DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ Preliminary Amendment filed 8/8/2023 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l). The drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
The drawings do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. The drawings appear to be multi-generation copies. The lines and numbers are not all solid. Further, some of the smaller/finer elements are not clear due to the digitizing/blurriness of the elements (for reference of the objection see the published drawing quality of the Patent Application Publication No. US 20240109597).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a structural crossmember intended to connect the two longitudinal profiles”. This recitation is indefinite as the phrase “intended to” makes it unclear as to whether a second crossmember is required or is just optional (i.e. not a required component of the claimed motor vehicle.
Dependent claims 2-8 and 10 do not act to cure the deficiencies of parent claim 1 and are thereby rejected for at least the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogaert et al. (FR 2870197 – see IDS).
Regarding claim 1: Bogaert discloses a motor vehicle 14 comprising two longitudinal profiles 12 extending forward from a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle (Figs. 1-3; translation – pg. 7). Bogaert discloses a front face crossmember16 (Figs. 1-3; translation – pg. 7). Bogaert discloses that the front face crossmember comprises means 24 for temporarily supporting during assembly a structural crossmember intended to connect the two longitudinal profiles (Fig. 1-3; translation – pgs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 2: Bogaert discloses that the temporary support means comprise at least two hooks protruding forward (Fig. 1-3; translation – pgs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 3: Bogaert discloses that the front face crossmember is made of plastic and the temporary support means being integrally formed with said front face crossmember (Fig. 1-3; translation – pgs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4: Bogaert discloses that the temporary support means are configured to support a central portion of the structural crossmember (Fig. 1-3; translation – pgs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 9: Bogaert discloses a front face crossmember 16 for a motor vehicle 14 (Figs. 1-3; translation – pg. 7). Bogaert discloses a main longitudinal portion 12 with two opposite ends (Figs. 1-3; translation – pg. 7). Bogaert discloses fastening means 18 at the opposite ends of the main longitudinal (Figs. 1-3; translation – pg. 8). Bogaert discloses that the front face crossmember further comprises at least two hooks 24 on a front face of the main longitudinal portion (Fig. 1-3; translation – pgs. 7-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Motor vehicle front end design, including intermediate structures and various support structures (permanent and temporary) including methods of making and using are well known in the arts. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Bogaert et al. (FR 2870197 – see IDS), Magus et al. (FR 3094328 – see IDS), Kang et al. (US 20230143298), Maya et al. (US 20080018121), Fayt et al. (EP 1861283), and Schmidt et al. (US 7766402). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, a motor vehicle, longitudinal portions of a vehicle extending from a passenger compartment, front crossmembers, means for temporary support of a crossmember, supporting hooks, fastening means for the crossmember. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined structural components, operations, and method steps. Specifically, the art does not disclose bot a temporary crossmember and a structural crossmember where the temporary crossmember supports the structural crossmember prior to fastening the structural crossmember to the longitudinal portion of the vehicle. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships, steps, and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
10/10/2025