DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant has submitted the following:
Claims 1-18 are newly cancelled; and
Claims 19-37 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, due to claims 1-18 being cancelled, previous rejections under 35 USC 112, 35 USC 101, 35 USC 102, and 35 USC 103 are moot.
As the rejected claims are cancelled, Examiner withdraws the rejections of claims 1-18.
Applicant further argues that claims 19, with regard to a rejection under 35 USC 101, is directed to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, Applicant argues that the “sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing, and RGB sensing” integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. Further, applicant argues that the classification model trained to predict the SoA and/or MoA of the chemical substance by supervised machine learning cannot be performed as mental processes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The sensing is mere necessary information gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), and therefore does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The classification model that predicts by supervised machine learning is analysis is analysis, which may be performed by mental processes, with use of a computer as a tool to perform the mental processes (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.C). Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Applicant argues that none of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches the limitations of independent claims 19. Specifically, Applicant argues
Hamilton et al. (US 20030229451 A1) teaches an analogous method (Abstract), comprising:
the classification model ([0150] lines 12-15, “Using models that classify known herbicides with a high degree of accuracy, predictions are made with respect to herbicides having unknown sites of action.”) comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets ([0184] lines 5-17, “Previous investigators have validated the approach of creating a compendium of transcriptional profiles to facilitate the identification of the site of action or site of action of an unknown compound. Profiles of known mutants were compared to profiles of unknown mutants, and where a reasonable similarity occurred, it was determined that the unknowns had a common site of action/mode of action (SOA/MOA). Generation of a database of profiles corresponding to all putative herbicide targets would be an extremely valuable resource for development of new herbicides. Currently there are many herbicides where the site of action and/or the mode of action are not known, but could be rapidly determined using a compendium approach.”; [0185] lines 14-19, “Determining the site of action of herbicides has traditionally been an involved and lengthy process requiring extensive biochemical studies. Described herein are methods for utilizing phenotypic, transcriptional, and metabolite analysis technologies that accurately grouped a set of 18 herbicides into nine distinct sites of action.”) comprising
(i) reference chemical substances (Fig. 3; [0088] lines 20-25, “Resulting data are processed, characteristics of the compound are noted (for example, retention time, intensity, and mass), and information is stored in the database. In addition to spectral characteristics, the database of endogenous metabolites can contain any information or data pertaining to the compound.”),
(ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances ([0133] lines 7-9, “Compounds with known sites of action assist in clarifying if the assignments are not appropriate and modifications are made accordingly.”),
(iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances ([0136] “Data are assayed for coherence. The data are analyzed using a variety of multivariate analyses, applied appropriately by one skilled in the art. For example, the compounds are clustered based on the phenotypic data, and then are reviewed to determine whether they exhibit similar profiles when viewed in light of multicomponent metabolite analysis data and/or gene expression data.”), and
(iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances ([0148] lines 1-3, “To fully understand and utilize coherent data sets, tools and methods for predicting gene function (or compound site of action) are required.”, lines 9-15, “For each sample, responses are measured for approximately 6000 genes, approximately 250 compounds, and about a dozen morphometric, or phenotypic, traits. Data dimensionality is reduced to determine an optimal degree of reduction. Dimension reduction is done via data pre-clustering, correlation analysis, principle components analysis, or regression analysis.”; Fig. 1);
([0184] lines 3-17, “Genomic technologies include profiling changes at the transcript, protein, and metabolite levels. Previous investigators have validated the approach of creating a compendium of transcriptional profiles to facilitate the identification of the site of action or site of action of an unknown compound. Profiles of known mutants were compared to profiles of unknown mutants, and where a reasonable similarity occurred, it was determined that the unknowns had a common site of action/mode of action (SOA/MOA). Generation of a database of profiles corresponding to all putative herbicide targets would be an extremely valuable resource for development of new herbicides. Currently there are many herbicides where the site of action and/or the mode of action are not known, but could be rapidly determined using a compendium approach.”)
([0069] lines 9-15, “adding the linked data to a database wherein the database comprises linkages between chemical components, biochemical pathways, and phenotype; identifying the chemical components; and querying the database for correlations between the chemical components, the biochemical pathways, and the phenotype.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention in each of these claims is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 19 recites:
“A method for analyzing a site and/or mode of action (SoA and/or MoA) of a chemical substance in a plant material, the method comprising:
treating the plant material with the chemical substance;
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing, and RGB sensing;
generating a dataset from the sensing of the phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance;
analyzing the dataset in a classification model trained to predict the SoA and/or MoA of the chemical substance by supervised machine learning, wherein the classification model comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets comprising (i) reference chemical substances, (ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances, (iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances, and (iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances;
assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance based on the analysis of the dataset if the classification model satisfies a preset accuracy value for the assigned SoA and/or MoA, or assigning an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance if the classification model fails the preset accuracy value;
updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when at least one SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance; and
retraining the classification model with the updated compendium.”
The claim limitations considered to fall within in the abstract idea are highlighted in bold font above; the remaining features are “additional elements.”
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis entails determining whether the claimed subject matter falls within one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claim 19 recites a process and is therefore falls within a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One of the analysis entails determining whether the claim recites a judicial exception such as an abstract idea. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the highlighted portion of claim 19 comprises process steps that fall within the abstract idea judicial exception. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, the highlighted subject matter falls within the mental processes category.
Individually and collectively, the steps:
“sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing, and RGB sensing”;
“generating a dataset from the sensing of the phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance”;
“analyzing the dataset in a classification model trained to predict the SoA and/or MoA of the chemical substance by supervised machine learning, wherein the classification model comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets comprising (i) reference chemical substances, (ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances, (iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances, and (iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances”;
“assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance based on the analysis of the dataset if the classification model satisfies a preset accuracy value for the assigned SoA and/or MoA, or assigning an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance if the classification model fails the preset accuracy value”; and
“updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when at least one SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance”
may be performed as mental process. Sensing characteristics is collection of information, which may be performed as mental processes. Generating a dataset and analyzing the dataset is analysis, which may be performed as mental processes. Assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance is analysis, which may be performed as mental processes. Updating the compendium is analysis, which may be performed as mental processes. The type of high-level information collecting and analyzing data recited in these elements has been found by the Federal Circuit to constitute patent ineligible matter (see Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016), a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind).
Step 2A, Prong Two of the analysis entails determining whether a claim includes additional elements that integrate the recited judicial exception (e.g., abstract idea) into a practical application. In view of the various considerations encompassed by the Step 2A, Prong Two analysis, claim 19 does not include additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application. Based on the individual and collective limitations of claim 19, applying a broadest reasonable interpretation, the most significant of such considerations appear to include: improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)); applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)); and effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)).
Regarding improvements to the functioning of a computer or other technology, none of the “additional elements” in any combination appear to integrate the abstract idea to technologically improve any aspect of a system that may be used to implement the highlighted steps such a generic computer.
Regarding application of the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, none of the additional elements are utilized in a particularized manner of implementing the abstract idea process steps.
Regarding effectuation of a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, the claim includes no such transformation or reduction. Training and retraining a classification model is not a transformation of a particular article. Instead, the claim as a whole entails gathering information and analyzing said information.
The additional elements “treating the plant material with the chemical substance;” and “retraining the classification model with the updated compendium” are insignificant extra-solution activity. The step treating the plant material is necessary data gathering for the process steps. The step of retraining the model is post-solution activity to the method for analyzing a site and/or mode of action of a chemical substance (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the claim elements reciting an abstract idea do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under Step 2B.
Regarding Step 2B, independent claim 19, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generically recited and are well-understood/conventional in the relevant art as evidenced by the prior art of record as indicated in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Independent claim 19 is therefore not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 20-37 provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm that includes the abstract idea of the independent claims (Step 2A, Prong One). Claims 20-24 further details the sensing. Claim 25 further details the analyzing. Claims 26-27 detail the datasets. Claims 28, and 32-33 detail the plant material. Claim 29 further comprises sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material before treatment and generating a pretreatment dataset, each of which may be performed as mental processes. Claim 30 further comprises sensing a phenotypical characteristic of a control plant material not treated and generating a control dataset, each of which may be performed as mental processes. Claim 31 further details updating the compendium. Claim 34 further details the chemical substance. Claims 35-36 further detail the present accuracy value. Claim 37 further details the compendium.
The dependent claims 20-37 therefore are also ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-31 and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion et al. (US 20220390438 A1, previously cited) in view of Munera et al. (Sandra Munera, José Blasco, Jose M. Amigo, Sergio Cubero, Pau Talens, Nuria Aleixos, Use of hyperspectral transmittance imaging to evaluate the internal quality of nectarines, Biosystems Engineering, Volume 182, 2019, Pages 54-64, ISSN 1537-5110, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.biosystemseng.2019.04.001., previously cited) Hamilton et al. (US 20030229451 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Champion teaches A method for analyzing a site and/or mode of action (SoA and/or MoA) of a chemical substance in a plant material (Abstract), the method comprising:
treating the plant material with the chemical substance ([0110] lines 1-4, “The methods of the present invention use plant matter from non-vascular plants. The methods may comprise the steps of: (i) contacting a series of different candidate compounds with a plurality of test samples”). The contacting of candidate compounds with a plurality of test samples is the treatment with the chemical substance (see also [0015]);
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance ([0128] lines 1-19, “During and/or upon completion of the assays (i.e. creating at least one dataset), suitable comparisons can be made between test samples in which the non-vascular plants were treated with various candidate compounds and control samples in which the non-vascular plants were not treated with the various candidates compounds. The control sample(s) may be a negative control sample in which the non-vascular plants were not mixed with a herbicide or a plant growth regulator and/or the control sample(s) may be a positive control sample in which the non-vascular plants were mixed with known herbicides or plant growth regulators (e.g. herbicides or plant growth regulators having known modes of action). These comparisons can be used to determine factors including, but not limited to, whether a given candidate compound or mixture of candidate compounds has herbicidal activity, the potency of any herbicide activity observed, the phenotypic response of the non-vascular plant in response to a given candidate compound (i.e. at least one phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment) found to exhibit herbicidal activity, and/or the predicted mode of action of a given candidate compound found to exhibit herbicidal activity.”) by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of ([0128] lines , “Any suitable means of making comparisons between test sample, negative control and/or positive control samples known in the art may be used. For example, the comparisons may be made via visual comparison, imaging via microscopy (e.g. fluorescent microscopy) and the like.”; [0123] lines 28-32, “The illumination may be provided at wavelength/s of between 300 nm to 900 nm (e.g. 400 nm to 700 nm). The illumination may, for example, be ultraviolet (UV) light, visible light, or infrared (IR) light).”);
generating a dataset from the sensing of the phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance ([0128] lines 1-19, “During and/or upon completion of the assays (i.e. creating at least one dataset), suitable comparisons can be made between test samples in which the non-vascular plants were treated with various candidate compounds and control samples in which the non-vascular plants were not treated with the various candidates compounds. The control sample(s) may be a negative control sample in which the non-vascular plants were not mixed with a herbicide or a plant growth regulator and/or the control sample(s) may be a positive control sample in which the non-vascular plants were mixed with known herbicides or plant growth regulators (e.g. herbicides or plant growth regulators having known modes of action). These comparisons can be used to determine factors including, but not limited to, whether a given candidate compound or mixture of candidate compounds has herbicidal activity, the potency of any herbicide activity observed, the phenotypic response of the non-vascular plant in response to a given candidate compound (i.e. at least one phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment) found to exhibit herbicidal activity, and/or the predicted mode of action of a given candidate compound found to exhibit herbicidal activity.”);
analyzing the dataset in a classification model trained to predict the SoA and/or MoA of the chemical substance ([0156] lines 1-12, “Artificial intelligence may be used for “hit” selection. In some embodiments of the invention, at least 20%, at least 30%, at least 40%, at least 50%, at least 60%, at least 70% or at least 80% of data obtained by measuring the phenotypic response of the plant to a negative control compound are used as a training set for an artificial intelligence algorithm. The algorithm may be a Random Forest algorithm. In some embodiments of the present invention, an artificial intelligence algorithm, for example, a Random Forest algorithm, may be used for prediction of mode of action. Alternatively, a Neural Network algorithm may be used for prediction of mode of action.”) by supervised machine learning (see [0228-0230],
assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA ([0229] A statistical test was carried out to determine the probability that a hit matched a phenotypic model (any of the positive controls). If the probability was higher than an arbitrarily defined threshold that depended on the number of positive control phenotypic models, the hit was predicted to have a known mode of action and this mode of action to be the mode of action of the herbicide which phenotypic model the hit is most strongly associated to. This decision-making step was currently carried out manually but could be automated by a custom parsing script.) to the chemical substance ([0159] lines 1-3, “Compounds selected as potentially having herbicidal activity or plant growth regulating activity using the methods of the invention may be referred to herein as “hits”.”; see “compounds with known herbicidal activity of [0160]). The chemical substance (i.e. “compounds”) are assigned as indicated by “hits” (see: [0224] “The mode of action of hits selected with the unsupervised method was predicted by the clustering of hits with positive controls. Positive controls were commercial herbicides used at concentrations known to cause specific mode of action symptoms. The concentration of commercial herbicides known to cause specific mode of action symptoms was determined experimentally by visual inspection of dose-response experiments where plants were exposed to a range of herbicide concentrations.”; [0226] “On average, the automated classification of hits into clusters was 86% consistent with manual classification of hits into groups of phenotypic similarity. If the hit fell outside of clusters associated with a known mode of action positive control, the hit was visually inspected for the presence of unique symptoms and if unique symptoms were observed the hit was predicted to have a novel mode of action.”)
Champion does not teach the method, comprising:
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing, and RGB sensing;
wherein the classification model comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets comprising
(i) reference chemical substances,
(ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances,
(iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances, and
(iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances;
assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance based on the analysis of the dataset if the classification model satisfies a preset accuracy value for the assigned SoA and/or MoA , or assigning an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance if the classification model fails the preset accuracy value;
updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when at least one SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance; and
retraining the classification model with the updated compendium.
Munera teaches analogous method of hyperspectral imaging (Abstract),
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material after treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing (Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”), and RGB sensing.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Champion to substitute the sensing with the hyperspectral VIS and NIR sensing of Munera because the use of hyperspectral VIS and NIR sensing because the use of hyperspectral VIS and NIR sensing is well known in the art and would yield predictable results.
Champion in view of Munera does not teach the method, comprising:
wherein the classification model comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets comprising
(i) reference chemical substances,
(ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances,
(iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances, and
(iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances;
assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance based on the analysis of the dataset if the classification model satisfies a preset accuracy value for the assigned SoA and/or MoA , or assigning an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance if the classification model fails the preset accuracy value;
updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when at least one SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance; and
retraining the classification model with the updated compendium.
Hamilton teaches an analogous method (Abstract), comprising:
the classification model ([0150] lines 12-15, “Using models that classify known herbicides with a high degree of accuracy, predictions are made with respect to herbicides having unknown sites of action.”) comprises a SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprising established datasets ([0184] lines 5-17, “Previous investigators have validated the approach of creating a compendium of transcriptional profiles to facilitate the identification of the site of action or site of action of an unknown compound. Profiles of known mutants were compared to profiles of unknown mutants, and where a reasonable similarity occurred, it was determined that the unknowns had a common site of action/mode of action (SOA/MOA). Generation of a database of profiles corresponding to all putative herbicide targets would be an extremely valuable resource for development of new herbicides. Currently there are many herbicides where the site of action and/or the mode of action are not known, but could be rapidly determined using a compendium approach.”; [0185] lines 14-19, “Determining the site of action of herbicides has traditionally been an involved and lengthy process requiring extensive biochemical studies. Described herein are methods for utilizing phenotypic, transcriptional, and metabolite analysis technologies that accurately grouped a set of 18 herbicides into nine distinct sites of action.”) comprising
(i) reference chemical substances (Fig. 3; [0088] lines 20-25, “Resulting data are processed, characteristics of the compound are noted (for example, retention time, intensity, and mass), and information is stored in the database. In addition to spectral characteristics, the database of endogenous metabolites can contain any information or data pertaining to the compound.”),
(ii) SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances ([0133] lines 7-9, “Compounds with known sites of action assist in clarifying if the assignments are not appropriate and modifications are made accordingly.”),
(iii) phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances ([0136] “Data are assayed for coherence. The data are analyzed using a variety of multivariate analyses, applied appropriately by one skilled in the art. For example, the compounds are clustered based on the phenotypic data, and then are reviewed to determine whether they exhibit similar profiles when viewed in light of multicomponent metabolite analysis data and/or gene expression data.”), and
(iv) established dependencies of the SoA(s) and/or MoA(s) of the reference chemical substances and the phenotypical characteristics of plant material treated with the reference chemical substances ([0148] lines 1-3, “To fully understand and utilize coherent data sets, tools and methods for predicting gene function (or compound site of action) are required.”, lines 9-15, “For each sample, responses are measured for approximately 6000 genes, approximately 250 compounds, and about a dozen morphometric, or phenotypic, traits. Data dimensionality is reduced to determine an optimal degree of reduction. Dimension reduction is done via data pre-clustering, correlation analysis, principle components analysis, or regression analysis.”; Fig. 1);
assigning at least one SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance based on the analysis of the dataset if the classification model satisfies a preset accuracy value for the assigned SoA and/or MoA ([0125] “Standard quality control measures in combination with a variety of decision rules are evaluated, process error rates are compared, and minimum sets of decision rules are developed. A number of commonly used rule sets are used. However, the false-positive and false-negative error rates of all rules sets work against each other. That is, if the rule set is larger than necessary, then (even if every rule is sound if used independently) the result can be an inflated false-positive error rate. Thus, the optimization of the rule set is performed by statisticians who can develop custom rule sets as needed.”; see [0275]). The quality control measures, including optimization of rule sets for error rates, is the preset accuracy value., or assigning an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA to the chemical substance if the classification model fails the preset accuracy value;
updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when at least one SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance ([0184] lines 3-17, “Genomic technologies include profiling changes at the transcript, protein, and metabolite levels. Previous investigators have validated the approach of creating a compendium of transcriptional profiles to facilitate the identification of the site of action or site of action of an unknown compound. Profiles of known mutants were compared to profiles of unknown mutants, and where a reasonable similarity occurred, it was determined that the unknowns had a common site of action/mode of action (SOA/MOA). Generation of a database of profiles corresponding to all putative herbicide targets would be an extremely valuable resource for development of new herbicides. Currently there are many herbicides where the site of action and/or the mode of action are not known, but could be rapidly determined using a compendium approach.”; [0069] lines 9-15, “adding the linked data to a database wherein the database comprises linkages between chemical components, biochemical pathways, and phenotype; identifying the chemical components; and querying the database for correlations between the chemical components, the biochemical pathways, and the phenotype.”); and
retraining the classification model with the updated compendium ([0047] lines 7-12, “The process for incorporating new data is iterative; the steps listed above are repeated with the inclusion of the new data. One purpose for creating a coherent data set is to obtain new information otherwise not available prior to data combination and analysis as a set.”; [0255] lines 12-14, “Data derived from tissues treated with herbicides having a SOA with at least two representatives formed a training set”; see [0274]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Champion in view of Munera to include the classification model and its retraining of Hamilton because the classification model comprising datasets of reference substances, phenotypical characteristics, and established dependencies would be well known in the art of analyzing sit and/or mode of action of chemical substances in plant materials, and such a database, when used in a classification model, would yield predictable results, such as classifying SoA and/or MoA based on the parameters of the database.
Regarding claim 20, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the sensing further comprises a chlorophyll fluorescence sensing technique (Champion: [0210] lines 6-9, “A non-exhaustive list of measurements was, for example, “plant length”, “plant width”, “plant circularity”, “chlorophyll fluorescence intensity”, and “number of cells per plant””).
Regarding claim 21, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the sensing comprises a combination of at least two of the techniques selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing, and RGB sensing.
Regarding claim 22, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the sensing comprises a combination of of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing (Munera: Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”), and RGB sensing.
Regarding claim 23, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the sensing comprises a combination of of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing (Munera: Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”), RGB sensing, and chlorophyll fluorescence sensing (Champion: [0210] lines 6-9, “A non-exhaustive list of measurements was, for example, “plant length”, “plant width”, “plant circularity”, “chlorophyll fluorescence intensity”, and “number of cells per plant””).
Regarding claim 24, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein a light source (Munera: Fig. 2, lamps) with a circular arrangement of lamps (Munera: Fig. 2; p.56, “The lamps were arranged equidistant from each other outside a hemispherical aluminium diffuser”) and reflective surface (Munera: Fig. 2; p.55, “The transmission mode may be less susceptible to surface properties and hence better for detecting composition or internal disorders than the reflectance mode”) is used for the hyperspectral VIS sensing and hyperspectral NIR sensing (Munera: Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”) to homogeneously illuminate the plant material (Munera: p. 56, “The nectarines were oriented so that the pedicel was pointing downwards and directly illuminated by the twelve halogen spotlights (37 W) (Eurostar IR Halogen MR16. Ushio America, Inc., CA, USA) powered by direct current (12 V). The lamps were arranged equidistant from each other outside a hemispherical aluminium diffuser”). The lamps, arranged equidistant from each other as shown in Fig. 2, would homogeneously illuminate the plant material (e.g. nectarines).
Regarding claim 25, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein a multitude of plant materials are analyzed wherein the chemical substance is applied to the plant materials at different concentrations (Champion: [0104] lines 10-14, “combinatorial libraries to be screened may be synthesised in the compartments in which the assay is carried out, thereby providing reference addresses for candidate compounds. A range of concentrations of any given compound/s may be tested.”).
Regarding claim 26, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein one collective dataset is taken for a multitude of pieces of plant material (Champion: [0110] lines 10-12, “the test samples and the control samples comprise whole-plants, spores, sporelings, explants, protoplasts or vegetative propagules from non-vascular plants.”) and subsequently separated into individual datasets per single piece of plant material (Champion: [0153] “Alternatively, all or a subset of raw variables may be selected which describe a phenotypic difference between the plants treated with a candidate herbicide and a negative or a positive control.” [0070] lines 1-3, “As used herein, the term “phenotype” will be taken to mean a set of observable characteristics of an individual, for example, an individual plant, or a part of said plant.”; [0157] lines 11-15, “Non-limiting examples of morphological and/or physiological characteristics which may be measured include plant length, plant width, plant shape, plant pigmentation, plant circularity, chlorophyll concentration, and number of cells per plant.”). The explants and vegetative propagules are plant material pieces. The characteristics, or subsets thereof, on the individual plant (i.e. plant material pieces) are the “raw variables” which may be selected in describing phenotypic difference, and therefore is separated into single datasets.
Regarding claim 27, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein multiple datasets of the plant material are generated after treatment at different predefined times or by the use of different sensing techniques (Champion: [0199] lines 6-14, “Several images were generated (FIG. 2, FIG. 5): an image where only the Far-Red photons were recorded by the camera chip (Far-Red image), an image where only the Cyan photons were recorded (Cyan image) an image where only the Yellow photons (Yellow image) were recorded and an image where transmitted light was recorded (Brightfield image). A 2× objective lens was used to produce a Far-Red image with a field of view covering the entire well.”); [0147] lines 15-23, “A 10× objective lens may be used to produce a set of 1-9 Far-Red images, 1-9 Cyan images, 1-9 Yellow images and 1-9 Brightfield images that cover a small portion of one well, for example, 1/32.sup.nd-⅓.sup.rd of the well bottom surface. In some embodiments of the invention, images are overlaid with the outline of an object created by another image. Images may be overlaid with outlines created by images using the same or different photons.”). The generation of Far-Red, Cyan, and Yellow images using only respective photons is using different sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the images, being overlaid, are separately generated images, recording different wavelengths of transmitted light, and therefore each set of photon to form the image is separately sensed.
Regarding claim 28, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the plant material comprises at least two different plant parts and the dataset of the plant material is separated into individual datasets according to each respective plant part (Champion: [0153] “Alternatively, all or a subset of raw variables may be selected which describe a phenotypic difference between the plants treated with a candidate herbicide and a negative or a positive control.”; [0070] lines 1-3, “As used herein, the term “phenotype” will be taken to mean a set of observable characteristics of an individual, for example, an individual plant, or a part of said plant.”; [0157] lines 11-15, “Non-limiting examples of morphological and/or physiological characteristics which may be measured include plant length, plant width, plant shape, plant pigmentation, plant circularity, chlorophyll concentration, and number of cells per plant.”). The explants and vegetative propagules are plant material pieces. The characteristics, or subsets thereof, on the individual plant (i.e. plant material pieces) are the “raw variables” which may be selected in describing phenotypic difference, and therefore is separated by respective plant part.
Regarding claim 29, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the method further comprises:
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of the plant material before treatment with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing (Munera: Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”), and RGB sensing; and
generating a pretreatment dataset from the sensing of the phenotypical characteristic of the plant material before treatment with the chemical substance (Champion: [0110] lines 5-8, “determining whether the test samples provide a phenotypic response to said series of different candidate compounds by comparison to phenotypes of control samples not contacted with candidate compounds.”; [0158] lines 6-12, “The morphological and/or physiological characteristics which may be measured for the control samples also include non-vascular plant length, width, shape, pigmentation, circularity, chlorophyll concentration, and number of cells. The control sample may be a sample of the same non-vascular plant subjected to identical assay conditions as the test sample, but without the addition of the test compound.”; Hamilton: [0145] lines 1-3, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the dimensionality is reduced by selecting certain data sets for "pre-treatment"). The control sample, without contact to the candidate or test compounds, is the plant material before treatment with the chemical substance.
Regarding claim 30, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the method further comprises:
sensing a phenotypical characteristic of a control plant material not treated with the chemical substance by at least one technique selected from the group consisting of hyperspectral VIS sensing, hyperspectral NIR sensing (Munera: Fig. 2; p. 56, “The hyperspectral imaging system used to acquire the images in transmittance mode (Fig. 2) was composed of an industrial camera (CoolSNAP ES, Photometrics, AZ, USA), coupled to two liquid-crystal tuneable filters (LCTF) (Varispec VIS-07 and NIR07, Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc., MA, USA).”), and RGB sensing; and
generating a control dataset from the sensing of the phenotypical characteristic of the control plant material (Champion: [0110] lines 5-8, “determining whether the test samples provide a phenotypic response to said series of different candidate compounds by comparison to phenotypes of control samples not contacted with candidate compounds.”; [0158] lines 6-12, “The morphological and/or physiological characteristics which may be measured for the control samples also include non-vascular plant length, width, shape, pigmentation, circularity, chlorophyll concentration, and number of cells. The control sample may be a sample of the same non-vascular plant subjected to identical assay conditions as the test sample, but without the addition of the test compound.”).
Regarding claim 31, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the method further comprises updating the compendium with the dataset of the chemical substance when an uncharacterized SoA and/or MoA is assigned to the chemical substance (Champion: [0155] lines 18-29, “if a “hit” falls outside of clusters associated with a known mode of action positive control, the hit may be visually inspected for the presence of atypical symptoms, and if atypical symptoms are observed the hit may be predicted to have a novel mode of action. In some embodiments of the invention, a “hit” cannot be predicted to be either a known or novel mode of action. In this scenario, the hit may be manually progressed to a dose-response experiment where plants are treated with a range of concentrations of the “hit” ranging from 1 nM to 50 000 nM and all resulting datapoints are processed and re-analysed according to the methods described herein. Exemplary concentrations for such a dose-response experiment may range from 1 nM to 50 000 nM.”).
Regarding claim 33, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the plant material comprises the plant species Arabidopsis thaliana (Champion: [0012] lines 14-16, “ Currently, the herbicide industry uses the dicot Arabidopsis thaliana as the gold standard screening system.”; Table 1).
Regarding claim 34, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the chemical substance comprises a plant growth regulator (Champion: [0045] lines 3-8, “contacting a candidate compound identified to have herbicidal or plant growth regulating activity in steps (i) and (ii) with a series of mutagenized samples comprising whole-plants, spores, sporelings, explants, protoplasts or vegetative propagules, wherein the test and mutagenised samples are from the same species of non-vascular plan”; [0100] lines 1-5, “The present invention provides high-throughput methods capable of screening compounds for herbicidal activity or plant growth regulating activity, thus affording the potential for the discovery of new herbicides or plant growth regulators.”).
Regarding claim 35, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the preset accuracy value is >50% (Hamilton: [0275] “Attempts to discriminate between different sites of action using the principle components from any one platform or any pair of platforms was less than 100 percent successful. For gene expression data alone, the error rates were 100 percent on cross-validation, 0 percent on test data. For metabolite data alone, the error rates were 93 percent on cross-validation, 0 percent on test data. For phenotypic data alone, the error rates were 0 percent on cross-validation, 25 percent on test data. Discriminant analysis on data from pairs of technologies had error rates ranging from 40 to 100 percent on cross-validation, and 0 percent error rate on test data.”).
Even if Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton does not explicitly teach the preset accuracy value is >50%, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the value of the accuracy value, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 36, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the preset accuracy value is >80% (Hamilton: [0275] “Attempts to discriminate between different sites of action using the principle components from any one platform or any pair of platforms was less than 100 percent successful. For gene expression data alone, the error rates were 100 percent on cross-validation, 0 percent on test data. For metabolite data alone, the error rates were 93 percent on cross-validation, 0 percent on test data. For phenotypic data alone, the error rates were 0 percent on cross-validation, 25 percent on test data. Discriminant analysis on data from pairs of technologies had error rates ranging from 40 to 100 percent on cross-validation, and 0 percent error rate on test data.”).
Even if Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton does not explicitly teach the preset accuracy value is >50%, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the value of the accuracy value, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 37, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19, wherein the SoA-and/or MoA-compendium comprises the following herbicide classifications: acetolactate synthase (ALS); 1-deoxy-d-xylulose-5-phosphate reductoisomerase (DXR); 1-deoxy-D-xylulose 5-phosphate synthase (DXS); fatty acid thioesterases (FAT); 4-hydroxyphenyl-pyruvate-dioxygenase (HPPD); Microtubule assembly; phytoene desaturase (PDS); protoporphyrinogen oxidase (PPO); Photosystem II (PSII); solanesyl diphosphate synthase (SPS); Synthetic auxins; very long chain fatty acid synthesis (VLCFA); acetyl CoA carboxylase (ACCase); enolpyruvyl shikimate phosphate (EPSP) synthase; Glutamine synthethase; Oxidant; and Cellulose synthesis (Hamilton: Tables 3 and 5).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Ziegler et al. (Ziegler, G., Terauchi, A., Becker, A., Armstrong, P., Hudson, K. and Baxter, I. (2013), Ionomic Screening of Field-Grown Soybean Identifies Mutants with Altered Seed Elemental Composition. The Plant Genome, 6: plantgenome2012.07.0012. https://doi.org/10.3835/plantgenome2012.07.0012, previously cited.)
Regarding claim 32, Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton teaches The method according to claim 19.
Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton does not teach the method, wherein the plant material comprises a seed or seedling.
Ziegler teaches analogous method of screening plants (Abstract), wherein the plant material comprises a seed or seedling (p. 2, “For each line, six or eight seeds were randomly pulled from the bulk seed packets for analysis. Seeds were sorted into 48-well tissue culture plates with one seed per well.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Champion in view of Munera and Hamilton to include the seed of Ziegler because the use of a seed as a plant material is well known in the art and would yield predictable results in screening.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.B.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857