CTNF 18/265,450 CTNF 84414 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-31, 34 and 35 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-31, 34 and 35 are currently being examined. Claims 32 and 33 are withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 28 recites the “thickening solution further comprises a surfactant (D)” and the “thickening solution further comprises an additive (E)”. However, the claim further recites “the content of the surfactant (D) is 0 to 5 mass %” and “the content of the additive (E) is 0 to 10 mass %”. The recitation of 0 mass percent would render claim 28 indefinite because claim 28 previously recites a surfactant and additive being present in the thickening solution. For examination purposes, claim 28 will be interpreted as the content of surfactant (D) and additive (E) being greater than zero mass percent to 5 mass percent and zero mass percent to 10 mass percent respectively. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 16-20, 23-31, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nozaki et al (US 2006/0188807 A1), herein referred to as Nozaki . Regarding claim 16, Nozaki teaches [0191-0199] a process for forming a thickened resist pattern comprising applying a resist layer on the surface of a workpiece (substrate); irradiating the resist layer to form a resist pattern layer (exposing the resist layer); applying a resist pattern thickening material on the resist pattern layer wherein the thickening material [0072-0078] is taught by Nozaki to be a solution of a resin (polymer) and a solvent; and developing [0207] the resist pattern layer and the resist pattern thickening material. Regarding claim 17, Nozaki teaches the process recited above and further teaches [0191-0194] the resist layer is applied on the surface of the workpiece by known methods such as heating; the resist layer may be irradiated with a radiation source such as EUV light [0199] to form the resist pattern layer; the resist pattern thickening material may be applied on the resist pattern layer by spin coating (spin-drying); and the developing of the resist pattern layer and the resist pattern thickening material may be performed [0208] with an alkaline developing solution. Regarding claim 18, Nozaki teaches [0245] the upper portion of the resist pattern thickening material is rinsed with water, thereby removing the resist pattern thickening material (Figures 2-3). Regarding claim 19, Nozaki teaches [0183] a surface layer (insolubilized layer) is formed in a region where the resist pattern thickening material and resist pattern layer contact each other. Regarding claim 20, Nozaki teaches [0017-0018] the resist pattern thickening material contains an amino group. Regarding claim 23, Nozaki teaches [0083] the resin may include polyvinylamine, polyethyleneimine or polyallylamine. Regarding claims 24 and 25, Nozaki teaches ([0243] and Table 1) the resist patterning material comprises 96 grams of water (96 parts by mass of solvent) and the resin would be 4 grams (4 parts by mass of polymer) per 100 grams of the resist patterning material. Regarding claims 26 and 27, Nozaki teaches [0149-0153] an aromatic carboxylic acid compound may be included in the resist patterning material in an amount of 1 gram per 100 grams of the resist patterning material solution (1 percent by mass). Nozaki further teaches [0190] the resist patterning material solution is alkalified to a pH of 10. Regarding claims 28 and 29, Nozaki teaches [0072 and 0129] the resist patterning material may comprise a surfactant in an amount of 0.08 parts by mass to 0.5 parts by mass (0.08 to 0.5 mass percent) of the resist patterning material and the resist patterning material may also comprise [0171] an additive. Regarding claim 30, Nozaki teaches [0179] the resist composition for the resist layer may be a chemically amplified type. Regarding claim 31, Nozaki teaches [0190] the resist composition for the resist layer may include an acid generating agent (photoacid generator). Regarding claim 34, Nozaki teaches [0022] a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising using the resist patterning material and the resist layer as a mask. Regarding claim 35, Nozaki teaches [0022] a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming wiring patterns on a semiconductor workpiece . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest the limitations of claims 21 and 22 directed to the claimed polymer composition for the thickening solution having the specified repeating units represented by formula (a1) and (a2). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEWART A FRASER whose telephone number is (571)270-5126. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 7am-4pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Miriam Stagg can be reached at 571-270-5256. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 2 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 3 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 4 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 5 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 6 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/265,450 Page 7 Art Unit: 1724