DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 13-15 in the reply filed on October 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 10, 2025.
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-15
Withdrawn claims:
7-12
Claims currently under consideration:
1-6, 13-15
Currently rejected claims:
1-6, 13-15
Allowed claims:
None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-6, 13-15, “flavour” should be “flavor”;
In claims 1, 6, and 13-15, “Fucus serratus” should be “Fucus serratus”.
In claim 2, the acronyms “AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP” should be provided in the non-abbreviated form the first occurrence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
Step 2A, Prong One, asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite a flavor composition comprising a seaweed concentrate or product derived therefrom, wherein the seaweed concentrate or product derived therefrom contains a concentrate from Fucus serratus. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, the flavor composition and product only comprise a concentrate from Fucus serratus and compounds that are naturally found in Fucus serratus with no additional compounds. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, the claims do not recite any additional elements beyond those that are naturally present in Fucus serratus. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
The analysis must then move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, there are no additional elements in the claims beyond those found naturally occurring in Fucus serratus. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Therefore, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein glutamate and at least two of AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP are derived from a seaweed”. This recitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if flavor composition comprises glutamate and at least two of AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP or if those are byproducts of the claimed product. For the purposes of examination, it is presumed that the claim recites “wherein the composition further contains glutamate and at least two of AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP”.
Claim 15 is rejected due to dependency on claim 14.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2173.05(d).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the flavor composition is a seaweed concentrate or product derived therefrom”. This recitation fails to further limit claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends. Claim 1 already recites that the flavor composition is a seaweed concentrate or product derived therefrom.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the seaweed concentrate is a concentrate from Fucus serratus”. This recitation fails to further limit claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends. Claim 1 already recites that the seaweed concentrate contains a concentrate from Fucus serratus.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Catarino (Catarino, Marcelo D., et al. “Phycochemical Constituents and Biological Activities of Fucus spp.”, Marine Drugs, Vol. 16, 249, published July 27, 2018 [accessed online October 8, 2025]).
Regarding claim 1, Catarino teaches of using Fucus seaweeds as functional ingredients in enhanced food (Abstract), including F. serratus (p. 2, ¶ 2). Although Catarino does not explicitly teach a concentrate or product derived therefrom of Fucus serratus, the Fucus serratus as taught by Catarino would not be patentably distinct from a concentrate or product derived from Fucus serratus. Thus, Catarino teaches the claimed composition.
Regarding claims 2-4, although Catarino does not teach the composition comprising glutamate or AMP, CMP, GMP, or UMP, these compositions would necessarily be present in the claimed composition. Evidence to support that glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP are necessarily present is provided by the instant specification. The instant specification teaches that glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP are all obtained from Fucus serratus (p. 5, lines 28-30). Thus, the concentrate of Fucus serratus made obvious by Catarino would necessarily comprise glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP.
Claims 5 and 6 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 as described above. Thus, claims 5 and 6 are rendered obvious by Catarino for the reasons described above in claim 1.
Claim 13 is a product-by-process claims. MPEP §2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.”
Claim 13 recites “a concentrate from Fucus serratus prepared by the process of claim 7”. The structure imparted by the process recited in claim 7 a Fucus serratus concentrate that comprises water.
Regarding claim 13, Catarino teaches of using Fucus seaweeds as functional ingredients in enhanced food (Abstract), including F. serratus (p. 2, ¶ 2). Although Catarino does not explicitly teach a concentrate or product derived therefrom of Fucus serratus, the Fucus serratus as taught by Catarino would not be patentably distinct from a concentrate or product derived from Fucus serratus. Thus, Catarino teaches the claimed composition.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, although the cited prior art does not teach the composition comprising glutamate or AMP, CMP, GMP, or UMP derived from a seaweed, these compositions would necessarily be present in the claimed composition. Evidence to support that glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP are necessarily present is provided by the instant specification. The instant specification teaches that glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP are all obtained from Fucus serratus (p. 5, lines 28-30). Thus, the concentrate of Fucus serratus made obvious by Catarino would necessarily comprise glutamate, AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-4, 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12185742 (hereinafter ‘742).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and ‘742 are both directed to a flavor composition containing a seaweed concentrate or product derived from the seaweed concentrate comprising glutamate and at least two of AMP, CMP, GMP, and UMP. Because ‘742 is broader than the instant application, the instant application is obvious in view of ‘742.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793