DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10, 12, 14, 17, 19, 21, 24, 27-28, and 30-34 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 28, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10, 12, 14, 17, 19, 21, 27-28, and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al. (US 20210408476 A1), hereinafter Choi, in view of Hamer et. al. (US 20210159462 A1), hereinafter Hamer.
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a light-emitting substrate (Fig 1 display substrate 10, [0051]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting devices (Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) arranged in an array (Fig 1), wherein each light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) comprises: a first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]); a first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) on the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]); a second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) on a side of the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) away from the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]); a third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) on a side of the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) away from the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]); a fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) on a side of the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) away from the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]); and a second electrode (Fig 9 cathode CE, [0107]) on a side of the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) away from the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]), wherein three light-emitting layers (Fig 9 three of light emitting layers EML) of the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light- emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emit light of a first wavelength (blue, [0147]), a remaining light-emitting layer (Fig 9 remaining light emitting layer of light emitting layers EML) of the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) except the three light-emitting layers (Fig 9 three of light emitting layers EML) emits light of a second wavelength (green, [0147]), and the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) is smaller (blue wavelength is smaller than green wavelength) than the second wavelength (green, [0147]).
Choi fails to teach the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) and the second wavelength (green, [0147]) satisfy the following formula:
2
n
L
λ
1
-
2
n
L
λ
2
=
1
wherein a plurality of layers are arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, n is an effective refractive index of the plurality of layers, L is a first distance between the first electrode and the second electrode, λ1 is the first wavelength, and λ2 is the second wavelength.
However, Hamer teaches optical distance for microcavities is the product of the physical distance and the refractive index, which are dependent on the wavelengths involved ([0045]). Further, Hamer teaches the microcavity will have similar refractive indexes and physical distances ([0045]). The wavelengths are therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the first and second wavelengths as Hamer has identified the wavelengths as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at wavelengths that meet the relationship of the equation, in order to achieve the desired balance between the distances and types of materials used for the light emitting substrate and the wavelengths of the light emitting substrate, as taught by Hamer. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed relationship is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed relationship).
Regarding claim 2, Choi as modified in claim 1 teaches a ratio of the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) to the second wavelength (green, [0147]) is in a range of 0.82~0.84 (blue has a range of 440nm-480nm; green has a range of 510nm-550nm).
Regarding claim 4, Choi as modified in claim 1 fails to teach the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) satisfies the following formula:
∑
1
M
n
i
d
i
=
λ
1
2
wherein M layers are arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, ni is an effective refractive index of a ith layer in the M layers, di is a thickness of the ith layer in the M layers, 1<i<M and i is a positive integer.
However, Hamer teaches microcavity needs to be large enough to accommodate multiple antinodes so that the needed light emitting layers can be spaced to maximize intensity ([0050]). Further, Hamer teaches a factor in microcavity size is the thickness of the light emitting layers ([ 0049]). The layer thickness and number of layers are therefore result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the layer thickness and number of layers as Hamer has identified the wavelengths as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at thicknesses and numbers that meet the relationship of the equation, in order to achieve the desired balance between size of the microcavity and the intensity of the light emitting device, as taught by Hamer. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed relationship is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed relationship).
Regarding claim 5, Choi as modified in claim 1 teaches the light (blue, [0147]) of the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) emitted by the three light-emitting layers (Fig 9 three of light emitting layers EML), and the light (green, [0147]) of the second wavelength (green, [0147]) emitted by the remaining light-emitting layer (Fig 9 remaining light emitting layer of light emitting layers EML).
However, Hamer teaches the light of the first wavelength emitted by the three light-emitting layers (Fig 8 light emitting layer 101, 94, 68 corresponds to Choi: Fig 9 three of light emitting layers EML) forms a first standing wave (standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]) in the light-emitting device (Fig 8 microcavity device 400, [0097] corresponds to Choi: Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA), and the light (green, [0147]) of the second wavelength (green, [0147]) emitted by the remaining light-emitting layer (Fig 9 remaining light emitting layer of light emitting layers EML) forms a second standing wave (standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case green, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]) in the light-emitting device (Fig 8 microcavity device 400, [0097] corresponds to Choi: Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi to incorporate the teachings of Hamer by placing the light emitting layers such that a microcavity is formed and standing waves for different wavelengths are created. This would increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, wherein the first light-emitting layer is at a second antinode of the first standing wave, the second light-emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the third light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the first standing wave, and the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the second standing wave.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, wherein the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a second antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the third light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) is at a fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at the fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the second standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case green, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), and the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, the first light-emitting layer is at a second antinode of the second standing wave, the second light-emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the third light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the first standing wave, and the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fifth antinode of the first standing wave.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a second antinode of the second standing wave (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the second standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case green, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the third light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) is at a fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at a fifth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light- emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, the first light-emitting layer is at a second antinode of the first standing wave, the second light-emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fifth antinode of the first standing wave, and a distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is greater than or equal to 100 nm, the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a second antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at a fifth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Choi and Hamer fail to teach a distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm. However, Hamer teaches spacing of the light-emitting layers within the microcavity as well as the size of the microcavity is important to maximize efficiency ([0069]). Further, Hamer teaches the hole transport layers can be used to adjust the thicknesses ([0069]). The distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave as Hamer has identified the distance as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between the spacing between layers and the efficiency of the light emitting device, as taught by Hamer. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed distance is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed distance).
Regarding claim 14, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein, the first light-emitting layer is at a first antinode of the first standing wave, the second light- emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the third light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the first standing wave, and the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the second standing wave.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein, the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a first antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light- emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the third light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) is at a fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at the fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the second standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case green, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light- emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein the first light-emitting layer is at a first antinode of the first standing wave, the second light- emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fifth antinode of the first standing wave, and a distance between the third light-emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a first antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light- emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at a fifth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Choi and Hamer fail to teach a distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm. However, Hamer teaches spacing of the light-emitting layers within the microcavity as well as the size of the microcavity is important to maximize efficiency ([0069]). Further, Hamer teaches the hole transport layers can be used to adjust the thicknesses ([0069]). The distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave as Hamer has identified the distance as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a distance between the third light- emitting layer and the third antinode of the second standing wave is 10~30 nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between the spacing between layers and the efficiency of the light emitting device, as taught by Hamer. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed distance is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed distance).
Regarding claim 19, Choi as modified in claim 5 teaches the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) emits green light (green, [0147]), and the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) emit blue light (blue, [0147]), the surface (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1) of the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) facing the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is taken as a reference plane (Fig 9 surface of anode AE facing light emitting layer EML1).
Choi fails to teach a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light- emitting laver and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein the first light-emitting layer is at a first antinode of the second standing wave, the second light-emitting layer is at a third antinode of the first standing wave, the third light-emitting layer is at a fourth antinode of the first standing wave, and the fourth light-emitting layer is at a fifth antinode of the first standing wave.
However, Hamer teaches anti-nodes increase the intensity of emitted light to increase the efficiency of the light emitting device ([0044]). Further, Hamer teaches anti-nodes occur at odd multiples of quarter wavelengths for specific colors within microcavities ([0044]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Choi by incorporating the teaches of Hamar to improve the efficiency of the light emitting device by placing light-emitting layers at antinode locations ([0044]). In doing so a second distance between a surface of the first electrode facing the first light-emitting layer and a light-emitting center of the first light-emitting layer is less than 100 nm, wherein, the first light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) is at a first antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the second standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case green, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the second light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) is at a third antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), the third light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) is at a fourth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]), and the fourth light-emitting layer (Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) is at a fifth antinode (Hamer: See annotated figure) of the first standing wave (Hamer: standing waves with antinodes are created in a microcavity dependent on wavelength, in this case blue, [0044]; standing waves of different wavelengths are at different locations, [0044]).
Regarding claim 21, Choi as modified in claim 5 fails to teach the first distance is 500~550 nm, and the first distance is equal to 5 times a distance between two adjacent antinodes of the first standing wave or 4 times a distance between two adjacent antinodes of the second standing wave.
However, Hamer teaches the thickness of the microcavity (first distance between the first and second electrode) has an effect on the emitted light and a multimodal cavity cannot optimize for each color individually ([0104]). Further, Hamer teaches it is necessary to determine the appropriate cavity length where the peaks are intensified for desired color ranges ([0107]). In addition, Hamer teaches a microcavity with a thickness of 695 nm showing 6 high intensity peaks for blue light (first standing wave with 5 distances between two adjacent antinodes) and 5 high intensity peaks for green light (second standing wave with 4 distances between two adjacent antinodes) based on a set of parameters for refractive index and wavelengths (Fig 2, [0044]-[0047]). The first distance between the first electrode and the second electrode is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the distance between the first and second electrodes as Hamer has identified the distance as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a first distance between the first electrode and the second electrode being 500~550 nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between the intensification of color peaks for the different color ranges, as taught by Hamer. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed distance is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed distance).
In doing so, the first distance would equal to 5 times a distance between two adjacent antinodes of the first standing wave or 4 times a distance between two adjacent antinodes of the second standing wave.
Regarding claim 27, Choi as modified in claim 1 teaches each light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) further comprises a first charge generation layer (Fig 9 charge generation layer CGL1, [0109]) between (Fig 9) the first light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML1, [0147]) and the second light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]), a second charge generation layer (Fig 9 charge generation layer CGL2, [0109]) between (Fig 9) the second light- emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML2, [0147]) and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]), and a third charge generation layer (Fig 9 charge generation layer CGL3, [0144]) between (Fig 9) the third light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML4, [0147]) and the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]), wherein the light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) is an organic light-emitting diode (organic light emitting diode, [0051]).
Regarding claim 28, Choi as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a fifth light-emitting layer between the fourth light-emitting layer and the second electrode, wherein the fifth light-emitting layer emits the light of the first wavelength or the light of the second wavelength.
However, Hamer teaches a fifth light-emitting layer (Fig 7 light emitting layer 84, [0095]) between the fourth light-emitting layer (Fig 7 light-emitting layer 76, [0095] corresponds to Choi: Fig 9 light emitting layer EML3, [0147]) and the second electrode (Fig 7 second electrode 90, [0060] corresponds to Choi: Fig 9 cathode CE, [0107]), wherein the fifth light-emitting layer (Fig 7 light emitting layer 84, [0095]) emits the light of the first wavelength (blue, [0060] corresponds to Choi: (blue, [0147]) or the light of the second wavelength (optional so not considered).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi to incorporate the teachings of Hamer by having a fifth light emitting layer. This would increase the intensity of the desired wavelength of light ([0021]).
Regarding claim 30, Choi teaches a display panel (Fig 1 display device 1, [0048]) comprising the light-emitting substrate (Fig 1 display substrate 10, [0051]) according to claim 1 and a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) arranged in an array (Fig 1 devices in Q1 are in an array), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 1 and 4 devices in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) is provided with the light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA).
Regarding claim 31, Choi teaches a wavelength conversion layer (Fig 7 color conversion substrate 30, [0051]) on a side (Fig 7) of the second electrode (Fig 7 cathode CE, [0154]) away from (Fig 7) the first electrode (Fig 7 anode AE, [0095]), wherein, the wavelength conversion layer (Fig 7 color conversion substrate 30, [0051]) comprises a plurality of first wavelength conversion patterns (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 340, [0170]) and a plurality of second wavelength conversion patterns (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 350, [0170]), the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA, [0092]) comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA1, [0092]), a plurality of second sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA2, [0092]) and a plurality of third sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA3, [0092]), each of the plurality of first sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA1, [0092]) is provided with a first wavelength conversion pattern (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 340, [0170]), the first wavelength conversion pattern (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 340, [0170]) is configured ([0308]) to convert the light of the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) and the light of the second wavelength (green, [0147]) emitted by the light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) in the first sub-pixel (Fig 7 light emitting region LA1, [0092]) into light of a third wavelength (red, [0308]), and, each of the plurality of second sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA2, [0092]) is provided with a second wavelength conversion pattern (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 350, [0170]), the second wavelength conversion pattern (Fig 7 wavelength conversion patterns 350, [0170]) is configured ([0334]) to convert the light of the first wavelength (blue, [0147]) emitted by the light-emitting device (Fig 1 and 4 single device in part Q1 corresponding to light emitting region LA) in the second sub-pixel (Fig 7 light emitting region LA2, [0092]) into the light of the second wavelength (green, [0147]).
Regarding claim 32, Chi teaches a material of the wavelength conversion layer (Fig 7 color conversion substrate 30, [0051]) comprises quantum dots (quantum dots, [0312]).
Regarding claim 33, Choi teaches a color filter (Fig 7 layer with color filter 231, color filter 233, [0100]; color filter 235, [0264]) on a side of the wavelength conversion layer (Fig 7 color conversion substrate 30, [0051]) away from (Fig 7) the first electrode (Fig 7 anode AE, [0095]), wherein the color filter (Fig 7 layer with color filter 231, color filter 233,[ 0100]; color filter 235, [0264]) comprises a plurality of first color filters (Fig 7 color filter 231, [0100]), a plurality of second color filters (Fig 7 color filter 233, [0100]) and a plurality of third color filters (Fig 7 color filter 235, [0264]), each of the plurality of first sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA1, [0092]) is provided with a first color filter (Fig 7 color filter 231, [0100]), the first color filter (Fig 7 color filter 231, [0100]) is configured ([0278]) to allow transmission of the light of the third wavelength (red, [0238]); each of the plurality of second sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA2, [0092]) is provided with a second color filter (Fig 7 color filter 233, [0100]), the second color filter (Fig 7 color filter 233, [0100]) is configured ([0280]) to allow transmission of the light of the second wavelength (green, [0280]); and each of the plurality of third sub-pixels (Fig 7 light emitting region LA3, [0092]) is provided with a third color filter(Fig 7 color filter 235, [0264]), the third color filter (Fig 7 color filter 235, [0264]) is configured to allow transmission ([0266]) of the light of the first wavelength (blue, [0147]).
Regarding claim 34, Choi teaches a display device (Fig 1 display device 1, [0048]) comprising: the light-emitting substrate (Fig 1 display substrate 10, [0051]) according claim 1; a driving circuit (Fig 7 transistors T1-T3, [0092]) electrically connected (Fig 7) to the light-emitting substrate (Fig 7 display substrate 10, [0051]) and configured to provide a driving signal (signal lines, not shown, [0093]) to the display device (Fig 1 display device 1, [0048]); and a power supply circuit (power lines must come from power supply circuit, not shown, [0093]) electrically connected to the light-emitting substrate (Fig 7 display substrate 10, [0051]) and configured to provide a voltage signal (power is needed to drive the light emitting elements, [0093]) to the display device (Fig 1 display device 1, [0048]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et. al. (US 20210408476 A1), hereinafter Choi, in view of Li et. al. (US 20180358578 A1), hereinafter Li, in further view of Wang et. al. (US 20200066942 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Choi as modified in claim 1 teaches the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) is an anode (anode AE1, [0107]) and the second electrode (Fig 9 cathode CE, [0107]) is a cathode (cathode CE, [0107]), and the first electrode (Fig 9 anode AE1, [0107]) is reflective (reflective, [0097]) and the second electrode (Fig 9 cathode CE, [0107]) is transmissive (translucency; allows light to pass, [0105]) and reflective (translucency; reflects some light, [0105]).
Choi fails to teach a full width at half maximum of both the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength satisfies the following formula:
F
W
H
M
=
λ
2
2
L
(
1
-
x
2
)
2
L
x
π
,
x
=
f
(
R
1
,
R
2
)
wherein λ is the first wavelength or the second wavelength, R1 is a reflectivity of the second electrode, R2 is a reflectivity of the first electrode, x is a function of R1 and R2 and
x
=
(
R
1
R
2
)
1
4
However, Li teaches a formula for calculating the full width at half maximum of a microcavity structure using the first wavelength or the second wavelength, distance between the first electrode and the second electrode, a reflectivity of the second electrode, and a reflectivity of the first electrode (Formula 2, [0048]- [0049]). Wang teaches a similar formula for calculating the full width at half maximum of a microcavity structure using the first wavelength or the second wavelength, distance between the first electrode and the second electrode, a reflectivity of the second electrode, and a reflectivity of the first electrode (Formula 3, [0046]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that a formula similar to Li or Wang would be used to calculate the full width at half maximum of the microcavity of Choi. In modifying Choi, the limitation of the formula would necessarily be present. MPEP 2112 (II)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section beginning on page 12, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the amendment to claim 1 and the combination of Choi and Hamer have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner clarifies the teachings of Hamer would be applied to the structure of Choi. Hamer discloses that there is a first desirable range for the microcavity length ([0106]), which is partially shown in Table A. However, there is a second desirable range for the microcavity length ([0106]). Using the second range places approaches the equation in amended claim 1. The wavelengths of the colors disclosed by Hamer in Table A is not inclusive, as Hamer discloses more wavelengths for blue and green in different embodiments. As outlined in the rejection for claim 1, the parameters of the equation would be optimized to arrive at the relationship described in the equation of the amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813