DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11, 13-14 of U.S. Application No. 18264856 filed on 08/09/2023 are presented for examination. Claims 2, 7, 10, 12 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfermann et al. (US 7705495; Hereinafter, “Alfermann”) in view of Cullen et al. (US 2008/0197724; Hereinafter, “Cullen”).
Regarding claim 1: Alfermann discloses a stator (14) comprising: a stator hub (core 20); a plurality of stator teeth (24) extending from the stator hub (20) that define a stator slot (the space between teeth 24); at least one winding (28) disposed in the stator slot (fig. 1-4), the winding (28) including at least one winding cooling passage (37) formed therein (fig. 4); wherein the winding (28) is encased in a potting material (coil 28 is impregnated with epoxy resin 30 including first layer 36 and second layer 41; column 2, lines 35-40, and column 3, lines 44-64) and the winding cooling passage (37) passes through the potting material (fig. 4): wherein the winding cooling passage (37) is connected to an inlet plenum (where passage 50 meets passage 37 as seen in fig. 5).
Alfermann does not specifically show an outlet plenum.
Cullen discloses cooling passage connected to an inlet plenum (56; fig. 13) and an outlet plenum (58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stator of Alfermann with the cooling passage connected to an outlet plenum as disclosed by Cullen to provide a way for the coolant return ensuring continuous thus reliable cooling circuit.
Regarding claim 4/1: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Alfermann further discloses that the at least one winding includes a plurality of windings (plurality of windings are seen in fig. 2) and the stator (14) further includes: one or more winding separators (annotated fig. 4 below) formed of insulating material (epoxy resin 41) and disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of windings (28).
Regarding claim 5/4/1: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 4 and Alfermann further discloses that the one or more winding separators (one separator in each slot as seen in fig. 2) include cooling passages formed therein (annotated fig. 4 above, and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6/1: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Cullen further discloses that the at least one winding (12) includes a plurality of winding cooling passages (within the ceramic insert 48) formed therein (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8/1: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Alfermann further discloses that the at least one winding cooling passage (37) is configured to convey a coolant (oil 40) through the winding (28).
Regarding claim 9: Alfermann discloses a stator (14) comprising: a stator hub (20); a plurality of stator teeth (24) extending from stator hub (20) to define a plurality of stator slots (between each two teeth 24); a plurality of windings (28) with at least one winding (28) disposed in each stator slot (fig. 4); and at least one winding separator (annotated fig. 4 below) disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of windings (28), the at least one winding separator including at least one cooling passage (37) formed therein and configured to convey a coolant (oil 40) through the winding separator (col. 4, lines 9-28);
wherein the cooling passage (37) is connected to an inlet plenum (seen in fig. 5 where passage 50 meet with passage 37); wherein the plurality of windings (28; fig. 2) including at least one winding cooling passage (37; fig. 4) formed therein wherein the winding (28) is encased in a potting material (coil 28 is impregnated with epoxy resin 30 including first layer 36 and second layer 41; column 2, lines 35-40, and column 3, lines 44-64) and the winding cooling passage (37) passes through the potting material (36; fig. 4).
Alfermann does not specifically show an outlet plenum.
Cullen discloses cooling passage connected to an inlet plenum (56; fig. 13) and an outlet plenum (58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stator of Alfermann with the cooling passage connected to an outlet plenum as disclosed by Cullen to provide a way for the coolant return ensuring continuous thus reliable cooling circuit.
Regarding claim 13/9: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 9 and Cullen further discloses that the at least one of the plurality of windings (12) includes a plurality of winding cooling passages (within 48; fig. 10) formed therein.
Claims 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfermann in view of Cullen and in further view of Pyrhonen et al. (US 2013/0285487; Hereinafter, “Pyrhonen”).
Regarding claim 3/1: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 1 and but does not disclose the winding is formed of Litz wire.
Pyrhonen teaches forming the windings of litz wire (para [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the windings of the stator of Alfermann in view of Cullen with of litz wire as taught by Pyrhonen since litz wires are more compact thus has higher slot fill ratio.
Regarding claim 11/9: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 9 and but does not disclose the winding is formed of Litz wire.
Pyrhonen teaches forming the windings of litz wire (para [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the windings of the stator of Alfermann in view of Cullen with of litz wire as taught by Pyrhonen since litz wires are more compact thus has higher slot fill ratio.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cullen in view of Hassett et al. (US 2008/0023177; Hereinafter, “Hassett”).
Regarding claim 14/13/9: Alfermann in view of Cullen discloses the limitations of claim 13 and but does not disclose at least one heat pipe inserted into at least one winding.
Hassett discloses at least one heat pipe (20; para [0031]) inserted into at least one winding (18; para [0031], and fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the stator of Alfermann in view of Cullen with at least one heat pipe inserted into at least one winding as taught by Hassett since heat pipes offers enhanced heat transfer efficiency, reduced thermal resistance, and improved reliability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834