DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 4, 2023 and January 5, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami (WO2019/048985; English equivalent US Pub. No. 2020/0388888 relied upon) in view of Tajima (WO2019/207399; English equivalent US Pub. No. 2021/0116511 relied upon).
Regarding claim 2, Mikami teaches a storage battery system comprising a storage battery 135 or 500 (claimed secondary battery) (paragraph [0157] and [0171]), the storage battery comprising an exterior body 509 holding an electrolyte solution 508, a positive electrode 503 and a negative electrode 506 (paragraph [0171]), a sensor element 174 (claimed sensor member) provided to be in contact with part of the exterior body, and a circuit 182 (taken to be the claimed detection circuit) electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [0144]), wherein the battery comprises a memory 132 (paragraph [0084]), the sensor can detect abnormal expansion, such being caused by gas expansion (paragraph [0144]), a learning model is constructed on the basis of the sensor data, an estimated value is obtained using the learning model, and a unit provides information based on the estimated value (paragraphs [0067]-[0086] and [0137]-[0146]). Mikami does not specifically disclose a first secondary battery storing data based on an expansion amount of a second secondary battery. Tajima teaches in a state-of-charge estimation system for an electricity storage device, a neural network unit 23 is created using data of a secondary cell 10 (claimed second secondary battery) for learning, and data of a secondary cell 20 (claimed first secondary battery) is inputted to the trained neural network 23 that was created. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a learning model based on data from a second secondary battery to a first secondary battery as taught by Tajima in the battery system of Mikami in order to have a system that determines state of charge with high accuracy (see Tajima tat paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Mikami teaches that the electrolyte solution preferably comprises an organic solvent (paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claim 12, Mikami teaches that the sensor can be formed of a polymer film (paragraphs [0076] and [0083]).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 May 4, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749