DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
claims 28-46 are pending.
No amendment is made.
No new claim is added.
Response to arguments:
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 04/08/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Color associated with the vehicle
Indication of the color
Instruction on color display
Transportation guiding apparatus-office action fails to show that Hiroyuki teaches “transmitting to the transportation guiding apparatus”. (regarding claim 28)
Regarding Dependent claim 29-Draaijer’s “traffic information system” to be a “transportation guiding apparatus”-but nothing in the combination of references suggests that the apparatus is determined.
Regarding claim 33, Office action relies on Wittig’s para[0082] and office action does not and cannot explain why it would have been obvious how Wittig’s disclosure to make Hiroyuki’s arrow mark shape change based on color.
Regarding claim 42, Lafebvre’s abstract makes no mention of a color indicating device being located on the rear of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 43, Wang does not suggest that “color indicating device” is taillight of Wang.
Office response:
Hiroyushi is referring to a color that corresponding to a distance to next intersection. This color is in no reasonable sense “associated with the vehicle”. Hiroyuki teaches the color corresponding to the distance to the next intersection, change in color of the arrow depending on the distance within the driving field of vision which is associated with the vehicle. In brief, Hiroyuki teaches depending on the distance(from the vehicle) to the intersection, the color of the arrow is determined (which implies associated with the vehicle).
Hiroyuki teaches in para[0022] the arrow is output to the arrow display screen 22, and the shape of the intersection is output to the intersection drawing display screen 23 , In other words, install an auxiliary display device composed of a liquid crystal display in a place where it can be easily seen by the driver, such as on the dashboard of a car, (indication on color transmitted to a color indicating apparatus on the vehicle).
Hiroyuki teaches in claim 2 and para[0013] that displaying an arrow shape corresponding to a bending direction at an intersection to be turned next in a color corresponding to a distance to the intersection to be turned next to guide the vehicle. Additionally, Hiroyuki teaches In para[0018] its color changed according to the distance to the intersection. The intersection display screen 23 displays the planar shape of the intersection as seen from directly above.
Please see the new ground of rejection based on Hiroyuki in view of Draaijer regarding “transportation guidance apparatus” for claim 1.
Draaijer in para[0044] teaches that based on the situation and location , the traffic guidance systems 1A, 1B, 1C (which implies among plurality of device) should be identified and corresponding controllers 30 should be given suitable commands. Draaijer’s paras[0039]-[0044] and figures 3A, 3B state that the plurality of traffic guidance systems 1A,1B, 1C is identified if the obstacle 49 occurs in the route of the destination.
Wittig’s teaches “color control signal” which controls the display system to display the information based on the color of the respective street name. The color can be the same color as appearing on the real street direction sign or it could be input by the user the country name, next street type and current street type attributes (based on user input) or fixed (see Wittig’s table 3 and 4). (see para[0017]-[0020]). It would been obvious that Hiroyuki’s color with respect to the distance of the vehicle determined by user input (Wittig’s color with respect to user input).
Please see the new ground of rejection regarding claim 42.
Please see the new ground of rejection regarding claim 43.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-32, 36-39, 40-41, 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over JP 2000221048A to Hiroyuki (herein after “Hiroyuki”) in view of US20060267795A1 to Draaijer et al. (herein after “Draaijer”).
Regarding claim 28, Hiruyuki discloses a navigation method, for providing navigation to a vehicle(see Hiroyuki at least para [0001] auxiliary display device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information and route guidance according to a course set before or during the traveling of an automobile), the method comprising: locating a position of the vehicle (see Hiroyuki at least para [0019] The current position detecting means 32 detects the current position of the vehicle using a distance sensor, a direction sensor, and a GPS receiver); determining a route for the vehicle based on the position and a destination of the vehicle(see Hiroyuki at least para [0019] The route search means 33 searches for an optimal route to the destination input by the driver); determining a color associated with the vehicle(see Hiroyuki at least para [0013] The invention according to claim 2 of the present invention comprises means for displaying an arrow shape corresponding to a bending direction at an intersection to be turned next in a color corresponding to a distance to the intersection to be turned next); transmitting an indication of the color to a color indicating apparatus on the vehicle (see Hiroyuki at least para [0019], para [0022] Next, the distance is output to the distance display screen 21, the arrow is output to the arrow display screen 22, and the shape of the intersection is output to the intersection drawing display screen 23 (step 46).) ; and transmitting, to the transportation guiding apparatus, an instruction on color display for guiding the vehicle (see Hiroyuki at least para [0019],[0018], para[0020] Then, depending on the distance to the intersection, the color of the arrow is determined as shown in Table 1 (step 45), para [0010] In other words, install an auxiliary display device composed of a liquid crystal display in a place where it can be easily seen by the driver, such as on the dashboard of a car).
However, Hiroyuki does not disclose or otherwise teach determining a transportation guiding apparatus for guiding the vehicle based on the route and position of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Draaijer same field of endeavor teaches determining a transportation guiding apparatus for guiding the vehicle based on the route and position of the vehicle (See Draaijer para[0044] As another example, with reference to FIGS. 3A and 3B, if an obstacle 49 occurs, this situation should be detected, the location should be determined, the traffic guidance systems 1A, 1B, 1C in the proximity should be identified, and the corresponding controllers 30 should be given suitable commands.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s detecting system suitable control, characters can be formed which can be read by approaching car drivers.
Regarding claim 29, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach transportation guiding apparatuses along the route and within a predetermined distance with respect to the position of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the determining a transportation guiding apparatus for guiding the vehicle based on the route and position of the vehicle comprises: selecting one or more transportation guiding apparatuses along the route and within a predetermined distance with respect to the position of the vehicle (see Draaijer at least para[0031] the system is provided with a detection system for detecting position and/or speed of vehicles, and the control circuit 30 is designed, for a brief time, to move the pattern 4 with the same speed as an approaching vehicle, while positioning the pattern 4 just in front of this vehicle. This will greatly enhance the attention value of the projected pattern, and it will increase the chance that the pattern 4 is seen and understood by the driver, because the pattern is substantially stationary with respect to the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s detecting system suitable control, characters can be formed which can be read by approaching car drivers.
Regarding claim 30, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach transportation guiding apparatuses are integrated to, attached to, adhered to or mounted to one or more transportation facilities. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more transportation guiding apparatuses are integrated to, attached to, adhered to or mounted to one or more transportation facilities(see Draaijer at least para[0022] Second, installing a traffic information system 1 according to the present invention can be quickly and easily done by mounting the system in an existing housing of an existing street lighting system and connecting the power input terminal 105 of the system to the existing electrical power line 104, without the need to make large infrastructural amendments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s mounted transportation guiding apparatuses on vehicle to make the system efficient without the need to make large infrastructural amendments.
Regarding claim 31, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach transportation facilities are a sequence of transportation facilities. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more transportation facilities are a sequence of transportation facilities (see Draaijer figure 2, 3A,3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s transportation facilities that are a sequence of transportation facilities to make the system efficient to improve the visibility in bad weather.
Regarding claim 32, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the one or more transportation facilities are one or more road signs or traffic lines. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more transportation facilities are one or more road signs or traffic lines (see Draaijer para[0004] Such signs, typically applied on shields mounted on posts, or applied on the road surface, are stationary signs, intended for continuous use in continuous circumstances. A problem of these signs is that they suffer from reduced visibility in bad weather conditions such as snow.) ;para [0009] As a third system, a light projection system ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s transportation facilities that are a sequence of transportation facilities as road sign, traffic lines to make the system efficient to improve the visibility in bad weather.
Regarding claim 36, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki discloses wherein the instruction on color display comprises an indication of the color and when the color should be displayed (see Hiroyuki at least para [ 0018] The arrow display screen 22 displays an arrow, which is deformed according to the direction in which the vehicle should turn, with its color changed according to the distance to the intersection. The intersection display screen 23 displays the planar shape of the intersection as seen from directly above, Hiroyuki discloses the indication of color of the arrow is displayed in the display device).
Regarding claim 37, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki discloses a navigation apparatus, for providing navigation to a vehicle, comprising: a communication interface (see Hiruyuki para[0020] microcomputer 35); a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby the navigation apparatus is operative to perform a method according to claim 28 ( see Hiroyuki at least para[0019] The RAM 34 accumulates data on the current position information of the own vehicle detected by the current position detecting means 32 and information on the traveling direction of the own vehicle searched by the route searching means 33, The microcomputer 35 controls the car navigation main body device 1 and performs conversion processing so that the distance to the intersection and the direction to proceed at the intersection can be output to the auxiliary display device 2 based on the position information of the own vehicle).
Regarding claim 38, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 37. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the navigation apparatus comprises at least one of: a server, a navigation device of the vehicle, a driving recorder and a portable device. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the navigation apparatus comprises at least one of: a server, a navigation device of the vehicle, a driving recorder and a portable device. (see Draaijer at least para[0012] communication network(server), para[0029] navigation system, para[0045] Thus, in this preferred embodiment, a communication system 32 is provided, allowing transfer of command signals, and the receiving means 31 may be any suitable means adapted for cooperation with such communication system 32. For instance, the communication system 32 may be a telephone system, and the receiving means 31 may comprise a telephone receiver. Or, the communication system 32 may be an RF telecommunication system, and the receiving means 31 may comprise a radio receiver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s a server, a navigation device of the vehicle, a driving recorder and a portable device to make the system versatile by making project virtually any kind of bright pattern.
Regarding claim 39, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiruyuki remains as applied as claim 37. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the portable device comprises a wearable device or a smart phone. Nevertheless, Draaijer -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the portable device comprises a wearable device or a smart phone. (see Draaijer at least para[0045] For instance, the communication system 32 may be a telephone system, and the receiving means 31 may comprise a telephone receiver. Or, the communication system 32 may be an RF telecommunication system, and the receiving means 31 may comprise a radio receiver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s a portable device such as wearable device to make the system versatile and user friendly.
Regarding claim 40, Hiruyuki discloses a color indicating apparatus on a vehicle, for indicating a color associated with the vehicle(Lefebvre (see Hiroyuki at least para [0017]-[0018] an auxiliary display device of a car navigation system, the arrow display screen 22 displays an arrow, which is deformed according to the direction in which the vehicle should turn, with its color changed according to the distance to the intersection), the color indicating apparatus comprising:
configured to receive an indication of the color from a navigation apparatus(see Hiroyuki at least para [0018] The arrow display screen 22 displays an arrow, which is deformed according to the direction in which the vehicle should turn, with its color changed according to the distance to the intersection); and a color indicating device configured to indicate the color in accordance with the indication(see Hiroyuki at least para [0018] The intersection display screen 23 displays the planar shape of the intersection as seen from directly above).
However, Hiruyuki does not teach a communication interface. Nevertheless, Draaijer same field of endeavor teaches a communication interface (see Draaijer para[0047] The communication system 32 may be wired or wireless; in case of a wired communication system, the system may comprise separate, dedicated communication lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Draaijer’s detecting system suitable control, characters can be formed which can be read by approaching car drivers.
Regarding claim 41, Hiroyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 40. Hiruyuki discloses wherein the color indicating device is located within line of sight of a driver of the vehicle (See Hiroyuki at least para [0015] The invention according to claim 4 of the present invention is a vehicle-mounted navigation device including the auxiliary display device, figure 1, para [0010] In other words, install an auxiliary display device composed of a liquid crystal display in a place where it can be easily seen by the driver, such as on the dashboard of a car) and configured to indicate the color to the driver (See Hiroyuki at least para. [0013] The invention according to claim 2 of the present invention comprises means for displaying an arrow shape corresponding to a bending direction at an intersection to be turned next in a color).
Regarding claim 44, Hiroyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 40. Hiruyuki discloses wherein the communication interface (see microcomputer 35) is further configured to receive a navigation information based on the route and position of the vehicle and the color indicating device is further configured to display the navigation information in the color(See Hiroyuki para [0024], para [0013] The invention according to claim 2 of the present invention comprises means for displaying an arrow shape corresponding to a bending direction at an intersection to be turned next in a color corresponding to a distance to the intersection to be turned next. According to the auxiliary display device described in 1 above, the driver can know the distance to the next intersection to turn from within the visual field of driving through the change in the color of the arrow depending on the distance).
Regarding claim 45, Hiroyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 40. Hiruyuki discloses wherein the communication interface (see microcomputer 35) is further configured to receive a line type associated with the vehicle and the color indicating device is further configured to display the navigation information with the line type (see Hiroyuki at least para[0016] route is displayed on the display device in a color or line type different from that of the guide route. This allows the user to select a route that suits his or her preference).
Claim 33 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Hiroyuki in view of Draaijer and EP1626250A1 to Wittig (herein after “Wittig”).
Regarding claim 33, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the color is determined by at least one of: randomly selection, sequence selection, user input and a color of a group of vehicles including the vehicle. Nevertheless, Wittig -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the color is determined by at least one of: randomly selection, sequence selection, user input and a color of a group of vehicles including the vehicle (see Wittig at least para [0082] The main function of the look-up table 36 is to output color control signals in response to the input country name, next street type and current street type attributes in accordance with the color table of Fig. 3 such that the character colors, arrow mark colors and background colors displayed on display parts 45, 47 and 57 are colors that are substantially the same colors as appearing on real current and next street direction signs in a particular country according to the country name attribute).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Wittig ’s random selection or user input of color selection to make the system versatile and non-destructive by displaying a turn arrow mark with color.
Regarding claim 46, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. However, Hiroyuki does not teach wherein the transportation guiding apparatus is external to and separated from the vehicle (see Wittig para[0052] The route display system and the route display method of the present invention are, however, useful not only for vehicle navigation route guidance visualisation but also for road book or maneuver list visualisation for displaying street lists on a display screen. The display screen belongs to a vehicle navigation system mounted or positioned in a vehicle, or it belongs to a computer such as a PC, a notebook, a laptop, a PDA, a mobile phone, or the like, used inside or outside a vehicle. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Wittig ’s random selection or user input of color selection to make the system versatile and non-destructive by displaying a turn arrow mark with color.
Claim 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Hiroyuki in view of Draaijer and WO2015082717A1 to Geert (herein after “Geert”).
Regarding claim 34, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach transmitting, to the color indicating apparatus on the vehicle, a navigation information based on the route and position of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Geert -same field of endeavor teaches transmitting, to the color indicating apparatus on the vehicle, a navigation information based on the route and position of the vehicle (see Geert guidance system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Geert ’s guidance system to make the system user friendly and convenient for the behind (2nd )driver.
Regarding claim 35, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain applied as claim 28. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach determining a line type associated with the vehicle; and transmitting the line type on the vehicle. Nevertheless, Geert -same field of endeavor teaches determining a line type associated with the vehicle; and transmitting the line type to the color indicating apparatus on the vehicle and the transportation guiding apparatus (see Geert at least para [0059] In one embodiment of the invention the dedicated sign not only comprises a 3- dimensional (animated character) or 2-dimensional (picture, abstract symbol) component, but also a 1-dimensional component (line), which follows the calculated path and which is easily recognizable by means of colour, thickness, shape (dotted, dashed, ...) and others (colour profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Geert ’s calculated path (dotted, solid line) system to make the system user friendly and convenient for the driver.
Claim 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Hiroyuki in view of Draaijer and US 20100020562 A1 to Donoghue (herein after “Donoghue”).
Regarding claim 42, Hiruyuki and Draaijer remain as applied as claim 40. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the color indicating device is located on the rear end of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Donoghue -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the color indicating device is located on the rear end of the vehicle and configured to indicate the color to another driver in another vehicle (See Donoghue claim 1 a tail light for attachment to a rear portion of a vehicle, the tail light is activated when a user activates the tail light, the tail light has a second color, the second color is a different color than the first color. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Donoghue ’s color indicating tail light at the rear end of the vehicle in order to allow to send an indication to a following vehicle concerning the presence of the vehicles in front of the driver(see Donoghue para[0001]).
Regarding claim 43, Hiruyuki, Draaijer and Donoghue remain as applied as claim 42. Hiroyuki teaches an auxiliary device attached to a navigation device for outputting driving guidance information. However, Hiroyuki does not teach the color indicating device is a taillight of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Donoghue -same field of endeavor teaches wherein the color indicating device is a taillight of the vehicle (See Donoghue claim 1 a tail light for attachment to a rear portion of a vehicle, the tail light is activated when a user activates the tail light, the tail light has a second color, the second color is a different color than the first color. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hiruyuki’s auxiliary device attached to a navigation device with Donoghue ’s color indicating tail light at the rear end of the vehicle in order to allow to send an indication to a following vehicle concerning the presence of the vehicles in front of the driver (see Donoghue para[0001]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666