V-UPF (visited user plane function), or an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function); and
wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-U (packet data network user plane), an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function), an H-UPF (home user plane function).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of:
a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request; and
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function).
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Qiao discloses a method related to a base station communicating with a mix of wireless devices that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of:
a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel);
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function) (Qiao, paragraph [0223], In an example, in response to receiving the identity of the UPF, the second control plane function may send a CP-UP association request message to the UPF. For example, the SMF may send a PFCP association setup request message to the UPF requesting setup a PFCP association, the PFCP association setup request message may comprise one or more information element/parameters as described in FIG. 18. Also see paragraph [0209], In an example, the CP Function may receive PDN Connection Establishment Request/PDU Session Establishment Request from an SGW-C/AMF);
wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of an SGW-U (serving gateway user plane), a V-UPF (visited user plane function), or an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function); and
wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-U (packet data network user plane), an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function), an H-UPF (home user plane function) (Qiao, paragraph [0088], FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a core network architecture 500 in which a UE 501 is in a roaming scenario. In a roaming scenario, UE 501 is a subscriber of a first PLMN ( a home PLMN, or HPLMN) but attaches to a second PLMN (a visited PLMN, or VPLMN). Core network architecture 500 includes UE 501, an AN 502, a UPF 505, and a DN 508. The AN 502 and UPF 505 may be associated with a VPLMN. The VPLMN may manage the AN 502 and UPF 505 using core network elements associated with the VPLMN, including an AMF 512, an SMF 514, a PCF 520, an NRF 530, an NEF 540, and an NSSF 570. An AF 599 may be adjacent the core network of the VPLMN).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of:
a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel); and
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function) (Qiao, paragraph [0223], In an example, in response to receiving the identity of the UPF, the second control plane function may send a CP-UP association request message to the UPF. For example, the SMF may send a PFCP association setup request message to the UPF requesting setup a PFCP association, the PFCP association setup request message may comprise one or more information element/parameters as described in FIG. 18. Also see paragraph [0209], In an example, the CP Function may receive PDN Connection Establishment Request/PDU Session Establishment Request from an SGW-C/AMF).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shan and Chai by using the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to provide a method for wireless devices and/or base stations support multiple technologies, and/or multiple releases of the same technology (see Qiao, paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 9-10, 22-23, 25, 28-29 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAN, US 2018/0295659 A1 (Shan hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Qiao et al., US 2023/0114188 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of December 29, 2020 related to provisional application 63/131,402; referred to as Qiao hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 9-10, 22-23, 25, 28-29 and 38, Shan discloses the method according claim 1, the method according to claim 14, the method according to claim 27, and the second user plane function according to claim 37.
Shan does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 9, further comprising:
sending a supported feature of the first user plane function to a control plane function, wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function indicates that the first user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function is comprised in a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) association setup response or request;
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function);
wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of an SGW-U (serving gateway user plane), a V-UPF (visited user plane function), or an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function); and wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-U (packet data network user plane), an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function), an H-UPF (home user plane function).
Regarding claim 22, further comprising:
sending a supported feature of the second user plane function to a control plane function, wherein the supported feature of the second user plane function indicates that the second user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the supported feature of the second user plane function is comprised in a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) association setup response or request; and
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of:
a serving gateway user plane, SGW-U, a visited user plane function, V-UPF; or
an intermediate user plane function, I-UPF; and
wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of:
a packet data network user plane, PGW-U, an intermediate user plane function, I-UPF, a home user plane function, H-UPF, or an anchor user plane function, A-UPF.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the supported feature of the user plane function is comprised in a packet forwarding control protocol, PFCP, association setup response or request.
Regarding claim 29, further comprising:
sending, to the user plane function, an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the session; and
wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request.
Regarding claim 38, wherein the first user plane function is further operative to send a supported feature of the first user plane function to a control plane function, wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function indicates that the first user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Qiao discloses a method related to a base station communicating with a mix of wireless devices that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 9, further comprising:
sending a supported feature of the first user plane function to a control plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, a first control plane function may receive a first message from at least one user plane function (UPF), the first message may comprise a tunnel capability of the at least one UPF), wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function indicates that the first user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, the tunnel capability of the at least one UPF may comprise at least one of: supporting a L2TP tunnel version 2; supporting a L2TP tunnel version 3; supporting a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) tunnel; supporting an IP-in-IP tunnel; and/or supporting a GPRS tunnelling protocol (GTP) tunnel. Also see paragraph [0167], When targeting a particular PDU session, the PCF may indicate, to the SMF, a method for allocating an IP address to the PDU Session, a default charging method for the PDU session, an address of the corresponding charging entity, triggers for requesting new policies, etc. The PCF may also target a service data flow (SDF) comprising one or more PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function is comprised in a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) association setup response or request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel);
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function) (Qiao, paragraph [0223], In an example, in response to receiving the identity of the UPF, the second control plane function may send a CP-UP association request message to the UPF. For example, the SMF may send a PFCP association setup request message to the UPF requesting setup a PFCP association, the PFCP association setup request message may comprise one or more information element/parameters as described in FIG. 18. Also see paragraph [0209], In an example, the CP Function may receive PDN Connection Establishment Request/PDU Session Establishment Request from an SGW-C/AMF);
wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of an SGW-U (serving gateway user plane), a V-UPF (visited user plane function), or an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function); and wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-U (packet data network user plane), an I-UPF (intermediate user plane function), an H-UPF (home user plane function) (Qiao, paragraph [0088], FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a core network architecture 500 in which a UE 501 is in a roaming scenario. In a roaming scenario, UE 501 is a subscriber of a first PLMN ( a home PLMN, or HPLMN) but attaches to a second PLMN (a visited PLMN, or VPLMN). Core network architecture 500 includes UE 501, an AN 502, a UPF 505, and a DN 508. The AN 502 and UPF 505 may be associated with a VPLMN. The VPLMN may manage the AN 502 and UPF 505 using core network elements associated with the VPLMN, including an AMF 512, an SMF 514, a PCF 520, an NRF 530, an NEF 540, and an NSSF 570. An AF 599 may be adjacent the core network of the VPLMN).
Regarding claim 22, further comprising:
sending a supported feature of the second user plane function to a control plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, a first control plane function may receive a first message from at least one user plane function (UPF), the first message may comprise a tunnel capability of the at least one UPF), wherein the supported feature of the second user plane function indicates that the second user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, the tunnel capability of the at least one UPF may comprise at least one of: supporting a L2TP tunnel version 2; supporting a L2TP tunnel version 3; supporting a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) tunnel; supporting an IP-in-IP tunnel; and/or supporting a GPRS tunnelling protocol (GTP) tunnel. Also see paragraph [0167], When targeting a particular PDU session, the PCF may indicate, to the SMF, a method for allocating an IP address to the PDU Session, a default charging method for the PDU session, an address of the corresponding charging entity, triggers for requesting new policies, etc. The PCF may also target a service data flow (SDF) comprising one or more PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the supported feature of the second user plane function is comprised in a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) association setup response or request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel); and
wherein the control plane function comprises at least one of a PGW-C (packet data network control plane), an SGW-C (serving gateway control plane), or an SMF (session management function) (Qiao, paragraph [0223], In an example, in response to receiving the identity of the UPF, the second control plane function may send a CP-UP association request message to the UPF. For example, the SMF may send a PFCP association setup request message to the UPF requesting setup a PFCP association, the PFCP association setup request message may comprise one or more information element/parameters as described in FIG. 18. Also see paragraph [0209], In an example, the CP Function may receive PDN Connection Establishment Request/PDU Session Establishment Request from an SGW-C/AMF).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the first user plane function comprises at least one of:
a serving gateway user plane, SGW-U, a visited user plane function, V-UPF; or
an intermediate user plane function, I-UPF (Qiao, paragraph [0088], FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a core network architecture 500 in which a UE 501 is in a roaming scenario. In a roaming scenario, UE 501 is a subscriber of a first PLMN ( a home PLMN, or HPLMN) but attaches to a second PLMN (a visited PLMN, or VPLMN)); and
wherein the second user plane function comprises at least one of:
a packet data network user plane, PGW-U, an intermediate user plane function, I-UPF, a home user plane function, H-UPF, or an anchor user plane function, A-UPF (Qiao, paragraph [0088], Core network architecture 500 includes UE 501, an AN 502, a UPF 505, and a DN 508. The AN 502 and UPF 505 may be associated with a VPLMN. The VPLMN may manage the AN 502 and UPF 505 using core network elements associated with the VPLMN, including an AMF 512, an SMF 514, a PCF 520, an NRF 530, an NEF 540, and an NSSF 570. An AF 599 may be adjacent the core network of the VPLMN).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the supported feature of the user plane function is comprised in a packet forwarding control protocol, PFCP, association setup response or request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel).
Regarding claim 29, further comprising:
sending, to the user plane function, an indication for sending information regarding a charging action for a session to another user plane function after determining the charging action for the session (Qiao, paragraph [0207], In an example, the CP Function may send PFCP Association Setup Request to the UP Function. In an example, the UP Function may send PFCP Association Setup Response to the CP Function. Also see paragraph [0070], The CHF 380 may control billing-related tasks associated with UE 301. For example, UPF 305 may report traffic usage associated with UE 301 to SMF 314. The SMF 314 may collect usage data from UPF 305 and one or more other UPFs. The usage data may indicate how much data is exchanged, what DN the data is exchanged with, a network slice associated with the data, or any other information that may influence billing); and
wherein the indication is comprised in at least one of a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session establishment request, or a PFCP session modification request (Qiao, paragraph [0204], To instruct the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel towards the L2TP server, the CP function may take one or more actions. In an example action, the CP may provide instruction in the PFCP Session Establishment Request to request the UP Function to setup L2TP tunnel).
Regarding claim 38, wherein the first user plane function is further operative to send a supported feature of the first user plane function to a control plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, a first control plane function may receive a first message from at least one user plane function (UPF), the first message may comprise a tunnel capability of the at least one UPF), wherein the supported feature of the first user plane function indicates that the first user plane function supports sending and/or receiving information regarding a charging action for a session to and/or from another user plane function (Qiao, paragraph [0216], In an example, the tunnel capability of the at least one UPF may comprise at least one of: supporting a L2TP tunnel version 2; supporting a L2TP tunnel version 3; supporting a generic routing encapsulation (GRE) tunnel; supporting an IP-in-IP tunnel; and/or supporting a GPRS tunnelling protocol (GTP) tunnel. Also see paragraph [0167], When targeting a particular PDU session, the PCF may indicate, to the SMF, a method for allocating an IP address to the PDU Session, a default charging method for the PDU session, an address of the corresponding charging entity, triggers for requesting new policies, etc. The PCF may also target a service data flow (SDF) comprising one or more PDU sessions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shan by using the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to provide a method for wireless devices and/or base stations support multiple technologies, and/or multiple releases of the same technology (see Qiao, paragraph [0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 01/02/2026. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 14-15, 17, 20-23, 25, 27-29, 31, 33 and 37-42 are currently pending.
35 USC 112 (b) rejection on claims 27 and 41 is maintained, since no corrective action or persuasive arguments are provided to overcome the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed on 01/02/2026, with respect to the claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 14-15, 17, 20-23, 25, 27-29, 31 and 37-42 have been fully considered and they are found not to be persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, on page 4, last paragraph and page 5 first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that “In particular, Shan describes SGW and PGW nodes allocating resources for SGW and PGW nodes and sending indications that include charging rules. This is not the same as Applicant's sending information regarding a charging action for a first session from a first user plane function to a second user plane function”. This argument is not persuasive. The claim recites “determining a charging action for a first session; and sending information regarding the charging action for the first session to a second user plane function”. As noted in the office action Shan discloses an SGW (i.e., a first user plane function) that creates/determines a new entry in its EPS bearer table and sends a Create Session Request message comprising one or more charging actions, such as, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics etc., for a session (i.e., sending an information regarding the charging action for the first session) to the PGW (i.e., to the second user plane function) (see Shan, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0020] and [0067]).
On page 5, first paragraph of the remarks applicant further argues that, “Applicant's claimed arrangements are directed toward preventing overcharging and having the charges more accurately reflect the amount of data sent. In contrast, Shan is directed toward enabling operators to easily identify the subscriber, the application, and content in use, as well as the device, to enable personalized application-based service tiers and offerings that match subscriber preferences, such as tailored gaming, social networking, video streaming and other services. (Shan: paragraph [0233]). Shan simply never mentions over charging or any problems regarding it”. This argument is not persuasive. The features, such as, “preventing overcharging and having the charges more accurately reflect the amount of data sent” are not reflected into the claims. Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On the same paragraph applicant further argues that, “Rather, in cited paragraph [0067], Shan merely mentions that a create session request can include a PDN Charging Pause Support Indication and Charging Characteristics. However, Shan's PDN Charging Pause Support Indication merely indicates whether or not the SGW supports the Charge Pausing feature and the Charging Characteristics are never disclosed as containing information regarding a charging action determined for a first session that is send to a second UPF. A PDN Charging Pause Support Indication or Charging Characteristics do not indicate a charging action determined for a first session as recited in independent Claims 1, 14, 27, 37, 39 and 41”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The feature “charging action” is not specifically claimed which leaves it open to more than one interpretation under BRI. As noted above, one or more of the features, such as, SGW Address for the user plane, SGW TEID of the user plane, PDN Charging Pause Support indication, Selection Mode, Charging Characteristics etc., that is related to charging could be interpreted as a charging action.
On page 5 last paragraph and page 6, first paragraph of remarks argues that, “As such, Shan fails to disclose or suggest "determining a charging action for a first session; and sending information regarding the charging action for the first session to a second user plane function" as recited in independent Claims 1, 14, 27, 37, 39 and 41 . Applicant's sending of information regarding a charging action taken during a first session prevents overcharging in a second session. As a result of not suggesting or disclosing the claimed features, Shan does not provide these benefits. For at least these reasons, independent Claims 1, 14, 27, 37, 39 and 41 are allowable, and withdrawal of their rejections is respectfully requested”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1, 14, 27, 37, 39 and 41 are not in condition for allowance for the reasons as explained above.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the dependent claims, on pages 6-12 have been fully considered but they are found not to be persuasive since the independent claims stand rejected for the reasons as explained above. Thus, the dependent claims could not be allowed based on their dependency on a rejected base claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 02/23/2026