DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of battery module, Group I, Species A (claims 1-5 and 8-9), in the reply filed on 12 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 10-14 depend on claim 1. This is not found persuasive because applicant’s arguments are directed toward an election/restriction under US practice, while the election/restriction for the Instant application is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372 and restriction is proper as the technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art, as set forth in the prior office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US20170069887A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery module (Lee, Fig. 1, 1), comprising:
a plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Lee, [0040], Fig. 4, 100) respectively having an accommodation portion and a sealing portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 4, 100, accommodation portion, sealing portion) and configured to be stacked on each other (Lee, Fig. 4, 100),
a module case (Lee, Fig. 1, 40) configured to accommodate the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in an inner space thereof (Lee, Figs. 1 and 4, 40, 100)
and a barrier member (Lee, Fig. 4, 200 and 300), interposed between the accommodation portions of neighboring pouch-type battery cells of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Lee, Fig. 4, 100, 200 and 300) and configured to have a first portion between the accommodation portions of the neighboring pouch-type battery cells and a second portion between the sealing portions of the neighboring pouch-type battery cells (Lee, Fig. 4, 100, 200 and 300, accommodation portion, sealing portion, first portion, second
portion).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses wherein each of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Lee, Fig. 4, 100) has an electrode lead (Lee Fig. 4, 120) extending from a terrace portion (Lee, Fig. 4, 300c), and wherein the barrier member (Lee, Fig. 4, 200 and 300) is configured to protrusively extend toward the terrace portions of the neighboring pouch-type battery cells (Lee, Fig. 4, 200 and 300 protrude and extend toward 300c of neighboring 100).
Regarding claim 3, Lee also discloses wherein the plurality of pouch-type battery cells are stacked in a horizontal direction (Lee, Figs. 4-5, 100, stacked horizontally), and wherein the barrier member is configured in a plate (flat) shape (Lee, Fig. 4, 200 and 300) and interposed between the neighboring pouch-type battery cells (Lee, Figs. 4-5, 100, 200 and 300).
Regarding claim 4, Lee additionally discloses further comprising: a bus bar assembly (Lee, Fig. 1, 43) configured to connect electrode leads of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells to each other (Lee, [0073]), wherein an end of the barrier member contacts the bus bar assembly (Lee, Figs. 1 and 4, 43, 200 and 300 are all in contact as they comprise the battery module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20170069887A1 in view of Shin US20100009251A1.
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not disclose wherein the barrier member is configured to have an end inserted into a groove in an inner surface of the bus bar assembly.
Shin teaches wherein the barrier member (Shin, Fig. 16, 352) is configured to have an end inserted into a groove (Shin, Figs. 2 and 16, 140b) in an inner surface of the bus bar assembly (Shin, Figs. 2 and 16, 100b). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee wherein the barrier member is inserted into a groove of the bus bar, as taught by Shin, thereby improving the productivity and safety (Shin, [0014]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20170069887A1 in view of Linde US20190097184A1.
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not disclose wherein the barrier member includes at least one material selected from GFRP (Glass Fiber Reinforced Plastic) and CFRP (Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastic)
Linde teaches wherein the barrier member (Linde, Fig. 2, 16) includes at least one material selected from GFRP (Glass Fiber Reinforced Plastic) (Linde, [0017]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee wherein the barrier member includes at least one material selected from GFRP, as taught by Linde, thereby protecting the battery from mechanical effects (Linde, [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not disclose further comprising: a sealing member configured to surround an end of the barrier member.
Linde teaches further comprising: a sealing member (Linde, Fig. 2, 17) configured to surround an end of the barrier member (Linde, [0017]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee including a sealing member, as taught by Linde, thereby protecting the battery from moisture or chemical effects from the environment (Linde, [0017]).
Conclusion
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723