DETAILED ACTION
Election Acknowledged
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 15-21, in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that Chen (EP 3421629 (A1) does not disclose residual austenite and alpha ferrite having the proportions and grain sizes recited in claim 15.
This is not found persuasive because Chen discloses that the steel may contain retained austenite (residual austenite) in an amount of 5-50 vol.% (para. [0014]), which encompasses the claimed range of 8-30%. The grain size of the retained austenite is at most 5 µm (para. [0010] – lines 20-21; para. [0013]), which encompasses the claimed range.
With respect to the alpha ferrite, Chen teaches that the sum of δ-ferrite and α-ferrite (alpha ferrite) is at least 50 vol.% and has a maximum ranging from 50% to 95% by volume (para. [0014]), with δ-ferrite (delta ferrite) being at least 20 vol.% and having a suitable maximum of 80 vol.% (para. [0010] – lines 21-22; para. [0014], [0016]). If the sum of δ-ferrite and α-ferrite were 75 vol.% and δ-ferrite were 70 vol.%, for example, it follows that α-ferrite would be 5 vol.%, which falls within the claimed range. The grain size of the α-ferrite is also disclosed as being less than 5 µm (para. [0013]), which encompasses the claimed range. Thus, Chen discloses all limitations claimed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 15-29 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 15-21 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 22-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two (2) information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted on 07/07/2023 and 01/07/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the formula for the kappa precipitates, the number “3” and the letter “x” should be in the form of subscripts, consistent with the formula at para. [0027] of the specification as originally filed.
Additionally, the abbreviation of aluminum (Al) appears as capital letter A and capital letter I (eye). The letter I (eye) should be a lowercase l (elle), consistent with the Periodic Table of Elements and the formula at para. [0027] of the specification as originally filed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3421629 (A1) to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
Regarding claims 15-20, Chen discloses a high-strength steel that has been cold rolled and annealed (cold rolled and annealed steel sheet). Abstract; para. [0010], [0039]. The steel includes the following elements in percent by weight (para. [0010], [0017]-[0021], [0024]-[0026]):
Element
Claim 15
EP 3421629 A1
Carbon (C)
0.12 ≤ carbon ≤ 0.25
0.05 - 0.50
Manganese (Mn)
3 ≤ manganese ≤ 10
0.50 - 8.0
Aluminum (Al)
3.5 ≤ aluminum ≤ 6.5
0.05 - 6.0
Phosphorus (P)
0 ≤ phosphorus ≤ 0.1
0 - 0.1
Sulfur (S)
0 ≤ sulfur ≤ 0.03
0 - 0.01
Nitrogen (N)
0 ≤ nitrogen ≤ 0.1
5 - 100 ppm (0.0005 - 0.0100)
Fe & unavoidable impurities
balance
remainder
The microstructure contains δ-ferrite (delta ferrite) in an amount of at least 20 vol.% and a suitable maximum of 80 vol.% (para. [0010] – lines 21-22; para. [0014], [0016]), which overlaps the claimed range.
The sum of δ-ferrite and α-ferrite (alpha ferrite) is at least 50 vol.% and has a maximum ranging from 50% to 95% by volume. Para. [0014]. If the sum of δ-ferrite and α-ferrite were 75 vol.% and δ-ferrite were 70 vol.%, for example, it follows that α-ferrite would be 5 vol.%, which falls within the claimed range. The grain size of the α-ferrite is less than 5 µm (para. [0013]), which encompasses the claimed range.
The steel may contain retained austenite (residual austenite) in an amount of 5-50 vol.% (para. [0014]), which encompasses the claimed range. The grain size of the retained austenite is at most 5 µm (para. [0010] – lines 20-21; para. [0013]), which encompasses the claimed range.
(Volume differs from area by a thickness or height dimension; therefore, a two-dimensional slice of Chen’s three-dimensional volume would yield microstructural quantities corresponding to area percentages of the same proportional values.)
As long as aluminum is not excessively added, κ-carbides (kappa carbides) are not formed. Para. [0019]. Controlling the cooling rate also avoids formation of coarse κ-carbides and other carbides. Para. [0036]. This suggests that κ-carbides are minimized or close to zero, which falls within the claimed range.
Chen does not expressly characterize their steels as “low density.” However, Chen’s steels are expected to be relatively low in density given their high proportions of relatively light elements like manganese and aluminum. In addition, the chemical composition and alloying elements match those of the claimed invention. Thus, a claimed property, such as density, is presumed to be inherent. See MPEP § 2112.01.
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses that the cold-rolled steel may have a metallic coating. Para. [0047].
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
February 07, 2026