Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0025222) in view of Ukei (US 2016/0280967) taken in view of the evidence given by Foreverest (“Reactive Emulsifiers” web article).
Re claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-12, Hamada discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) [1] comprising an acrylic polymer made from monomers including methyl acrylate, ethylhexyl acrylate, (meth)acrylic acid, and styrene [29, 33, 48], reactive surfactant [63, 73], and chain transfer agent [61]. The reactive surfactant includes that known under the tradename Adeka Reasoap SR-1025 [70] which as evidenced by Foreverest (page 3, Fig 2 and page 4, Table 1) has formula identical to that presently claimed where n=10. Given that the reactive surfactant is identical to that presently claimed, it would inherently contain components which are capable of acting as an internal crosslinker. The chain transfer agent includes dodecyl mercaptan [61].
Hamada does not disclose the average particle size of the adhesive.
Ukei discloses pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) [2] comprising acrylic polymer having average particle diameter of 100-500nm to obtain a smooth PSA layer with good inter-particle adhesion [136].
In light of the motivation of for using acrylic polymer, i.e. adhesive, with average particle size of 100-500 nm as disclosed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use adhesive with such average particle diameter, including that presently claimed, in Hamada in order to produce an adhesive that can be applied smoothly and has good adhesion.
While Hamada discloses the PSA can be used labels [100], there is no disclosure in Hamada in view of Ueki that the PSA is for clear-on-clear labels.
However, the recitation in the claims that the PSA is “for clear-on-clear labels” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Hamada in view of Ueki disclose PSA as presently claimed, it is clear that the PSA would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. for clear-on-clear labels, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
There is no disclosure in Hamada in view of Ueki that the PSA is resistant to water whitening or has initial tack, peel adhesion, or overall migration as claimed. However, given that Hamada in view of Ueki disclose PSA as claimed, the PSA would necessarily inherently be resistant to water whitening and have initial tack, peel adhesion, or overall migration identical to that claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant acknowledges the teaching of the claimed PSA but alleges the polymer is in a list; however, it is taught and thus obvious to combine as the formula identical to that presently claimed where n=10. Applicant argues the particle sizes; however these too are taught within the range for the teachings in Hamada produce an adhesive that can be applied smoothly and has good adhesion.
Applicant argues the food safety of adhesives; however a food is not claimed and thus moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787