DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are subject to examination.
Priority
The claimed foreign priority in this application (EP 21305205.3 02/19/2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), is acknowledged.
The claimed priority of PCT in this application (PCT/EP2022/052965 02/08/2022) under 35 U.S.C. 371, is acknowledged.
Drawings
The figures submitted on the filing date of this application are acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment, paper dated 8/9/23 (claims) is acknowledged.
The title is objected to because the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The present title is well known in the art (please see cited arts), too broad and not sufficient for proper classification of the claimed subject matter. The title should also reflect claimed invention,
Creating a virtual channel upon authentication of a receiver, please refer to MPEP 606 for title contents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim 15 lacks the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category. They are, at best, functional descriptive material per se. Claim 15 merely claimed as a computer program, that is, descriptions or expressions of such a program and that is, descriptive material per se, non-functional descriptive material, and is not statutory because it is not a physical “thing” nor a statutory process, as there are not “acts” being performed. Such claimed computer programs do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other claimed aspects of the invention, which permit the computer program’s functionality to be realized. Since a computer program is merely a set of instructions capable of being executed by a computer, the program itself is not a process, without the computer-readable medium needed to realize the computer program’s functionality. In contrast, a claimed non transitory computer-readable medium encoded with a computer program defines structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and the medium which permit the computer program’s functionality to be realized, and is thus statutory. Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1760. In re Sarkar, 588 F.2d 1330, 1333, 200 USPQ 132, 137 (CCPA 1978). See MPEP § 2106(IV)(B)(1)(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mathur et al., 20210152643.
Referring to claim(s) 1, 8, Mathur discloses a method of exchanging data via a virtual charinel, wherein the method is executed at a communication platform for connecting at least one content provider to at least one content receiver, a data exchange system for creating a virtual channel, the system comprising: a content provider; at least one content receiver; and a communication platform for connecting the at least one content provider to at least one content receiver; characterised in that the communication platform is configured to create a virtual channel for transmitting data between a content provider and a content receiver
[0053] In some examples, each of the devices of the AR system 10 may include a supervisory processor (e.g., supervisory processor 224 and supervisory processor 226) in addition to the various processors that generate and/or consume application data. HMD 112 includes supervisory processor 224 to manage components of HMD 112, such as processors of SoCs of HMD 112. Peripheral device 136 includes supervisory processor 226 to manage components of peripheral device 136, such as processors of SoCs of peripheral device 136. Supervisory processor 224 and supervisory processor 226 may establish virtual channels for processors of HMD 112 to exchange data with processors of peripheral device 136. Supervisory processor 224 may utilize an encryption/decryption processor to establish a secure virtual channel between HMD 112 and peripheral device 136.
in response to the content receiver satisfying predefined authentication conditions of the content provider,
[0054] One operation of supervisory processor 224 and/or supervisory processor 226 is to manage wireless communications with another device of the AR system, for instance, by establishing a virtual channel to enable point-to-point wireless communications between devices within the AR system. It is appreciated that virtual channels can be implemented using different sets of features where each set of features includes an encryption policy, a security key-pair, a quality of service, etc. In one example, a source processor of one device requests a virtual channel from the supervisory processor..
[0037] virtual channels for wireless communications between multiple devices, such as peripheral device 136 operating as a co-processing AR device when operationally paired with one or more HMDs, e.g., HMD 112. Although the techniques described herein are described with respect to virtual channels for wireless communications between a peripheral device 136 and one or more HMDs, the techniques may apply to any devices that may be paired in AR system 10.
[0038] When peripheral device 136 and HMD 112 engage in wireless communications, components within peripheral device 136 and HMD 112 may provide virtual channels to provide wireless communications between pairs of processors executing in multiple devices. Each processor within each of peripheral device 136 and HMD 112 may require that each other of the processors be identified by a supervisory processor.
wherein the virtual channel specifies at least a part of ine data to transmit.
[0132] The wireless handler processes a wireless communication comprising a fragment of an application payload (1000). The wireless communication may be in the form of a data unit, such as a network packet, transmitted via a physical wireless link between a first device and a second device of artificial reality system 500. The data unit may partitioned into a header portion and a data portion in which the fragment is encapsulated. The header portion is arranged to store attributes describing the fragment of the application payload. The attributes in the header portion, which may also be known as header information, include (but not limited to) a source identifier, a destination identifier, a stream identifier, a (fragment) sequence number, etc. [0082] Both wireless handler 350A and wireless handler 350B implement a virtual channel communication protocol permitting the exchange of application data between the above-mentioned pairs of processors.
Referring to claim 2, 9, Mathur discloses wherein the virtual channel is created in response to a request for data from the content receiver.
[0054] In one example, a source processor of one device requests a virtual channel from the supervisory processor.
Referring to claim 4, 11, Mathur discloses wherein the communication platform comprises a plurality of rules, wherein the rules activate which authentication conditions are used to create the virtual channel (
[0006] The devices establish one or more virtual channels for wireless communications over a physical wireless channel (e.g., a frequency channel), by which pairs of these processors, each of the processors belonging to a separate one of the devices, may exchange application data. As such, each virtual channel enables point-to-point communication between individual processors located on different devices of the AR system. Virtual channels may be implemented using different sets of features, such as different encryption policies, security key-pairs, qualities of service, etc. The devices execute a virtual channel protocol that uses header information for wirelessly transmitted fragments to specify which features to apply and to identify a destination processor. Accordingly, each virtual channel may be independently encrypted/decrypted to provide secure communications between pairs of processors with reduced—and in some cases, minimal—copying of packetized data within each device of the AR system.
Referring to claim 5, 12, Mathur discloses wherein the authentication conditions comprise a combination of a content receiver connectivity identification with a content receiver identification
[0054] One operation of supervisory processor 224 and/or supervisory processor 226 is to manage wireless communications with another device of the AR system, for instance, by establishing a virtual channel to enable point-to-point wireless communications between devices within the AR system. It is appreciated that virtual channels can be implemented using different sets of features where each set of features includes an encryption policy, a security key-pair, a quality of service, etc. In one example, a source processor of one device requests a virtual channel from the supervisory processor, which (in turn) exchanges a stream identifier for the virtual channel with a supervisory processor of a destination processor of the other device. To manage wireless communications of the application data between the source processor and the destination processor, one or both supervisory processors may allocate a portion of shared memory within their respective device.
[0006] In some examples, each of the devices of the AR system may include one or more processors that generate and consume application data. The devices establish one or more virtual channels for wireless communications over a physical wireless channel (e.g., a frequency channel), by which pairs of these processors, each of the processors belonging to a separate one of the devices, may exchange application data. As such, each virtual channel enables point-to-point communication between individual processors located on different devices of the AR system. Virtual channels may be implemented using different sets of features, such as different encryption policies, security key-pairs, qualities of service, etc. The devices execute a virtual channel protocol that uses header information for wirelessly transmitted fragments to specify which features to apply and to identify a destination processor. Accordingly, each virtual channel may be independently encrypted/decrypted to provide secure communications between pairs of processors with reduced—and in some cases, minimal—copying of packetized data within each device of the AR system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marthur in view of Stoyanov et al., 20070244966.
Referring to claim 3, 10, Marthur does not disclose, which Stoyanov discloses wherein the virtual channel is closed after transmitting the data
[0070] For example, OnClose can then transfer the intention to close the dynamic virtual channel to client component 353 (act 310). Similarly, it may that client component 353 receives a channel close command for the dynamic virtual channel (act 311). OnClose can then transfer the intention to close the dynamic virtual channel to server component 351
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Marthur to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the closing of the channel. The closing would enable free us resources associated with the virtual channel for dynamic implementation, para 70.
Claim(s) 6, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marthur in view of CHO, KR 102007995 B1 2019.
Referring to claim 6, 13, Marthur does not disclose, which Cho discloses flight information and wherein the virtual channel specifies fares for the flight information to transmit (
a plurality of virtual multis for a ticket reservation request message of which a seat reservation probability 700 of the seats to be reserved by the ticket reservation request message included in the first priority exceeds a threshold value. By setting up a channel, multiple ticket reservation request messages can be delivered more quickly at the same time. The virtual multi-channel may be a channel for simultaneously processing a plurality of ticket reservation request messages through a plurality of virtual PCC value assignments by the ticket service server. The number of virtual multi-channels may be continuously changed according to the number of ticket reservation request messages whose seat reservation probability 700 exceeds a threshold. In this virtual multi-channel, when performing a search request, the ticket service server may be predetermined by collecting information on the remaining seats of the searched aircraft. That is, the number of ticket reservation request messages to be determined as the first priority during the threshold time is predicted in advance, and the number of the virtual multi-channels determined during the threshold time according to the prediction may be maintained. The determined number of virtual multi-channels may be the maximum value of the number of ticket reservation request messages to be determined as the first priority, 3rd last para, page 8,
The integrated flight reservation management server may search for a ticket meeting a condition based on the search request ticket search information included in the ticket search request message and the PCC information of the travel agency A. In this case, the integrated flight reservation management server may search flight schedules and search flight schedules based on flight schedules, baseline fare for each flight schedule, and travel agency A's rate calculation information (for example, A travel agency discount information and A travel agency fee information). The search fee information can be determined, last fifth para, page 3,
The integrated flight reservation management server may transmit a ticket search result message including the search flight schedule and the search fare information to the ticket service server (step S230). The ticket service server may transmit the flight schedule and the search fare information to the user device of the travel agency A customer (step S240), 4th last para, page 3,
The user device of the travel agency A customer may receive a ticket search result message, select a desired ticket, and send a ticket reservation request message including information on the selected flight schedule and the selected fare to the ticket service server to request a ticket reservation ( Step S250), 3th last para, page 3,
The integrated flight reservation management server and the plurality of travel agency-specific pricing information may be linked to each other, so that a plurality of travel agency-specific airfares may be delivered to customers of each of the plurality of travel agencies. For example, if a customer of travel agency A sends a ticket search request message that includes travel agency identification information such as pseudo city code (PCC) information, the integrated airline reservation management server identifies travel agency A based on travel agency A's PCC. Then, the search fare information according to the search flight schedule and the search flight schedule may be determined based on the fare calculation information of the travel agency A (for example, A travel agency discount information and A travel agency fee information) (step S330), last para, page 3,
In more detail, the customer 400 of the travel agency A may be provided with information about an departure schedule / return schedule, a time required, a stopover, flight information, a fare rule, a total fare, a detailed fare, etc. for each airline through the user device, 6th para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Marthur to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the virtual channel with fares for the flight information. The virtual channel would enable communicating the flight information among devices for making the flight ticket reservation for travel, which include the schedule, fare rules, total fare and discount, 3rd last para, page 8.
Claim(s) 7, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marthur in view of CHO amd DONOGHUE et al., 20190014368.
Referring to claim 7, Marthur and CHO does not disclose, which DONOGHUE discloses a rule engine and wherein the rule engine generates keywords as authentication conditions (
[0330] Another rule implemented by the rules engine may comprise providing a virtual channel (a VPMC) of recommended content only to certain classes of subscribers (e.g., those at a premium level of service, or subscribers who have “opted-in” to receiving the channel), those in a particular geographic or network service area, those requesting at a particular time of day or day of the week, etc.
[0327] In another aspect of the invention, the aforementioned recommendation engine 601 (rendered as one or more computer programs disposed on e.g., the server 700 and/or the CPE 106) includes a so-called “rules” engine. These rules may be fully integrated within various entities associated with the present invention, or may be associated with the recommendation engine 601 itself, and controlled via e.g., the aforementioned interfaces 470. In effect, the rules engine comprises a supervisory entity which monitors and selectively controls the content recommendation functions at a higher level, so as to implement desired operational or business rules. The rules engine can be considered an overlay of sorts to the recommendation and playlist/EPG population algorithms. For example, the recommendation engine 601 may make certain recommendations or playlist collections based on the user profile(s) of interest and the metadata associated with particular content elements. However, these recommendations may not always be compatible with higher-level business or operational goals, such as maximizing profit/revenue, best use of network resources, or system reliability. Hence, when imposed, the business/operational rules can be used to dynamically and transparently (or manually) control the operation of the recommendation engine 601. The rules may be, e.g., operational or business-oriented in nature, or related to preservation of security, and may also be applied selectively in terms of time of day, duration, specific local areas, or even at the individual premises or user level.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Marthur to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing rule engine for creating conditions. The conditions would enable verifying data associated with authentication. This would enable deciding whether the user is an authorized user or not for secure access to the content, para 327.
Conclusion
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496
March 31, 2025