DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 10/01/2025, in which claims 11-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections:
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks that the Office action fails to “demonstrate where the art of record teaches to control a location of a vehicle relative to another vehicle.” Applicant further argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks that the prior art fails to teach “the sub controller performs a process to maintain a relative positioning relationship…before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system” and “correcting a lateral position and a vertical position of the vehicle based on the detection result by the sensor when the lateral position and the vertical position operated by the sub controller between before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system.”
In response to applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the above limitations, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Ochida discloses an alternative control signal can be used for traveling when an actuator experiences an abnormality that decreases performance (Ochida [0138]-[0140]). Ochida discloses the alternative control signal for speed assistance control or steering assistance control can be received from a plurality of sensors or actuators that function the same as or similar to sensors or actuators experiencing an abnormality (Ochida [0122], [0083]). Ochida further discloses the alternative control from a redundant system is used to continue stable traveling control when an abnormality occurs (Ochida [0156]), and the planned vehicle control includes lane keeping and maintaining an inter-vehicle distance (Ochida [0065]-[0067]). Therefore, Ochida discloses maintaining a relative positional relationship before and after abnormality is detected because the alternative control from the redundant system allows traveling control to continue with the planned events of lane keeping or maintaining an inter-vehicle distance when an abnormality occurs.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the “wherein the correcting the vertical position of the vehicle with the sub controller comprises: operating the relative position of the vehicle to the preceding vehicle on a same lane, which is the position of the vehicle along a traveling direction of the vehicle, as the vertical position; and operating a target braking value and a target steering value based on the vertical position to maintain a vehicle-to-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle to a predetermined distance” limitation have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a main controller” (claims 11-12, 15, and 17-20)
“a sub controller” (claims 11, 16-17, and 20)
“a detection controller” (claims 11, 15-16, and 20)
“a storage device” (claim 15)
“a change-over device” (claim 16)
“a main steering controller” (claims 17 and 20)
“a sub steering controller” (claims 17 and 20)
“a first monitor controller” (claims 18-19)
“a second monitor controller” (claim 19)
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification ([0026]: “The devices having the names of ECUs among the plurality of devices illustrated in Fig. 2 are configured by Read Only Memories (ROMs) storing programs for performing various control, Central Processing Units (CPUs) stored in the ROMs, and Random Access Memories (RAMs) that function as accessible storage devices. Each of the ECUs is what is called a computer, and in the following description, among the name of each ECU, the "ECU" part may be read differently as a "control device," a "controller," a "control unit," or a "processor.”) as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochida et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0163026 A1 (hereinafter Ochida), in view of Oyama, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0039593 A1, and further in view of Ishibashi et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0241001 A1 (hereinafter Ishibashi).
Regarding claim 11, Ochida discloses a redundant system mounted on a vehicle configured to autonomously travel (Ochida Fig. 1), comprising:
a first power supply system including a first battery (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes…a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100”; a power supply can include a battery as evidenced by Ochida [0031]);
a second power supply system different from the first power supply system, including a second battery (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes…a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200…In addition, the first power supply PS1 and the second power supply PS2 are provided independently of each other.”; a power supply can include a battery as evidenced by Ochida [0031])
a main controller that performs a process to cause the vehicle to autonomously travel (see at least Ochida [0076]: “The autonomous driving mode is, for example, a driving mode in which the traveling driving force output device 130, the electric servo brake device 131, the transmission control device 132, the electromotive power steering device 300, and the like are controlled by the traveling controller 148 of the first control device 140.”);
a sub controller used instead of the main controller to cause the vehicle to autonomously travel, when an abnormality regarding the main controller is detected (see at least Ochida [0143]: “On the other hand, in a case where the performance of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 on the autonomous driving control system 100 side has decreased, the first determiner 152 of the first control device 140 determines that the operating state of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 satisfies the predetermined condition. In this case, the traveling controller 148 transmits the alternative control command signal to the second control device 240 [i.e., an operation control sub control device] through the second communication line L2 or the first communication line L1.”; [0083]: “The predetermined condition refers to, for example, a decrease in current performance of sensors or actuators due to various factors as compared to original performance.”);
a sensor that detects information around the vehicle (see at least Ochida [0040]: “The object recognition device 106 repeatedly acquires information indicating a detection result from each sensor in each detection period of the first camera 102 and the viewfinder 104 or a period longer than this detection period, and recognizes the position, type, speed, movement direction, or the like of an object such as a nearby vehicle.”),
the sensor outputting a detection result to the main controller and the sub controller (see at least Ochida [0119]-[0120]: “The second determiner 248 determines whether the operating states of various sensors and actuators on the driving assistance control system 200 side satisfy a predetermined condition. In addition, the second determiner 248 determines, for example, whether the operating states of various sensors and actuators on the autonomous driving control system 100 side satisfy the predetermined condition on the basis of information received from the first control device 140 through the first communication line L1.”);
and a detection controller that detects the abnormality regarding a main control system including the main controller (see at least Ochida [0143]: “On the other hand, in a case where the performance of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 on the autonomous driving control system 100 side has decreased, the first determiner 152 of the first control device 140 determines that the operating state of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 satisfies the predetermined condition.”),
wherein the main controller is connected to the first power supply system and is not connected to the second power supply system (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes, for example, an autonomous driving control system 100, a driving assistance control system 200, a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100, and a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200.”; Fig. 1 shows first control device (i.e., operation control main control device) is part of autonomous driving control system 100 which receives power from first power supply PS1 and is not connected to second power supply PS2),
the sub controller and the sensor are connected to the second power supply system and are not connected to the first power supply system (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes, for example, an autonomous driving control system 100, a driving assistance control system 200, a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100, and a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200.”; [0101]: “The second vehicle sensor 206 outputs information indicating a detection result to the second control device 240.”; Fig. 1 shows second control device (i.e., operation control sub control device) is part of driving assistance control system 200 which receives power from second power supply PS2 and is not connected to first power supply PS1),
and the sub controller performs a process to maintain a relative positional relationship between the vehicle and a lane borderline or the vehicle and a preceding vehicle between before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (see at least Ochida [0138]-[0140]: “On the other hand, in a case where it is determined by the first determiner 152 that the performance of any actuator has decreased, the traveling controller 148 stops control of the traveling driving force output device 130, the electric servo brake device 131, the transmission control device 132, and the electromotive power steering device 300 (step S110)…In addition, in a case where it is determined by the first determiner 152 that the alternative control designation signal has been received from the driving assistance control system 200 side in the above-described process of S100, the traveling controller 148 performs the alternative control (step S114).”; [0066]: “In a case where the planned event is a lane keeping event, the behavior plan generator 146 generates a target trajectory having trajectory points disposed at the lane center so as to maintain a host lane.”; [0067]: “In addition, in a case where the planned event is a following traveling event, the behavior plan generator 146 decides, for example, a target speed so that an inter-vehicle distance between a preceding vehicle and the host vehicle M becomes constant, and generates a target trajectory having trajectory points disposed at the lane center so as to maintain a host lane. In a case where the speed of a preceding vehicle is low like, particularly, during a traffic jam, and frequent stops occur, the behavior plan generator 146 may reduce a target speed to zero in accordance with a stop of a preceding vehicle, and decide the target speed so as to be equal to the speed of the preceding vehicle in a case where it starts.”),
Ochida fails to expressly disclose correcting a lateral position and a vertical position of the vehicle when the positions do not match the initial positions before an abnormality. However, Oyama teaches
wherein the process to maintain the relative positional relationship comprises: correcting a lateral position and a vertical position of the vehicle based on the detection result by the sensor when the lateral position and the vertical position operated by the main controller do not match the lateral position and the vertical position operated by the sub controller between before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (This limitation is taught through the combination of Ochida and Oyama. Ochida discloses maintaining a relative positional relationship before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (Ochida [0138]-[0140], [0066]-[0067]). Ochida fails to expressly disclosing correcting a lateral position and a vertical position based on the detection result. However, Oyama teaches correcting a lateral position and a vertical position based on the detection result when the lateral position and vertical position do not match the positions after a switch is operated due to positioning error (see at least Oyama [0050]: “In step S9, the lateral position adjustment calculator 11a may store the positioning error Δz in the memory in the steering controller 11, and correct the own vehicle position information, e.g., the coordinates such as the latitude or the longitude, on the basis of the positioning error Δz.”; [0004]: “The position detector is configured to acquire own vehicle position information on the basis of a position signal received from positioning satellites…The controller is configured to correct the own vehicle position information in accordance with the relative moving operation received by the operation unit.”; [0043]-[0044]: Oyama teaches positioning error is minor when the leftward switch and rightward switch are not operated, but when one of the switches are operated the lateral position adjustment calculator performs adjustment to correct the vehicle position). Therefore, the combination of Ochida and Oyama teach the entirety of this limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida with the correction taught by Oyama with reasonable expectation of success. Oyama is directed towards the related field of a driver assist apparatus. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida with the correction taught by Oyama to correct positioning errors when a camera experiences difficulty detecting lane lines (see at least Oyama [0020]-[0021]: “Position information acquired on the basis of a position signal received from positioning satellites involves a positioning error. Therefore, it may be necessary to so correct the positioning error by initial setting that an own vehicle travels in the middle of a traveling lane, for example. Upon correcting the positioning error, when a camera is mounted on the own vehicle, it is possible to recognize lane lines that define left and right edges of the traveling lane by the camera mounted on the own vehicle and thereby so correct the positioning error that the own vehicle travels in the middle of the recognized lane lines…It may be also difficult to correct the position error even when the camera is mounted on the own vehicle, for example, in a case where any of the left and right lane lines are covered with snow and therefore unrecognizable, or in a case where any of the left and right lane lines are faded and therefore unrecognizable.”).
Ochida in view of Oyama fail to expressly disclose the sub controller correcting the vertical position by operating the relative position of the vehicle to the preceding vehicle on a same lane. However, Ishibashi teaches
wherein the correcting the vertical position of the vehicle with the sub controller comprises: operating the relative position of the vehicle to the preceding vehicle on a same lane, which is the position of the vehicle along a traveling direction of the vehicle, as the vertical position (see at least Ishibashi [0173]: “Accordingly, even when either one of the first or second signal system has an abnormality, this allows continuous cruise control based on the area in front of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for maintaining an appropriate distance from other vehicles traveling in front of the subject vehicle) and control based on the area diagonally backward right of the vehicle 100 and the area diagonally backward left of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for sensing critical situations when the subject vehicle performs lane changing).”; [0116]: “Specifically, the selector F115 selects the output from the vehicle motion energy setting unit F113 when no abnormality (e.g., a fault) occurs in the main arithmetic unit F1, and selects the output from the vehicle motion energy setting unit F310 of the backup functional unit F3 when an abnormality occurs in the main arithmetic unit F1.”; Ishibashi teaches correcting a relative vertical position by continuing cruise control to maintain an appropriate distance between a preceding vehicle);
and operating a target braking value and a target steering value based on the vertical position to maintain a vehicle-to-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle to a predetermined distance (see at least Ishibashi [0141]: “The backup functional unit F3 then determines the target motion of the vehicle 100 based on the target route of the vehicle 100 and outputs a control signal based on the target motion of the vehicle 100.”; [0111]: “The vehicle motion energy setting unit F113 calculates driving torque required for the drive actuator, steering torque required for the steering actuator, and braking torque required for the braking actuator based on an output from the target motion determination unit F112.”; [0173]: “Accordingly, even when either one of the first or second signal system has an abnormality, this allows continuous cruise control based on the area in front of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for maintaining an appropriate distance from other vehicles traveling in front of the subject vehicle) and control based on the area diagonally backward right of the vehicle 100 and the area diagonally backward left of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for sensing critical situations when the subject vehicle performs lane changing).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama with Ishibashi with reasonable expectation of success. Ishibashi is directed towards the related field of a vehicle control system to allow continuous cruise control. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama with Ishibashi to improve continuity of cruise control when an abnormality occurs (see at least Ishibashi [0003]-[0004]: “However, when a signal system including the cameras has an abnormality, it becomes difficult to continuously perform cruise control of the vehicle based on the output from the cameras…The technique disclosed herein has been made in view of this point, and an object thereof is to improve continuity of cruise control of the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 12, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 11 as explained above. Ochida further discloses
wherein the abnormality regarding the main control system includes at least one of an abnormality regarding the main controller, an abnormality of the first power supply system, and an abnormality regarding the sensor (see at least Ochida [0143]: “On the other hand, in a case where the performance of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 on the autonomous driving control system 100 side has decreased, the first determiner 152 of the first control device 140 determines that the operating state of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 satisfies the predetermined condition.”; [0083]: “The first determiner 152 determines whether the operating states of various sensors and actuators on the autonomous driving control system 100 side satisfy a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition refers to, for example, a decrease in current performance of sensors or actuators due to various factors as compared to original performance.”).
Regarding claim 13, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 12 as explained above. Ochida further discloses
wherein the sensor detects the lane borderline as the information around the vehicle, and the lane borderline is a boundary between a lane on which the vehicle travels and one other than the lane on which the vehicle travels (see at least Ochida [0061]: “The first host vehicle position recognizer 144 refers to, for example, high-accuracy map information indicated by a route in which a recommended lane is decided by the recommended lane decision device 120 and compares a pattern of a road division line (for example, an array of solid lines and broken lines) of the route in which the recommended lane is decided with a pattern of a road division line located in the vicinity of the host vehicle M which is recognized from an image captured by the first camera 102, to thereby recognize which of one or more lanes included in the route is a traveling lane. The first host vehicle position recognizer 144 recognizes, for example, the position and posture of the host vehicle M with respect to a traveling lane.”).
Regarding claim 14, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 12 as explained above. Ochida further discloses
wherein the sensor detects the preceding vehicle as the information around the vehicle, and the preceding vehicle travels ahead of the vehicle on the same lane on which the vehicle travels (see at least Ochida [0089]: “For example, in a case where a nearby vehicle present in front of the host vehicle M (hereinafter referred to as a preceding vehicle) is detected from an image captured by the first camera 102, and a time to collision TTC obtained by dividing an inter-vehicle distance between the preceding vehicle and the host vehicle M by a relative speed between the preceding vehicle and the host vehicle M is set to be equal to or less than a first predetermined time”).
Regarding claim 17, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 11 as explained above. Ochida further discloses the system comprising:
a main steering controller that controls steering of the vehicle based on a target steering value input from the main controller or the sub controller (see at least Ochida [0116]: “In addition, the steering assistance control performed by the traveling assistance controller 246 involves controlling the electromotive power steering device 300 connected to the second bus BS2.”; [0055]: “In this case, the first steering ECU 300a drives the electric motor with the amount of operation according to steering angle of the steering wheel. The electric motor changes the direction of a turning wheel, for example, by causing a force to act on a rack and pinion mechanism.”);
and a sub steering controller used instead of the main steering controller when the abnormality regarding the main steering controller is detected (see at least Ochida [0149]: “As in the shown example, in a case where the performance of the second steering ECU 300b of the electromotive power steering device 300 has decreased, the second determiner 248 of the second control device 240 determines that the operating state of an inverter to be controlled by the second steering ECU 300b or a stator that receives supply of power from the inverter satisfies the predetermined condition. In this case, the traveling assistance controller 246 transmits the alternative control command signal to the first control device 140 through the second communication line L2 or the first communication line L1. Receiving this, the traveling controller 148 performs the steering control using the first steering ECU 300a having a function that is the same as or similar to that of the second steering ECU 300b.”),
wherein the main steering controller is connected to the second power supply system and is not connected to the first power supply system (see at least Ochida [0095]: “The driving assistance control system 200 includes…the second steering ECU 300b for driving the electric motor of the electromotive power steering device 300”; Fig. 1 shows driving assistance control system 200 is connected to second power supply PS2 and is not connected to first power supply PS1),
and the sub steering controller is connected to the first power supply system and is not connected to the second power supply system (see at least Ochida [0034]: “The autonomous driving control system 100 includes…a first steering ECU 300a for driving an electric motor of an electromotive power steering device 300”; Fig. 1 shows autonomous driving control system 100 is connected to first power supply PS1 and is not connected to second power supply PS2).
Regarding claim 20, Ochida discloses a redundant system mounted on a vehicle configured to autonomously travel (Ochida Fig. 1), comprising:
a first power supply system including a first battery (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes…a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100”; a power supply can include a battery as evidenced by Ochida [0031]);
a second power supply system different from the first power supply system, including a second battery (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes…a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200…In addition, the first power supply PS1 and the second power supply PS2 are provided independently of each other.”; a power supply can include a battery as evidenced by Ochida [0031])
a main controller that performs a process to cause the vehicle to autonomously travel (see at least Ochida [0076]: “The autonomous driving mode is, for example, a driving mode in which the traveling driving force output device 130, the electric servo brake device 131, the transmission control device 132, the electromotive power steering device 300, and the like are controlled by the traveling controller 148 of the first control device 140.”);
a sub controller used instead of the main controller when an abnormality regarding the main controller is detected (see at least Ochida [0143]: “On the other hand, in a case where the performance of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 on the autonomous driving control system 100 side has decreased, the first determiner 152 of the first control device 140 determines that the operating state of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 satisfies the predetermined condition. In this case, the traveling controller 148 transmits the alternative control command signal to the second control device 240 [i.e., an operation control sub control device] through the second communication line L2 or the first communication line L1.”);
a sensor that detects information around the vehicle (see at least Ochida [0040]: “The object recognition device 106 repeatedly acquires information indicating a detection result from each sensor in each detection period of the first camera 102 and the viewfinder 104 or a period longer than this detection period, and recognizes the position, type, speed, movement direction, or the like of an object such as a nearby vehicle.”),
the sensor outputting a detection result to the main controller and the sub controller (see at least Ochida [0119]-[0120]: “The second determiner 248 determines whether the operating states of various sensors and actuators on the driving assistance control system 200 side satisfy a predetermined condition. In addition, the second determiner 248 determines, for example, whether the operating states of various sensors and actuators on the autonomous driving control system 100 side satisfy the predetermined condition on the basis of information received from the first control device 140 through the first communication line L1.”);
a detection controller that detects the abnormality regarding a main control system including the main controller (see at least Ochida [0143]: “On the other hand, in a case where the performance of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 on the autonomous driving control system 100 side has decreased, the first determiner 152 of the first control device 140 determines that the operating state of the actuator of the electric servo brake device 131 satisfies the predetermined condition.”);
a main steering controller that controls steering of the vehicle based on a target steering value input from the main controller or the sub controller (see at least Ochida [0116]: “In addition, the steering assistance control performed by the traveling assistance controller 246 involves controlling the electromotive power steering device 300 connected to the second bus BS2.”; [0055]: “In this case, the first steering ECU 300a drives the electric motor with the amount of operation according to steering angle of the steering wheel. The electric motor changes the direction of a turning wheel, for example, by causing a force to act on a rack and pinion mechanism.”);
and a sub steering controller used instead of the main steering controller when an abnormality regarding the main steering controller is detected (see at least Ochida [0149]: “As in the shown example, in a case where the performance of the second steering ECU 300b of the electromotive power steering device 300 has decreased, the second determiner 248 of the second control device 240 determines that the operating state of an inverter to be controlled by the second steering ECU 300b or a stator that receives supply of power from the inverter satisfies the predetermined condition. In this case, the traveling assistance controller 246 transmits the alternative control command signal to the first control device 140 through the second communication line L2 or the first communication line L1. Receiving this, the traveling controller 148 performs the steering control using the first steering ECU 300a having a function that is the same as or similar to that of the second steering ECU 300b.”),
wherein the main controller and the sub steering controller are connected to the first power supply system and are not connected to the second power supply system (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes, for example, an autonomous driving control system 100, a driving assistance control system 200, a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100, and a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200.”; [0034]: “The autonomous driving control system 100 includes…a first steering ECU 300a for driving an electric motor of an electromotive power steering device 300”; Fig. 1 shows first control device (i.e., operation control main control device) is part of autonomous driving control system 100 which receives power from first power supply PS1 and is not connected to second power supply PS2),
and the sub controller and the main steering controller are connected to the second power supply system and are not connected to the first power supply system (see at least Ochida [0032]: “The vehicle control system 1 includes, for example, an autonomous driving control system 100, a driving assistance control system 200, a first power supply PS1 that is configured to supply power to the autonomous driving control system 100, and a second power supply PS2 that is configured to supply power to the driving assistance control system 200.”; [0101]: “The second vehicle sensor 206 outputs information indicating a detection result to the second control device 240.”; [0095]: “The driving assistance control system 200 includes…the second steering ECU 300b for driving the electric motor of the electromotive power steering device 300”; Fig. 1 shows second control device (i.e., operation control sub control device) is part of driving assistance control system 200 which receives power from second power supply PS2 and is not connected to first power supply PS1),
and the sub controller performs a process to maintain a relative positional relationship between the vehicle and a lane borderline or the vehicle and a preceding vehicle between before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (see at least Ochida [0138]-[0140]: “On the other hand, in a case where it is determined by the first determiner 152 that the performance of any actuator has decreased, the traveling controller 148 stops control of the traveling driving force output device 130, the electric servo brake device 131, the transmission control device 132, and the electromotive power steering device 300 (step S110)…In addition, in a case where it is determined by the first determiner 152 that the alternative control designation signal has been received from the driving assistance control system 200 side in the above-described process of S100, the traveling controller 148 performs the alternative control (step S114).”; [0066]: “In a case where the planned event is a lane keeping event, the behavior plan generator 146 generates a target trajectory having trajectory points disposed at the lane center so as to maintain a host lane.”; [0067]: “In addition, in a case where the planned event is a following traveling event, the behavior plan generator 146 decides, for example, a target speed so that an inter-vehicle distance between a preceding vehicle and the host vehicle M becomes constant, and generates a target trajectory having trajectory points disposed at the lane center so as to maintain a host lane. In a case where the speed of a preceding vehicle is low like, particularly, during a traffic jam, and frequent stops occur, the behavior plan generator 146 may reduce a target speed to zero in accordance with a stop of a preceding vehicle, and decide the target speed so as to be equal to the speed of the preceding vehicle in a case where it starts.”),
Ochida fails to expressly disclose correcting a lateral position and a vertical position of the vehicle when the positions do not match the initial positions before an abnormality. However, Oyama teaches
wherein the process to maintain the relative positional relationship comprises: correcting a lateral position and a vertical position of the vehicle based on the detection result by the sensor when the lateral position and the vertical position operated by the main controller do not match the lateral position and the vertical position operated by the sub controller between before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (This limitation is taught through the combination of Ochida and Oyama. Ochida discloses maintaining a relative positional relationship before and after the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the main control system (Ochida [0138]-[0140], [0066]-[0067]). Ochida fails to expressly disclosing correcting a lateral position and a vertical position based on the detection result. However, Oyama teaches correcting a lateral position and a vertical position based on the detection result when the lateral position and vertical position do not match the positions after a switch is operated due to positioning error (see at least Oyama [0050]: “In step S9, the lateral position adjustment calculator 11a may store the positioning error Δz in the memory in the steering controller 11, and correct the own vehicle position information, e.g., the coordinates such as the latitude or the longitude, on the basis of the positioning error Δz.”; [0004]: “The position detector is configured to acquire own vehicle position information on the basis of a position signal received from positioning satellites…The controller is configured to correct the own vehicle position information in accordance with the relative moving operation received by the operation unit.”; [0043]-[0044]: Oyama teaches positioning error is minor when the leftward switch and rightward switch are not operated, but when one of the switches are operated the lateral position adjustment calculator performs adjustment to correct the vehicle position). Therefore, the combination of Ochida and Oyama teach the entirety of this limitation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida with the correction taught by Oyama with reasonable expectation of success. Oyama is directed towards the related field of a driver assist apparatus. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida with the correction taught by Oyama to correct positioning errors when a camera experiences difficulty detecting lane lines (see at least Oyama [0020]-[0021]: “Position information acquired on the basis of a position signal received from positioning satellites involves a positioning error. Therefore, it may be necessary to so correct the positioning error by initial setting that an own vehicle travels in the middle of a traveling lane, for example. Upon correcting the positioning error, when a camera is mounted on the own vehicle, it is possible to recognize lane lines that define left and right edges of the traveling lane by the camera mounted on the own vehicle and thereby so correct the positioning error that the own vehicle travels in the middle of the recognized lane lines…It may be also difficult to correct the position error even when the camera is mounted on the own vehicle, for example, in a case where any of the left and right lane lines are covered with snow and therefore unrecognizable, or in a case where any of the left and right lane lines are faded and therefore unrecognizable.”).
Ochida in view of Oyama fail to expressly disclose the sub controller correcting the vertical position by operating the relative position of the vehicle to the preceding vehicle on a same lane. However, Ishibashi teaches
wherein the correcting the vertical position of the vehicle with the sub controller comprises: operating the relative position of the vehicle to the preceding vehicle on a same lane, which is the position of the vehicle along a traveling direction of the vehicle, as the vertical position (see at least Ishibashi [0173]: “Accordingly, even when either one of the first or second signal system has an abnormality, this allows continuous cruise control based on the area in front of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for maintaining an appropriate distance from other vehicles traveling in front of the subject vehicle) and control based on the area diagonally backward right of the vehicle 100 and the area diagonally backward left of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for sensing critical situations when the subject vehicle performs lane changing).”; [0116]: “Specifically, the selector F115 selects the output from the vehicle motion energy setting unit F113 when no abnormality (e.g., a fault) occurs in the main arithmetic unit F1, and selects the output from the vehicle motion energy setting unit F310 of the backup functional unit F3 when an abnormality occurs in the main arithmetic unit F1.”; Ishibashi teaches correcting a relative vertical position by continuing cruise control to maintain an appropriate distance between a preceding vehicle);
and operating a target braking value and a target steering value based on the vertical position to maintain a vehicle-to-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle to a predetermined distance (see at least Ishibashi [0141]: “The backup functional unit F3 then determines the target motion of the vehicle 100 based on the target route of the vehicle 100 and outputs a control signal based on the target motion of the vehicle 100.”; [0111]: “The vehicle motion energy setting unit F113 calculates driving torque required for the drive actuator, steering torque required for the steering actuator, and braking torque required for the braking actuator based on an output from the target motion determination unit F112.”; [0173]: “Accordingly, even when either one of the first or second signal system has an abnormality, this allows continuous cruise control based on the area in front of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for maintaining an appropriate distance from other vehicles traveling in front of the subject vehicle) and control based on the area diagonally backward right of the vehicle 100 and the area diagonally backward left of the vehicle 100 (e.g., control for sensing critical situations when the subject vehicle performs lane changing).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama with Ishibashi with reasonable expectation of success. Ishibashi is directed towards the related field of a vehicle control system to allow continuous cruise control. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama with Ishibashi to improve continuity of cruise control when an abnormality occurs (see at least Ishibashi [0003]-[0004]: “However, when a signal system including the cameras has an abnormality, it becomes difficult to continuously perform cruise control of the vehicle based on the output from the cameras…The technique disclosed herein has been made in view of this point, and an object thereof is to improve continuity of cruise control of the vehicle.”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi, and further in view of Gokhale et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263996 A1 (hereinafter Gokhale).
Regarding claim 15, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 12 as explained above. Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi fails to expressly disclose storing a past arithmetic operation result and estimating a position of the vehicle based the past arithmetic operation result when a sensor abnormality is detected. However, Gokhale teaches wherein the main controller:
includes a storage device that stores a past arithmetic operation result by the main controller (see at least Gokhale [0043]: “When both the arrays S.sub.C,k and S.sub.L,k are populated (both not empty), the sensor array S.sub.k, is updated with S.sub.C,k and S.sub.L,k at 202, wherein the sensor data is sent for time k and vehicle position to the historical data server at 203, and weights are initialized for the sensor points at 204.”; [0047]: “Historical information database is created by the method described henceforth. Let H.sub.db is an array of 2D spatial vector say x,y defined in global reference frame…Here M.sub.l.fwdarw.g is a matrix which maps local coordinates to global latitude longitude.”; a past arithmetic operation result includes a position of the vehicle, as explained in instant application [0031]);
and estimates a position of the vehicle on a lane on which the vehicle travels based on the past arithmetic operation result stored in the storage device when the detection controller detects the abnormality regarding the sensor (see at least Gokhale [0038]: “In example implementations, processing units 100-3 can be configured to conduct the prediction of the missing sensor data points by translating the received second sensor data points from the historical database according to local coordinates with respect to an orientation and location of the autonomous vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with the past arithmetic operation result taught by Gokhale with reasonable expectation of success. Gokhale is directed towards the related field of ground vehicle localization for autonomous driving. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with the past arithmetic operation result taught by Gokhale to maintain sufficient accuracy during sensor failure (see at least Gokhale [0005]: “Thus, there is clear need to address the issue of improving localization estimation and maintaining sufficient accuracy even during an occurrence of sensor failure.”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi, and further in view Nakayama et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0220027 A1 (hereinafter Nakayama).
Regarding claim 16, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 12 as explained above. Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi fails to expressly disclose breaking conduction between the first power supply system and second power supply system when an abnormality is detected in the first power supply system. However, Nakayama teaches
a change-over device that electrically makes or breaks conduction between the first power supply system and the second power supply system (see at least Nakayama [0036]: “During the automated driving, the power supply control electronic control unit (ECU) 50 disconnects the first power supply system and the second power supply system from each other (by disconnecting the relay unit 60, for example)”),
wherein the sub controller controls the change-over device to break conduction between the first power supply system and the second power supply system when the detection controller detects the abnormality in the first power supply system (see at least Nakayama [0019]: “During the automated driving, in the power supply system 1, the first power supply system and the second power supply system are disconnected from each other (by turning off the relay unit 60, for example) such that the second battery 22 is allowed to be used also as a backup battery that serves as an auxiliary power supply when the first battery 12 fails.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with the broken conduction taught by Nakayama with reasonable expectation of success. Nakayama is directed towards the related field of a control device provided in a vehicle. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with the broken conduction taught by Nakayama to accurately detect the battery state and determine appropriate action (see at least Nakayama [0007]: “Due to the control, the charge-discharge processing can be executed while an influence of the fluctuation in the input-output current of the battery also serving as the backup battery is reduced. Therefore, the battery state can be accurately detected.”).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi, and further in view of Vejalla et al., U.S. Patent No. 10773668 B1 (hereinafter Vejalla).
Regarding claim 18, Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi teach all elements of the redundant system according to claim 11 as explained above. Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi fails to expressly disclose causing the vehicle to autonomously travel when electric power is supplied to the first power supply system. However, Vejalla teaches
a first monitor controller that monitors a state of the first power supply system (see at least Vejalla Col. 5, lines 21-44: “Each of the power networks 200, 205, 210 can fail, i.e., stop providing electricity from respective batteries 215, 220, 225 to the components 120…The computer 105 can determine to take countermeasures upon detecting a failure of one of the power networks 200, 205, 210, e.g., move the vehicle 101 to a side of a roadway, move the vehicle 101 to a parking lot, move the vehicle 101 to a repair shop, etc.”),
wherein when the first monitor controller determines that electric power is supplied to the first power supply system, the main controller starts the process to cause the vehicle to autonomously travel (see at least Vejalla Col. 5, lines 27-32: “The computer 105 can identify the failure by, e.g., requesting acknowledgment from components 120 that the components 120 are receiving power, and if the computer 105 does not receive acknowledgment, the computer 105 can determine that the power network 200, 205, 210 to which the components 120 are connected has failed.”; Col. 5, line 62-Col. 6, line 14: “The driving controller 230 can be programmed to operate the vehicle 101 in the autonomous or semi-autonomous modes…The ECU 245A can be connected to the first power network 200. The ECU 245B can be connected to the second power network 205. The computer 105 can instruct the ECUs 245A, 245B to actuate one or more components, e.g., a throttle of a propulsion 120, a navigation component, etc., to operate the vehicle 101 in the autonomous or semi-autonomous modes. Upon failure of one of the first power network 200 or the second power network 205, the respective ECU 245A, 245B connected to the failed power network 200, 205 can no longer receive electricity, and the other ECU 245A, 245B on the remaining power network 200, 205 can operate the vehicle 101 in the autonomous or semi-autonomous modes.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with the autonomous driving when determining electric power is supplied to the first power supply system taught by Vejalla with reasonable expectation of success. Vejalla is directed towards the related field of a vehicle power network. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ochida in view of Oyama and Ishibashi with Vejalla to allow components to remain functional despite any power network failures (see at least Vejalla Col. 3, lines 10-12: “Redundant power networks for vehicle components allow the components to remain functional when one of the power networks fails, e.g., shorts to ground.”).
Regarding claim 19, Ochida in combination with Oyama, Ishibashi, and Vejalla teaches all elements of the redundant system according to claim 18 as explained above. Vejalla further teaches
a second monitor controller that monitors a state of the second power supply system (see at least Vejalla Col. 5, lines 21-44: “Each of the power networks 200, 205, 210 can fail, i.e., stop providing electricity from respective batteries 215, 220, 225 to the components 120…The computer 105 can determine to take countermeasures upon detecting a failure of one of the power networks 200, 205, 210, e.g., move the vehicle 101 to a side of a roadway, move the vehicle 101 to a parking lot, move the vehicle 101 to a repair shop, etc.”),
wherein the main controller performs the process to cause the vehicle to autonomously travel until the first monitor controller determines that the electric power is not supplied to the first power supply system and the second monitor controller determines that the electric power is not supplied to the second power supply system (see at least Vejalla Col. 6, lines 8-16: “Upon failure of one of the first power network 200 or the second power network 205, the respective ECU 245A, 245B connected to the failed power network 200, 205 can no longer receive electricity, and the other ECU 245A, 245B on the remaining power network 200, 205 can operate the vehicle 101 in the autonomous or semi-autonomous modes. That is, the ECUs 245A, 245B are redundant so that the driving controller 230 can operate the vehicle 101 when one of the power networks 200, 205 fail.”; Col. 5, lines 36-39: “Upon failure of one of the power networks 200, 205, 210, components 120 connected to the failed power network 200, 205, 210 can stop operating if the components 120 do not have a redundant source of power.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0091475 A1, directed towards correcting braking and steering values for a parking assist operation.
/ELIZABETH J SLOWIK/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662