DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
SiC production reactor comprising a process chamber, a gas inlet unit, and one or multiple SiC growth substrates coupled between at least one first and second metal electrodes
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation of “H2” in claim 71 should be corrected to “H2” to address an error in nomenclature.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “separator unit” in claims 70-71, and the “further separator unit” and the “Si mass flux measurement unit” in claim 71.
The claim limitations relating to the “separator unit” in claims 70-71, and the “further separator unit” and the “Si mass flux measurement unit” in claim 71 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for separating the vent gas into a first fluid and into a second fluid,” “for separating the first fluid into at least two parts,” and “for measuring an amount of Si in the mixture of chlorosilanes,” respectively, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 70-71 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The separator unit is disclosed in at least Fig. 15 and ¶¶[0483]-[0485] of the published application as the separator unit (602) for the vent gas (216) which is illustrated as a square in the drawings and is further described in ¶¶[00490]-[00491] as a first compressor (634).
The further separator unit is disclosed in at least Fig. 15 and ¶¶[0483]-[0485] of the published application as the further separator unit (612) for the first fluid (962) which is illustrated as a square in the drawings and is further described in ¶¶[00490]-[00491] as a further compressor (636).
The Si mass flux measurement unit is disclosed in at least Fig. 15 and ¶[0486] as the Si mass flux measurement unit (622) which is described in ¶[0095] of the specification as an inline/online analyzer such as a flame ionization detector, a FTIR/NIR infrared spectrometer, or cavity ring-down spectroscopy.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The preceding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 71 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ arguments.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 62-63, 66, 69-71, and 84-86 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 62 recites a “the cooling element” in the third to last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed applicants intended to recite “the bell jar cooling element.” Dependent claims 63, 66, 69-71, and 84-86 are similarly rejected due to their direct or indirect dependence on claim 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 62-63, 66, 83-84, and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0130333 to Young, et al. (hereinafter “Young”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2016/0348274 to Genba, et al. (“Genba”) and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,311,545 to Bugl, et al. (“Bugl”).
Regarding claim 62, Young teaches a SiC production reactor (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-12, and entire reference which teach a deposition reactor which is capable of depositing SiC), at least comprising
a process chamber, wherein the process chamber is at least surrounded by a base plate, a side wall section and a top wall section (see Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0065]-[0066] which teach a deposition reactor having an inner space Ri formed by a shell Rs which has side and top wall sections that rest on a base plate Rb),
a gas inlet unit for feeding one feed-medium or multiple feed-mediums into a reaction space of the process chamber for generating a source medium, wherein a Si feed medium source provides at least Si (see Fig. 1, ¶[0029], and ¶[0080] which teach a gas inlet Nf for supplying a reaction gas such as silane (SiH4) into the inner space Ri),
one or multiple SiC growth substrates are arranged inside the process chamber for depositing (see Fig. 1-2 and ¶¶[0071]-[0088] which teach providing a plurality of first (C1) and second (C2) core means within the inner space Ri for deposition thereupon; see specifically ¶[0043] which teaches that the first core means (C1) may be comprised of SiC),
wherein each SiC growth substrate comprises a first power connection and a second power connection, wherein the first power connections are first metal electrodes and wherein the second power connections are second metal electrodes, wherein each SiC growth substrate is coupled between at least one first metal electrode and at least one second metal electrode for heating the outer surface of the SiC growth substrates or the surface of the deposited SiC to temperatures between 1300°C and 1800°C (see Figs. 1-2, ¶[0026], ¶[0050], ¶[0067], and ¶¶[0071]-[0088] which teach that first and second electrode units (E1) and (E2) are coupled at each end of the first (C1) and second (C2) core means in order to heat the core means to a temperature in the range of 400 to 3,000 °C; moreover, in order to efficiently; see specifically ¶[0126] which teaches that the electrodes may be made of a metal material),
wherein the SiC growth substrate has an average perimeter of at least 5 cm around a cross-sectional area orthogonal to the length direction of the SiC growth substrate or multiple SiC growth substrates have an average perimeter per SiC growth substrate of at least 5 cm around a cross-sectional area orthogonal to the length direction of the respective SiC growth substrate (See Figs 1 & 8-12, ¶¶[0006]-[0007], ¶[0009], and ¶[0148] which teach that the core element (C1) and/or (C2) may be in the form of a circle, a square, or a ribbon with a diameter or width of up to 100 mm (i.e., 10 cm) which, in the case of a square would produce a perimeter of 100 mm × 4 sides = 400 mm (i.e., 40 cm)),
wherein the top wall section comprises at least one bell jar cooling element configured for preventing heating of the top wall section above a defined temperature (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0120] which teach that the shell (Rb) is equipped with a cooling means which necessarily prevents the shell (Rb) from being heated above a particular temperature).
Young does not teach that the gas inlet unit is coupled with at least two feed-medium sources, wherein a C feed medium source provides at least C, wherein a carrier gas medium source provides a carrier gas, or that the SiC growth substrates are for depositing SiC. However, in at least Figs. 1-2 and ¶¶[0038]-[0049] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Genba teaches an analogous CVD apparatus (1) for the epitaxial deposition of SiC onto a substrate (10) from a plurality of gas sources (71a)-(71e) which includes, inter alia, a hydrogen (H2) carrier gas (71a), a silicon source (71b), a carbon source (71c). In Fig. 2 and ¶¶[0050]-[0059] Genba further teaches that a high quality SiC epitaxial layer may be deposited onto the SiC substrate (10) by flowing the desired precursor gases, including Si- and C-containing precursor gases. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Genba and would be motivated to include at least Si and C feed-medium sources as well as H2 as a carrier gas in order to deposit SiC onto the core elements (C1) and/or (C2) in the apparatus of Young in order to, for example, produce high quality epitaxial SiC substrates and/or source material for use in the production of semiconductor devices. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Young and Genba do not teach that the cooling element is a coating, wherein the coating is formed on a top of a polished or unpolished steel surface, and wherein the coating is configured to reflect heat, wherein the coating is a metal coating or comprises metal. However, in Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 43 to col. 4, l. 16 as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Bugl teaches an analogous embodiment of a system for the deposition of a semiconductor material by thermal decomposition of gaseous compounds onto a heated rod (17) contained within a bell jar comprised of inner (11) and outer (12) hoods. In col. 3, ll. 12-15 Bugl specifically teaches that the inner hood (11) is comprised of steel which necessarily is either polished or unpolished and is plated on the inside with silver which necessarily functions to reflect heat. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to construct the shell (Rs) utilized in the apparatus of Young from a material such as polished or unpolished steel with a silver coating formed on an internal surface thereof in order to benefit from the use of a known high-temperature material which is capable of maintaining the desired temperatures during deposition without loss of structural integrity. Use of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1947). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 63, Young teaches that
the SiC growth substrate comprises or consists of SiC or C, or wherein ratio
multiple SiC growth substrates comprise or consist of SiC or C (see ¶[0043] which teaches that the first and/or second core means (C1) and (C2) may be made of graphite or SiC),
characterized in that the shape of the cross-sectional area orthogonal to the length direction of the SiC growth substrate differs at least in sections from a circular shape, wherein a ratio U/A between the cross-sectional area A and the perimeter U around the cross-sectional area is higher than 1.2 1/cm (See Figs. 10 & 12, ¶[0006] and ¶[0040] which teach that the core means (C1) and (C2) may be in the shape of an oval, a square, or a ribbon as well as ¶[0009] and ¶[0148] which teach that the diameter may be up to 100 mm. Young does not explicitly teach the thickness of the core means when it is in the shape of a ribbon such that the ratio U/A may be calculated, but in ¶[0199] Young teaches that problems arise when the thickness of the barrier layer C1b is less than 1 mm and greater than 10 mm which therefore suggests an analogous thickness range for the core means (C1a). Since the dimensions of the ribbon determine the final shape of the deposited crystal (D1) it is therefore considered to be a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. See, e.g., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It therefore would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimal ribbon thickness and diameter and, consequently, the optimal ratio U/A necessary to produce a deposited crystal (D1) with the desired shape and dimensions. As an example, a ribbon thickness of 1 mm, which is between 1 mm and 10 mm, together with a diameter of 100 mm yields a perimeter U of (1 mm × 2) + (100 mm × 2) = 202 mm while the cross-sectional area A of the ribbon is then (1 mm × 100 mm) = 100 mm2 which therefore yields a ratio U/A of 202/100 = 2.02 which falls within the claimed range.),
wherein the SiC growth substrate is formed by at least one carbon ribbon, wherein the at least one carbon ribbon comprises a first ribbon end and a second ribbon end, wherein the first ribbon end is coupled with the first metal electrode and wherein the second ribbon end is coupled with the second metal electrode or wherein each of multiple the SiC growth substrates is formed by at least one carbon ribbon, in particular graphite ribbon, wherein the at least one carbon ribbon per SiC growth substrate comprises a first ribbon end and a second ribbon end, wherein the first ribbon end is coupled with the first metal electrode of the respective SiC growth substrate and wherein the second ribbon end is coupled with the second metal electrode of the respective SiC growth substrate (see Figs. 10 & 12, ¶[0006] and ¶[0040] which teach that the core means (C1) and (C2) may be in the shape of a ribbon which extends from one metal electrode unit (E1) to the other; see also ¶[0043] which teaches that the first and/or second core means (C1) and (C2) may be made of graphite).
Regarding claim 66, Young teaches that the base plate comprises at least one cooling element for preventing heating of the base plate above a defined temperature and/or wherein the side wall section comprises at least one cooling element for preventing heating of the side wall section above a defined temperature and/or wherein the top wall section comprises at least one cooling element for preventing heating of the top wall section above a defined temperature (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0126] which teach that it is preferable to cool some area or the entire area of the base unit Rb in order to prevent it from being heated above a defined temperature by using a circulated cooling medium).
Regarding claim 83, Young and Genba teach a system configured for carrying out the method according to claim 72 (see supra with respect to the rejection of claim 62 in which at least Figs. 1-2, ¶¶[0065]-[0066], and ¶¶[0071]-[0088] of Young combined with at least Figs. 1-2, ¶¶[0038]-[0049], and ¶¶[0050]-[0059] of Genba teach a system capable of performing the method as claimed by adjusting the electrical current through the core elements (C1) and (C2) to obtain the desired temperature (see specifically ¶[0026] of Young which teaches a temperature of 400 to 3,000 °C) and by adjusting the flow rate through the gas supply means Nf to the desired value until the desired deposition rate is achieved).
Regarding claim 84, Young and Genba do not teach that the metal is silver or gold or chrome, or an alloy coating. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 62, in Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 43 to col. 4, l. 16 as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Bugl teaches an analogous embodiment of a system for the deposition of a semiconductor material by thermal decomposition of gaseous compounds onto a heated rod (17) contained within a bell jar comprised of inner (11) and outer (12) hoods. In col. 3, ll. 12-15 Bugl specifically teaches that the inner hood (11) is comprised of steel which is plated on the inside with silver which necessarily functions to reflect heat. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to construct the shell (Rs) utilized in the apparatus of Young from a material such as steel with a silver coating formed on an internal surface thereof in order to benefit from the use of a known high-temperature material which is capable of maintaining the desired temperatures during deposition without loss of structural integrity.
Regarding claim 86, Young and Genba do not teach that the emissivity of the coating is below 0.1 or below 0.03. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 62, in Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 43 to col. 4, l. 16 as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Bugl teaches an analogous embodiment of a system for the deposition of a semiconductor material by thermal decomposition of gaseous compounds onto a heated rod (17) contained within a bell jar comprised of inner (11) and outer (12) hoods. In col. 3, ll. 12-15 Bugl specifically teaches that the inner hood (11) is comprised of steel which is plated on the inside with silver which necessarily functions to reflect heat. Since silver has an emissivity of 0.02 to 0.04 (i.e., for polished or oxidized silver, respectively) it necessarily has an emissivity that is below 0.1 as claimed. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to construct the shell (Rs) utilized in the apparatus of Young from a material such as steel with a silver coating having an emissivity of less than 0.1 formed on an internal surface thereof in order to benefit from the use of a known high-temperature material which is capable of maintaining the desired temperatures during deposition without loss of structural integrity.
Claim 69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Genba and further in view of Bugl and still further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,315,895 to Miyazawa, et al. (“Miyazawa”).
Regarding claim 69, Young teaches that
the base plate comprises at least one active cooling element for preventing heating the base plate above a defined temperature and/or the side wall section comprises at least one active cooling element for preventing heating the side wall section above a defined temperature and/or the top wall section comprises at least one active cooling element for preventing heating the top wall section above a defined temperature (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0126] which teach that it is preferable to cool some area or the entire area of the base unit Rb in order to prevent it from being heated above a defined temperature by using a circulated cooling medium as an active cooling element),
wherein the side wall section and the top wall section are formed by a bell jar wherein more than 50% [mass] of the side wall section and/or more than 50% [mass] of the top wall section and/or more than 50% [mass] of the base plate is made of metal (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0066] which teach that the shell Rs form a bell jar while ¶[0125] teaches that the shell Rs and base unit Rb are metal-based which necessarily means it is comprised of at least 50% metal; alternatively, see supra with respect to the rejection of claim 68 where col. 4, ll. 4-50 and col. 7, ll. 55-67 of Miyazawa are relied upon to teach the use of an inner wall (8A) comprised entirely of carbon steel).
Young does not teach that the base plate, side wall section, and/or the top wall section comprise a passive cooling element. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 68, in at least Fig. 4, col. 4, ll. 24-37, and col. 7, l. 55 to col. 9, l. 59 Miyagawa teaches the use of a carbon steel as the circumferential wall (8A) of the bell jar (3) along with a passive cooling element in the form of a covering layer (8B) on an interior surface thereof. Then in col. 7, ll. 55-67 and col. 12, ll. 53-63 Miyagawa further teaches that the covering layer (8B) may be comprised of a nickel layer or a stainless layer containing 16-24% Cr, 8-15% Ni, and 0-5% Mo that is formed by plating or thermal spraying. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to form the shell Rs and base Rb of Young with a passive cooling element in the form of a coating (8B) comprised of nickel or stainless steel in order to reduce the thermal gradient across the thickness of the wall and minimize the propensity for contamination of the core means (C1)-(C2) and deposited output (C1)-(D2).
Claim 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Genba and further in view of Bugl and still further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2015/0123038 to Mark William Dassel (“Dassel”).
Regarding claim 70, Young teaches a gas outlet unit for outputting vent gas (see Fig. 1, ¶[0111], and ¶[0118] which teach that the system includes a gas outlet means No for discharging off-gas Go from the inner space Ri), but does not teach a vent gas recycling unit as claimed. However, in at least the Abstract, Figs. 1-11, and the entire reference Dassel teaches an embodiment of a system for vent gas recovery (VGR) which includes:
a vent gas recycling unit, wherein the vent gas recycling unit is connected to the gas outlet unit (see Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], ¶[0163], and ¶¶[0270]-[0278] which teach an embodiment of a vent gas recovery (VGR) unit which is connected to the exit conduit (10.1) from a CVD reactor (10))
wherein the vent gas recycling unit comprises at least a separator unit for separating the vent gas into a first fluid and into a second fluid, wherein the first fluid is a liquid and wherein the second fluid is a gas (see Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], ¶[0163], and ¶¶[0270]-[0278] which teach that the vent gas from the CVD reactor (10) is sent to an absorber column (18) which separates the vent gas into at least a first and second fluid which may be in the form of a liquid and/or gas which are vented through exits (18.1) and (18.2)),
wherein a first storage and/or conducting element for storing or conducting the first fluid is part of the separator unit or coupled with the separator unit and wherein a second storage and/or conducting element for storing or conducting the second fluid is part of the separator unit or coupled with the separator unit (see Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], ¶[0163], and ¶¶[0270]-[0278] which further teach that the liquid and/or gas flows through a first conducting element in the form of exit (18.1) and a second conducting element in the form of exit (18.2)).
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Dassel and would be motivated to utilize a vent gas recover (VGR) system analogous to that disclosed in Fig. 1A of Dassel which includes a vent gas recycling unit comprised of, inter alia, a separator in the form of absorber column (18) for separating the vent gas into a liquid and a gas along with first and second conducting elements (18.1) and (18.2) for conducting the liquid and gas away from the absorber column (18) in order to recycle and reuse waste gases that are emitted from the inner space Ri of the reactor in the system of Williams, Genba, and Bugl and thereby minimize waste and increase the efficiency of the reactor.
Claim 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Genba and further in view of Bugl and still further in view of Dassel and even further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,491,604 to Lesk, et al. (“Lesk”).
Regarding claim 71, Young, Genba, and Bugl do not teach that the vent gas recycling unit comprises a further separator as claimed. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 70, in at least the Abstract, Figs. 1-11, and the entire reference Dassel teaches that the VGR system further includes:
the vent gas recycling unit comprises a further separator unit for separating the first fluid into at least two parts, wherein the two parts are a mixture of chlorosilanes and a mixture of HCI, H2 and at least one C-bearing molecule (See Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], ¶[0163], and ¶¶[0270]-[0278] which teach that the exits from the absorber column (18.2) and/or (18.1) are connected to a further separator unit in the form of recycle gas compressor (24) and a distillation unit (20), respectively, where the gas may be further separated into liquid and gas byproducts through exits (24.1) and (24.2) or (20.1) and (20.2). As explained specifically in ¶[0008] and ¶[0163] Dassel teaches that exit conduit (24.2) provides for a hydrogen bleed whereas exit conduit (24.1) provides for fluid deliver of trichlorosilane (TCS) to a silica gel bed (26) while exit conduit (20.1) provides for delivery of STC and other gases and exit conduit (20.2) provides for delivery of TCS/DCS to a storage tank (22).),
wherein the first storage and/or conducting element connects the separator unit with the further separator unit (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0163] which teach that the exit (18.2) connects the absorber column (18) with the recycle gas compressor (24) and, subsequently, to the silica gel bed (26) via another exit (24.1) while exit (18.1) connects the absorber column (18) with the distillation unit (20)),
wherein the further separator unit is coupled with a mixture or chlorosilanes storage and/or conducting element and with a HCI storage and/or conducting element and with a H2 and C storage and/or conducting element (see Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], and ¶[0163] which teach that the outputs from exits (24.2) and (20.2) may be sent to, for example, different storage tanks (22) and (28)),
wherein the mixture of chlorosilanes storage and/or conducting element forms a section of a mixture of chlorosilanes mass flux path for conducting the mixture of chlorosilanes into the process chamber (see Fig. 1A, ¶[0008], and ¶[0163] which teach that the output from exit (26.1) and the output (28.1) from storage tank (28) may be returned to the CVD reactor (10) to be used in subsequent deposition processes).
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to incorporate a further separator unit which is further capable of separating out components such as chlorosilanes, HCl, H2, and C-bearing molecules in the apparatus of Young and Genba and sends these to separate storage tanks such with the motivation for doing so being to reduce waste and increase the efficiency of the process by recovering, storing, and reusing gaseous precursors from the exhaust gases.
Young, Genba, Bugl, and Dassel do not teach a Si mass flux measurement unit for measuring an amount of Si of the mixture of chlorosilanes is provided as part of the mass flux path prior to the process chamber. However, in Figs. 3-5 and col. 2, l. 64 to col. 5, l. 26 as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Lesk teaches an analogous embodiment of a system and method for the deposition of a Group-IV semiconductor such as Si in a CVD reactor (40) from, for example, precursor gases comprised of chlorosilanes and H2. In col. 3, l. 50 to col. 4, l. 44 Lesk specifically teaches that the effluent (41) from the deposition reactor (40) passes through a compressor (42) and condenser (44) to separate and recycle the chlorosilanes and hydrogen precursor gases such that they may be reintroduced into the reactor (40). The Si to Cl ratio of the effluent (41) is determined by measuring the concentrations of different molecular species that exit the chamber (40) using, for example, gas chromatography. The measured Si/Cl ratio and the known quantity of input reactants are used to determine the Si deposition efficiency such that the additional amount of make-up chlorosilane and hydrogen may be determined and added upstream from the reactor (40) such that a constant flow of Si is maintained through the reactor (40). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a Si mass flux measurement unit such as a gas chromatograph in order to measure the amount of Si that is being recovered and then returned to the reactor so that the amount of recovered chlorosilane that is added may be adjusted to maintain a constant flow of Si throughout the deposition process.
Claim 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Genba and further in view of Bugl and still further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2010/0206229 to He, et al. (“He”).
Regarding claim 85, Young and Genba do not teach that the alloy coating is a CuNi alloy coating. However, in Fig. 6 and ¶¶[0103]-[0116] He teaches an embodiment of a vapor deposition system which includes, inter alia, a lamp assembly (600) comprised of a plurality of lamps (624) located in front of a reflector (650). As disclosed specifically in ¶[0112] the upper surface of the reflector contains a reflective material such as gold, silver, copper, nickel, and alloys or combinations thereof in order to efficiently reflect and direct heat produced by the lamps (624). Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to form the metal coating utilized in the teachings of Bugl from a CuNi alloy in order to produce a reflective surface which minimizes heat losses during crystal growth. Moreover, in this case the use of a CuNi alloy as a reflective coating would involve nothing more than the use of a known material according to its intended use which supports a prima facie showing of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed July 13, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
It is noted that applicants’ proposed title submitted on June 15, 2026, was after the final Office Action dated April 14, 2026, and was not entered. Consequently, applicants are required to resubmit a replacement title in order to have it entered.
Applicants argue that Young and Genba do not teach a steel bell jar with a metal coating as recited in amended claim 62. See applicants’ 7/13/2026 reply, pp. 12-18. Applicants’ arguments are noted, but are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action. U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 4,311,545 to Bugl, et al. and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2010/0206229 to He, et al. have been introduced to teach the newly added claim limitations.
Applicants then discuss the temperatures utilized in Young and argue that there is no motivation for radiative protection of the top wall whatsoever using a heat-reflective material. Id. at pp. 17-18. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. The issue here isn’t just the matter of heat protection, but also is one of promoting the retention of and more efficient use of heat within the reactor itself. The teachings of Bugl and He show the that the use of a metallic coating comprised of a heat-reflective material is known in the art and is commonly used to direct heat in the desired direction so that it is more efficiently utilized.
Applicants specifically argue that Young only teaches cooling the base unit, not the top wall section. Id. at p. 18. This argument is not found persuasive as ¶[0120] of Young specifically teaches that the shell (Rb) is equipped with a cooling means. Then Bugl and He are introduced to teach the use of a metal coating as claimed.
Conclusion
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714