DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami (WO2019/048985; English equivalent US Pub. No. 2020/0388888 relied upon) in view of Tajima (WO2019/207399; English equivalent US Pub. No. 2021/0116511 relied upon) and Tajitsu (WO2016/175321; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 2, Mikami teaches a storage battery system comprising a storage battery 135 or 500 (claimed secondary battery) (paragraph [0157] and [0171]), the storage battery comprising an exterior body 509 holding an electrolyte solution 508, a positive electrode 503 and a negative electrode 506 (paragraph [0171]), a sensor element 174 (claimed sensor member) provided to be in contact with part of the exterior body, where the sensor element can be a piezoelectric element (paragraphs [0082]-[0083]), and a circuit 182 (taken to be the claimed detection circuit) electrically connected to the sensor (paragraph [0144]), wherein the battery comprises a memory 132 (paragraph [0084]), the sensor can detect abnormal expansion, such being caused by gas expansion (paragraph [0144]), a learning model is constructed on the basis of the sensor data, an estimated value is obtained using the learning model, and a unit provides information based on the estimated value (paragraphs [0067]-[0086] and [0137]-[0146]). Mikami does not specifically disclose a first secondary battery storing data based on an expansion amount of a second secondary battery. Tajima teaches in a state-of-charge estimation system for an electricity storage device, a neural network unit 23 is created using data of a secondary cell 10 (claimed second secondary battery) for learning, and data of a secondary cell 20 (claimed first secondary battery) is inputted to the trained neural network 23 that was created. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a learning model based on data from a second secondary battery to a first secondary battery as taught by Tajima in the battery system of Mikami in order to have a system that determines state of charge with high accuracy (see Tajima tat paragraph [0022]). Mikami does not specifically disclose that the piezoelectric sensor element is a string-like piezoelectric element. Tajitsu teaches a piezoelectric element (title) where the piezoelectric element is in the form of a string-like piezoelectric element (machine translation at page 10, third to last paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a string-like piezoelectric element as taught by Tajitsu in the storage battery system of Mikami (combined) in order to have the advantage of not having electrodes on the surface of the piezoelectric element (see Tajitsu machine translation at page 10, second to last paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Mikami teaches that the electrolyte solution preferably comprises an organic solvent (paragraph [0172]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tajitsu.
Applicant argues that Tajima belongs to an entirely different technical field and shares no hardware overlap with the claimed invention. However, Tajima does not belong to an entirely different technical field – both Tajima and the instant invention share the classification in G01R31/367 – Software for testing measuring or monitoring the electrical condition of accumulators or electric batteries. Applicant further argues that there is no motivation to combine Mikami and Tajima to arrive at the claimed system. However, Applicant did not respond to the asserted motivation set forth previously and again above - it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a learning model based on data from a second secondary battery to a first secondary battery as taught by Tajima in the battery system of Mikami in order to have a system that determines state of charge with high accuracy (see Tajima tat paragraph [0022]). One of ordinary skill in the art would not have to use voltage/current data as taught by Tajima, because Mikami teaches other types of data such as abnormal expansion caused by gas expansion, and a learning model can equally be applied to such. Regarding the arguments with respect to the newly claimed string-like structure, Tajitsu has been cited teaching that arrangement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 October 9, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749